Lost Products.

93 111
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Topic: The lost product - Has there been a product you simply loved, a favourite, but can no longer get it? Tell us what it was, why you liked it and how you feel about losing it. Also, explain how you've worked around the loss.

This is the question Galenkp asked on Hive and I did justice by answering them. I decided to do justice to it here too so I can sample everyone's opinion as well.

Image Source.

There are some products I wish I can have back. Some products made our childhood so much fun and enjoyable. You would happily spend your last allowance on it just to have a feel of that product. How much is China that I cannot buy had it been that I saved all my allowances back in the day?

As a kid back then, you look forward to when you would be given your daily money or your weekly money as you prepare for school. There was nothing to use your money for other than to explore the new products and I am that type of person that loves trying new things until I get stuck on one forever. You patiently wait for your allowance so you can splash it on anything that catches your attention.

I was an impulse buyer. Sometimes I don't have any product in mind. If I see something new, I want to try it out and the moment I try it out, I just want to continue with it It's one of those times I laid my eyes and hands on Robot Banana Chewing gum. Oh... It was bliss. Divine. Heavenly. Soft. Nice. Sweet. Flavourful. I loved everything about that chewing gum... The tenderness and the trivia questions you would find inside the paper wrapper. I got so used to that gum not just for the tenderness when I chew it or the banana flavour but for getting myself updated while chewing it. I would even gather enough, and ask someone to read me the questions while I say the answers. It was an addiction.

I got so used to it that I would chew and chew till I started having issues with my teeth. Please, don't ask me further because I've removed some hahaha. I am suffering from it till today. I didn't know better then but the effect of chewing so much then is what I started reaping now. I feel bad for the wonderful children I would also buy it for back in the day just because I wanted to read the trivia questions.

I would buy a lot of it and share it with our tenants' children or anyone in sight. I would only ask them to give me the wrapper. I would keep them and recite those questions and answers daily because I want to keep up with what's going on. That was my access to knowing what's happening in the world apart from school since internet access wasn't as common as it is now. There was no phone then either so I had no idea how to surf the net. It was interesting to see that you can have fun chewing while learning 😂🤣.

I felt bad when I noticed they were winding up and before they did, they started making it harder than before and it lost all the appeal to me. I stopped buying and I can't put others through the pain of chewing it too. I just keep finding a way to get the wrappers. There was also another chewing gum they made in form of a cigarette too. Not sure if anyone in Nigeria can remember.

Back to Banana Chewing Gum... The appeal has always been to chew softly while learning. I worked around the loss quite well before I had to watch out for my teeth and I started getting used to the internet. So, everything I needed then can now be searched for on the internet but I loved and missed the fun part. The questions are random and I enjoyed everything.

Image Source.

This is another product I cannot get over the loss. I still miss it and still can't find anything close to it. Yes, we now have Snickers, Twix, Smarties and so many others but "Goody Goody" is so good they had to name it twice. The name might be funny but back then, you don't care because you are getting value for your money. It's as good as the name if not twice as good. I still haven't coped with the loss of this product but I am sure my teeth would feel relieved about that. I still haven't forgiven Cadbury for taking this product off the market.

I love how it melts in my mouth and the aftertaste is also amazing. I don't know why Cadbury stopped producing this but there was a time people started a movement on Twitter to bring it back

There are alternatives, yes, but I am still not able to get over this one. I want it back 😭. I was sad when they stopped producing it. I shared it on my status yesterday and the messages I got showed how a lot of people enjoyed this Caramel bar. It was then I got to know those who are older hahaha because if you can remember that Goody Goody, it means you are older too 🤣🤣😂.

Banana Chewing gum and Goody Goody... I missed these two products. They made my childhood fun and this is one of the many reasons why we didn't think of savings as a child. We just got the money from those who worked hard for it and then enjoyed these amazing products hahaha. I am sure many Nigerians should be able to relate to this and of course, those who were born back when these products were still on the market.

What product do you wish to have back in your country that they have stopped producing? Someone mentioned Polly Waffle in Australia and they brought it back. They would launch soon again. The people canvassed for it and they brought it back. Someone told me of Caramac too. What product do you want back? If you have the image too, kindly share.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why  I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

29
$ 3.86
$ 2.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Amazing-grace
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 21
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

Oh my goodness 🤣, this made me to remember those days, this Banana chewing gum, goody goody were parts of things i spent all my savings on 🤣🤣

The rest i still remember were choki choki, oko olopa, buble gum, sibi jee, , etc On the paper of the banana chewing gum, question and answer used to be there, i leant many things from it, part of them was the longest river in the world "RIVER NILE"🤣. They made my childhood very fascinating.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahahaha I am not alone. Mehn... I just remembered eyin alangba right now. Chai.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣 it will be good if they can start producing them again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wouldn't mind at all hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You actually took my memory past 20 years ago with this article.. I also miss this goods are they still in the market today?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Goody Goody is no longer in the market that's why I want it back. 😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂 I remember all these, an it seems like ages ago. I was also a fan of the trivia questions on the wrapper. Even learnt Pele's full name. Edson Arantes Dos Nascimento 😂😂😂😂.

I'd like baba dudu, goody goody, shibi jeun, and those small digestive biscuits.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Ah. Remind me to always prostrate to greet you anytime I see you in my comment section 😂😂😂🤣. I remember all those ones too. Ah. Someone just reminded me of Coke and Fanta candies too. Chai.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂 please, I am nothing but a small boy, sweet sixteen 😎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lmaaaaaaaao. I bet your younger brother would disagree.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gone are those days indeed. Nigeria is not getting better, most of those products we enjoy in our days are nowhere to be found now.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

They are no longer existing and the ones that are existing, the quality is not the same.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In our childhood we didn't have concept for brand and common things. A brand never change its quality and products. But common products like Candies, biscuits, common dress etc are things which needed renovation, name change or better replacement with time and tide. Thanks brother for reminding me a memory of my childhood where I like to weep when I didn't have these things.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahaha it's a trip down the memory lane, no doubt. I wish we can have those moments back. Adulthood is a scam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am in wonder how adulthood is scam?. I love to remind and feeling like candy baby🤣🙈.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I want to be that child they pamper without any thoughts of paying bills 😂🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha..Even I can remind shopkeeper kiss me for free Candies. And I was happy to have at least gree things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Huh? 🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, it means I'm older, 😂 I know goody goody too. Lol I was never really a fan of chewing gums, even if I Chew them, once the sweetness is gone, I trash it. Lol, I'm like that too, always trying out any new thing I see, sometimes it doesn't turn out well and most times it does and I suddenly end up getting addicted and continuously buying it.

The sweet I was mostly addicted to is "baba dudu" I don't know the English word for it and I'm not sure you might know it,🙈 I got so addicted to it and to another one named "baba gala" it was sold for 5# then. But when the price for it, went up, I suddenly lost interest.

Then #10 was still money, anytime my mom gave it to me ehn, I'll be jumping up and quickly rush out to get the gala. It was really fun back in those days though.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

Hahaha Ella sef don old o. Ah. I have to be paying more respects to a lot of people here o.

Of course, I know Baba dudu. I took a lot of it. Tied on a nylon where you have to cut it to buy. Sometimes I buy the row back then and would be popping it out from the nylon. It lost its real taste years after and even after I see it, I hardly buy it again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reminds me of the junk foods I ate as a kid. There are still some at the stores but the taste is different.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's the annoying part. The taste would always be different.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That gum is so disgusting now ehn, I bought it recently and in a few seconds I had to spit it out.

It is so sad because I loved it when I was younger.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Someone told me it's now so hard 😂😂🤣😂. Chai. I can imagine. I won't even buy it, they should not ruin the childhood memory I have in my head.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Please don't oh, it's not worth it at all; cheap garbage now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha thank you for the heads up. I dare not try it now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤗🤗🤗💞

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In my childhood I am missing Fanta Candy and BP spacer both were my favorite in my childhood. Still these products are not available so they are my loss. Good to see you brother, you can measure age by missing products. Haha

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Oh my God! Oh my! You made me remember Coca Cola and Fanta candies. Damn. Those candies were so good. Gosh!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It means you are also from centuries on this world an old dandy😜.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣😂 I've had my fair share.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha I was thinking what food I missed. I know there are some candies, junkfoods but I can't remember until such time I saw a picture😂.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yours must be food 😅😅😅 my foodie friend. What's the name of the one you saw?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha I don't actually have something particular in my mind. I would just remember it once I saw something that triggers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha fair enough, my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also have a this favourite candy when I was a kid but now I didn't see it at all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Do you remember the name? I would love to search the net for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's how I became also; when I see fascinating products and I anticipate it as trend and new well, I don't hesitate to purchase it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I guess we both love trying new things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my gosh, you're taking me back from to memory lane, I really missed the goody goody, I remember how I roll it in ball like shape, I can buy like two at a time , but unfortunately there's nothing like goody goody again, the one's we have nowadays is not as quality as goody goody....

Majority of this things like speedy biscuit , coconut biscuit, fishly biscuit and co. Me too i don old oooo 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Ah! Mary...you don old o. You know all these things? Ah. I should be respecting you henceforth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehehe, though I was still in primary school then... But you I'm sure there are some that you know that I don't know 🤣🤣, you deserve my respect sir 🙌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣 you want to scope me. Don't lie, do you know this one that looks like Lizard eggs? It has different colours.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I know that one.... I've even forgotten what they call that one... 🤣🤣..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eyin Alangba 😂😂🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh!! That's true....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awa ti ancient of days hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I can still remember this banana chewing gum, this product was very unique, this was the children's choice, even when they can't pronounce the name well they will be pointed it with their fingers when ever they go to buy it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha you got it...that hand pointing hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mine is pako biscuit and baba dudu oh my God those were legendary stuff ..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ah. I know both. I took a lot of them too. Ah. Fond memories.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah the very best of memories

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Childhood memories are really the best. I have lot of them also that I have missed. But this banana chewing gum is still very much available, I used to see it from traders in my area but they are not really much. It's scarce now, I guess these children we have now do not find interest in it 😂😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaa they can't find interest in it anymore because I heard it's no longer as soft as it used to be. It's harder now which makes it not worth the trouble at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You reminded me of my childhood, when my parents would give me money for allowance and I would spend it on some chocolate and milky sweets that I can't recall the name of.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Milkose? There was Milkose back then too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah! Goody Goody. I loved everything about it. I never liked chewing gums back then, as I thought it was plenty stress. Still think so, though. If I'd pick one out of those two... It'll be Goody Goody!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Goody Goody it is. I love that stuff. I wish they can reproduce. I would be top on their list of buyers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. Of course you loved it. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely. I do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I could remember so well back then how i use to save up some money to buy the banana chewing gum. There are a lot other things i wish will come back.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha even you? Hahaha. So many good memories mehn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha.. I am telling you...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I missed those moments.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Still waiting for the day goody goody will be back, honestly, with good re branding, the product might do well since it has a good name in the product sales market before, I wonder how it disappeared..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I don't know why they kicked it off the market too. If they can add more to it and do it better, I would never stop buying it. I miss it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There might be a manipulation in the market to promote another product

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so true. They do that a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I stopped chewing gum when I was a kid because they told me that it will make the teeth rotten 😅 I got a tooth issue one time, though it wasn't the gum. They said it was it, I was scared, then I stopped it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha I know that feeling. I was told many times back then too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have this product in mine that I wish I could still buy it now, but it's gone the last time I bought was in my elementary days haha..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What's the name? If you can remember it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ooh its name was Bobot, its a peanut coated with different colors.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow...I will look it up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah sure..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really cannot remember the name of the product and I don't even know how to describe it so others can understand me. I'll try anyways. It's this chocolaty paste that has small nuts in it that comes with this small spoon for eating it. I consumes so much of it back then that I wished they made it in bigger volumes and with a bigger spoon.

Another one would be speedy biscuit. Though it's still available cos I saw it recently but it has lost that taste that I used to know it for and I regretted buying cos it dented the original memory I had which is very sacred and precious.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahahaha I know that one with spoon. I had a lot of it too... chocolate and vanilla side by side.

Yes, speedy with the coconut one too. I wouldn't dare buy it now. Never. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂 here we call it shibi je

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha so true. I remember. They still make it but it's terrible now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That banana chewing gum is the one that I like most, because when I was very young then, it has some educative hints which I love to read

$ 0.02
1 year ago

One of the many reasons why I love it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That banana chewing gum is actually back now

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Someone told me recently but I heard it's harder now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The one with the meat. Flotsie macaroni, potatoes with stew, it was very tasty. Today's stew is not really meat, so to speak. Druzhba ice cream, melted cheese. I used to have everything "real" and cost a penny, but now it's just chemicals... nostalgia...

$ 0.03
1 year ago

This is the painful part. For the ones they are still making, they have added a lot of things to it, so much chemical and it doesn't make sense anymore and still cost a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah so mouthwatering 🤤 If I talk about one thing that I used to eat a lot in my childhood was a tamarind that used to go by the name LOVE 😂 I have always been fond of eating sour things and it was my favourite one. My mother wouldn’t let me eat it because I used to get sore throat a lot in my childhood, So I would buy LOVE tamarind, hide it in my school bag and eat it whenever my mother was not around. It had this sour salty taste that my taste buds still remember 😁

$ 0.03
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣😂 I would look it up to have an idea how it looked. They still make it or they have stopped?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They stopped it, that is why my heart aches 🥲😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can't remember the name? Ouch. So sorry my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😢😢

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago