Be Creative - My Kind of Content, II.

59 143
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Image Source.

This is the second part of the post I made yesterday about creating a niche for yourself and making your content to be targeted toward your readers rather than just "talking to yourself." I cited how sometimes we just want to make a post and be done for the day but creating content should be about what you want your consumers or readers to see and understand. It's like you are trying to communicate... communication would lose its credibility when you are not carrying others along. The whole essence of communication is to pass a message across and it can be received differently but a message must be passed, clear and easy. You can read the first part of the post here: Be Creative - My Kind of Content.

I am more user conscious and I believe everyone should be too because that's the sole purpose of creating your content. When I create my content I create it with my readers in mind. How will this set of people view it and how will this set of others view it? Will it accomplish the same purpose? Am I open to those who might object or which angle can others come from which I have to tidy up to explain better? I make sure it's not a waste of time to my readers or something I do in a rush. It has to be something that a random person can read and then take home at least something there.

I've said many times that there is nothing you want to write that someone hasn't touched before. The only difference should be:

1. You went a little further than what has been written before.

2. You decided to go in another direction to what was written before.

3. You decided to add personal experience to yours so you can own it.

4. You decided to say them in your own words to serve as a reminder to others because humans are quick to forget.

I mentioned reminders because we all go through different things at different times and what you have written might come in handy for some at the right time they needed it. It's like giving someone, let's say, a dollar. To some, it might not be worth so much but to someone who hasn't eaten for days, it's worth more. The hungrier we are, the needier we are, the more certain contents suit our needs which is why we don't need to do a rush job and we must have our readers in mind...whoever they are...and whenever they choose to come and read it...a month later...a year down the line...whenever.

Image Source.

@Fexonice1 spoke about how his older articles still get the likes and attention and that's intriguing. It means our contents are here to stay and as long as it's meeting the needs of people, it's never a waste of time. Most people are scared of putting their best in their content because they are scared it might not get the attention they needed; monetary wise or number wise but they have forgotten that it's not just about now, but later. We need to stop thinking short term and start embracing the long term.

We will always doubt what we are putting out as content and that's the truth. We would always question if they are good enough and what others would think of them because that doubt in your mind would want you to go over it again. As long as you keep pouring your heart into what you are writing, be it personal experience or research work, don't let that fear hinder you. Even if no one engages it for a while, don't sweat it, just keep doing what you are doing and that time would come when someone would find what you have written before now useful and you would know it wasn't a wasted effort. Consistency plays a part in putting yourself out there and being known for what you offer.

And to round it up I would say, make sure you engage your readers. I don't know how others do it...they would put content out there and there would be tons of comments they wouldn't reply to. They reply to selected ones and I can never understand it. Your readers are taking time to express themselves through what you have written and then give you feedback as to what they have learned and you wouldn't even have the decency to reply? How would you expect them to come back? How would you improve on your writing or content going forward? Their comments should serve as feedback on what they have enjoyed and what kind of content your readers want.

I tried football posts a few times and I can count the number of comments I got. It wasn't encouraging. With that, I knew the kind of content that would be appreciated. I made another football post and I infused it with life's lessons, the engagement was better than just purely football posts and that made me understand what people want to see. On Hive, I can make football posts and I would gain the attention I seek but here, I already know that people want what they can relate to and that's good. Before I even go over to comment on other people's posts, I make sure I respond to those who took out time to read and give me meaningful comments. You should too.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. πŸ™ˆ

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

32
$ 5.51
$ 4.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Bilqees
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 22
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

Of course it's common courtesy to reply a message or response from any user to an article. I wouldn't want that done to me, so I make sure to reply to any comment on any of my posts. That's how it should be, no?

Ooh, and thank you good sir. I think you've given me an idea or two on how to go about my Articles. P.S yunno sir, I considered the thing about football contents and the whatnots when I just started here. But I was like "nah, nobody's gonna like that." Guess I wasn't wrong. :D

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly...it's common courtesy to reply comments...they took their time to reply, it's best to engage them.

Good to have you here. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Consistency, long-term thinking and respect for the readers - these are indeed essential.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I absolutely agree with you on that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have said well, Daddy. Engaging your readers, and replying back to their comments is another good way to make your content worth coming over again and again. Just like I said, your content is not about you but your readers. Having to write what others will take home is the best and that would earn you more people coming to learn from you.

Also, making content is all about knowing what people want to read and relate to so they can keep expecting more from you.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

My KP is on fireeeeeeee. Ossshey. Thanks a lot for this, dear. Your head is there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't make me emotional joor 🀣🀣🀣🀣 (I copied your reply on my comment on Hive) πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha you are not serious.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is like people here are anti-football LMAO. Writing about my FPL sef has become difficult as people just tip and go, they just tip and go. I have decided if I even want to write about it, it will be one of two posts in a day and that would be like twice a month. Although the season is coming to an end. So... Something about not replying comments, I don't know but I find it disrespectful though. When I come online the first thing I reply to are comments before I even start reading published articles. Apart from writing articles to target our audience, we should also simplify how language for better understanding. That was what Trifecta talked about in one of her recent articles.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Hahahaha they are anti-football o and it shocked me hahaha.

It's disrespectful to have comments waiting and then not attend to them. It's a subtle way of telling them you don't appreciate their time and effort.

I love that last point you raised...our posts should be understood by all in simple terms. We don't need to complicate things unnecessarily by confusing the readers because we want to display our depth in language.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People that don't reply their comments are a big turnoff, they might not realise but they are slowly chasing away their audience. Just a simple "thank you for stopping by" is better than just leaving it hanging

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Exactly. That would have been better. I know having much comments can be tiring but like you said, that kind of customized message would go a long way but for me, even if they are 100 comments, I would reply all based on their comments. I love that interaction.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly Mr Ola, we always doubt what we are putting out, there's no two ways about that... I'm always scared of the engagements i get on an article, especially those moments when I battle eith writer's block, I'll always be thinking; "would my readers like this article?" "Would there be comments?" I don't know about anyone else, but I love seeing comments on my article, that doesn't mean I don't like tips, but tips without comments, to me, seems more like a wasted effort.

I've studied all my commentators too, infact I know all those who constantly engage, so whenever I don't see any of their comments, I tend to feel so bad of myself.

Just like you said, I for one, don't like reading about football, lol, πŸ˜‚ I still don't understand what most guys see in it... Even the brothers I have, never talks about football... Whenever I see an article on football on read, I usually read it, try my best; racking my brain just to atleast put down a comment, but nothing ever comes in, so I just end up tipping and going over to the next article. Knowing the kind of audience you have, matters alot. If you love writing about musicians and most of your audience don't really like music, chances are that the person would get little or no engagements on his/her posts.

Also there's something I do, I always make sure I put my commentators first, read and comment on all of their recent articles before moving unto other read.cash user's articles.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

Hahahaha that's why I stopped posting on football. It's like trying to get into business and you haven't studied the market. Imagine someone having older people (60+) around his vicinity and that person decides to go into making baby foods. It's not a bad business but it's not for the target audience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Is being creative innate or can we develop it ourselves?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those four points you listed above sir make me remembered what tengolotodo had said " there's nothing as a writer's block".. You just have to add something new not necessarily much to the thousands of writings available on and off the internet. Especially on a platform like read.cash where you could literally write about absolutely anything... Nevertheless, we should always try to make our work stand out

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Exactly. I don't have writer's block and I am not bragging because when I read other people's articles, I am inspired to go in another direction based on what I have picked. Most people with writer's block are those who hardly take time to read other people's posts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When you have your audience in mind and write helpful articles, they rarely go out of date. After months and even years they will still be appreciated. That is why it is important to always have your audience in mind.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly and why we need to produce quality that can stand the test of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should always keep our audience in mind and write the kind of content they would appreciate btw it's best after posting we take time to engage and not leave the article expecting tons of people on the article, engagement is the key to a successful writer.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I agree...it's the key to being a success writer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really think of how I can create a fascinating content especially all of the folks can relate.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Try and know what your audience likes and you can't know until you post.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely, I'll try Friend ola.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also have some of my content which is not catchable nor interesting

$ 0.01
1 year ago

To others it might be. You never can tell until you post them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Checking my old articles, I can still see some new comments too so others are still visiting them. Engaging with readers is the most important aspect of blogging. Because of them, our content becomes worthy

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Exactly, Janeeeeeyyyyyy... They are the reasons why our contents becomes worthy. We need to connect with them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I sometimes don't understand some content of the authors writings haha so ai just upvote it haha I prefer not to comment because I don't know what to say even after reading the article hahha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahaha I understand. We can only reply to what we can relate with.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While I'm browsing here, I choose articles that have relatable content and express the vital message in which as a reader, I have something to learn and apply in my life. Thanks for the further explanation, this article is readable and full of vital information.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's brilliant...that way, you can give meaningful and honest comments. Good one and thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a huge one for those who to learn. I am guilty of this to some extent because there are few days when I just drop something for posting sake and I agree that evey content must have a message.

It must connect with the readers because that makes it a good content. Engagement is another thing we must take seriously, it influences our relationship with other users and our earning as well.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yes, it's that connection that makes the difference...with comments and with posting. That's why they said what comes from the heart touches the heart.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our consciousness is our sole way to create a wonderful and unique content.☺️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love this...that's how we personalize it and make it ours.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha right, there are times I can't understand other users content. Or let's say does not interest me. So rather than leaving irrelevant comments, I just chose to upvote

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha we have all been there. To me, it's usually deep crypto related articles.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha same as I am not into trading tooπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All we write is simply a re-modification of what has already been written, except that it's from our own perspective which makes it different and unique. That uniqueness is what makes our articles stand out from the previous!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

God bless you Kris, it's that uniqueness...that extra touch...that personalization that makes it better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, there's nothing new under the sun and what we do today, some must have done it in the past and we are just remixing it

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Serious remix 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly, I commented on someone's article about two weeks ago, I took my time to really lay out my argument and it wasn't even acknowledged, it was quite painful. I've had other experiences like that. So many writers need to read this your article.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Wow. That can be so painful...using your time to give a comment and it wasn't acknowledged. It's only a matter of time before people notice and stop coming around the writer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is a great lesson friend, you have really pinned out some important lesson that even I myself have also learned an important thing from it, these is a sensitive write up that you have made, how I wish everyone in the platform will view this particular post of yours, I have always use you and the other few friends here as a good examlple, because there is no single post yours that I scroll down and add a comment that you will not reply back, and this has given me the courage to always come around your post. Thanks for the update.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

This means a lot to me. Thank you so much. I always enjoy your valuable contributions as well and I enjoy having you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sir.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anytime.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really important to post a good contents that your readers will love, not just posting for posting sake, thanks for sharing the article

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks a lot. Glad to have you here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Spot on as always Ola. I too notice that some of my content get less engagement than other, so with that in mind I change it around to better suit the audience πŸ’™

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Exactly, Mo. It's like a questionnaire where we know what people want and what doesn't appeal to them. Good one, Mo. 😘😘😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Writing content that viewers and r after can related to the way to go. Thanks for the tips.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you enjoyed it, dear. See you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is awesome and important to people who are lost or in block or to those who does not know the path.. finding niche is very important, the followers might be less but would be "surely present" everyday on your profile :))

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I love this. They will always be present and it's enough motivation already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago