A House That Is A Home

88 123
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

October 17, 2021

We grow up believing that a home is a place where we were born, made of walls and beams. The four corners of the living room are our playground where we could hide and seek. The kitchen is our battlefield where we could create a mess. The lavatory is our sanctuary where we could go wild and free. The sleeping room with a cozy bed is our haven where we could dream, throw tantrums, or relieve stress.

But in the place where I grew up, there was no separate living room, no separate kitchen room, no sleeping room, and only the bathroom was separated, because our tiny house has only one room with four corners and walls where we play, eat, study, and sleep. We lived in a tiny Nipa Hut or Bahay Kubo in our dialect.

Image from: https://www.jbsolis.com/2015/06/50-images-of-different-bahay-kubo-or.html

Some call home a house, and I was confused back when I was a kid. "What really is the right term for that? Home or house?" I even asked myself. But people use the term house more often and I seldom hear home.

Reminiscing my childhood memories living in our nipa hut, all days were sweet no sweats. We may not have modern gadgets to play with, but we had a lamp where we could play pet shadowing. We may not have a flat-screen TV to watch movies, but we had an old radio where we could listen to drama and songs. We may not have a huge house with enough rooms for each of us, but we had a wide yard where we could play around anytime we wanted to. We could run, hide and seek, marry-go-round, patentero, tumbang preso, etcetera.

In a secluded place where we lived the trees, flowers, a river, and a mountain were our neighbors as we were quite far away from the village. The grasses were our field, the trees were our posts, the canopies were our sheds, the branches were our swings, and the river was our pool. Our little house was blessed with the fruits of nature and our life was as simple as ABC.

In A Place Called House, How Could It Be Home? Asked @Eunoia. We called it house but was it home?

I never saw my parents fighting in those years living in the nipa house, they were always sweet and caring. And having no gadgets and other products of technology was an advantage as it gives us more quality time to bond. We all play together during the day, eat together in one place, and sleep together on one mat under one wide blanket.

And I could say that during those times, I was living in a home, not a house. And I could feel that "home isn't a place, it's a feeling," just like Cecelia Ahern quoted.

We may not have the material possessions that other families have, but we have the love and happiness that made our home.


That was until we grew up and took different paths. We relocated and built a concrete house. Was it still home?

My father, together with my two brothers have followed the path up to highlands to serve the country and protect the countrymen. I felt like there were empty spaces in our home, the once intact feelings were scattered and there were lesser genuine moments. Meanwhile, I opted to live in a bustling city away from home to pursue my studies and dreams leaving my mother and little siblings at home.

I couldn't call it home and I called it a house, especially when the two brothers chose to make their own homes and left us behind. The time came that our home was clouded with dark clouds and shadows that took so long to shove them out. That was when the head of the family broke the rules and left my mother to shed tears in vain and our home was shattered into pieces, dismantled and we had hostile ill feelings. No more love and happiness, and sorrow and hatred were formed.

There was no home anymore. Only the house was left standing but it was empty and dark. The four corners and walls were quiet but as the dusk covered the place, whimpers and agony filled the empty house. And I, hearing the whimpers of my mother, provoked my tears to roll down my face, and hatred for my father formed in my heart. I held a grudge against him when I was younger, but I formed more hatred against him when I grew up. He could hurt the enemies and rebellions, but not my kind mother. He could throw bullets on the battleground and ruin it, but not our home.


Every day when I faced the four corners of my desktop at work and heard the song "Danced with my father" played by my supervisor, I wanted to smash her computer. But no, it couldn't be the solution to my agony. Every time I hit the sack, I would beg the Almighty God to make my family intact again just for the sake of my mother and little siblings. I couldn't imagine how their future would be without a father because even my hardships couldn't support them all.

After months of suffering, my feeling couldn't contain when our father started to redeem his soul and follow the right path back home. The feelings of love and happiness weren't fully regained, yet, the house was filled with souls again. Two family heads stand on the corners to make the house sturdy and won't fall again. With continuous support, little by little, things started to fully recover, and brick by brick, the house became home again.

We may have followed different paths and some built different homes, but what matters is having the feeling of home again. And no matter what storm, struggles, and drawbacks came, it remains sturdy, tall, and unbreakable.


Some would take things for granted and wouldn't care about the simple ones just because they have much, just because they are more fortunate. But just like what @Ellehcim said, Don't Take Things For Granted.

Some people would take their spouses and family for granted while others are praying and hoping to make their family complete again.

Some people would take the effort of those who are protecting the country for granted. While families like ours with soldiers are always worried about the fact that our members might be harmed on the battlefield. And there's no days and nights that we aren't praying for their safe come back every time they are sent out to deal with the bullets of the enemies just to protect the people and the country

Every little thing we have should be taken into account.

The simple house that we have. The simple dish on our tables. Our job. Our family. Even our neighbors, strangers, and the nature where we live in. Be blessed that you have them. Because there are thousands, perhaps millions of people out there that are struggling to survive in this world, struggling to regain their shattered lives, struggling to fix their broken families, and struggling to retrace their lost track.

So if you have a house that is a home, treasure it and don't take people inside it for granted. Cherish those people and always take every day with them as if it is the last. Because we don't know what tomorrow holds. We don't know if we can fix a home once it becomes broken. We don't know if we can regain back harmony once it shatters. We don't know if we can come back again once we lost our path.

Don't let your home become dark and empty. Always fill it with love and happiness.

Have a blessed Sunday 🙂.

I was inspired to write this after reading the two articles mentioned above. Thanks guys

Time to writing: 2 pm 10/17/21

41
$ 15.52
$ 13.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
+ 31
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

One of the best article today When I was reading this article it's really learning for me to new things about this and this is Awesome This word Totally express feeling and tremendously for me to knowing about home You really create an different angle about article to attract reader

Best wishes for you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is beautiful, Jane. In our current times, it is hard to have that "home" feeling even when we are in our house. But i am thankful our house feels like home. 💚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Home is indeed a feeling. The feeling of being home could happen to be with someone as long as you are safe. ❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True we don't know what tomorrow holds and it's good to cherish every moment with our family and friends.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awee, I miss our home Ms. Jane. Right now, i am in my bf's house and I can't feel that this is a home. The atmosphere here doesn't feel like home to me. Though they have a nice and very much comfortable house than ours, pipiliin ko parin yung bahay namin kahit butas2 ang yero at tumutulo pag ulan

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Huhu.. Ganun tlga . iba feeling pag nsa bahay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Home isn't a place, it's a feeling," it is 100% true. I love how simple yet peaceful your life was when you were a kid. However, some things happen unpredictable and unpreventable. I know how hard for you it was. I am proud of you for staying strong.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

and I quote, "don't take anything for granted."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy i know you miss home, jane. Hang on, uwing uwi ka na kc few months ago pa. Buti nlng busy ka lagi sa cypto mo, just hang on..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here sis. Litong lito ako between house and home noong bata pa ako. Diba merong nakikita na nakasabit kalimitan noon na "God Bless our Home" sa pintuan ng mga bahay? Naisip ko nun, bakit kaya hindi "God Bless our House"? Eh kapag naman nagpapa house blessing, HOUSE naman ang gamit..

But then of course, ngayon, alam ko na ang difference :)...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not the house that makes the home but the people in it. I came to this realization when I grew older. I also realized that family isn't always who you're related to by blood. It's the people in your heart. The people you can call home.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Heartfelt. I cannot remember when I knew the difference between house and home. But home does start to feel like a house when we feel less secure or less loved.

It is harder to maintain a home than a house itself. We can have all the money to dismantle and renovate the structure but no money can renovate a home. Agreed. Never take anyone in your home - blood or not - for granted

How are they pala na sis?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They are okay now. Pro si papa at isa kung kapatid wala parn naaamoy.. Yung iba okay na. Thanks 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

House and home is way different and I experience both of it - good and a bad one. Yung feeling na gustong maging intact ulit I feel that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

How is it now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being intact again after those tragic moment. Yung kailangan pa may mawala bago mabuo muli😥.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Childhood memories are very interesting and also the relationship between the family. Father must love mother and there children. Parental love has really helped you. It helped me too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You also apply yourself very well when you are inspired. Very good reading. Leaves a very good feeling when you finish reading.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice story of your life, unfortunately there were moments of agony, but everything went back to normal. You always have to keep your home

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was once living in a house which is not a home. When I was growing up until I was in my 1st year college. Good thing that now, it's already a home. I'll try to write my thoughts as well. I guess I had another idea of what topic to write. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will read it 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How beautifully you have differentiated between home and house,if we have caring and loving people with us, then its home, otherwise it would be house. I am blessed in this sense, because home is filled with all these blessings.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also lived in such a small house for a good part of my childhood. Houses this small are special, despite the fact that you spend work sometimes, you end up getting a taste for it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

While we were growing up, we were made to know the difference between a house and a home. A home is fully furnished and decorated while a house is an uncompleted building. While reading your article, I have an idea what a home is compared to a house. You know when a home has everything in it, beautiful family, peace, joy and happiness, nothing would be empty in it because there is unity. But a house is just like an uncompleted building that only echoes your voice back to you when you shout. It's empty and no one feels better or happy in it. We need to make our house a home and not a home turning into a house.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Indeed.. Even if your house is full of beautiful stuff, if there aren't happy souls living in it, no complete family, then it will still look dull and empty, silent and broken.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember back then in primary school, my teacher told us the difference between a house and a home. He made us understand that a house is just a structure, while a home is the father, mother and children living together. It's just like how a church isn't a building, but the people that worships there.

When a house gets damaged, it can easily be fixed as long as there is money. But all the money in the world might not be enough to fix a broken home

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True. It is the hardest one to be fixed once broken. Even those millionaires don't feel genuine happiness despite having the fortune but with an incomplete family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the things I hope to do is to my children anticipate to come home because of the love and bond

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A home when you comfortably living with the people you loved. A house is just the literal materials where we settled while a home has a deeper meaning in our hearts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A broken home affects the children badly and makes them full of hatred. Thank God he was able to retrace his way back home. Love and happiness make a home

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nakakamiss din ang panahon dati, mas simple at nostalgic. Naranasan din namin na kulang ang pamilya kase ung tatay ofw at ung nakikitira samin pinsan na galing probinsya para mag-aral sa Manila.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ofw parn ba tatay mo now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo, 2 years na siya di makauwi since last 2019. Every December siya umuuwi pero mukhang maskip ulit niya this year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dapat nga uwi na ko last month .pro dhl sa covid, extnded ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like I can't explain how I felt while reading this, I just feel an impulse running through me that I don't even Know when I drop off tears fell from my eyes when you talk about your dad leaving your mum, turning the place you called a home into a house, I could feel the whole in you then with your expression, and I was like asking myself, is this real or just a fictional story....but without doubt, I could sense the reality I'm what you wrote...... it's a real story, I said to myself.

Still reading through, then a grin showed on my face, why? Was filled with joy again when your dad finally retraced his step by making the house to turn into a home again, oh what a heartfelt joy.

No matter how a house might look , as far as you find peace and rest there, it's our home and let's try out best to keep it, glad I came across this article.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If you have been my follower since before and read my previous articles, you'll know that it's not fictional coz it's real 😁 you can click that link above to read my story living in a nipa hut back when we were young.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oops! I've not read other articles , I will try my best to read through it ma'am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Home, you can call it home if that house is full of happy memories, love, more love and true people? Yong excited kang uuwi sa bahay ganon. Yong wala sanang away st nangyayaring kademonyohan ng sariling pamilya.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha..kademonyohan tlga. Yup madam. Yung may peace sa bahay na uuwian mo. At full of harmony

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too, when I was young we just lived in a house where no concrete tiles and flooring. I loved the memories we been in that house, we slept in the bamboo flooring and laugh with each other. There is also time that line of electricity was cut because of unpaid bills. Hehe. I never ashamed to show people when I was young out home because I know that house won't last forever but home is.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True.. We haven't had electricity before when we live in a nipa hut. But that was fun. We were close to nature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iba talaga yung saya kapag kumpleto ang pamilya. Mas gusto ko yung home kaysa sa house, you're right po that a home is filled with happiness and love by the people living in it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm short of words coz your story really motivated me... what matters is not the building but the home itself which is us... indeed we must fight to restore peace in our homes regardless of how things turn out to be.. You've got a strong mom, and I love her her courage through out this journey. Happy sunday 💛

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You'll love her more if you found out that she raised 13 kids 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😳😳 wait what. I just did now, she's truly a super woman.... wow no one could have been a better mom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. That's why I don't like seeing my mother being hurt, coz she deserves every love in the world.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah she truly does.... just so you know I felt emotional reading through 😟

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks.. I always put emotions in my write-ups because they are real.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good article for the Sunday

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I always say my partner and my daughter is my home.. not really the house hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True...our loved ones are our real home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Don't let your home become dark and empty. Always fill it with love and happiness." indeed :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm I think our family is our home and where we stayed is our house That's my little understanding about this article

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In other way around

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤔 hmmmm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes so true. Naka relate ako doon sa walang separate walls sa bahay just the four corner. And indeed a home is a feeling.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Isang room lng yun hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah at Yun na Ang living room and bedroom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a great advice. Always live in love and happiness with those you call family. Then you can say you have a home.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Minsan mapapaisip ako kung home padin ba itong bahay namin hayssss.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Ang hirap sa part nyo.. Lalo na sa mama mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like now Wala si mama Hindi dito natulog Kasi nandito si papa tapos pag Alis ni papa saka sya babalik ulit.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I learned from my father that a home is a place where true people with true hearts lived whereas a house is just a term. Well, I'm glad sis your family is back to normal.There's nothing more I can ask in this world than to have my family together bind with love.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kht saang bahay pman sya pumunta. Wala parn ibang tao na mag aalaga sa knya same sa pag alaga ni mama..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Yun ang tinatawag na there's no place like home and the people living in it. You will always miss the people you used to be with. ❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Things change, people change, everything changes, but family is family. Glad to know despite the challenges, your father came back to your house, making it a home once again :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's an old story... Many happened after. but what matters is, the house is home again. 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that's the most important thing :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe in home is where the heart is. If it doesn't feel right, it's no longer a home. It could still be for some but not everybody thinks the same. We may make the best out of it by masking it with material things but we are only fooling ourselves.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True.. Material possessions can't hide a shattered home. There should be love and happiness to call it home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know dear, after reading this, a pleasure feeling is in my mind. Home is the heaven on this earth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Home is strong when the relation therein are strong. We cannot break a home if the bonding therein are strong. The pillars and foundation of a home is strong only with the love and compassion of the people living therein.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Love and happiness is what makes a house a home.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As we grow up, we realized that the simple life we had back then was priceless and our house is a home already. We may have took different paths with our siblings whom we have shared a home with, but the memories will be with us forever. And no matter how far we wander, no matter how big and luxurious the city is, we will always find our way back to our home from time to time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True.. Indeed the quote is true "there's no place like home." Even though it's not complete anymore, but the feeling is still intact and the bond would always find ways to get us closer again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na touch naman ako madam. Ganon talaga ano darating yung time the house will never be home the way it used to. The people who make it home leave one by one.

But I'm glad our home in the Philippines still is home and still I'm welcome. Kami kami pa rin Ang hirap naming paghiwalay hiwalayin even we're far apart.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Separated by distance but not by love and we still call it home 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The house where i live right now I never called it as a 'Home'. Since noong naghiwalay ang magulang ko at lumipat kami dito never ko na nababangit yung words na "Welcome home." I feel you ate kasi di ito yung bahay na tinuturing naming nakasanayan namin ng ate ko. Parang para sakin ordinaryong bahay lang to. House nila lolo at lola yon lang. siguro matatawag kong home ang isang bahay kapag buo na kaming tatlo ulit. Yung samasama kami, masayang pamilya na nakatira sa sarili naming bahay. 🥲

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We have different situations. Ours became home again despite the different paths we have taken..the bond the feeling is still there. Yours is really incomplete. But you can call it home if you guys really wanted to. It's the love and happiness that could make it home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My definition of a home when I was young is exactly what you wrote in the first paragraph, but as I grew older I realized the difference between a house and a home

$ 0.02
2 years ago

House is just a structure. But the love and happiness of the family living in it are what makes it home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Family is home for me, I believe that a house is just that structure mounted with bricks but the feeling and affections shown to one another living there makes it a home.

You got me emotional talking about making mom happy and I wonder why every mother must go through these things in life, it hurts to see them unhappy after the strength they have used on keeping the home together.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Really heartbreaking if you see them crying and broken. They have sacrificed their own lives just to bring us to this world. We owe them a lot and they should remain happy and loved.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What a world, I hope people realize that our mothers need lots of love and care.

$ 0.00
2 years ago