Throwback Thursday: A Memorable Celebration

Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

I did not receive flowers nor pricey gifts. We did not go to an expensive restaurant to eat. Yet, the warm kind of bliss still lives in my memories, rent-free.

Image from Unsplash

Recently, I have read a few articles talking about celebrations. Through those, I was able to remember mine, and realize, that I have celebrated countless times in my twenty-two years of existence. One thing haven't changed. I always celebrated with my family.

This is my take to the anniversary giveaway that was hosted by a fellow writer here. For mechanics and other important information, please read through until the end. The ones I have read are recommended below, you are invited to read their entries.

I also have recently celebrated my birthday last September 2nd, and wrote an article of how my birthday went. (Sayang lang at hindi umabot para sa giveaway na ito. LOL) So now, I will just share about another memorable event in my life: my college graduation.

It was indeed a beautiful part of my memory, because it meant that I was able to successfully overcome the toughest possible hurdles of education. My student life has been hard, especially since highschool, and it got harder in college. Actually, I have shared about some of the specific trials I had to face back in college, in one of my old articles (I put it in the end of this part). You can just read them next after this. I just wanted to explain why this graduation day was special to me.

I saw my diploma as the token of reward for my being strong and persistent. It's the outcome of my decision to not give up, despite those sleepless days and nights, and years filled with anxiety, pressure, as well as health and financial setbacks. It was a proof that I have won. All glory be to God. I can't thank Him enough.

April 30, 2019

The graduation ceremony started at twelve or one in the afternoon. But we all woke up early. My older sister was at work. My younger brother was with us at home.

Mom is the one that chose, bought, and ironed the blue dress for me. She also ironed my toga. All done the night before the graduation.

I was so excited. Though I already know how the graduation will go (since we practiced it many, many times before), I am still elated, and thrilled. I had a good bath, and a bit of rest.

Mom did the make up for me. I could never. Well, until now, I don't know much about make ups. Oh, have I said that I had my frizzy hair rebonded three days before the 30th of April? Mom actually scolded me a bit because I did not even get myself something gold or beautiful hair accessory to at least adorn my straight hair. I literally had nothing to decorate my hair. If mom would not do my make up, I wonder if I'd really look like someone who'll attend an important ceremony. Thanks, mom.

Father and younger bro were mom's best assistants that day, as I can remember. They helped preparing my shoes, my dress from the cabinet, the bag to bring, and of course the toga and graduation cap, father held carefully as it's hung on a hanger.

Graduation cap and toga. I wore black ones. (Image source: Unsplash)

Luckily, a batchmate of mine messaged me the same day to just come with them because they had a van, to which I did not hesitate to say yes to. We were spared the trouble of commuting. Younger bro did not come with us, to look after our house.

Fast forward to the ceremony per se, it went well. What I loved most is the inspirational speech of the guest speaker that time. Even the event was supposedly formal, she made all of us laugh with her words. And of course, I had learned amazing insights from her. She's admirable.

Mom and Dad were not able to accompany me to the stage to get my diploma, but just the fact that they saw me on stage finally graduating, is more than enough for me. I am sure, they are so proud, and relieved. I am the product of all their blood, sweat, and tears. I am so happy, that my father was also able to come. It was months after his hospitalization. God really had a beautiful plan that was just laid like that.

After the ceremony, we did not come home immediately. We looked for a nearby fastfood restaurant to have a hearty meal. The restaurant we found is called Chowking, a popular fastfood chain here in the Philippines, with lots of branches nationwide.

Sample of a Chowking branch. Click photo for source.

Yes, it was the main celebration. We ordered the foods we like, and had a happy, light-hearted conversation. Congratulatory messages from many people that I know made me happy, but hearing those from my parents and my siblings is the best. Actually, I should have congratulated them back, because I won't be where I am if not because of them. Maybe, my struggle to express myself better had the best of me that time.

Those were thirty minutes of bliss. Finally, we are not talking about stressful expenses anymore. I am over those days of complaining and battling frustrations not just with my grades, but with other personal problems caused by my studies. For the first time in a while, we are not talking about things that used to worry or burden us. Mom took a lot of photos, and I am sure those were still kept on her phone. Sadly, my own photos are not here with me, because my old phone was stolen.

After the meal, we went back home. Nothing more than that. No after-event, but you know what's euphoric? Seeing my parents walk with me with their head held high. Those scenes are still fresh in my mind.

Some of the neighbors or aquaintances would ask where we came from, with all the unusually celebratory outfits. And our parents would answer them with smiles on their faces: Oh, our daughter graduated today. We have a college graduate now.

They said I am their trophy. They are proud that I did not give up and just continued even the journey was hard. My success was a product of prayers, efforts, and support from my family. They are my driving force.

Whenever I felt like giving up, I would remind myself that my older sister sacrificed going to college to give way for me and work to support the family. Then my brother who has always looked up to me. Our spiritual family that always rooted and prayed for me. Especially, my mom and my dad's strong desire to have children that would successfully finish college, because none of them did. And of course, God. Because I am His scholar. He helped me financially, and gave me knowledge, wisdom, will and strength to overcome the trials, and be a conqueror in the end.

I will always say that my student life, especially my college life was indeed hard. I had many breakdowns. I doubted myself a lot, questioned my own abilities, intelligence, and had many thoughts of just surrendering everything. There were lots of disappointments, frustrations, sufferings, fears, and tears. Thanks to my support system that made everything bearable. I could not do it all alone.


We might not have some grand celebration, or some sort of a getaway or travel plan to celebrate my graduation. However, I know deep inside that in our hearts, we rejoiced. It was a combination of relief, gratitude, and joy.

That diploma is more than just a piece of paper to me. Whenever I'd see it, I will always remember how in one instance of my life, I was victorious. I have ran the race, and finished it.

Still too shy to show my face in this.😅

I finally made it! Isn't that alone worth celebrating?

Wow, that was fun.

It is so nice looking back to memories more than two years ago. I still could not believe sometimes, that I was able to get through and survive those trying times. I am, and will always be thankful.

On to the information y'all are probably waiting for! Read the rules below, and feel free to join, before September 19!

HEY! Click the photo for SOURCE ARTICLE! :)

❄️ Read Next!

♥️ And please show some love to my old articles:

I am excited to see your name on my sponsor block. Thank you in advance!

Be a writer in this amazing platform right NOW! Register HERE ❤️ and let me know so I could guide you through.

Let's hang out on noise.cash! I also go by the name username. Want some assistance? Don't forget to tell me. I am more than willing to.

#Club1BCH

To God be the Glory.

  • Lead Image from Unsplash

  • Published: 09/16/2021


#14 | @LykeLyca


21
$ 10.22
$ 9.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 15
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

What great love there is in your story. Love can do it all. The love for God, your parents, your family and yourself, was the engine that drove you to reach your goal. Beautiful graduation celebration, no matter how simple it was, love covered it all.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right. Thank you so much for reading! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay if the celebration is simple. What matters most is the solidarity of your family. Your mom and dad are so proud of you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agree with you, John! They are the two people who will always give me a reason to celebrate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's sweet!!! Nanay and tatay must be oh so proud!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They must really be. 🤧 They love me real much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Simple yet full of happiness yan ang importante <3

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tamaaa!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's what's important...the happiness of our parents. it is indeed a trophy for parents to send their children to school and graduate... their happiness for sure is beyond words can express.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yeah. Even if I became a mom in the future, it would be absolute happiness if my child could finish education successfully.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's true!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhhh that feelings when you throw your hat up in the sky... Common scene in graduation ceremony but every single time it gives me an immense pleasure. Reminded me mine. Remarkable days of our life. And hey, late congratulations dear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahahay, memories. Thanks for the greetings! I appreciate it. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww napaluha nmn ako. Hirap din talaga ako sa college days ko, at parents ko hirap din talaga kaya mkaka relate ako sa kwento mo. Congrats and hopefully you'll get the future you desire to have. But, whatever outcome we have in the future, God always have a great plan, let's wait patiently for His timing.

Thanks for joining and belated happy birthday too!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love your pieces of advice. I will take note of these. Thanks a lot for reading and of course for this opportunity. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure, sis. Oh, I love reading all celebration articles, I'm all smiles reading it :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

After grad ko wala celeb 😅 umuwi drtso sa bahay haha..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

May nanalo na! Ano ba yan, tulog din agad pagkabihis, ganun? 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations, celebration will never seize from your life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Congrats to you although this greetings is over 2 years late but still okay I guess :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! Still love to accept your greetings. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are very welcome :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Congrats po kasi you made it, isang pangarao ng magulang para sa mga anak nila, for sure forever proud sayo ang parents mo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo, sana sunod si ate naman makaoag college na. Nagwowork pa din sya hanggang ngayon. In God's perfect time. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes kya yan, in Gods will

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course having to pass all the subjects in college and was able to see your name of list of students who will finally graduate is something we should celebrate. All the hardships you endured during all those years in college has finally paid off. I am sure your family has been so proud of your achievements 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes. They have always been so supportive. Thanks for coming here. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you’re welcome sis,❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gusto parin kita e congrats kahit 2years ago pa yan mare haha, Congratulations habang binabasa ko to i feel so proud sayo. At alam kong sobra sobrang proud rin mga magulang mo. Hindi lang sa araw na yon kondi palagi. Hehe hanga rin ako sa kapatid mo na nag give way❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat! I am happy na nicredit mo din ang fam ko. ♥️ They helped me achieve this. And all glory be to God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago