Let this Article Distract You.

65 81
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

I love to write TO-DO lists. I either write them in a piece of paper, or I note them in my head. The lists is usually long per day, I am often detailed you know. The thing is, I always wonder where those lists go in the middle of the day.

Source: Unsplash

Distractions. Distractions. What are they? They are the commercials to our supposed to be smooth-going plans. They are the additional fatty goodies to our initially strict diets. Mostly in my case, they are the antagonists of my own goal of publishing one article a day. Or the unexpected activities that ruin my so-called productive day.

Distractions are—wait, what is that strange-looking bird I just saw? Maybe some fairy that could shapeshift to animals? Wow, look at that vibrant orange and brown color combination! Is it possible to see a bird as small as that?! It is so cute and enchanting! I wonder what it sounds like. Oh, wait.. It flew away. Maybe I was too noisy.

What are we talking about again? Oh, distractions. Yes, I have lots of them. I would be really eager to write something in the morning. Yes, as early as five o' clock. I would start with a few strong words, but a devil appears. Yeah, a notification from Youtube. My favorite drama series has released the latest episode I've been waiting for three days. I open, and watch. It does not end with that. I end up watching the next suggested clips. Then maybe open Twitter or Facebook. Abracadabra. It has been two hours. I feel sleepy at seven.

I sleep again.

I would wake up at eight and spend the whole day as usual, totally forgetting about my article. I remember it again after all activities are done. I publish at night. If not lucky, maybe the next day again, because who knows if my brain still have some juice at night time?

It sounds funny when I tell the story, but in reality, it's annoying. I don't wanna be distracted, but you know distractions are quite addictive. I even crave for them sometimes. Sounds strange? No, I am sure you could definitely relate.

I have a well-prepared TO-DO lists for the day. Wake up at seven, have breakfast, and wash the dishes before eight. Do the laundry and finish by ten. Clean the cabinet, have some siesta. Clean the house, fix some papers, organize the docs. But my morning would really start at eight, because I would not want to wake up as early as planned when it's weekend. I would start with breakfast, yeah, but I eat while scrolling through my phone. Yes, phone again. Meal's finished, scrolling continues. Plans are delayed because of phone. Mom is sometimes right when she says I am inlove with my phone.

My phone, it is. It's just amazing I could do many things with my phone that I won't bother spending time with it. Mornings are filled with read.cash now, so I think it's somehow better than before.

However, not all distractions are negative, in my opinion. I use writing to distract myself from worrying. I write stories, I share experiences, I try out bew things, I participate in challenges. That way, my fears and worries are delayed. I am thankful. Drama series helps ne escape from reality, even just temporarily. My favorite singers help me cope with my struggles and their music distract me from feeling anf dwelling on negativities.

When I undergo some medical treatments that involve injections, I tend to be anxious. My solution is to distract my mind with funny thoughts, or singing gospel songs, to the point that I won't notice the procedure is done already.

Oops. Another distraction. Let me postpone writing this because mom gave me some pasta soup. It looks yummy.

In our country, we call it "Lomi".

It tastes bomb! I finished it within ten minutes.

Again, where are we? Oh, distractions. Moving on..

Right now, I am writing this as a distraction, actually. Wow, how fate works! I have received news. Maybe I'd talk about it on my next article soon. I decided to distract myself by just sleeping it out. I was unsuccessful. Whenever my eyes closed, the image flashes in my mind, clear as real. So, I just saw myself visiting this platform, sweeping off completely the notifications, mainly the Comments and Replies filter, and I was successful as I miraculously ran through comments and replies as far as five months ago. Attempt to distract myself, finally successful.

I planned on writing another sad article again. How my day went, the news I received, and the newborn anxiety it caused me, but I figured, why not write something fun to cheer myself up? Thus, the birth of this article. It's like two birds hit in one stone, as I am now back on track with regards to joining in Miss Jonica's prompt challenges again. Now, I feel better. Absolutely better. In fact, I am writing this right now, without giving much thought nor concern to the recent events. Keep coming, troubles. Fall in line. My distractions are here to make you wait for a while.

It is indeed true that distractions clashes against focus. But for some specific situations, distractions also help me like this. Distractions delays my worries and fears. So are distractions bad or good? My answer, it definitely depends.

Let me stop again for a bit. Whether to continue or not, I ain't sure. Let's see if I could add more to this after this thing. The thing is, I have to pee.


Well, hello, fellow humans!

I tried to make this article as light and a bit funny as possible, and I enjoyed it. I hope you did, too. I also feel satisfied that I see myself trying out prompts and challenges again. I hope this goes on.

This is my entry to Miss @JonicaBradley 's latest Writing Prompt about Distractions. Feel free to write about it, too! Keep in mind these rules:

I definitely had fun writing this.

Just to be sure, you may use online plagiarism checkers. :)

What are your distractions as of the moment? Are those beneficial to you, or harmful? Don't hesitate to comment below, and share those insights to me! Keep them coming!

Thanks for being here, Darlings. Until next time.

❄️ Read Next!

♥️ And please show some love to my old articles:

I am excited to see your name on my sponsor block. Thank you in advance!

Be a writer in this amazing platform right NOW! Register HERE ❤️ and let me know so I could guide you through.

Let's hang out on noise.cash! I also go by the name username. Want some assistance? Don't forget to tell me. I am more than willing to.

#Club1BCH

To God be the Glory.

  • Lead Image is an old TO DO list of mine.

19
$ 7.22
$ 6.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 11
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

This distraction needs to be dealt with, Lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahehehe, you think so? 🤔😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana lang talaga yung distraction na mangyari sakin is good. Kaso hindi e. Grabe talaga socmed sakin. Ang lala ng epekto, tas ang kulang ng disiplina ko sarili. 🤦

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sus, ganyan din naman ako. Ngayong araw nga puro nood na naman ako sa youtube. 😂 Paglalaba lang yata ang maganda ganda kong nagawa ngayon eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahhas sameeeee! Kung halos wala nakong masuot, dun pako maglalaba. Ang lala talaga. 🤦🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Basta wag kang sa undies ha? Ibang usapan na yon! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahahahahhahs no no no talaga yun Elle. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo! Yung iba kasi Side A, side B kang ganun! 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wag ganon. Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you. Distractions can be good or bad, depending on the situation. And I will say also. Depending on the nature of the distraction. ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. As long as it does not necessarily harm us, it's okay. Thanks for reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The distraction that has been controlling me for over a month now is a famous volleyball player in the country. God, she's taking too much of my time. Pero happy naman ako. Although I need to minimize this. I should. 😆

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Okay lang yan, baka lumipas din yan. Enjoy the moment. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too I have many distraction there is good and bad HAHAHA Distraction is quite addictive ang it is true especially browsing social media account from minutes to hours.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, sa facebook watch palang, ubos oras talaga. Laking distraction..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan sobra konting scroll lang dapat umabot na ng ilang oras HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate! Sobrang relate! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol! A lot of distractions happening there, Mich. Well, in my case too. Today I was just lying in bed and not write anything. And now it's late already and I haven't published anything lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oks lang yan, John! Bukas nalang! Haha! (feeling ko bad influence ako) 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sige sige Mich

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hhaah nakakadistract nga talaga itong article mo ate michelle. 😅 paiba iba hahahha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahahahaha! Eh di maganda! Nadistract ka. Goal achieved sa akin yon! Hahah! Tsaka totoo mga naging distractions habang sinusulat ko yan, wag ka. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasa point nako na maeexcite ako sa kasunod tapos biglang iba ng topic. Umay 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ganon ba. Dapat akong magsorry—wait... ang ganda ng ngiti mo. Ajujujujuju asfdgsjskxnxi. Stop na! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Sorry din po. 😊❤ thank you 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walang anuman, Caroline. 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I agree with you on some distractions being "good" too as you mentioned writing taking your mind away from negative thoughts.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I now make use of these distractions to benefit me. 😄 Thanks for reading. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's a win-win for you :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣 I really had fun reading your entry, it actually helped to get my mind off my worries (or let me say it distracted me from my worries 😉). I will also work on my own version of the entry, after I successfully deal with my distractions

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am happy I was able to distract you, in a good way. Hahaha! I will make sure to check your entry. See you around!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate na relate habang nagsusulat ng article. Yong nasa kalagitnaan ka ng pagsusulat kaso mo hinihila ka ng MX player no para manood huehue. Di lang yan, minsan bigla nalang papasok sa utak ko na gusto kong mag d.l ng movies kaya ayon ahahahanep. Distracted nalang, araw araw kong problema yan. Pero ngayon, mejo iniiwasan ko na talaga, ayaw ko na ng distraction wala akong nagagawa ee haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Asus, sipag mo pa din naman sa pagpublish ng articles. Iba ka talaga eh. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, pinipilit ko nga sayang kasi huehue

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, pilit pa yun, pero gustung gusto ko. Hahahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also hate it how I easily get distracted every morning. My schedule requires for me to be out of the home by 7am not to be late at work; however, I get distracted at whatever is in my phone that uses a lot of my time. As a result, I only take a bath at 7AM then tries to rush not to be late.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, same. But I am only as late as taking a bath at 6:30.. you're strong! If I go later than 7:10 in the morning, I will surely be late for the office. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you pandemic for the lesser traffic 😂🤣..., at times, I'm on time, but most of the times I'm already late 😅😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, I am upset whenever I am late. So even I do things late, I do everything to still come to work on time. Even that would mean I am running all the way to the biometrics! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also one of those who becomes runners just to catch up 8:00 AM.., but at times, enjoys walking specially if I know that there is no chance 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, okay... I also know some office mates like you. 😂 I also do that when I know I have no hopes of getting in on time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know why.., but if needed I can report earlier, I can be on time.., nyahahaha..., maybe, just used to being a runner every morning.., nyahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I often get distracted as well. I find it weird that we have almost the same routine, I write a to do list for the day a night before and completely forget about completing it all by the middle of the day. I wake up as early as 5 am to write my article but I sometimes fall asleep once more. 🤣🤣

I want that pasta soup. May I come get it?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, for the pasta soup, I am afraid I have finished them all quickly. I will share you some next time. Ahahaha!

Thanks for reading, I am happy I got to know one more person who has same habits with mine. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Since we've got basically the same habit, let's get married already. 🤣🤣 it will be nice to live together.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL, no! In that case, we'd just both slack off all day! That is a disaster duo! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nah, that's not true. I can be discipline when necessary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

indeed i was distracted for six minutes (laughs). nice post about distraction.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, a goal achieved! Hehehe. I am glad you had some fun, Sir. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can i know how someone can distract me for trusting same person again and again it hurts alot so i need distraction

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Hello there. I don't know if this would help, but I'll try nevertheless. I would suggest you cut off your any form of communication with that specific person. Try to be busy talking to other people. Make yourself busy by trying out new things, or improving your current activities, like blogging for example, so that person won't visit your mind frequently.

When you distract yourself with good things, you'll benefit, too.

Thanks for sharing your feelings. I hope you can overcome that dilemma. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I distract my anxieties being here :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Like how it does to me! Hello, sister! Salamat read.cash!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walang anuman, sis. Enjoy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I relate with you Ellehcim. Everytime I have an important task to do, distractions are came up. Everytime I set a plan too that's why if it's urgent I will find a ways for motivational.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, distractions come more often especially when we run out of motivation. Thanks for adding this insight. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes true Ellehcim. You're always welcome. Good evening..❤️🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good evening from here, too! Just finished my dinner. Don't skip your meals as well. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the lines, 'Keep coming troubles. Fall in line' hahaha I'm sure trouble will run away because you make them feel they are welcome hahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I mean. Pila kayo, ano? Hahaha, I still have lots of distractions to deal with, so can you please... give way? Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, so many distractions but luckily you finished the articles hehe, i want the distractions if its about foods haha, for sure I will enjoy it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh hello there, yeah! Foods are good distractions too. Like when I am about to cry or something, then my older sis gives me some ice cream, I would immediately smile. :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with one point. All distractions aren’t negative. Some positive vibes are also created by it. Well said & well written dear.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, of course for being the very first reader of this article as well. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago