Are you really you

112 130
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

How are you, my dear friends of Read.cash? Another week that ends, and I hope that the next one brings you many joys.

Yesterday, we were talking at home about the profiles that people use on the internet. And specifically, we talked about Catfishing.

This term began to be used after the documentary Catfish has released in 2010, directed by Henry Joost and Ariel Schulman. The documentary tells of an episode in the life of Nev Schulman, a photographer who lived with his brother Ariel and his friend Henry, who document a relationship that Nev starts with a girl through Facebook and that ended up not being what it seemed. The documentary later led to a television series produced by MTV. Catfish The TV Show that is still on the air.

Catfishing is when a person uses a fake profile on the internet. And although this can't be considered an illegal practice. The truth is that most people that use fake identities on the Internet use to do it to deceive other people. Many times what catfishers are looking for is some monetary gain. Sometimes these people end up bribing the person with whom they establish a relationship. Catfish is very common on online dating sites.

Also, there are lots of cases where Catfishers steal someone else's identity and assume it as their own, and identity theft in itself is clearly a crime. It has happened even with famous people.

And despite being a practice that occurs especially on online dating sites. Fake profiles also abound in any other social network. Some of these "fake" profiles don't even attempt to fool someone, only that the person seeks to remain anonymous.

Me behind a stone mask - Photo by my hubby

Many network users don't use their personal photos. I have done it many times. But on those occasions, I have always used an avatar created or the image of something I like. I used the image of a flower for a long time in Noise and here in Read.cash. On Twitter, for example, I have never used my personal image. And my main reason is a bit of paranoia about the personal security issue.

I live in a country where the issue of personal security is always on the table. In many cases, criminal gangs use the information shared in networks to select and hunt down their victims. So I think not sharing personal photos it's a way to keep a low profile. Mainly in massive social networks, such as Twitter, if your account is open to everyone.

But some don't use a generic picture but someone else's. Those who do this often use a photo of someone attractive to attract attention. They can even make up a fake bio. Lie about their genre, age, and some personal details.

The truth is that the whole conversation made me think. I'm a very introverted person. And I tend to be quite reserved in both my personal life and on social media.

But here, I've been quite open with many aspects of my personal life. Even with many things, I don't usually talk about, even with my friends. And I realized that in some way, for the first time, I've exposed myself.

In any case, these are just a few random thoughts on this topic.

And you? Have you ever been the victim of a Catfish? Have you ever made up a fake profile on the internet? What are your thoughts on internet fake profiles?

To all of you, my dear readers, thank you so much!

Thank you to all my wonderful sponsors!

Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty

I encourage you to visit their amazing articles if you haven't done so.

Images credits on the caption. All writings are my own unless anything different is stated. Copyright CoquiCoin 2021.

Until next time! ;)

August 22, 2021

43
$ 15.09
$ 13.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 24
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

I'm a very introverted person. And I tend to be quite reserved in both my personal life and on social media. Me too. I do my best to separate my online persona with my real life. I'm a very private person. Over here, I'm a green person. You can tell from my profile. But in noise.cash, I'm a loving dog! I may change my profile pic over here to the same dog too. That green me looks a bit too menacing. LOL.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm also quite reserved in both cases. However, here at Read, I have been quite open to my standards. And I really feel comfortable with it. I think it has been a kind of therapy. I like your profile picture in Noise more, haha. It's cooler! ;)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am a little bit more open here. It is the environment, I guess. Noted. I may just change to the same profile pic here beginning next month.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am me. I am Porwest. A name I have used in many places on the Internet. I am Porwest and I am also my real name (which I won't share here today). I don't hide behind fake profiles. I don't pretend to be something or someone I am not. I don't think it serves any purpose. Is there a reason I call myself Porwest? Yes. I have shared it many times, though not here. Maybe I will write an article on read about it one day.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think we all have the right to keep our privacy. I'm more than agree with that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

On my facebook account i didnt use my profile pic instead my child not just hide the identity of mine but i like it to posted. I dont posted some fake stories because its not necessary to have it on my timeline.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have writing skills I read you're article and This Is Very awesome and I learned from You and some new point about how we write some extra thing's When Our Mind become freeze ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feel so bad, really these people very sick mentally sick...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I use facebook, for example, I don't like to post personal stories, or comment on other people's stories. My data in my profile are true. When I see a profile that looks fake to me, I don't like to make it up.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We must stay away from any profile that seems suspicious. I haven`t used my FB for a long time, and I have very little information there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been harassared and bullied on social media so many freakin times just because they wanted to be me but could not break me. Used my photos to hurt me and my family. It's just insane. People are insane. Now, I'm trying to keep my profile low.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's too bad sis. Yes, many people are crazy and meant. Keep a low profile is the best we can do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Specially on social media dont share personal infos and limit the people who can see it. 👍❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's how it is! Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've already tried catfishing. There are many sites where I really don't use my own photo and prefer the generic ones. Just like you, I am afraid that my information might get stolen.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I suppose that we all have fear of our identity being stolen on the Internet. Thanks for commenting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no problem 🤗🤗😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The arrival of social networks and different media of digital social communication. It has triggered a series of very sad behaviors on the part of many people, as you tell us in this Article, many are taking advantage to swindle, to steal or even attempt against the lives of these people. The saddest thing is that these practices are being more evident in young people minors under 16 years of age, how they have free access to social networks, they often come across false profiles which are manipulated by pedophiles, sexual patients among others. I support one hundred percent what you do on Twitter, it is better to be careful with our social networks, not to share much of our lives. We do not know who is there lurking.

I remember many years ago, I received a friend request from a very beautiful girl on my facebook, she looked like a real model, but something did not fit with her photos and the information she gave, It turned out to be a 40-year-old man, who was posing as a girl to attract potential money men.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're quite right. The most exposed are the youngest. To teach them to be forewarned and to don't trust a pretty face. It's quite a job. On Twitter, I don't expose myself. I use it more than everything as a means of information because as you know, here there are few means by which we can be informed. But here nowadays, the thefts of profiles on FB, IG, and WhatsApp are common. And the thefts seek to scam people with exchange operations. In short, every day we have to be more cautious. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’ve seen some people claiming to be other races and that’s when catfishing is bad, i think. Using someone else’s photo maybe alright, but pretending and claiming to be someone you’re not isn’t

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you that pretending to be someone you aren't isn't okay. One thing is to want to remain anonymous and another to pretend to be someone else. The first one is fine, the second not at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well that's the price of anonymity right? Unfortunately, intentions and motivation is in place and they just really need to get away which is why it has become bad. Getaway in a sense, no liability. That's just it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! I'm not sure what I do here is catfishing, I'm not using my real name thou but this is the name I've been using for years whenever I go Internet crazy with usernames. This is the facade I'd created to protect my privacy, especially when I planned on writing my thoughts here on read. Thou the email account is real but feels like I can go around like a ghost, no one knowing me when we meet on the real world. Oh! I am very much introvert, I'd like to enjoy writing and enjoying anonymity as well... Thou I'm loud and blunt honest, but only to few selected friends in real world. I really love my privacy and people leaving me alone!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

As far as you are not pretending to be someone else or try to fool anybody, you aren't catfishing. In my opinion, you are just keeping your privacy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Catfish es un programa que vi hace algunos años, no sabía que aún seguía en emisión, los casos que allí pasaban me parecían sorprendentes. Admito que, cuando tenía la edad de 13 años fingí ser una joven de 18 para salir con un chico de 21 por Internet y vaya lío en el que me metí, fingí una identidad, si, ese pasado oscuro que cargo siempre que lo recuerdo me da vergüenza y si pudiera viajar al pasado me daría una bofetada a mi yo de 13 años para que se dejara de tonterías.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Se te puede perdonar porque eras una niña y seguro el chico te gustaba mucho. Pero me imagino que te metiste en un buen lío. Pero por otra parte supongo que la experiencia te enseñó y eso ya es bastante. Saludos amiga, que bueno verte por aquí! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice article keep writing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never use other pictures on my social media accounts or any accounts but my own. And now that catfishing is quite rampant and you have shared this article I am quite doubtful of my action because I never had put such caution in my mind before.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't think we can live in fear either. It's not the intention of the article. Here, I show myself as I am. And I've even shared some photos and I don´t feel uncomfortable with that. In FB, although I have not used it for a long time, my account is only for my friends, and I use IG just a little. The one I use the most is Twitter, and there I don't share anything personal. Catfishing is mostly found on dating sites. The theft of information and photos is frequent on networks like FB, but it also depends on how open your profile is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! Ur article is good, it stimulates discussion.... Hahaha! Nice though... Some more?!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! Ur article is good, it stimulates discussion.... Hahaha! Nice though... Some more?!

Thank you! Glad to know it stimulates good discussions. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! Is that it? I'm sorry to make you feel that your article doesn't serve it's purpose. I misunderstood it. My apologies it's just that I overthink and think the danger it brings in general. But now that you have enlighten me, I am at ease though it's still some cases of catfishing anywhere on social media, I know some.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, don't be sorry. I'm fine with your comments. ;) And I'm glad that the article makes you think about the issue of the security of our information on the internet. What I tried to say to you is that of course, we have to be precocious but that doesn't mean we won't share anything on the web. And thank you so much for commenting and leave your thoughts on the topic. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure 🥰 I will be your constant visitor from now on I find your writings interesting. Keep writing 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind words!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your most welcome ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do share some of my photos on Fb. I only have Facebook as my way of connecting to people. And I also did try to use other's picture for a purpose. Even the thought of doing it makes me scared because we also have a law for that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Using someone else's photos as your own is wrong. And we can get into trouble for doing it. If you want to remain anonymous, it's better to use generic photos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the first time I have heard of the term. Now I know that it's called catfish. I wes never a victim for now coz I'm very careful with the people I add on my social media accounts. I prefer to use my photo for my profile so people I reconnect with will still recognize me. I hope there will be a law that will penalize catfishing in the future. For me, it's a cyber crime and should not be tolerated.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you. It's a cybercrime. And it has no justification. Unfortunately, unless there is something else to report, it's not considered illegal to create a fake profile.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like you, I don't like sharing photos of me or my friends and family on other platforms. I do it in fb though but I have limited posting there as well. We really should be careful what we post online for others can easily steal your identity like that. In fb, there are those who will create an account and use photos grabbed in your account. They would then pose as you and with that they can fool your friends and other people.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wise... Now I suddenly realized, what have I done! Tsk!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What exactly have you done? :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that happens a lot on FB. Here in Venezuela, it happens all the time. Also here people are used to exchanging currencies such as dollars and euros with friends because of hyperinflation. And through this method, stealing your photos and identity on FB and IG, they try to scam your friends.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We are just one click away from being scammed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never experienced and did this i always use fake profile in Facebook to hide who I'm i don't want to see someone laughing on my real profile coz I'm ugly or whatever that's why i use fake ones but not on noise and read coz they are decent and educated peoples exist.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well I was recruited for FB, and I don't feel fair if I deceive friends... But I should have more reservations in posting...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If it's done to preserve anonymity, I don't think it's wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the closest that I have personally known of is my colleague who believed his boyfriend was cheating on her so she made a dummy social media account, used some sexy woman's profile picture and tried communicating to his boyfriend. I try to use my personal picture though...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, she was doing some Catfish for research purposes. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I experience catfish twice. When I was in highschool my first account in Facebook then the other one when I was in college which makes me nervous, there using my image at the profile picture ma'am. God bless you.🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh well, you had the problem of identity theft. I hope you solved it without any trouble. God bless you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am it's already done. Thank you ma'am.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know, you're welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fortunately I haven't experienced it yet. But all I can say is why do other people even think of make a fake identity. We know we can't stop this catfishing issue but I hope they think that what they are doing is wrong and they are only adding to the world's problems.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Unfortunately, there will always be people willing to do things like this only for their own benefit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah without thinking about the situation of others. 😓

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. And the only thing we can do is be vigilant and protect ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As an introvert and a "closed" type of person, I am not very active in my personal social media accounts. Some of my classmates might have broadcasted that they have already graduated while here am I with my family who are the only ones who know that I graduated. I can say that it's liberating for me to express myself here and in noise under a different profile picture and name too. Thankfully we haven't experienced dealing with fake users.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm also very reserved and share little on social networks. I stopped using my FB account a long time ago. And I also found the experience in Noise and Read liberating, but especially in the latter.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Catfish: I used to watch that show, I didn't know it was still on the air. There are things that are pretty obvious that such a person can be a fake profile but when someone falls in love they are blind to see I partly understand that you don't use a profile picture, for the security of information. Thank you for share interesting information.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome! Here, I use my picture. And I feel comfortable with it. But on Twitter, I don't and have no intention to do it. Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This topic grabbed my attention, my cousin actually fell for this trap. She was communicating with someone online who went as far as proposing to her, then all of a sudden he started demanding for money.....if it's not his health its something else all because he used a handsome cover page that she fell in love with. To cut it short she requested to see him physically and that was when she got blocked. There are a lot of things going on the internet that baffles me.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ugh! To get to the point of proposing to her is going to the extreme. And yes, many things on the internet are baffle. Thank you very much for the Sponsorship! I appreciate it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haven't a victim of Catfishing and hopefully I will not. I only shares my personal pictures on FB and Ig. On twitter, I mostly used a pic of the Kpop Idol I like, since as what you've mentioned Twitter is really a big platform.

Here on Readcash, I also share most of my personal life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's fine. And yes in Twitter is impossible to control with who we interact. And I think Read.cash makes most of us being more open with our personal things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really am not fond of posting or using my own pictures. If ever I posted some, I will cover my face or blurr it. I have a dummy account or another account where I post different stuff, sometimes anime or stories, but I don't do catfishing. I feel bad to the other person tho lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And I'm fine with that. We have the right to remain anonymous on the Internet as long as we don't look to harm anybody.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to use my real photo in all my soc media accounts and the same with you, in this platform, I am more open to my personal life and am more open to sharing my thoughts. 💗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And that's fine, but we must always be careful when we interact on the network. Cheers BC!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happened on facebook when someone was constantly downloading my pictures and uploading it as is. Someone called my attention to it and i was shocked to see it. I felt someone close to me was behind the account. We reported the account and it was blocked. But since then i stopped using FB frequently and also stopped uploading my pictures everytime

Funny thing is i was once using the image of the Eiffel tower as my avatar. I didn't know it was passing the wrong message. Someone felt i was from paris...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I stopped using FB a long time ago. And how bad that your photos were stolen there. I remember a time when many FB accounts were hacked.

Well, maybe your avatar of the Eiffel tower was the reason you received proposals in Noise. French girls have a reputation for being pretty and sexy, LOL

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maybe 😂😂😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I experienced this when my old Facebook account was being hacked. Someone posted items on my account. Even some nasty pictures that wasn't mine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I remember a time when FB accounts were often hacked. Too bad that happened to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been on the internet since before it existed, and i don't think that, at least on the surface net, i'll be able to "hide" my true idenity. So i use my own pictures and talk about my life. But there are times when i venture out onto the deepwebor even the darkweb and when i do i do so completely anonymously. Tor over VPN and/or i2p and a no cookie/script browser config. Anybody able to find me and or identify me has by that time spent so many resources on doing so that they deserver to find or ID me. LOL!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really if someone finds you with all those measures, they deserve to find you. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right that there are some people who used this to deceive others. Many wants to gain more attention and ask money to those people who fall from their trap. My cousins and my friend are victim of this fake identity. We saw in the social media that there are fake acc who uses their photos so we reported the acc immediately.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Too bad what happened to your cousin and his friend, but thank goodness they soon realized the identity theft and reported it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing there's nothing serious happened to them since they able to know that fak acc before it deceive other people using their photos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They were lucky to realize it before someone was really deceived or hurt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article reminds me of viral video where a woman thought bill gates was texting her with his finsta account... It was so sad yet so funny because she felt that the people giving advices against sending the catfish her card details were jealous of her... Beautiful article

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! And thanks for sharing that Catfishing story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always uploaded my real identity on any social platform and I am being myself. Is only on readcash I haven't put my picture with noisecash too. Thanks for sharing this, I learnt what catfishing mean now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, it's okay. I'm not against using a photo that is not ours on the internet. As long as we don't use it to deceive someone. For me, it's fine to remain anonymous. It's our choice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really have to be careful so we shouldn't fall for these catfish accounts. At the same time keep out personal information safe from the internet so it wouldn't be used to track us. Some people pose as celebrities just to scam people of their hard earned money. Apart from the fraud, I've seen people who simply create catfish account for fun, this is very popular on Twitter, creating accounts just to mock the original person being imitated.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

As you said, we have to be very careful with the information we share. Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I try to use a picture that isn't mine and I made a fake acc on facebook but I didn't fool someone, ilike want to post funny, the ones I can't post in my original acc hahaha. But I was fooled by the poser I loved him for 5months , until now I still don't know who used that acc lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sorry you've been being fooled for 5 months and that it took that long to realize it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's as you say we expose ourselves by posting personal photos. But I think this platform is a little more closed with personal information. In other networks the photos and addresses of users are more available to the public.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Of course, I agree with you. The scope of what we post here is less than in massive networks like Twitter or Facebook.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have used my real photo in my other online profiles. And I relate somehow with you when you said that here at read, you became more exposed. I feel the same way but it is a good adjustment I think :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree with you. It's a good adjustment, and I'm comfortable with it so far.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here :) Positive changes within!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed this article. Learnt a new term today called Catfishing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you liked it and learned something new!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I am always me, although noise is the first time I have never used a picture of me in any online profile. Catfishing is everywhere, although it does not seem to be as common as it used to be, either that or I am not mixing with people who talk about it!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think it's more likely that you don't mix with people who talk about it, and neither do I. But my son often comes with stories about it.

And you are you, Ed! And Broxi is as if it is you! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe we are all unique Eliana :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we are! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is common everywhere because people just want to scam and deceive People with their selfish interest. I just hope they understand that it is hurting People.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

For selfishness or monetary interest, they end up hurting people who fall for these deceptions. Thanks for stopping by, princess!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Scammers everywhere. Watch your back else you fall in their traps.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, we have to be very careful with this issue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

100 fact! I was a victim of a scammer here in our country not through online platform though but through investment scheme. All my savings are gone because of it. Up until now, I was not able to get back my money. I learned from my mistakes that there is no easy money. We need to work hard on it. Thank you for this!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, there is no easy money. And if it seems, for sure, it's a scam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I had been a victim of catfish a long time ago. Someone grabbed some of my photos and uploaded them as hers. She/he would try to indulge with indecent proposals to some random guys in exchange for a prepaid load.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so bad. You suffered identity theft. I hope you were able to solve it without much trouble.

I also wanted to thank you for renewing my sponsorship. ♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw, yeah, not a catfish but identity theft. My bad. And you're always welcome.

$ 0.01
2 years ago