Me, minus minus

96 109
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

The things I don't do anymore

Since pandemic, there are things we used to do that were put on hold. Some of us miss traveling, café hopping, sports - but I will not talk about that. Let's talk about things that even though pandemic did not happen, there are things that you have done before but will not do it now or avoid doing as much as possible.

Events photographer

I have written in one of my posts about an event that I covered. That was during the time when I just bought a camera. There was eagerness in me and there is that drive to try things and experience them.

That was a photo of a the bride's bouquet that I attended. The bride was a schoolmate of mine. She initially asked me to cover her wedding. However, since I only work alone, I can't do video. What they want then was someone they can hire who will do the whole thing. So she dropped me as photographer but still invented me to attend the wedding which I did.

Their story was something to be shared.

My batchmate and her husband haven't met even once before their wedding for they live apart. They were introduced through a common acquaintance and that's how they got to know each other and eventually fell in love until they decided to marry. It was here that they get to see each other and it was during their wedding that they had their first ever kiss. I find that kind of romantic. They live together now and still going strong.

She then chatted me a few weeks after the wedding asking me if I can edit their wedding photos. I asked her why and she gave me sample shots . I was saddened for the photos she showed were okay but the lighting was not. The shadows are visible in all the photos that it is distracting especially in their portraits. Lighting is one of the aspects of photography that one would have to consider including the shadows. She wanted me to edit those shadows out. Unfortunately, I'm not that expert in editing so she had to find somebody else to do that.

Those are precious memories so it has to be at least perfect.

The photo above was from a prenup shoot of a friend's friends. My friend couldn't think of a gift for the couple who are both her friends so she then asked me to picture them instead and that will serve as her gift to them.

The location was one of the trails that I frequent. Wild white flowers were in bloom at that time so it was a perfect timing for us. It was a fine day as well so luck was on our side.

We attended their wedding but couldn't stay long. The ceremony started really late, maybe two hours after the said time. Everyone was there except for the ringbearer I think. I wanted to say my piece about that but I'd rather leave it at that. That's why we had to leave early for we had other appointments too.

Those are the shoes used by a couple on their wedding day. This is by far the most detailed well-thought of event that I had covered so far. It's meticulously executed even those "I Do" on the bride's shoe.

I was surprised though during the photoshoot right after the ceremony. We are used to taking photos of family and friends of both the bride and groom. However, in this event, the list that I am used was cut in more than half. Only a handful of photos were taken. That's fine by me. I am just the photographer. It was up to the organizers anyway.

A few days after the wedding, I was hired by the sister of a bride to take photos on her daughter's birthday which was held in one of the fast foods in town.

The photo above was during a prenup of another couple. Me and my friend did their prenup photos and wedding photos. Of all the weddings I covered, they are the most fun. Their wedding was the second biggest that I attended. They had to butcher several pigs to feed the crowd who came and celebrated with them. Of all the brides, she was the emotional one for she did cry a lot. Tears of joy, of course.

Speaking of emotions, this was captured during one wedding I was referred to by my cousin. These are the parents of the bride. A few weeks after I covered my cousin's wedding, she referred me to her friend. It was the simplest wedding I had covered and it was limited to family and close friends which I find intimate and what every wedding should be I think. Celebrate with the people you really knew and who you think are important.

The couple in that photo above were the friends of a my co-photographer. I served as his second.

There were other events that I covered that I lost copies of. I started with relatives and friends before finally venturing out and accepting referrals.

I had to stop though because the camera's weight is taking toll on my wrists and hands. It's from years of work. You may think that the camera weighs only this much but holding that all day long is tiring. Also, taking photos by itself is the fun part. However, I am not that keen on the editing part. Although I have covered events, I'm not that people person. I still have my reservations, misgivings and apprehensions. It short, I'm not that confident still. I haven't taken classes although I wanted to then. I did want to learn and acquire new skills. What I do with photography are influenced from what I have read or watched online and just put it into practice.

When my camera broke, I didn't buy a new one and didn't pursue that field any further. I still like taking photos of things but I am only using my phone now. It is light and convenient. Besides, the capture of these phones are almost at par with what real cameras can do. There are lighter cameras nowadays but I'm not sure I would be willing to take that kind of hobby again.

How about you? What are some of the things you like doing then but had to give up?

There are things in life that had to happen and we must accept them for we are being redirected to do better things.

I am not a professional photographer so I really appreciate those who appreciate my photos. I'm grateful for your kindness.

All photos are mine.

These are some of the photos that are still saved in my soc med account that I wanted to share it with you.

45
$ 11.38
$ 10.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @aaskelter
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 17
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

The event photography specially wedding photography is an amazing thing. I covered a wedding photography... Not as professional photographer but as a assistant. 😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's fun, wasn't it? Do you do that as a side hustle? :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are true, in life, there are some things we want to continue but we cant, due to life circumstances, I want to continue my studying for law but I have to opt for medical as my parents said...well These are splendid shots of you..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maybe after your medicine studies then you can start law and practice medical law :D

Thanks for appreciating. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikaw na din nag cover ng kasal ko sir hehe ganda po ng pagkakakuha sir. Pang professional photographer po. Good evening

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe wala na ako gamit e. Refer na lang siguro kita if ever :D Salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same here..we actually have a wedding, birthday, and other event gigs in 2020 but all were canceled, so we stopped now and we might not pursue that anymore...still we keep our gears because we have matti and the family to take photographs

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Family moments are priceless :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those were great shots :) You're lucky to witness those important event of their lives :) Kahit di ka na nagi-event photographer andaming magagandang views jan na pwede kunan ng pic at ishare sa amin :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks! Kaya nga e. There were only a few of them that's why I can still remember them all. I'll try sharing more :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po! Can't wait. Nakatira ata kayo sa langit hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

An amazing and beautiful shots ARTicLEE!!😲 For me you are a professional photographer. It's indeed a beautiful one..❤️❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's really kind and sweet of you. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great shots.. I guess you are a professional photographer already 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol! In my own way I guess :D :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng mga kuha mo Kuya Lee. Pinaka gusto ko sa itaas ay yung parents na umiiyak.

What I love doing before that I had to give up is staying at home, doing nothing. I am a lazy one at home sometimes and just love to spend most of my time sleeping and scrolling through my phone. But now that I happen to be the breadwinner of the family, a long rest is a no-no because I have to work hard.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat nga marami :D

Ah, yes. I miss that kind of life too :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah, I think that you're good enough to be a professional photographer looking at your works before, and especially this one. Your shot capture great moments and I found the wedding photos especially heartfelt.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's really heartwarming. Thanks much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I liked singing but I had to give it up for.a personal reason I am not proud of. Other things I gave uo because there were better opportunities along the way .

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope one day I get to see and hear you sing :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are several things I had to give up. Traveling is one of them. my arrangements with plants. But they are kind of frozen in time, because, first of all God, I plan to take them up again later.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope we can soon travel again :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You may not be a professional photographer but your photos are always beautiful and your explanations are always appropriate to them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks so much for appreciating. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love all your pictures. I can sense that you will be a great photographer soon. Just continue that progress of yours.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope so but I'm not pursuing it for now. Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They're great and beautiful mementos of your previous experiences in event photography. You did very well on them :) For me, working was what I loved doing before but I had given it up :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Good thing I still have some saved :D

That is the goal, to not work anymore :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great :) And yes to not working anymore, and cheers to doing and enjoying what you love to do soon :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love that detail in the photo of the shoes, the I do. In my days of corporate work, when I worked in the planning area. I used to love it. However, as much as I liked it, I wouldn't like to go back to work in an office. Now, I value more my independence and managing my time as I want.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There are chapters in life that we experience and then ended. It's better to be independent anyway. Less stress :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I know that you are using your phone for your cam... But the photos you captured appears to be like a pro... I am still thinking what are the things that I used to do before this pandemic. There are tons of them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm not sure if I will go back to using a real camera but I'm still open to that opportunity. I hope you will find one that you will be satisfied with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanted to owned a camera too but a laptop is my priority for now. My children needed it for their encoding...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's okay. We do have priorities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah.. I'll stick to it for now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. Ang galing mo😊❤ikaw nalang kukunin naming photographer sa kasal ko. 😁❤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow naman salamat sa appreciation :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

without a doubt, seeing those photographs of yours makes us think that you're a professional. Ang ganda kasi lahat ng mga shots mo kuya :>

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maraming salamat sa pag appreciate :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda!!! I love the photos! 🤍

To answer your question, I had to give up covering music events (because of the pandemic). I don’t get paid there but the satisfaction of getting to see talented musicians and write about them… one of my fave feelings hehe nakakamiss. On the brighter side, nadiscover ko itong read cash through a friend. Nakakapagsulat na, may earnings pa hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This platform has opened opportunities for all of us :)

Thanks much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Picture says a lot of emotion po talaga, kaya maganda po mag capture ng mga scenery and mga events Kaso di ako magaling dun like you po. I'm inexperience hahaha. Galing nio po kumuha talaga Cleee

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Takes practice din talaga. Kulang na kulang pa rin un experience ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the way you add your photos in the article. The pictures are very amazing. I love them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your photos are amazing, I like them very much, I did three levels of studio photography, but I don't have your level of experience, sometimes I have a lot of blur, I also take a lot of photos with my phone, they come out very well. I use the camera for more details.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm not familiar with three levels of studio photography. That sounds interesting. I don't have any other camera now other than my phone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I know why you did great in wedding events like what you did to our ate Fely's wedding. Mukhang magandang opportunity ito sa inyo ni Dores😁 pwede siya sa event organizing at ikaw photographer😉

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe thanks! Mabalin met nga suna ladtan amin ta awan met equipment kun haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Photography, Weddings, happy and emotional 😢 circumstances .....all compiled very well in this article. Though you say you are not confident enough, some of your photos are amazing. These are inborn talents. Me too like to try so many things but not confident.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for the appreciation. Maybe this is something I would revisit again if given the chance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely you should

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you now use only your phone when taking photos and videos? Even for your youtube vlogs? Amazing still!

But you should also consider buying a real one in the future. It seems you are really inlove with photography. School ka na din about that pag afford ng money at time.

Good luck!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Laking tulong din ang gadget na may magandang camera hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The photos are great...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No gonna lie but these pictures look very professional even though you say you bad at this.. I do not see so..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind words!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng mga kuha ,pang professional photographer 🤗🥰

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nakakataba nman ng puso. Salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Somehow, soon, your passion will still find you, bro. Using your phone is awesome.i wish I can have that talent in photography too para di na mabatukan ni gf hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks, man. You can do it too. I started with learning from lots of youtube videos and some readings about photography :D :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will do all of these, bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganito talaga yung dream job ko po, yun bang nasa likod ako ng camera. Like film maker o photographer. Kaso parang malabo ko na ata maabot after ng lahat ng mga nangyayari sakin. Pero kahit sana one time lang, makaexperience ako magwork ng ganito, buo na siguro buhay ko nun 😅. Btw, super ganda po ng mga shots nyo!! ♡♡

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wag mawalang ng pag asa. Practice lang ng practice for the meantime :) Sana nga ma experience mo din ang ganton. Nakakapagod pero masaya siya.

Maraming salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa tingin ko isa ito sa pinakamasayang trabaho, yung ma-eexcite ka talaga pag dumating na yung araw. Kasi mag cocover ka ng special events, ma witness mo yung special day nila. Hayss, gusto ko na tuloy maging event coordinator or photographer. Lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nandun talaga un feeling na ganun. Masaya ta exciting pero mahiyain kasi ako kaya challenging din talaga na makipsocialize hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waw, nagmayat j pics..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe salamat! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are great photos. At least you enjoyed what you love before.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! I did and it was a wonderful experience :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang gaganda 🐼 professional kana pala talaga pero why naman need egive up, so it's your hobby nalang now? Di ba pwdng pagsabayin? Ang gaganda ng kuha mooo 💙🥀💥🎊.

As for me, kailangan kong egive up si irog dahil kailangan ☹️, charowttt wahahaha. Kidding aside ung pangarap ko na maging pulis sana. Di ko pa naman nasisimulan talaga pero kasi gusto ko talagang humawak ng real gun ee huehue. Dahil lang dun hahahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tara sa firing range at nang matutong humawak ng baril hehe.

Wala na kasi ako equipment. Wala na pambili haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taraaaaa bet ko yan huehue, kaso wala akong alam na firing range dito samin aguy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Malayo din yun alam ko dito e. Sa next pa na town hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stop being humble you are a great photographer, your friend was lucky to have you in the background taking pictures, those pictures were great, I can't even pick a favourite 🤩

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol! Thanks a lot :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure. As we grow, we give some habits and things we enjoyed doing. When I was younger, I enjoined going to the sport centre to play chess and pool with friends. But I have stopped doing that noe, though i still play online chess whenever i have the time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right. We leave some, we learn some :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mayat amin!!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

woah super ganda lang mga kuha. The best yong tears of joy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks so much :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Each and every photograph are so beautiful. Specially the ring one. But little bit sad to know about the broken dream.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for appreciating :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow, your photographs looks amazing. I hipe that your career will bloom. God bless 😊✨

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. I hope someday I can continue again :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah so you're a photographer pala talaga, that explains how good your photos are. Buti di mo hinahanap hanap un mga events

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hobbyist lang hehe. Hindi ngay kasi di ako talaga masocialize na tao hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, no don't give up this one. We will have a new normal and fprnsure you will still do this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love doing photography but nowadays I am not giving time to it. All shots are lovely mate.

Good Evening

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All the shots are Lovely, Lee. Kaya pala magaganda kuha mo kasi na try mo na mag cover ng mga weddings. Soon pag nakabili kana ng bagong cam baka kunin kita sa kasal ko. Charottt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The parents in tears is my favorite. Parang napaka-overwhelming feelings for them that their daughter had entered the married life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Angg galing mo sa photoshoot 😍 doon palang sa nakita kong mga photo mo nong nakaraan ang gaganda na. 🤩💗 Sayang naman kung hindi mo itutuloy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So touching story about your schoolmate. I hope it also happens to me that I will be getting married in the church because this wedding was so solemn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago