Double Digit Day: 8.8 Sale

39 89
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

August 10, 2021

Last August 8, was a double digit day (08/08/21) which means online shopping platforms are on sale! This became a monthly ‘tradition’ here in the Philippines that for every double digit of the month, temptations are strong and urging us to withdraw some of our Bitcoin Cash.

I am proud that for 3 months, I am able to hodl my Bitcoin Cash and not be swayed by discount offers of Shopee.

Well, I have a diamond hand not because I have a discipline to myself but because I don’t have a valid ID. Meaning, I can’t use the cryptocurrency feature of one of the famous e-wallets here that lets you convert your BCH to fiat.

A few months ago, coins.ph released a notice that they will not allow its not verified users to use the cryptocurrency features. To be verified, you need to upload your government/valid ID.

I ‘ve been struggling with this problem and it's been 3 months (i think) since I last used my earnings here for my personal use. Somehow, this situation has a positive effect on me. First is I am able to hold my BCH, and lastly be responsible in handling my urges on buying nonsense things. However, I have been disregarding myself. I also have needs, especially personal hygiene, and I am not comfortable asking money from my parents.

This is why I invited my mother to get a National ID. We already registered online 4 months ago but since then we haven't received any updates from them about when they will collect our personal information and biometrics.

So, that time we are convinced to go personally to one of their offices near us.

My mother wearing her best fashion so she will look good on her National ID

We left our house at 8:30 am to get in line early. We are already aware that government transactions here in our country are kind of a hassle so we have this motto that the early bird always gets the worm. This motto always saves us a lot of time and from inconvenience.

Example given is the time where I went to our government center to claim my financial subsidy (scholarship). I was the first person there and fortunately I am the first applicant to claim the money. No sweat, just easy money. Just kidding 😆.

However, this time that motto didn't work 😂. Upon arriving at the registration place, our jaws dropped because of the almost unending line. Damn, I thought we were early.

I asked my mother if she still wanted to continue. Of course she said yes and started to walk briskly to reach the end of the line.

Well, I already expected that response. I just want to give a hint that don't want continue this anymore 😆. The line is super long and I estimated that it will take a whole day to finish.

I have no choice but to follow. She's the most persistent woman I know, anyway.

I captured this photo at 10:16 am. Just to visualize how long the struggle is, we are at the end of the line, and the line stretches at the other side. Yes on the other side of this picture. At the other side of that metal barrier.

There's a vaccination ongoing in that place so I think that explains why the volume of people is overwhelming.

As expected, we took 8 hours just to reach the other end. That's 6:30 pm to be exact.

During the document validation, my mom got rejected due to the reason that her existing ID is already expired.

We got pissed off of course because that's why we are here. We are here to get a new ID. Isn't it annoying that you're applying for an ID then they will require you to bring an ID? What the –.

She has no choice but to eventually exit the place. On the other hand, my documents were approved and my personal information and biometrics got recorded.

The officer gave me a slip that I needed to present when my ID became available to claim.

I saw my mom outside looking sad and frustrated. She said that if she just knew that would happen, she would just go home early and rest.

I understand her. I wish I could do something about it. To be honest, I feel bad. It feels like she just accompanied me throughout the line. Ugh, why don't they just accept her ID? It's still the same after all. It's just expired. Nothing changed.

Anyways going back to the Shopee sale topic, that's the main reason why I am able to save a lot; I don't have a valid ID.

Sometimes, I am thinking, was my decision on getting a national ID a good move? Is it good that my main reason for acquiring an ID is just for money reasons? What if this will be the cause of my financial doom?

Okay okay, I am overthinking again 😆.


Ending remarks…

This topic was on my draft several weeks ago. But because of current happenings, I decided to create an article about this valid ID thing.

Hoping that everything goes well when I already claimed the ID that will give me power *insert evil laugh*.

You can read my recent articles...

24
$ 11.86
$ 11.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Angel_183
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 10
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Nakaka-inis talaga yung part na kaya nga hihingi ng ID kasi expired na yung ID, tapos manghihingi sila hahaha. Ganyan pala advantage ng walang valid ID. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's up to you if it's going to be your doom :D I hope your mom will get hers sorted out. What did the personnel say about your mom's expired ID? Where will she get an ID now? That's really ridiculous that they didn't allow her to apply for a new one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hassle 'din 'nung first naming punta sa munisipyo for the National ID. Kulang mga requirements namin, not because wala kaming ganun. But dahil 'di sinabi sa barangay hall ang mga requirements na kailangan. Palaging ganito dito sa amin. Para bang 'di sila aware sa mga requirements na kailangan namin. Kahit magtanong ka, sasagot sila pero kulang-kulang. As in. Kaya ang ending, umuwi kami tapos bumalik na naman. Ang hassle at kakonsumo sa gasolina.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe yan. Nag pila kayo sa wala kay Mama este Tita, I mean ni Mama mo pala. Hays 🥲 Tapos ang tagal din ng dating nagpostal nalang sana kayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natatawaaaa ako kay kuya Will hahahahaha. At naalala ko nung nag process ako ng national ID ko , aba'y yung crush ko ba naman ang facilitator sa desk , boom kilig agad haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHA siguro kung crush ko din nag-asikaso sakin, mapapangiti talaga ako sa national id hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yessss, same here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't get me wrong ha. Pero I read your whole article talaga, it's just that I was distracted by koyah wels face 😭😭😭😭😭 HAHHAHAHAHA busit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHA sorry na agad 😂. Kahit ako ntatawa habang gingawa ko yan eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan rin talaga ayaw ko kapag kukuha Ng ID, Yung maghahanap pa sila ng ID to verify eh kaya nga tayo kumukuha para magkaroon Ng ID hahaha. Anyways , nakakasad Naman Yung nangyari sa mama mo, dapat pinagbigyan na Nila Kase nakapila na rin naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, dapat tlaga pinagbugyan na nila. Medyo rude nga nung nag-aasikaso samin kasi after rejecting her id, di na pinagsalita si mama at nag next agad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very hassle naman yun nangyare sa mommy mo. Kami ganyan din kahaba pero di ganyan katagal. Wala pang 1 hour tpos na kami, and before kami papilahin, may nagchecheck na ng documents na dala namin para sure kapag nakaupo ka na eh di ka mareject. Sayang yun tagal ng pinila nyo..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walang nagchecheck sa pila kung tama yung dala naming documents. Sobrang hassle talaga kasi imbes na nilaan nalang ni mama sa ibang bagay yung pinila nya, edi sana mas naging productive araw nya. Hays

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi organized yun palakad nila,kawawa lang mga tao..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Either way, that ID is super essential na regardless of what transaction you will do. It's still a win-win situation. I felt bad for your mom. I understand her disappointment.

Madali lng ba yung biometrics? Specially sa fingerprints?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo mdali lang po ung sa biometrics. Yung fingerprints medyo nahirapan lang kya kailangan idiin hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nako, delikado right hand ko nito. 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madali lang madams, bali retina scanner then fingerprints lang, and picturan ka, daat walang make up and jewelries pati eyeglass paaremove nila..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basin di ma recognize akong fingerprints sa right. Naguba nman gud. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha grabe naman yan🤣. Id nga ang binibigay nila tas mag hahanap sila ng id😆. Pano yung walang id tas kaya kukuha kasi walang id haha. Pero ayaw nyo din kumuha ng sss id?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sinubukan din po ni mama kumuha ng sss id kaso hinahapan din sya ulit ng dalawang valid id. Kainis hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, a national id is very important and what you did is right. Anyways, nairita naman ako dun sa pag reject ng id ng mom mo. Kaya nga tayo kumukuha ng national id kasi wala tayo id tas hahanapan pa tayo. Juskooo. Welcome to the Philippines 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only in the Philippines ika nga nila HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

apakahaba ng pila jusko HAHAHAHA.pagganyan nakita ko uuwi ako agad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kAHIT AKO HAHAHAHA si mama lang talaga mapilit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think this problem is everywhere. I had always thought we only experience here in Nigeria. Hope you'll get it soonest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bigyan ng ID yan! :D Goodluck, bunso! Tipid tipid din pag may time!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natawa ako sa bigyan ng id yan 😂. Sana talaga hindi magkulit ang aking kamay hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No id, no entry hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same issue we have right here in Nigeria. By the way the GIF and memes are 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad that you like the memes hahahaha. Hoping for the best for NIgeria. I think Philippines and your country have similarities in terms of how slow the government transaction is hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also experienced that dreaded line because we thought that after the online registration, we will be accommodated with ease. But we were wrong, sabi iisa lang daw pila for walk-in saka online applicants LOL. What's the point of registering online. We were scheduled 3pm and didn't continue because we might not reach the cut-off. Atleast di nabudol ni Shopee. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masabi lang na online para innovative at high tech, lol hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's better you saw the good out of it but yeah, having the National ID isna must. I have been thinking to get one as well but time does not allow me to do so. Such a problem nowadays but I do hope you'll get ours sooner.

For now, no to Shopee!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2-5 months pa naman daw dating hahaha. Kaya I have time to pigil pigil myself to gastos hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know you guys face issues getting id's. As worse it is here, they can tell you that they don't have materials to print and we are paying fees to get them.

We don't have online access to registration, we have to visit some accredited people who have the website login. It is just really annoying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Government IDs should be free to anyone. They're collecting tax from us, lol. Where does the money go?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I'm so excited for you to claim your ID very soon. I hope you will be smart in handling your money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will try my best hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago