Distractions & How I Deal With Them

32 102
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

The world is full of distractions, and it is just a matter of how we deal with them. We are living a convenient life with all the technologies we have now. And we cannot deny that they are addictive, especially mobile phones. But life never stops at being at home and doing nothing.

People need to focus on their careers, go to their designated jobs, and even build something for their future. Even with the fast globalization and improvements around us, some distractions slow us down from achieving what we want.

I am guilty of enjoying the pleasures of technology and the more accessible life we have nowadays. I am already building a career in the online world, thanks to the internet for making things easy and convenient.

But along the process of working something out for my job, there are distractions along the way. It is the reason why I wrote this piece for today. I want to share with everyone how I have handled the distractions lately. Now, what are the things that slow me down sometimes?

  • Social Media

Maybe you will tell me that social media is where I am building my career. But it is a different side of social media. I am talking about the excessive usage of social media sites for leisure. It is when you spend hours scrolling to Facebook or doing unnecessary things on Twitter. Also, there are instances when we spend hours watching random videos on Youtube.

I admit that I am also once distracted because of these things. Until one day, I found myself with no improvements at all. I decided to cut ties little by little on my bad habits of spending time on the internet and doing nothing. I still visit them now, but not too much, unlike before. Sometimes I scroll for a bit on my Facebook, but not more than one hour. Also, I still watch videos on Youtube, but in moderation as well. It is a matter of knowing when to stop and set limitations.

  • Peer Pressure

I am the kind of person who has a lot of friends. I have a different circle of friends, and I am too occupied with bonding and getting together with them. And it is also what they call peer pressure, where you cannot say no to them because you do not want them to feel upset.

But recently, I found it toxic. I realized that I should learn to say “no” to my friends sometimes, especially if I have some priorities. It was hard at first because I knew they would be upset or think I had changed. But it is what it is, and I believe that real friends would understand that we also need to grow apart and individually. It is up to them to see the changes in me negatively, or they will support the idea that I have some priorities now.

  • You only live once.

One of the challenging distractions to overcome and handle is my mindset of “you only live once.” I want to live her life to the fullest, and there are times when I feel like I am doing it way too much and that I forgot to build something for my career.

When the realization hit me, I started setting boundaries on spending time for leisure activities. I decided to balance everything, from enjoying my life to working something out for betterment and my career. And now, I can say that they are under control. I can enjoy my life once in a while and take steps for my future.

To my readers:

We cannot deny the fact that there are distractions in front of us. They will slow us down, and the worst is to stop us from achieving our goals. Knowing how to handle them and setting limitations on yourself would be best. I hope you can do it too.


Want To Connect With Me?

Check Some Blogs!

Article # : <292>
Category  : <Personal Blogs>
Author    : <charmingcherry08>
Posting Date : <July 23 2022>

If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:

16
$ 3.39
$ 3.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 7
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

Comments

I seldom use social media now. It is just a waste of time to scroll for an hour. Though it is 100% unavoidable, I try to ignore the urge to open the app hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako rin. Madalang lang, hehe. Kapag need ko lang may i-search. Pero sa Messenger need ko talaga i-check kasi doon ang communication namin ng mga classmates ko eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As a person who hardly leaves the house, the distractions I have all exist in my phone and social media is right at the top, then closely followed by mobile games. But I notice if I am doing something I find interesting and fun, I don't easily get distracted. Distractions usually sets in when we are doing something boring, we begin to look for something fun and interesting

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right. I also used to stay at home, specifically my room. So I only have two choices, whether to use my computer or my phone. Hmmm.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly dear, distractions are everywhere in our life, specially social media, peer pressure and knowing this fact that we only live once. We should try to handle them and with time management, let's enjoy our life and at the same time try to achieve our goals...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. This is why I try to do both — achieving my goals yet still living my best life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Apart from social media, another big distraction for me are phone calls. Imagine, I am in the middle of an important task or meeting, when the phone would ring. My tasks in the accounting unit require focus because I am dealing with numbers. A single phone call could totally mess with my task. So what I did was, I've got a new phone yet I kept the old one and set it to airplane mode most of the time. I still use the number when filling out forms and would just activate the phone when needed. I also refrain from giving out my new phone number.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah. I didn't know you are in the accounting unit. I hope I could work on such department too. Anyway, I understand what you are saying because I also took a strand in Accounting during my SHS. One single distraction can make you start over again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There sure are many distractions all around us, but you found way to deal with them. Great!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. It's nice to see you here, pretty. 🤍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako rin sis, natuto nako mag no sa mga bagay. Pero now nakadeactivate fb at messenger ko. Nirequest ko for deletion para wlaang magulo, parang nagugulo kasi utak ko kapag social med ako ng docial med, wala rin akong apps now na mga ganerns.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga eh. Gusto ko rin sana yan, kaso nag-aaral pa ako at doon mostly ng communication eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis, ako kasi work nalang saka pwede nila alo macontact sa num ko kaua oks lang na magrequest ako for deletion

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya pala huhu. Kaya ang ginawa ko nalang eh i-handle ng maayos paggamit ko ng social media.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Deactivated na ibang social media ko.. Focus nlng dun sa makabuluhan.. Nowadays, we should spend our data wisely.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ka dyan ate. Sobrang precious ng time hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I only check FB from time to time. I am busy most of the time nowadays but distractions are great that I lost focus on my daily tasks. I am proud of what you are becoming, bunso.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you po. I am also glad that I can handle them well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's great bunso. Cheers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cheers. ✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have lots of distraction talaga for me number 1 din Ang social media

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Halos lahat nga ng nababasa kong comments ate eh social media ang major distraction sa kanila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Though I'm working on phone but the major distraction I do get often is the social media as well. Sometimes I'll be busy here (readcash) reading and a message would drop on notification, I'll be tempted to go for it and before I know it, I've spent time there. I'm setting limitations though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think it's a matter of what we're doing on our phone. I can say that most of my hustles are on my phone too, so I usually use it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have the power to control things around us and we also have the choice to choose which would be best for us. Distractions will come, but we can discipline ourselves and control them by placing some limitations on them and we would be okay. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome. I should be the one thanking you for spending your minutes on reading my piece. You are absolutely right, we can discipline ourselves if we really want to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, we do have a lot of distractions in our daily lives and social media is one of these. When I was still studying, it really hard to deal with distractions but need to focus on the goal hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can say that social media has become the major distractiom recently. Most people spend a lot of time on the internet. Anyway, I find it challenging but worth it. I am so glad that I am now dealing with these distractions well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The most that distract me moat is Facebook, but for now,I seldom open my account because I realized that I gained nothing but stress.It can make me "mutant " unfocused when I was browsing there for almost an hour.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. Just like me hehe. Minsan lang ako sumilip sa Facebook eh. Kapag trip ko lang din magstory.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Basically, I think social media is my major distraction, keeping of friends is out of my reach. I rarely bond with people..and its really strange

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww. I think most people see social media as a major distraction. I hope you have it under control.

$ 0.00
1 year ago