The promises we made

13 43
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Promises are made to be broken.

This is a sentence that I am infinitely familiar with. As a child I remember that I used to believe the promises said to me. That is until, I experienced many broken promises to finally believe that a promise carries no weight.

After graduating high school, a batchmate shared a post about what a priest said during his sermon. It was stated that the priest started the sermon by asking the churchgoers to complete the saying "promises are meant to be ____". Of course, majority of them answered "broken". The priest then smiled gently and said that it is incorrect. The sentence is "promises are meant to be fulfilled". He says that if a promise is made then it was made with the intention of it happening in the future.

I remember that when I saw that, I thought to myself that it made sense. But I do not believe it. Not anymore. My trust issues piled up so high from keeping the promises I made to people only for them to break their words in the end.

The pinky swear was my favorite mode of making promises. I read somewhere that in a culture, making a pinky promise means that the person has to cut offtheir pinky if they break the promise. It sounds horrifyjng now but as a child, I thought of it as an absolute way of ensuring that a promise will not be broken.

Well, news flash, those promises are broken anyway and all of the persons involved in the promise still all of their pinky fingers.

Anyway, this is all just to say that I did not believe in promises anymore. Even my belief in people keeping their words is not that strong anymore.

However, circumstances change and now I see that I can still trust people to keep their words. It is just a matter of choosing the right people.

The vent that changed my mind took place just a few days ago.

My partner was busy the past few months due to his OJT and other responsibilities. This led to a considerably less bonding time than I was used to. But he told me that he will make up for it after his OJT. I told him that I understand and it is okay. I did not really expect anything to come off it since you know, I was used to being disappointed in the past.

His OJT ended a few days ago and since then, our quality time is increased. Of course, he always alloted time for me even when he was busy but after he got more free time, he spent more time with me. So he kept his word. And I do not know how to put my happiness into words.

Closing words

I have been busy yesterday with hanging out with my loved ones so I was not able to publish an article. To make up for it, I plan to publish two articles today. I am just not sure if I will be able to do it since I feel like I am struggling with a writer's block haha.

Our classes were supposed to start tomorriw but our University decided to make the first week asynchronous only as there were a lot of students and staff affected by the sudden surge of COVID cases. I do pray that this pandemic ends soon because I really miss the things that I took for granted before.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for the first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/V3bnJpP8Qmb

16
$ 4.58
$ 3.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.10 from @Dreamer
+ 8
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Yeah correct it is difficult to rely on a happiness kung di rin namn matutupad ay tayo lang din yung ma didisapoint. Less asa lass na sakit at dissapoint ang ma rerecieve but the good thing anout that is pag negative na yung iniisp natin at na fulfill pala, diyan natin matatamasa yung hapiness tlaga

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Expect nothing and just appreciate everything. That's why I don't believe in promises at all because I don't want to expect things to happen, it's better to be surprised than to feel disappointed.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's why when people try to make a promise, I always tell them that's not necessary. I tend to lessen my expectations, especially to the people I've known who can easily break their promises. If they kept it, I'd be surprised. If not, edi good! Even to my partner, lagi ko sinasabi, don't make any promises. Just do what you're going to do.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm fond of listening promise but I hope he will do whatever comes in his mouth.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

A lot of people will always make promises but we shouldn't live for their promises if we don't want to end up being broken

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sweet! Jowa ko rin ganyan pero sya di nagpapromise. Dipako nagsasalita magbinivay na agad ng oras yun, natutuwa ako sa lagiging ganun nya 🥺 nakakasanay pero nakakatakot kasi anytime owedeng may magbago hays

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Promises are indeed meant to be fulfilled but sometimes something unexpected can happen to make it impossible, in that case, who do we blame?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is why I don’t promise because I dont want people to expectz

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I guess we just have to lower our expectations where promises are concerned to lessen or avoid disappointment. Although, I am sure you are aware of the people who know how to keep their promises. Still, seeing something get done is better than just hearing someone say they will do it but don't.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Some people don't keep promises

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also was a victim of broken promises, I think all of us since we are human and tend to do mistakes. But yeah, we still able to believe someone who will say promising words. We just need to know and choose whom we believe. :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There is no point making promises you can't keep. And if you do make one and not keep them, there should be a valid reason, one you should explain to whom you promised

$ 0.03
2 years ago

People break promises which leads us to disbelief. This is not good.

$ 0.03
2 years ago