Taking care of two kittens

6 30
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Last April 6, my father found kittens left for dead on a busy road. The kittens were dirty and crying. He saw them as he was going home from buying my medication.

He gave the kittens to me along with my medication that day. He knew that I wanted cats ever since and this is his blessing in letting me adopt.

Honestly, my first reaction is not joy but frustration. I knew that my medication will leave me sleepy most of the days and I wanted to sleep for most of the day but since the kittens he brought home are still too young, I will not be able to do that.

I believe that the kittens are less than 3 weeks since they can not release on their own yet. They still need to be stimulated before they can pee and poop.

It is frustrating since no one else wanted to learn how to do it so I had to wake up everytime to feed the kittens and help them. I feel frustrated with my father since he wanted to bring home the kittens but does not want the responsibilities that come with it.

I know he did with a good intention as he might have thought the kittens will distract me from my diagnosis and yes they did distract me. But it is hard to enjoy the process of taking care of them because I am always sleepy and then they will scratch me.

These little monsters

This is Moshi meeting the new kittens. Good thing that she was not angry about their presence. Although the kittens looked a bit frightened.

Moshi wanted to play with them but the kittens were having none of it. So Moshi was left staring at them and smelling them.

The upside of taking care of two kittens is that I do not have to entertain them as much. They keep each other company and play with each other. So all I have to do is ensure they do not get into tight spaces and not fall from tall objects.

The truth is

The truth is I am not that frustrated anymore that I have to take care of them. At first, I refused to name them as an act showing my displeasure in having to take care of them but yesterday I finally gave in and told my family what the kittens' names will be- Oreo and Presto.

When I first saw Oreo, the name just popped in my mind but I did not want to admit defeat to their cuteness yet.

I named them after my favorite biscuits to keep the tradition of naming our pets based on food.

Hard but not impossible

It is difficult to take care of them when I could barely take care of my own as of now. I also take care of Moshi so that is three lives dependent on me while my mental health is not the best but I am trying my best to make it work.

My youngest sister also helps out sometimes but most of the time it is just me. I do wish I could just focus on resting but I also enjoy the company of our three pets.

Closing words

I was unable to be active since I was just sleeping for the whole day and when I am awake, I focused on feeding Moshi, Oreo, and Presto. I have to wake up every 2 hours since the kittens need to eat that frequently at this time. I can not wait for them to grow older so I will not have to take care of them that much.

Which reminds me that I have to start buying things for the kittens and Moshi. I wish our stipend will come next week so I can go all out in buying this Payday Sale. I have been holding myself from impulse buying for a few months now and I think I can afford to spend at least P2, 000 when I get my stipend.

After all, the things I plan to buy are essentials and not just wants.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

9
$ 6.96
$ 6.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Jerrysavage00
+ 2
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Ang tataba pala nila oiii and ang cutieeee. Bagay sa kanila yong name nila. Lalo Presto hahaha ang cutieeee.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Their name is too cute, and it reflects to their feather

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They're so cute sis. You served as good samaritan sa kanilang dalawa. Nakakatuwa may kittens sa bahay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang cute sis ng two kitten na alaga mo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The cat you feed as a kitten will be extremely fond of you. I've experienced this with my own cat, got it when she was very young and she always sleeps with me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe cute presto and oreo. It pop it my mind that it was biscuits hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago