Making a Spiderman Keychain

4 33
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Truthfully, I do not know how to start this article. After all, I am feeling so sleepy and drowsy now since I have already taken my medication.

Maybe let me start this by saying that I have no idea about superheroes stuff before I met my partner. Sure, I have heard of the names and I know what they look like. Well I know what the common superheroes look like. But I do not know their stories nor did I have any desire to know more about them beyond their names.

But my partner introduced me to this amazing world, and I am slowly learning why so many people are fascinated with the superhero movies.

It still does not change the fact that I do not have much knowledge on the topic.

But I can appreciate the character design. And one thing that I love about being able to crochet is that I can challenge myself into making a crochet version of these superheroes.

I had the chance to do that with a superhero known as Spiderman. This is actually not my first encounter with this hero.

A birthday gift

Back in Novermber 25, 2021, I had already made a crochet project inspired from this hero. It was a gift for the sister of one of my best friend. She is a cute kid so I gave her a gift.

This was my first time doing a superhero themed crochet project. And thankfully not the last time.

Just this week, I received an order involving the very same superhero. A coworker of my sister wanted a Spiderman keychain. Her coworkers know of me since they already ordered a lot of crochet headset covers from me. Most of my sales are definitely from word of mouth.

A challenge

At first, I was hesitant to accept the order. I do not have much experience with doing superhero themed stuff, and the amigurumis I did in the past were all cute things but definitely not human shaped at all. So doing a Spiderman keychain is bound to be challenging.

Still, I decided to accept the order when it seemed like the client is not one who expects handmade items to be cheap. After all, I was going to turn down the order if the client's estimated amount for the keychain is P50.

When I was told that I could price it however much I want, I decided to continue. I told the client that for amigurumi the suggested price is P100 per inch. The keychain I was making was 3.5 inches. Supposedly, it would be P350, but since I apreciated the client's willingness to pay for handmade items, J gave a discount of P150. So I sold the item for only P200.

The process

I will not be doing a tutorial on this crochet project since I did not write the pattern. But I will be sharing some pictures of the process.

The first thing I did is to make the eyes. These are actually failed eyes and I did make another pair which I ended up using.

Then I started working on the head. Random thing to mention that I have no idea where this exact hook is. I am currently missing 2 hooks and I have no idea where they are. Thankfully, the missing ones are different sizes so I still have a spare hook for both sizes.

Then I got to working on the body. This is my first time trying this technique of doing an amigurumi doll.

And then I added the legs. This picture is the one I sent to my customer when I said that the price for amigurumi is P100 ero inch, and the product I am making is 3 5 inches.

Then I added the arms.

Here you can see another learning I had. Which is to use my pins to hold the items in place. I used to not do this and my amigurumi ended up wonky so now I use pins to hold them in place. I may have went a bit overboard in this one though.

Then I added the keychain as well as the tiny spider on the outfit of our Spiderman keychain. I know that a spider does not have six legs, but whatever. It still looks like a spider anyway

I then packed the item in a holographic pouch. I do not have any boxes for amigurmi which is why it is only on a pouch.

Closing words

I hope you enjoy seeing the behind the scenes photos of the making of Spiderman keychain. I look forward to sharing more crochet projects with you.

If you are interested in getting a crochet keychain or any crochet item, you can send a message on my online business. I also accept BCH as payment. The only downside is that this is only for Filipinos since I do not know how to ship items to other countries.

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/zehrasky.yarns

Shopee store: https://shopee.ph/zehrasky.yarns



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

May 2022 Articles Summary

April 2022 Articles Summary

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

3
$ 1.87
$ 1.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.03 from @akagaminoDneloy
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

Comments

Such gorgeous crochet.. Spiderman crochet is really another tough challenge to accomplish. And you've done it so perfectly. Go beyond..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wahhh so cute! I also like to have a keychain like that but i hope you will do tom and jerry too because they are my fav. Characters haha 😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I will add that to my to do list next time hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You do have a gifted hand, so nice.

$ 0.01
1 year ago