I told my parents I am sick

13 41
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

One of the things that I have a difficult time doing is opening up to my parents. I love them a lot and I work hard to give them a future where they can just relax instead of worrying but our perceptions in life are vastly different.

I have learned fron childhood that sometimes being honest is punished so I have learned to keep secrets from them. However, as I grow older I got tired of keeping things from my parents.

So I did my best to be honest with the especially with my dates. I did not want to lie just to go out on a date with my partner so I became honest about that.

However, just because I got a bit better at being honest with them does not mean that I freely tell them things. I honestly envy those people who have such good relationship with their parents that they can tell them anything without fear.

As much as I know that they are only lookin out for me and sharing what they think is best for me, sometimes I could not ignore how much we differ from our mindset. I feel like they are stuck in the past while they might think that I am a little too out of control if they know the things I hide from them.

But they are always under the assumption that I am their perfect daughter. The one they kept putting their pressure on. The one who listens to them and does not talk back much.

I have always felt the need to resent myself as the strong one. I know that I cannot show them a moment of weakness since they never forget it.

I tried so hard to be tough but I know that I was just burying feelings that will cause harm to me in the long run. But I still tried my best to pretend everything is fine. And my family did not know any better.

Today I placed my trust on them

This morning, after our morning walk I randomly told my mother that I need medicine and I have a prescription for it.

I have been wondering the night before what excuse will I tell them to buy my medicine. But upon fallinfg asleep, I think my mind decided to just tell them and deal with the fallout if it happens.

Anyway, I had a hard time telling what it was for and just told her that it was for sleep. She was actually happy about that and suggested that each of us take it so we can sleep properly.

By that time I panicked and told her that I am sick. That what happened six years ago. She got quiet and asked me again if I was still not okay from what happened then and I told her yes, I am not okay. I needed help so I found ways to get help.

I knew she did not understand but she let me knows that she is supporting me in her own way.

Telling my mother was the easy part. It is my father that I knew I would have problems with.

When I told him what the medicine was for he said some hurtful things. But I think my mother talked some sense to him because he insisted to pay for my medicine even though I have the money.

He also brought home cats maybe because he thought it will help me. I really love cats but I honestly am not in the right mindset to take care of one kitten let alone two. I am already tired from taking care of Moshi so I do not know how I will even manage to take care two kittens.

I will refrain from saying anything more since I know his decision stems from some kind of belief that it will help me.

Closing words

Telling my parents went as I expected it to go down. Although I had a leasant surprise when my sisters showed their support for me in their own way. My younger sister gave me money to add for my medicine and therapy budget and my sister promised to treat me in Payday, our youngest sister is less noisy and irritating today too.

I know that everyone in my family supports me in the way that they know how even though some left me more drained than the others. I did not want to tell them since I know they tend to worry and I did not need coddling. I need space.

Hopefully, now they would understand if I just want to be left alone for some time. It was a difficult decision to tell them but I am glad I still did it since I actually got less expenses for the medicine.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

18
$ 6.67
$ 6.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 4
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

I wish you well dear and hope you do come out strong and healthy… you are brave to confront your family it was never the wrong thing to do.. get well quick

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It take guts to talk about these things especially with our parents. We are like the same. My parents see me as the strong child who doesn't needs help and ako mismo di na rin nag siseek ng help sa kanila kung kaya ko lang naman.

I assume that you are going through PTSD? If so, I know it is a very difficult situation. I wish you healing, Zehra. I also salute you for taking care of yourself and seeking professional help.

You represent all of us that are struggling to communicate with our parents. Thank you for that. 🙏💖

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am also not that open guy to my parents, I just hide things out and then tell them if really needed. I don't know but that's the thing I often did, ever since when I was young and adopted until now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You've got a lovely family. Hope you're feeling better already?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yieee, family is always there when we need them

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad that your family got your back whenever there is a problem. I am hoping for your speedy recovery sissy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you decided to just be out with it. I understand that thing that parents do where they put the role of the perfect child on you, expecting you to do all things right and be the shoulder to take all their pressure. It can be really killing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Actually this is how our family united. Someone will always look after you. Glad you're alright now ❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

How are you now sis? You will be okay sis. Always in good health and always pray to God. I relate with you sis. I am weak also. I easily get sick when I was in elementary I was afraid telling my parents because I didn't want them to worry but now I told them immediately because they are the one who give me strength everytime I shared my problem. I became a fighter because of them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Children's love for parents is the most beautiful love in return for respect with real acts of loving and loving without limits. Your thoughts are in line with not wanting to worry about them, but you need to realize that the prayers of parents are very useful when you are sick they will pray for you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Its really hard by telling all our problems to our parents because we dont know what will run in their mind. Anyway, get well sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Get well soon dear. By the way, who? Manju or Sky?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is Sky. Manju has left read.cash for a while to focus on other things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago