I Stand With What's Right

12 33
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

How many instances you have faced where you know what you're going to do is the right thing but with a cost of either yours or someone else's happiness?

Back in the day, I am the person who care less on what's happening around me. I observed but rarely say anything about it, especially if it doesn't affect me in anyway. I guess the first instant I voice out what I felt is during our Thesis creation.

One of my teammate is riding freely on our hardwork. He rarely attend meetings nor contribute ideas on our project. He would always have excuses as to why he is not present. I don't like talking behind people's back so when I got pushed to my limit, I confronted him directly. Maybe you could say that I was a bit rude at the time, I could have been more careful with my words, but I couldn't take it back. As time went by, my guilt slowly fades as I see no progress in his attitude towards out project. Me and my groupmates were discussing on removing him to the team since he don't really show any will to participate, but we pitied him that he might not graduate if we do so, since no one is willing to take him on. We kept him still but assigned him to do surveys and minimal things on our thesis. We never took advantage on his situation to make him our finacer for our project. I hope he already changed that attitude by now.

I had an experience where I have to report a colleague that never completed an 8 hours shift. After getting a good performance for the daily goal, regardless if he's just working for only half the shift, he will logged out automatically and will roam around the production floor. I found it unfair for us who still works eventhough we also hit the record for the day. We still continue taking in workload as we should do and face the risk of getting a messed up performance. That colleague of mine changed after that, though I never told him I was the one who reported him, I never felt guilt because we were pay the same, so we should work the same as well. I am not the kind of colleague you would want to work with, I know.

At work, I never bonded with people who craves to be in the spotlight while taking away someone else's light. I despise people who focused on ranking and will pull someone down just to be on top. I get that work is a competition, what could be the harm on fighting with dignity?

It happens on a daily basis, may it be in work, among your friends or even in relationships. There will always be someone who became dependent on other people that they don't even do anything to extend a hand. I think this kind of selfishness is something that should not be tolerated. I don't mean to say that if you build a connection to someone, you require them to reciprocate your efforts, no. What I meant is if someone values the connection they had with you, you should have seen or feel it. Life is not an easy path and you don't want to surround yourself to people whose willing to sacrifice you for the sake of their happiness.

I also had my own sacrifices which I don't want to discuss here 'cause it's too dramatic. But I know how it feels to do what's right even if it hurts you. I know how it feels when you have to follow your brain even if it's not what you're wants.

Closing Thoughts

The best of Globe shows its performance today. I have to go pack my personal computer to go to my friend because I lost my internet connection. It was a hassle given that I always pay in advance. If only they can prioritize people who are not famous, then it should be solve by now.



January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

13
$ 6.27
$ 6.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 3
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

The purpose of grouping I think is to develop teamwork of all members in the group. Each member is responsible to be part of the group. In that case of yours, you did what is right. It would be fair if all of you will graduate including the one who did not show interest of the thesis and it is unfair because in the part of that person he learned nothing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really don't feel comfortable working with someone who doesn't work as hard as me and is paid the same or better than me, it also happens in my studies, I have sacrificed myself to do things better but there is always someone who does nothing and is rated excellent, that's wrong and I have complained many times about it, because it is unfair and I have been told terrible things like stubborn, reckless, etc... Oh, you have reminded me of the problems I had at my old job. I worked Monday through Saturday, 6 to 8 hours a day, serving 5 to 15 students per class, yet I earned less than male teachers who worked 2 times a week, 4 hours a day and served fewer than 12 students a day. I taught 400 students a week, and the male teachers only taught 24 students a week. But they earned twice as much as I did, I never really understood it, maybe because they were men and I was a woman, it was really terrible to work there, I did it more for the love of teaching than for the money.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Some can't really accept that women can do more than men. I salute your love for teaching. This world needs people like you. ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Teaching is a really delicate thing, so you have to have a lot of love and patience in order to be a good teacher. The world needs more people who really love their job, everything would be really better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also stand with what's right and will speak out when its wrong already.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Some people are just like that, always trying to take advantage of other people's effort and kindness. I used to ignore such, but nowadays, I don't tolerate it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's not always fair to always sacrifice just for the sake of others co'z sometimes we have to prioritize ourselves

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sometimes it is the rudeness that works better than the sweet voice. Well everyone is not like that they will be changed but some do so. And yeah I agree with you that we don't wanna surrounded by those who can sacrifice us for their happiness.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The world needs more of you. We are for the people who pursues and sides on what is right no matter what it takes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you know that what you'll going to do is right then you do it. Don't mind what others may say about you, you also helping them to change their wrong behavior.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree this article. Really really sis that there are many chances that all righteous in the end they are the winners.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In the end, no matter what but the righteous people win. You can feel it & your soul will tell you to stand with the truth.

$ 0.01
2 years ago