Habits that you might want to let go

12 40
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Life is a series of events that lead to multiple habits that build up who we are. These habits became a part of our lives due to their repeated reoccurrence. Most times, habits are good for us since it gives us a solid foundation of what to expect. It makes life a bit predictable at least in our mind. Habits give us a routine which we follow again and again.

However, sometimes habits are not beneficial to us. Instead of helping us be grounded, some habit become a crutch. It becomes a burden that we do not know how to shed. It become a hindrance in our journey to being the best version of ourselves.

Today, I want to share some habits that I have said goodbye to. These are personal habits of mine but I am sure many will relate to these.

  • Doubting myself

    This one is pretty difficult to let go. With so many pressures on me, it was hard to believe in my abilities. Especially so when I am surrounded by people who seem like they know what they are doing. I always felt so lost and afraid. I constantly doubt myself.

    I would tell myself that I am not good enough and after a while, I started to believe it. It was not until I realized what I am doing that I finally realized why I always feel so uncomfortable in my skin. I was not comfortable because I badly wanted to be anyone but me.

    But you know what? I realized that I am also amazing in my own way. In realizing my strengths and weaknesses, I found that doubt no longer has a place in my life. I know what I can and can not do.

  • Always saying yes

    This one is related to the first habit that I have let go. Because I was constantly doubting myself, I did not know my boundaries. I did not allow myself to wonder what my limit was. So I kept saying yes, and ended up pushing my needs down in my to-do list.

    By saying yes to others all the time, I have neglected listening to myself. This made me feel invisible most times since I have felt like no one understands me. Everyone goes to me for help but no one knew me beyond that.

    When I learned to set boundaries, I started to see who are true to me and who are the people who are just using me. It is difficult to learn how to say no. What I did was try to say no every week, until I could do it everyday or when my boundaries are being crossed. I no longer feel the need to defend my no. If I say no, I say it as a full sentence. No. I do not bother to explain why because I now know that no is enough.

  • Striving for perfection

    I was a student in a Science High School. The pressure that was on us was hard to describe. While others were exploring their teenage dreams, we are burdened with academics. The phrase "cream of the crop" is shoved our impressionable minds until we were willing to push our bodies beyond their limits just to prove that we are deserving of the spot in the school.

    Unsurprisingly, this outward pressure is internalized. I found myself being too harsh every time I commit what I believe was a stupid mistake. I was afraid of being wrong, I would rather stay silent than ask a question. I was chasing perfection.

    The thing about perfection though is that it is not attainable. Perfection is something that will always be out of reach. Thus, chasing after it will only lead to disappointments and a mountain of pressure.

    When I finally let go of striving perfection in everything I do, I became much happier. In arts, I was able to have more fun instead of excessively obsessing over small details that other people will not notice. I started to see the beauty that exists in the imperfection of things, and perfection no longer has the appeal it used to has.

  • Thinking in extremes

    Either I do this until I drop or I do not do this at all. It is all or nothing

    This was my thinking before. I did not see the reason of doing something if I will not have every good thing that comes with it. Perhaps this is because of my perfectionist tendencies before, but I did not want it unless I can have all of it.

    I do not want to start an art project if I do not have all the expensive materials that I think I need. If I do not have it, then I will do nothing at all. This was my thinking but now, I make do with what I have. I also opened my mind to see the possibilities. The outcome of my actions is not only going to go in 2 ways, there are so many ways the future could unfold and I have finally taken comfort in that.

  • Comparing myself to others

    This is especially prevalent in the age of social media. Everyone wants to share their achievements. Most times they only post the best things that happened in their lives.

    I used to compare myself to others. Not just because of social media but because I was insecure. I did not feel comfortable in my own skin. I feel like if I was somebody else, I would be happier.

    However, now that I have grown I finally see that there was no need to compare. Everyone's living a different life. Each circumstances that happen to individuals are uniquely their own. I do not need to feel bad if I see someone has something that I don't.

    Being contented with what I have and who I am, yet still continuously improving myself is the key to getting rid of my insecurities. I know that someone else's achievements do not make mine smaller. Someone's good qualities do not erase mine. In finally realizing this, I can now celebrate everyone's success without it feeling like an attack to me.

  • Not keeping track of money

    This is something that I kind of wished I had learned earlier. I do try to keep track of my money before but I always stopped because I got too lazy. This led to many situations where I wonder how I spent my money.

    Keeping track of money is a good way to minimize expenses. It is a good strategy to make sure I have enough cash on-hand in case of emergencies. It also shows me where most of my money go to and then I can decide if it is really something important or not.

Closing Words

These are the habits that I have finally let go off. What are the habits that you want to let go this year?



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

11
$ 3.25
$ 2.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 6
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

I have all these bad habits which you have mentioned in this article. But I tried a lot to give up on this and am still trying. Self-doubt kills all out talents and passion, we need to stop doubt ourselves. Saying "Yes" always can hurt us so we need to say NO in order to keep ourselves safe. We all are different from others, our differences makes us unique and special so we have to accept ourselves as the way we are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap rin ako magtrust sa self ko at maniwala sa mga abilities ko. Feeking ko anytime babagsak ako or di makukuha, sohrang negative ko to the point na iniisio kong palpak ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have all these habits. A lot of New years passed and I just kept on making it my New Year's resolution to let go of my bad habits, but it seems that I don't have control over it. I still keep on doing those things. Like, one day I'm determined to have a change, the next day, I'm starting with my bad habits again. I cannot help to stop myself from doubting, comparing myself to others, etc. Actually, I'm sick of it. I really want to let go of these bad habits.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halos lahat ata yan ginagawa ko HAHAHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do doubt myself a lot, and I admit that it's one of my biggest weaknesses. I had lots of opportunities that I missed because of doubting myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Comparison makes us weak & telling yes in everything makes us stupid. Both are not adjustable in life if you want a worthy life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's hard for me to say "no" most of the time especially when someone who's asking a favor is close to me whom I can't just disregard. However, saying no if we don't feel like doing something is okay, because that's our right and we also deserve peace of mind. Slowly, I'm learning how to do it now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learnt how to say No to people a long time ago. I always made sure my Yes was deliberate, and I was happy with the decision.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have habits that we want to change or give up. But for some reason it didn't happen anymore. But if we try, maybe everyone can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad kasi unti unti ko ng nawawala yang always saying yes. Ang hirap pag ganyan sis jusko. Yung feeling na kahit aayw mo, walang kang magawam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doubting self, sometimes we experience it. We have a doubts for ourselves. I relate it sis. Sometimes I'm always like that and it's the reason why I'm always distracted. It's not healthy especially in our minds that's why I learn to fight it because it doesn't help me.

Always saying "Yes" it's not good also friend. It should be balance. To much can lead us to miserable life without noticing it because we focus only saying yes. Sometimes we should mind ourselves. Prioritize ourselves first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doubting myself😔 Why I'm too mind about the things that lead to my worries. I need to let it go because it makes me bothered as always and it makes me doubt of all things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago