My Degree vs My Job; Am I on the right track?

84 82
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago
Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

Felt tired? Just take a rest. I am actually talking to myself; was I exhausted yesterday after I got home from work. Usual feelings on Monday blues so I wasn't able to publish last night as I chose to have some rest.

I just read a few articles and I remembered I stumbled into sis @Pachuchay in which she talked about her username. If you asked what's the meaning of mine , hehehe it was just a short cut of my real name. I just added a letter "H". Too lazy to think, lol! So the first syllabus of my name was " Les".

As for my real name,when I asked Mareng Google I found out that it was suited for both genders. Not only that but it is derived from a clan name which means " holy garden". Can you guess what my name is? Haha

Screen shot from Google.

What's for today's topic?

Did I talked too much in my intro? I was actually thinking about my work. Just last night I had a dream and it was all about work. I was reading emails of our Group lead and as she enumerated this that I needed to accomplish! Am I workaholic as I am even working in my sleep. So when I woke up I earlier I had that sudden thought, am I on the right track?

As I have mentioned in my previous article, I took up a Bachelor of Secondary Education when I was in college. I was supposed to be a teacher yet I did not pursue it as I don't really have a passion for teaching. Months I spent practice teaching (like OJT) were already enough. Or if ever I did pursue teaching perhaps I belong to terror teacher. Nope I am not kidding! It's hard to force yourself doing into something you don't actually like. I also realized this when I read @Olasquare article few days ago.

I can still remember one of the reasons why I took up English as a major simply because I am not good at Math. I find it hard to find the value of X and Y. Well X does not have value, am I right? Hehe kidding aside. I could not really solve even a simple problem in algebra, trigo etc. I simply hate numbers.

What did I do after I graduated?

Months after I graduated I taught Korean students somewhere in Quezon city. Somehow I did enjoy as Koreans are fun to be with. I learn a lot about their culture too. Not only that, they are sweet.

Yet after spending months teaching I got bored as what I have mentioned I don't have passion in it. So I filed a resignation and I landed at the private company which I am working until today.

I enjoyed working during my first three years, especially during that time I was transferred to the Audit department. Of course I submitted an intent letter after knowing there was a vacancy. Auditing was fun, and I enjoy digging supporting documents for fraud cases. I had some colleagues who got terminated after I summitted my report. I always make sure my evidence is sufficient so that they can't get away with it.

Since I was an ambitious one and didn't want to be stack I didn't let an opportunity slip away when there was a vacancy in our Main office. I mean who doesn't want to work at the Main office? Maybe you will be surprised if I tell you I am now that I am under FINANCE DEPARTMENT. I was under Audit but when the management decided to have a realignment I got transferred under RISK MANAGEMENT.

Working under this Section was great. I was given a chance to visit different places in our country as we are conducting inventories in our branches nationwide. I even have a local flight almost every month.

Yet when the pandemic happened there were drastic movements in our jobs. Most of my previous works are no longer applicable. So I landed doing some basic tax. It was stressful to deal with . Now I am starting to get bored again. That is why I was able to ask myself early this morning if I am on the right track. As you see my degree was too far from my line of work. If you ask how I survive? Thanks to Microsoft Excel and Google.

Out of boredom and since I missed things before the pandemic, I decided to wear my usual outfit back then.

Should I pursue teaching? I can't really see myself as a teacher. I am not getting younger so I am thinking I really need to settle into what I want. Yet as of now, I don't really know. Ambot na lng.

How about you? Are you on the right track?

27
$ 5.68
$ 4.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
+ 23
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Seems you are having a great time with your current job :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Befere sis, now hindi na. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Leslie and you know Aberdeenshire is in Scotland and I used gto live there...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe yeah youre right, my Mom told me she got my to a foreigner guy name Leslie. I checked at google and Aberdeenshire is like a island. It was beautiful with greenery scenes and castle too๐Ÿ˜.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so your father is a Scotsman?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha nope sorry, just got a typo error. I mean my Mom got my name from a foreigner living in our place before.

She like his name so when I was born and all my siblings name start with letter 'L" she named me Leslie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe ah ok, I was going to say that must be why you are so pretty๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ It is a strange one as I know both boys and girls called Lesley and Leslie and a surname of Leslie, so you could have Leslie Leslie and his sibling Lesley Leslie and they all live in Leslie๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha that, what the? for real? I was thinking what's on their parents mind . hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe yes it is funny

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I am reading your article , I think, the real problem you have to overcome is boredom. I don't really know the reasons of your boredom. You had been in work which you enjoyed for quite sometimes, and when boredom strikes you , it seems nothing works to satisfy you or makes you happy. I think a more challenging job is what you need to overcome your boredom. A work that is not routinary in the making. Challenging job can make you awake, and alert in heart and mind, which will make you to be more creative, having great ideas to try that will really show the real you , you are trying to search and find out by yourself. I just hope you 'll have the answer to your quest in life , finding the right track in your life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's it, may work become routinary that is why it was no longer fun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me ate follow nalamg if san ka happy rn. Ako naman nagtake ng Office Ad pero sa pagkakalikot sko ng mga technology natutuwa jusko

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha di sideline talent

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As long as you are happy what you are doing then that's okay whether you are on the right track or not.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The problem is I am already bored๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, we're the same in the course in college. Haha. Bsed English din. Pero currently in a mall facing receipts from malls suppliers. Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha ang layo din ano๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are absolutely beautiful, my friend. Forgive me, that's what I focused on cl๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™ˆ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha I did talked a lot Ola! Anyway thanks for the compliments ๐Ÿ˜€, I believe I am beautiful. My husband always telling me that๐Ÿ˜‚.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why not try pursuing it again? Timbangin ang dapat timbangin at nag decide kapag nakapag isip na ng todo. As for me, I'm still not sure. Tambsy pa rin ako till now. I'm happy being tambay sa totoo lang HAHAHAHA. Baka pinanganak talaga ako para maging tamad huehue. Pero I'm in the right track I think thanks to read cash for giving me this opportunity to learn something new

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah parang wala sa dalawa ang gusto ko. Hindi ko nga alam ano gusto ko now mangyari sa buhay ko๐Ÿ˜‚. Hindi ko na experience tumambay, kaya siguro bored na ako mag work๐Ÿ˜‚ Yeah ang dami learnings dito sa read cash.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you think teaching would be good for you then don't hesitate to go for it. It's all about following your dream!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am not sure about teaching, I am still weighing things if what I want๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the article you write

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a fighter and a determined one too, for you to have been able to thrive doing something totally different from what you studied is a big achievement. I'm currently still in the university and still don't see myself practicing what I'm studying because I don't really have passion for it but taking a tip from you I would apply determination and a fighting spirit in doing what I do like and have passion for.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes we have that passion far from what we studied in college

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your so magamda sissy, karamihan talaga and2 sa read mga degree holder ๐Ÿ˜Š ang saya ng new work mo laging tour yata ayieee

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hindi naman sis dami students dito, halo-halo naman. Dati sis, nagsawa na ako kakasakay ng eroplano๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mukhang super excitung ng work mo sissy nakakatakot lang laging nasa mga ulap ayieeee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe hindi naman sis, maganda ang view sa taas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really think the whole stuff is about you and your determination, doing what you're comfortable with not someone forcing you or telling you to do is the best, because if you're doing what you're alright and comfortable with your spirit and your mind will definitely relax at that, nothing like having much thought. But if going to something you're not alright with I can say it will lead to much thinking and stressful ofcourse you know what that can cause, so follow your mind friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe I think I need some soul searching to determine what I really want to do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should not do a job in which we are not interested. Because we need to bring ourselves into the realm of peace. I took up the medical field to get away from math because X and Y lectures hurt me. I'm not on the right track either haha. Follow your heart.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha how's your studies so far?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a college bird right now. Actually, I like to be a commando officer, but maybe it's difficult. Because I entered the medical field without interest haha. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha better change your course of still had time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that you are determined and you know what you want this is a really good character for a person to have .. so far I think you doing great keep going and yes you are on the right path .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe thanks Jumper! As of now I am in doubt if I am on the right path๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trust me I know that feeling but the fact that your are asking the right questions and making the right decisions shows that your are on the right path .. and trust me soon it would be clear that enough..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe thanks for motivation๐Ÿ˜ƒ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey! I can tell that you are a great professional and that you are very responsible and disciplined with your work. But remember, you must take some time to rest your mind and body. It's not always good to work so hard. This is coming from someone who has been overworked and it has brought me a lot of stress. Either way, I wish you all the success in the world. Best regards!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks! Yeah work ,work was really stressful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, at the end of the day is still up to you to decide, and the earlier you do, the better, teaching can be stressful though

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I cant actually picture out myself as a teacher๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really have to follow your heart and follow what you live as wellโ€ฆ I really donโ€™t know the winner between the two coz we donโ€™t get to choose for anybody but how it ends is within our gutsโ€ฆ you look beautiful though ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As of now neither the two I want. I have something in my mind though. Thanks๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Compare mo muna yung dalawa ate before ka mag decide. Choose what your soul and heart want to take a ate. I feel you I am also an education graduate at pati yung husband ko pero bet namin yung mag negosyo๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay mas maganda magbusiness kaysanmag empleyado

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basta masaya ka sa ginagawa mo okey lang yan enjoylang

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha bored na ako sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first, congratulations for hitting the 100 mark. Well dear, ask your soul what it really desire. Then do according to it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh you noticed? Hehe thanks Devil dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have eyes on everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang yan lods, ako nga degree holder pero walang trabaho. Dapat lang talaga kahit di ayun sa kurso masaya kang pupunta at uuwi galing sa trabaho lods.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So Boss magback to work ka na din. Apply-apply lng hehe. Bored na ako sa work ko eh๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha nabasa ko ata sayo yung gusto mo mag apply virtual assistant ba yun lods. Hehe naghahanap na nga 7 months nakung tambay hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's fine. If you can't decide yet it will take a while before you can. Just keep working and looking at opportunities that will come your way. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Lucy! Indeed I really need to keep working, hirap din magtambay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Follow what your heart dictates my friend. It's not easy to work on a job that you don't like; I've been there. It's like trying to love someone you can't love back (idk if this integration makes sense haha). Anyway, we have a choice on what path to choose, choose the path that makes you happy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha it make sense Leticia!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey friend, well I'll tell you that I love Mondays because I love the beginnings:) I feel that they are my most productive day

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha Monday is always tiring for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should choose a profession which our mind accept and passion matches. I really enjoyed my life is sales & marketing earlier after university. Now I settled my own business.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sales and marketing is one of my choice when I was in college. Great, it's better to have your own business

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Choose the path that makes you happy and enjoyed ate Leslie ( I'm just guessing your name hahaha). But to be honest, until now di ko pa rin po alam if I'm in the right track ba talaga. Yes, bet ko naman po yung FM course ko but there's something missing hehe. Pero I believe that when the right times comes, I would realize kung ano ba talaga passion ko hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You got it righy Mayiee! Haha right, youre still too young pa naman, ako nga hindi ko alam ano ba talaga gusto ko๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I question myself too hehe kung san tayo masaya at nag eenjoy, dun tayo. as of now, im still thinking if I'd explore other career kasi I really wanted to explore some other profession pa like being a doctor and a lawyer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha ang taray, parang mas bet ko doctor kaso hindi rin basta -basta before matapos. Just seeing those medical books

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ambot na lng madam ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ.. Layo din ng trabaho ko sa degree ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ ..parang gusto ko tuloy magsulat nto. Btw, kagwapa nimo ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha layo din ba? Sometimes kasi it's hard din to look for a job sa degree . Din gamay sweldo, if you have financial responsibilities sa family nganga na๐Ÿ˜‚. Teh ano na? Sulat ka din Sis, tingnan gaano ka din kalayo๐Ÿ˜‚ Haha gwapa kay naka mask lng na๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trulalo.. Pero align namn sa minor course ko yung job ngayon hhaha..kaso I felt like sayang pinagpuyatan ko nun sa computer science tapus hndi lng nagamit ,๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha I feel you ! There's some point maghinayang ka talaga 4yrs din iyon. At least somehow align ka pa naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku bka lalo kang mabored sa pagtuturo dahil wlang katapusang aral๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha iyon din๐Ÿ˜‚ Hindi ko na alam ano gusto ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Atleast sis may mga experiences ka if ever mag-apply ka ng work plus the diploma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have an experience sis. You teach Korean students. I relate to you sis. I am a graduate also with an education course but I didn't pursue because I don't like teaching. It makes me worry all the time.

My major is math sis then my first choice is BS Math because I want to work in bank but the university the course is not available that's why I choose BSEd Mathematics. It's education.

Yes sis that's true dont work if you don't like the job or if you don't have a passion on it because it makes you stress only. I follow the things I like then I am comfortable and I am happy sis.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha were same pala, yep might both end up terror teacher if we gonna pursue teaching sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe yes sis. ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have tried teaching before and it seems like you didn't enjoy it at all, you don't have to go back to it simply because you studied it. The teaching skills of leadership can help you in order career paths too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I used what I have learned on terms or communication skills. That's the only advantage

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be where your heart is at sis. Advise ng walang trabaho hahahah pero kidding aside, dun ka sa maeenjoy mo para di ka mastress or kung saan ka mas komportable magwork. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang problema hindi ko na alam ano ang gusto ko sis๐Ÿ˜‚ Bored na din ako sa work ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago