Rant 103 - What's The Way Forward?

62 186
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

While growing up, we were deceived that formal education is the way forward because they believed back then in a system that works but I am sorry to say, it's not the way forward for this country, Nigeria. Don't get me wrong, I am all for people to get the formal education and I would do everything possible too to make my children have the best of them but I won't let them feel limited that it's an achievement that's worth celebrating.

You know while growing up, we were told to pick what we would love to become in life and then work towards it with the formal education. We have been conditioned to run the rat race right from the early ages so much that it has killed so many creative minds. I won't ask my children what they want to do in life, I would rather ask them what problems they want to solve. Asking children these opens up their minds to the possibilities of effecting a change in society rather than following the dogma.

A lot of people don't need a formal education (but I subscribe to the basic one - up to Secondary School or High School as others call it) to do the things they have in mind to achieve. I listened to an amazing man last week and he said he doesn't mind not being the smartest person in the room but he wants to be able to put smart people together and pay them to work for him. He said it's appealing to have smart people come together but it's hard to have them work together and that's where he would come in...leveraging on his ability to create a working environment for them so they can all function independently of others while still achieving the same goal for his dreams.

A lot of people, what they want to do requires education and by all means, I support them to get it but most people, it would be a waste of time for them to be forced into a line that isn't theirs because we just want them to be educated so they can have a means of sustenance. That's why most people hardly accumulate wealth or do great things because what they have is just a means of sustenance. It's not even enough for them, how can they make a change in the world?

A friend of mine told me how she was forced to go to university when all she wanted to do was to be on the screen. She would have used that time to go and educate herself better in that line rather than have overbearing parents force her to go in a particular line. If you live in this part of the world, you would understand that parents hold an influence on what you have to do in life. Most people are in school because they were told to not because they chose to and that's not only damaging for the system but for the future of those people too.

Image Source.

After being forced into the system they are not supposed to be in, the government won't make matters easier as well. You decided to study a 4-year course and the 4 years end up turning into 8 years yet your age is not on a pause. You keep wasting time, you keep getting frustrated and how can anyone perfectly think in such a state? I heard that there would be another strike now even though most institutions just resumed. The demands of the governing bodies aren't met by the government and that's the reason for another strike.

I know there is corruption everywhere and even the governing bodies are also putting the lives of these students at stake because of their selfish interest but the government are not helping matters. They would tell you that they are investing so much into education yet the students are getting frustrated day by day which hinders their growth. The youth are not better equipped as well to even start something on the sideline while they wait for the governing bodies and the government to reach a logical conclusion.

There was a grant I applied for and it has been 4 years now, nothing has been done on it. I have even spent on registration and facilitation with the nonsense documents they asked us to fill but to the government, it's just another source of revenue or someone in charge of that would pocket the whole money. They get enriched over the sweat of others which helped them to afford to send their children overseas to study in a better system that works. This is mentally draining.

Many things are going wrong with parenting styles and even the government and if care is not taken they would get worse and we would be raising terrible children for the future. I've always said that we don't need to leave a better world for our children but rather, let us leave better children for our world because, with better children, they can stand their ground and recreate a better world for generations to come. These current crops of leaders and humans we have, we are in too deep with corruption and our mentality has been scarred. If you ask an average youth to go into politics, the first thing he would think about is how to loot funds and it's scary.

I honestly don't know where to go from here...for the nation at large. There would be another strike soon and I couldn't help but feel bad for so many people whose lives have been unnecessarily affected by this. Where do we go from here as a nation and as people, generally? The future looks bright with burnt dreams.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

33
$ 15.07
$ 11.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.30 from @Amazing-grace
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 28
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Alot of folks are really waking up to a ge realisation that you don't have to go to tertiary education to succeed in life...... Some few even call it a big waste of time

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If I had my way too, trust me, I would stop at the basic and do something else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sadden to suffer in getting educated with lots of frustrations from school, lecturers and life itself then after the unfailing struggle in getting out you'd be faced with the corrupt faces of the world. Getting jobs seems more harder and most times if you were to get any , it may likely won't be soled on what you studied, imagine a graduate in biochemistry working at a bank or an agriculturalist selling drugs on the street. Children are been forced to study when they don't want to because of what they've seen.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Most Biochemistry students work in the bank and some even go fully into make up just to make ends meet. It's saddening. Every stage of life seem to be harder as we keep moving but God will come through for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God as came through for us but corruption, greediness and hate filled hearts towards one another is pulling us back... There's a quote that says, ' Heaven help those who help themselves '. We shouldn't expect more help if we ourselves can't go beyond our space to help ourselves.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is so true. We have everything we need. God won't help us more than He has already since we won't even manage the ones He has given us well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, imagine giving a friend money to start a business and he wasn't able to raise quarter of the money in the business even when he was being fed well and had everything he needed with him, then how come he wasn't able to raise the money back.. you'll never help such a person again because he didn't use well what you gave out to him in the first place.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is so right. Resources are meant to be utilized well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thought of this new strike itself has put a lot of stress on student, I remember a friend of mine that we both gain admission into OAU in 2015 but I could go because there was no money to pay for the tuition fee and all, I gain admission in 2016 to a polytechnic, did a year industrial training in 2019, back to school in 2021, and now I and my friend are both in final year and the course she pick has nothing to do with her dream, she just Want to go to school.. This is so sad

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh my! This is so heartbreaking. The system has failed her, no doubt. I wish she was allowed to follow her dreams just as everyone else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know what ola this article hit me straight to the heart. I was forced to take a course I do not want because my father who wants one of his children should be the same as his profession. And i finished it but I do not love it all I want is to be in the bank I want to be an accountant but I do not have freedom way back.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

It's really sad and I am so sorry my friend. I wish I was allowed to do what I intended to do as well. It's mentally draining.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd say that education is good and a part of life but it just depends what is being taught. The current education system, I believe, is archaic and not suited to today's society. I think it's repetitive, recycled content that is just repackaged, perhaps in the best interests of those seeking to maintain a status quo. Insightful piece again, thanks for sharing. You've won a new subscriber.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for this lovely contribution. That's the truth, it's a recycled contents they are giving us in the educational system and most of these things are not even applicable to the real world which is why most people get lost when real world places demands.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is the same in our country. Most people believe the road to success is through a university degree. But I believe if kids picked up skills, they can be just as successful, if not more so. I subscribe to technical-vocational education because they are more practical, and have better potential.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I totally subscribe to this as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

4 years is LONG! I am experiencing the same thing, but not in education. There is this government benefit I applied for since LAST year, and I still could not get the amount because I still have to submit additional requirements, that would obviously fill their pockets more. I wonder when this messed up system be over. :((

$ 0.04
2 years ago

It's scary because I don't know when this messed up system would ease up because the corruption has eaten too deep. I've filled all the necessary things and I am sure someone is sitting on that money as they have diverted it to private pockets because it has already been budgeted for and maybe the President isn't signing off on it and has used the funds for something else. It's annoying and yet they want the youth to build the country with their own money when they aren't even being helped.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This issue is not only in Nigeria, here in India also we face this pronlem. For most of us education was taken by chance and not by choice. And still it continues. As mentioned in the article, the result of which we are losing creative minds.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's a global problem which needs to be addressed, no doubt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's quite unfortunate that we have been made to think and live a stereotyped lifestyle. This is the biggest challenge we have in Nigeria. I wish parents and would be parents will wake up to the realities of life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's indeed a reality most parents have to wake up to and it starts with us, the new generation to do better than them with our wards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aside from putting us in the rat race, they even put us in tight corners.

You will ask a child, what do you want to become and you will start giving them options like doctor, nurse, engineers, lawyers, some teachers don't even remember accountants not to talk of writer. They have hypnotised us right from being a kid but thank God, we are getting out of the rat race but are we really getting out of it?

Maybe there is a way out of it that is yet to be fully optimized.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I really hope that day comes where we can finally break the cycle and it starts with us being better parents and not going back into the hole we crawled out from.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

On point boss... It starts from us not crawling into the hole

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not always been a fan of working for someone, reporting into an office building every morning and leaving later in the evening, it's not great way to build wealth. Luckily for me, the course I am studying in the university is mostly about owning your own business (fisheries), and that's what I plan on doing when I graduate. But on the other hand, not everyone will be able to run a business. Some people are better built for office life and that's where they excel better, what works for one may necessarily not work for another

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's right and that's why it's important to know what works for you. Others thrive with education while others can do better with their time away from the tertiary institution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the country will find ourselves today. Though the Nigeria back then was quite ok and education system is normal to some extent. But parents forcing education on children is something I will also do not agree upon. Instead they should rather study the child and realize his or her talented area and work upon that.

We are all different. And we have different talents.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I sincerely wish most parents can understand this. They keep judging the Nigeria of today with what it used to be back then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God help us. We are already into this. We shouldn't make our children fall into this too. Who knows how the Nigeria of tomorrow would be

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nigeria of tomorrow is scary already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God help us and our generations to come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every children deserve an education which lead to a brighter future

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, the basic ones and they are to determine what they want to do with their lives afterwards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love it. Let us leave better children for our world. It is new to me as I am in the leave a better world for the children. It makes sense now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad it did. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being educated doesn't just mean that you have a degree or having a great performance in school, being educated means that you know how respect and act like kind and responsible human being, actually I hate to say this but those who are sitting officials in our government even they have a good degree and high quality of living I think they are the one who needs more lecture and education.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaa I totally agree with this. They are the ones who need better education.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Degree and education are just a thing to make sure we will have a normal or maybe better life but it doesn't guarantee success and being rich. As for our how our education run I think it leads many students to become an average worker. Many students like me were perceived about this issue and I'm starting to realize that it's better to enjoy life while studying than just studying hard alone

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This is brilliant and that's right, they are training most people to just be an average worker. Life is to be enjoyed doing what you love because it's short.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, having a degree does not guarantee success. But it can be helpful for when you look for a job. Here in my country, it's much better to own a business if you know how to manage it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it's a good start so we won't be cheated as we would be able to contribute to meaningful engagements but not everyone is cut out for that life. Some are better with business and crafts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Education in this country has almost failed and it's actually more reason why I feel our government needs to do a lot of work on that sector to perform well

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They won't do much on that sector because they know when people know better, their authority would be challenged.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having a degree COULD be a ladder to success but not a guarantee. Yeh, taking up a degree you doesn't like is not advisable as you seems lost after you graduated😂 . Simply because you don't have a passion with it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's so true, my friend. It could help but never a guarantee. Each person should work according to their strength.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

precisely, like what happened to me, like I just wasted my four years in college studying. my degree was too far from my job. Simply because I don't have a passion in teaching. i can't imagined myself as a teacher. Oh my!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can imagine. It's scary doing what we have no passion for because we were forced into a system just to survive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

exactly, haha and we won't be productive but just going to work for the sake of salary, and because of our conversation, I got an idea what to write tomorrow. hehehe been spending an hour trying to write .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yaaaay. Glad I inspired you, my friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right about that, going through the stress of getting to work on time, coming back, not being queried and all...No time for creativity unless one just finds a way. I'm glad you just got an idea. Keep writing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can be more productive if we have passion with our work Jessica. We might just rendered a poor performance. Thanks

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Spot on, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard the news about the strike too, it's too bad, the governments are not helping, nothing is working. It almost seems as if they've been sent to frustrate people's life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

🤣🤣😂🤣🤣 that's exactly what it is. They have been cursed with a chronic desire to irritate everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not everyone needs formal education. Other people are dependent on their own ways like they can be a successful without the intervention of school. It is not everyone can be successful those people who have strong dedication, courage and have the determination to commit they promise to their self. Thanks for sharing ola!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Good to have you here and thanks for the addition.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Formal education doesn't work anymore. I'm a theoretical physicist turned writer, and blockchain gamer. In fact I've recently begun to work on novels all because of the money...Lol!

Education died a long time ago!

$ 0.04
2 years ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣 I love how you said it... Education died a long time ago.

$ 0.00
2 years ago