When It Rains, It Pours (With Thoughts)

58 111
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

October 9, 2021

It was Thursday night when the storm landed in Hong Kong and my Friday morning was greeted by cats and dogs figuratively falling from the sky. The raindrops prettily drizzled on the glass door and a foggy city view was evident from the inside. I felt an odd feeling while looking at it despite its calming scenery. When I slid the door ajar, the strong wind pushed my body and sent goosebumps to my delicate frame.

The strong wind made the rain go sideways and trees were dancing along with it like shivering drenched inflatable doll air dancers. I suddenly remembered that doll air dancer outside the shop I passed by the other day. I wonder if the doll is still dancing despite the downpour. Or will it be placed outside the shop to continue dancing? I feel pity for it.

When I checked the condition of the storm, it said a signal number 3 was hoisted in the city and lower classes were suspended but the secondary and higher levels still needed to go to school, as well as the office workers.

Poor students. I can feel the same when I was in college where I still needed to commute for almost an hour on a stormy day unless otherwise broadcasted that all classes in all levels were suspended. That was when I hadn't found a boarding house yet. And on the course of my journey, I need to literally traverse the bridge, the longest San Juanico bridge. While crossing the bridge I could see the raging rain smashing every car on the road and sea swells rolling upward and forward across the sea. Due to strong wind and slow pace of cars on the bridge, I could feel that the bridge was swinging a bit and anyone who fears fall, water, and death would likely freak out.

After a few moments of contemplating, the tickling sound of the clock reminded me about the errands I need to run later that day. I guess that was the odd feeling I felt upon seeing the foggy view of the city. It should be the perfect time to snuggle up with my pillow and binge-watch some movies. But after imagining the comforts it could bring, the dismal weather just washed and ruined those thoughts. No choice but to grind productively like how raindrops pour aggressively on a stormy day.

With my umbrella and slippers on, I set off for an hour's journey in the rain.

When it rains, it pours (with thoughts)

While walking on the street, I stumbled upon this tree that is starting to undress due to this autumn season. The chlorophyll in the leaves breaks down due to the shorter length of daylight that is why they are turning brown and falling. Some who are ignorant of the transition of the leaves during the autumn season might think that the tree is old and dying. Of course, there is no ignorance here about that phenomenal change.

Speaking of old and dying, I somehow read an article by @Eunoia entitled Happy Death Anniversary Self. The title really hooked me up and I read it forthwith. He's truly too imaginative and his thoughts even traveled far beyond the world and landed in the world of the afterlife and sat silently over the grave, like a forgotten sepulcher.

Along with the dismal weather, it made me think about those possibilities once my cold body laid inside a long white wooden casket and buried under the Earth. Will I be forgotten by my loved ones and the world after death? Will they visit me on all souls day to sweep the withered leaves and cut the growing weeds on my tomb and offer me food? Will they pray for my peace and safe travel to heaven? Or will they just let my grave be blanketed by the withered leaves and be crushed down by vines and roots until I turn to ashes, and my remnants would be completely eradicated in the human world?

Some may think that the afterlife is the easiest. You don't need to worry about several things anymore. You just have to sit down or walk around the garden of remembrance. For me, it's the saddest and the loneliest. Just the thought of being abandoned or forgotten by my loved ones made me fear death more. I believe a soul should be feed as well, with prayers, so it could continue its journey in the world of the afterlife. I believe a funeral home should be cleaned and visited regularly to let the soul feel that he/she is not forgotten. An annual visit is even enough for them. Because those are the only things loved ones could do to lonely dead souls.

When it rains, it truly pours with various thoughts and sadness. But I want to shrug off those thoughts about death as they're sending shivers down my spine and creeping into my soul.

The title says, when it rains, it pours. Coincidentally, I stumbled on the article of Prof Kudo about Murphy's Saturday where he shared his bad experiences last Saturday correlated to Murphy's law. As per Kudo, the law states that "anything that can go wrong, will go wrong" which has the same thought as the adage included in the heading of this article.

When it rains it pours. Have you ever experienced misfortunes that arrived successively on a certain day in your life? Just like what happened to @meitanteikudo. I won't dare to wish for that to happen as it is truly distressing. But I do have experiences related to this adage, but not to the same extent as Kudo's experiences, lol.

There was one time when I woke up in the wrong bed due to last night's shouting and quarreling that distracted my sleep and all I wanted that day was to sleep longer but I needed to work. I hated this Chinese family, because of their noise, I wasn't able to sleep well. I walked out of the house feeling groggy to run some errands in the morning without even eating my breakfast. I didn't even bother locking the gate since I'll be back soon.

As I stepped out of the building, a light rainshower started to pour but I didn't mind going back to get my umbrella since I have a cap and the rain wasn't heavy. But in the middle of my journey, it suddenly started raining cats and dogs and I had no choice but to run to the nearest mall and I stayed inside for a moment until the rain receded.

After doing the first task, I headed back home while playing on my phone. When I spotted our building, it was only the moment when I realized the other task. Then I angrily marched back to the city to do the task while cursing the rain for adding fuel to the fire which worsened my mood, and I cursed myself for having senior moments. I should have saved time and energy if I only focused on my tasks.

After doing all the tasks, I hurriedly head back home as I still have a patient to attend to. And as I faced our gate, I rummaged my bag for the key, but I just slapped myself in my mind when I realized that the key wasn't in my bag, it was in my other bag, *facepalm*. What happened next?

I pulled some audacity to press the doorbell and interrupted the sleep of my boss, lol. She opened the door with a glowering face and unkempt hair like Tarzan that just woke up. I somehow managed to laugh in my mind upon seeing her face but I apologized for forgetting the key, not for distributing her sleep, lol. Bad cheetah here. As if I took revenge on her and distracted her sleep as well, fair game, haha.

Just like what Murphy's Law implies, "if anything can go wrong, it will go wrong. And because I let negativity sink in my system early that day, misfortunes successively arrive that ruined my whole day.

When it rains, it truly pours if we let ourselves be distracted by negativity and ruin our day. We always have a choice to beat it up before it controls all the outcomes and magnets more negatives. And just like the quote says,

"The way you start your day can affect your whole day. Begin it with a smile."

Even if we are feeling groggy because of lack of sleep, or something stress-provoking is welcoming our morning, we should start our day with a smile and full of positivity to attract more positivity, and that's the Law of Attraction as well. And one thing is certain is, when it rains, it pours, but the rain will recede and the sun will shine again.

So always start your day with a smile readashers 😁. Thanks for reading.

27
$ 10.99
$ 9.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 19
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I smiled. I definitely did. And I just have to say, you really are astonishing. I don't know if that's your goal or something, but are you burying yourself in dictionary and thesaurus nowadays? It seems like I am reading words not normally use in common conversations, that's a stupendous attempt to widen your vocabulary, you never cease to inspire me. :) Challenge accepted! Hahahah

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha.. Common conversations are just ordinary. We don't need those words anyway 🀣🀣 unlike you who is so poetic on anything, and everywhere

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha di naman ehh.. it was just really refreshing to read words that aren't often used, you know, it makes my blood pump and my imaginative mind happy. It's really invigorating. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oooh wow! Can I use this as an article? It's lengthy enough already. hehe.

Ooooh, is that how it went? I see, I see... But that's true, some of us just needed that extra encouragement to step up our game, and what more of an encouragement than to be supported by well-established writers like yourself and the others.

I'm so lazy and I have lots of things happening so I can't really focus on my writings... I just do what I'm comfortable with and fortunately, there are some people out there that have the same brain wirings as myself so they bear with my ramblings.. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You don't need to step up coz you're already great. And your readers like your ramblings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh you... you and your blandishments... but I'll take that.. Thank you very much. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Signal number 3 is strong and destructive already here in Ph and all classes will be suspended. Grabe talaga jan no parang signal number 1 lang.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pro lakas ng hangin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Murphy's law is nothing but law of attraction simplified with regards to the wrong things lol.... the more energy we put in a thought whether positive or negative, will happen....that is why elders say to always think positive :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, may ganung mga araw ako sis.. Yung mula umaga hanggang gabi para bang ayaw makiayon sayo ng lahat at puro negativr ang nangyayari..hahahayy...mindan co incident, minsan naman parang chain effect like for example since hindi maganda ang mood na bumungad sayo sa unaga, mahahawa ka at lahat na din ng makakasalamuha mo ay ganun na ang mood hanggang sa umabot na ang gabi at ganun kapa din, doon na lumalala ang sitwasyon kasi napagbabalingan mo ang mga taong nakapaligid sayo..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hirap pa naman idivert ang bad mood

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth.. Ang hirap iswitch sa kabilang side kapag naumpisahan ka na talaga sa umaga..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone has had those days when Murphy's Law plays tricks on us. And no matter what you do, everything you try will go wrong. Those days, it is better to fill with patience.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And just smile on those bad things haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this.. Sometimes our mind drifts and all we think about are the sad things in life or how our life would have been if we had our way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The other days he commented in a comment that the saddest thing is to be forgotten by our successors in our family. Our grandchildren will hopefully be the last to remember us. Later no one else will know that we have existed. It is very difficult. That is why we need to make a mark in history. Something to keep us alive.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Our legacy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganda ng view sa balcony, tamang upo lang tas with a cup of coffee tas unwind haha.

Ako ate bihira nalang akong gumising ng good mood, depende pag maganda panaginip ko HAHAHA kasi paligi pangit gising ko eh, pero minsan mawawala din naman yung pagka bad mood, hindi din naman whole day, depende kung may bubwisit sakin HAHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also read the posts of these two authors you mentioned. They are very interesting. There are days when everything goes wrong and I don't know why, but it happens.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Because we let ourselves be controlled by negative things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No. I don't like anything negative. I look at things realistically, but I always turn things around and say that they happen for a reason. And I'm like my friend who looks for the bad and is grateful for the good. It's not my type to waste time on negativity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always think that there is something in rain which has power to create several thoughts in our mind, most of them are gloomy.I also feard of death whenever I think about grave, because we wouldn't be able to be with our loved ones, and continue to stay alone. I agree with positive mindset, and smile we can change our day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here ate rain every morning or before evening because of the typhoon but it was not still landed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Keep safe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we stumble over the same stone several times a day, the best thing to do is to calm down and find a way to reorganize the day. I liked your phrase that it rains cats and dogs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading a sad story on a raining day is always more touching.. And I actually read this article on a rainy day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan mandin, pag pangit gising ko maghapon na yon. Kaya dapat talaga smile pagka gising palang. Wag mag simangot at nakakamalas un. Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha..nkakapangit pa 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That "when it rains, it pours, but the rain will recede and the sun will shine again." Another one to be add on my motivations in the wall. β€πŸ’—

"The way you start your day can affect your whole day." True na true, Ateee. Kaya iniiwasan ko na maging mainitin ang ulo sa umaga eh kasi tuloy-tuloy na 'yun and nakaka-affect sya in a negative way sa maghapon ko. Hirap kaya na maging bugnutin maghapon. πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mahirap pa makatulog sa gabi haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smile is the foundation of happy life. The reflection of our soul. By the way, rain is unstoppable from gloomy weather down to heavy rains. But still I didn't complain when it rains because it's a big blessing to our ricefields :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A blessing to the world not just to the rice fields..especially to the rainforest and wildlife

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope the stormy nights wil subside as early as possible. As told, let the day start with a smile so that we have complete positive vibes. Enjoying tha rain is wonderful but when it turns to storm its fearful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really fearful and can even cause destructions..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga sinasabi nila na simulan ng magandang ngiti yung umaga natin para madadala daw natin to in the whole day😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The truth is that, nobody actually know where people go afterlife, are they happy there or living lonely there? I have been asking myself these, if humans can be reborn again.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wanna know too if the reincarnation is real

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel spiritual and nostalgic at those moments. Best feelings ever. I'm touched with your writings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Best feeling? Seriously?πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s rain. That's enough for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Upon reading this, I realized that the reason I am not creative in writing is because I rush to finish early. I just pour the words without proper timing and jumo into another idea without giving proper emphasis to the first one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Every paragraph should be connected and emotions should be applied..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So the storm went there first. I hope it won't cross the border to come here.

I am very sure you won't be forgotten so easily when you will go to your eternal sleep. Huh! The rain does bring some odd thoughts, even death. And I laughed reading the part about your boss opening the door for you, haha. I kind of imagined how she looked like :D Keep safe sis!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks sis. You too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww Happy to see your safe and sound despite of the landfall ms. Jane. Hehe yeah about abandoned my some what we loved the most was a painful tear drops. It's a wake call maybe that's we were the living also don't do that to passed. Me too were still in the barbaric as what they say but we're still doing the "alay" for the dead.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Napaisip dn ako.. Giniginaw kya sla kc iba walang bubong πŸ˜… haha. Panu nlng kpg umuulan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminds me of the time your boss wasn't around and you forgot your keysπŸ˜‚. And you called a lock changer i think

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That was a different story 🀣 I forgot my keys many times 🀣🀣 good thing my boss is a little patient with me, or else, I'm fired 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. So that’s it

It’s been raining here for the past two days now. Morning and night. Just some sunny 🌞 hours yesterday after. But the Wales then is still cold

Hahaha. The casket aspect got me thinking πŸ’­

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Here is stormy since Thursday night

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo talaga yang sinabi mo sis na, "The way you start your day can affect your whole day." Kasi it really happens to me. Kung wala ako sa mood pagising dala na yan hanggang gabinat minsan matutulog na lang din na mainit pa rin ulo haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kya nga.. Namamagnet ang ibang kamalasan kpg mainit ang ulo sa umaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo kaya, iniiwasan ko talagang maging hb sa umaga haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just by reading your article brought back memories, memories I thought were lost to time. You have already inspired me to write on the subject. It's always important to start a day on a positive note although I do remember a day where it all went wrong from the moment I stepped out of the house till I returned so I guess Murphy 's law stands... "if anything can go wrong then it will go wrong"

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Looking forward to reading your article 😁 The law does exist haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is a choice, it attracts your choice. Choose to be happy and always attracts positivity. Have a nice day

$ 0.02
2 years ago