Murphy's Saturday

43 80
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Murphy's Law. This is an old saying of some sort that states: "Anything that can go wrong will go wrong."

I have always been fascinated with that adage because it somehow envelopes everything that's bad in the mindset of people all over the world. It's like the negativity of the whole world came together and produced an epic and yet devastating epigram.

Although I am a bit pessimistic all the time, I believed that I had that Murphy kind of day last Saturday. It really seemed like whatever could for wrong, did go wrong, at least for me.

So it started like any other Saturday and I woke up early since I should be working. Then I did some work. Since the majority of the planet is still under the threat of this pandemic, working from home is one of the initiatives private companies came up with to somehow help with the situation. Trying to diminish the possibility of virus transmission and whatnot. Lucky enough, I was one of those who could work from home from time to time, and on that day, I was working from home.

The first sign of trouble was the internet connection fails. No matter where you are, internet connection is pretty vital and I was relying on a fiber connection from a single provider. I could not use my data on my phone since I can't get any mobile signal inside the apartment. I think that's the first thing that went wrong.

The second was when I decided to eat out for lunch. I walked out of the door and when I was near my car I checked for my keys and I left the inside. The car key and the keys to the house were all chained up together so I had to call the super just to get inside my unit. What a hassle right?

I still ignored all of those things and proceeded to go out when I got my keys. I drove for a bit and then chose a restaurant where to eat. When I got inside the restaurant I asked them first if they were accepting credit cards and they responded negatively. I checked on my wallet and I only have like 5 bucks in it. So I went out of there and drove to the nearest ATM I could find.

And the nearest ATM was about 5 kilometers away. Darn it! When I got to the bank, the parking spaces were all occupied and the other half was closed because of ongoing roadwork. I was just thinking then..."great, just great".

I couldn't park on the road since there were signs 'No Parking' and 'Tow Away Zone' all over. I drove for a bit and parked in front of a small grocery store. And then I walked towards the bank under the sun. But well, what do you know, despite it being so sunny, the rained pour for a bit. Just my luck!

When I got to the bank, wow, the line's so slow and there was really quite a line. I had no choice but to queue up.

I got the money, went back to the restaurant and ate my meal. The regret was instant since the food was not that good, the presentation of the servings was superb but the taste, hmm so-so.

I got in the car and drove back home, but on the way, I stopped to get something in another store. As I got out of the car, I immediately noticed that one of the car's tires was deflating. And soon enough, it was flat. Again, amazing, right?!

I don't have any air pump so I opted to just use my spare tire from the trunk. I loosened all the lug nuts on the tire but it won't budge. The tire was stuck! Several people tried to help me and to no avail. I thought that my only chance was to drive the car on a flat tire. So I put all the nuts back while it was raining.

I ran it to the nearest vulcanizing shop and they pulled out a big-ass piece of sharp and flat metal. Wow. What a day.

After that, I just went home with a heavy head and a heavy heart. What a Saturday that was.

Closing

After a night's sleep, I woke up the next day feeling a bit refreshed and relaxed. I just binge-watched the whole day but there were some reflections about the previous day that came to me while I was watching TV.

Maybe those things happened because I was attracting a lot of negativity that day since I was really not in the mood. And when I was better, those things weren't so bad. I also realized that I was so focused on the "bad" things that I missed all those other things that happened.

First, from the failing internet connection, despite that issue, I was able to log into my account and be counted as present during our morning meeting. Then I forgot my key, when I went back to get it, I was also able to bring my face shield.

Then at the restaurant, they weren't accepting credit cards so I had to run to get some cash, I failed to appreciate that I had some money in the bank that I could use whenever I would need it. Although I had a flat tire, I was lucky enough that the tire was deflated when I was not on the road and the car was stopped, or else, something far worse could have happened.

My Saturday wasn't that bad, it's better than other people's, what's worse was my mood and my outlook. Life may not be so good, but it's not so bad either. It may give you lemons sometimes, but at least it gave you something.

I am not here promoting toxic positivism but it's not going to hurt to appreciate some of the good things instead of focusing on all the bad.

Hiya!

Yes yes yes I know, this is kind of a week late because it's Saturday again tomorrow but hey, sometimes, it's better late than never right? :)

So... how are you today? I hope you're having a better day than yesterday. Oh, I wanted to ask you, how do you cope up with a bad day? What do you do? Drop by on my comment section and let's chat for a sec.

Anyhow, I really appreciate you taking time off from your busy schedule and reading this article of mine, now I'm gonna let you off with a toast, to us...

Cheers!!!

Series    : Random Articles
Title     : Murphy's Saturday
Published : 08-Oct-2021
Author    :  ยฉ RB 

24
$ 9.93
$ 9.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 9
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

When we entertain negative the more negative we become. Thinking is negative been part of us but it is about how to deal with it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, I cope with a bad day by seeing the positive effects on it because everything happens for a reason. I keep on reminding myself that there are reasons why the negative things happens to us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

that's not a bad way to cope up with things. I hope that you keep thinking that way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ups and downs is a fact of life but we should face every situation with positivity

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Negativity always almost certainly attracts more negativity

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Agree with this, even all negative and worst things scenarios happen, we still have things to be grateful for, even if it's small or big, we should be always grateful for having this, and also life is like a roller coaster ride so everything goes down must goes up, just be patience and grateful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep, we just have to endure and enjoy the ride.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, we just have to endure and enjoy the ride.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you. I always tell my son about it. What can go wrong, will. And I also think it's better to focus on the positive. I believe and I am convinced that focusing on the negative brings nothing good for our mind and body. And I don't think I'm toxic positive either. Rather, I am a convenient positive. Cheers to you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hmmm a convenient positive.. Now that's something. It has a really good ring to it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a lot of murphy's law there. but true despite all that unfavorable things, there are also things to be grateful for. we realize of course after but still good to be recognizing blessings and the blessings the odd happenings bring...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True.. it takes someone blessed to see the blessings despite of all the negative things though.. so stay blessed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fact. Also i think practicing seeing the good in the bad is another thing. It is not always automatic for us to rejoice over small blessings compared to really expressing our frustration over small hiccups. ๐Ÿค” That part of humanity always amuses me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha true.. even I feel a bit of relief after venting out or complaining.. :) But I feel better when I realize the little good things mixed in the bad.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes meron nung "ok naman pala ako eh.." hahahaha... humans

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah kaya nga.. kelangan muna maistress. ahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a day you had, one of those that goes wrong until you send a simple text message, Ahah. Those days happen to all of us. It always surprises us when you least expect it, a string of silly mistakes that never happen to us, but now for some strange reason they happen to us all together.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeahhh.. just like the saying... when it rains... it pours...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagpapasakay ka ga ho sa kotse mo? Beke nemen pwdng makatikim ng sakay ba ๐Ÿคค๐Ÿ˜‚.

May tawag pala sa ganyan, maraming beses ko na naranasan yan ee. Mapapakamot ulo ka nalang talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha tara,. hop in girl. lol

oo nga, saklap laang.. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Done added Murphy's law to vocabulary of this poor brain๐Ÿ˜. Mishaps was often annoying but sometimes if we see the bright side of those happenings was brought you something that saves you for the worst possible scene.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

that's really true.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kinda heartbreaking though. Would love to embrace everyone with pleasure and decent standardization.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my God what an annoying day, I don't even know but I felt so sorry for you reading the post I just wanna give you a big fat hug lol... Don't you have other restaurants that you can go to have lunch where they accept cards???

$ 0.02
2 years ago

it's fine.. all is well that ends well. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really annoying. You know when we are not in the mood and all the bad things came up too. Just wow. What a good timing. But we can't do anything to avoid it so we just deal with it and let them ruin our day. Better days are coming anyway

$ 0.02
2 years ago

always looking forward to those better days. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yasss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would really annoy you having experience those series of mishaps but you are right also, we should look at the brighter side. It is good for our mental health.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yep, as much as possible, positivity should always be present.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My day yesterday was fine. Actually I cancelled my class because I wanted to relax and do something for myself. I spend it washing my clothes and making another set of DIY carpet for myself. Food is always my happy pill and my niece whenever I had a bad day I eat chocolate or hug and play with her. It's kinda effective to hug babies when your in a bad mood it really eases the bad feeling right away.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oooh you have a good set of stress reliever. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks if I do. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry.. but I was laughing while reading your hurdles..the law of attraction indeed but you got murphy's law. So it's proven from your experience that the law does happen. Lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

lol, I believe in that law. hahaha I don't believe in the law of attraction though. but still yeah, there are still silver linings in the darkest of clouds. Like this, see, you managed to use my misfortunes as laughing matter. hahhahaha :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. Sorry.. Imagining you loosening all the lug nuts on your car's tire, you probably perspired much while doing that ๐Ÿ˜….

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh my G... you like that? Guys doing manly things while perspiring? Hahaha looking at abs and all that pecs? hahaha.. well yeah,, I perspired but I was already a bit wet from the rain. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also got my patience tested with the first part because of all that negative energy.. Lol. but when you start narrating the positive sides of all the events, I realized, it wasn't a bad day after all. This made me realize, again, that a bad day depends on those who have it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yep right.. just like beauty, stress is in the eyes of the beholder. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If that was me I would shout to release my stress๐Ÿ˜ that was a bad saturday everything seemed to be going wrong for you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

shouting is fun. especially if you are drunk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inaasar ka talaga prof eh HHAAHA. relate din ako sa ganyan. Yung feeling na parang hlaos ng giangawa ko may palya talaga ahhaha. Parang sinasadya kumbaga HAHAHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha saklap lang nga ano. haha but still, lucky are those who can see the silver linings from everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago