Unexpected Visa Extension

80 125
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

September 11, 2021

Unexpected things happen when you least expect them. I thought I'll be going back home very soon but ended up extending my stay abroad. Living abroad is not that easy. You'll face many challenges, especially at the beginning. The homesickness, communication gap, maltreatment, and other risks. For my entire stay abroad, it's the homesickness that I've been battling for a long time. I am used to being away from home even in the Philippines, but four years is too long.

Just like many other OFWs (Overseas Filipino Workers), I conquered the foreign land for my dreams and to help my family as well. I faced many challenges and experienced happiness as well. I thought it will end soon and I'll be seeing my beloved country and family already. I have plans in mind about things that I will do once I get home. A getaway for my family, I want to build my workplace, I want a long rest to recuperate my exhausted body.

Three months ago, I interviewed the Filipino who will replace my position. I thought three months is enough to process her papers and visa. And I was confident that I'll be going back home this September 21, which is supposed to be the end of my contract. I packed my stuff and sent it to the Philippines last August 1 and it arrived at home last Wednesday.

But last Tuesday I asked my boss about my contract and she told me that my replacement can't come this month and she might come at the end of the month. A few week's extension was fine for me, so I agreed to extend my visa. So last Wednesday we went to my agency to sign another contract and papers for my visa extension.

Since they were talking in Cantonese, I didn't understand their conversation. But I have signed the contract and other papers. At the end of the process, the staff mentioned that, if the new one can not come after three months due to more strict protocols, I might extend my visa again. I was shocked and even raised my voice when I asked her about the three months extension. She then explained the situation in the Philippines as well as the more complicated processing.

I felt down in the mouth after hearing the news, which means that my stay will last until the winter season. And what made me more sad and annoyed was the fact that I already sent my winter stuff to the Philippines. The visa extension might be another opportunity, but it carries along with the cons.

CONS

The main reason why I want to end my contract is that I want a long rest. This pain and discomforts are calling my attention and wanting to be prioritized more. And three months seems to be so long again to wait for that to happen.

Another cons is about my winter clothes and other stuff. Since I already sent them all to the Philippines, that means I need to buy new ones again. That requires another sum of money and HK$ 500 is not enough to buy them all. Instead of saving money, I'll be spending more on winter clothes and other stuff. Things that I need to buy include winter jackets, indoor and outdoor clothes, pajamas, and winter shoes. As I said above, HK$500 is not enough to buy them all. And I am certain that I'll be spending a few thousand on that, tsk!

PROS

I believe there is a reason for this. Although it's negative, I'll look at it positively. Maybe this is another chance to complete my goals, and an opportunity to look for another job or pursue my plan to apply for work in Canada or Japan while I am here in HK. Three months might be short for that, but that's enough to look for job opportunities. I also remembered the Caregiving agency that offered me a job before but I rejected their offer since I extended my contract here last 2019. Why not apply again?

To be honest, I wanted to rest but I don't want to be jobless for long. And news says that OFWs in the Philippines are having difficulty finding new employers again due to the Covid regulations and new virus strains in the country. And based on my experience in looking for a job here, I found out that most employers do not allow their new employees to go back to the Philippines because they are afraid of the Covid situation in my country and they are worried as well about the expenses in quarantine protocols since hotels are expensive. So they prefer to find Filipinos that are about to finish their contract here in HK but won't allow them to go back to the Philippines.

And if I will look for a job in the Philippines, I might end up working in a hospital that is riskier.


Don't be worry, just keep going

My boss noticed that I looked sad after hearing the three months extension, so she brought me to Genki Sushi restaurant together with her daughter to make my mood better. Indeed, foods can make your mood brighter, lol.

I'm not a fan of sushi and eating raw foods, but I am a fan of Japanese udon. And this set only costs HK$50 which is affordable for me, but it was all for free since my boss paid for it.

So instead of worrying about the three months extension, I'll just focus more on achieving my plans for Augustus since I have not fulfilled them all yet and I guess it is much better to resume my travel goals in the winter season.

Meanwhile, my family at home is excited to open the 'balikbayan box' but I told them not to because I thought I'll be going back home this September 21.

I did not inform them yet about my contract extension, maybe I'll do it this Sunday and I'll tell them to open the box and get the presents for them.

Moreover, these SEP20 tokens are making me crazy and active on both Telegram and Twitter which I never did before. That is because of different drops, lol. This is actually diverting my negative thoughts and it's fun joining different airdrops. I was happy to see 50M $ARG in my wallet yesterday morning which I got from the Twitter airdrop. More drops were posted on TG by different groups.

Maybe I'll just enjoy this three months extension through fulfilling my travel goals and joining different smartBCH tokens airdrops πŸ˜…. BenSwap is giving me passive income so I should not be sad instead be blessed with what I gain every day.

And by December, I am expecting Bitcoin Cash to reach 4 digits on its price. And while waiting for that to happen, I'll just have fun and accumulate more crypto. Because for sure, I'll be needing them once I get home, lol.

Thanks again for reading this nonsense article πŸ˜….

45
$ 14.78
$ 12.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 28
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I have got something to say you. I previously knocked you on noise.cash but you gave me there your telegram link but I send message no reply I have got. But again I am giving you my telegram link you please talk with me about some serious matter. Telegram: https://t.me/Rezanur_Rahman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, mapapatagal ka pa ulit. Tama yan, think positive lang (wag lang sa Covid hehe). May plans siguro si Lord kaya pinastay ka pa Nya dyan. Fighting LODI. β™₯️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope that all these inconveniences will be to your benefit. I am glad that apart from the frustration of not fulfilling your dreams now this will turn into new thoughts for your professional growth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. Lift it all to Him and trust His heart. Better things may be coming your say so hold on tight :) Meanwhile enjoy Benswap and BCH for now :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no... the thought that you have to buy a lot of stuff again which you already had sucks.. seriously.. you should really ask for extra pay becase of this situation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is not a nonsense article at all.By the way we all are waiting for BCH going into 4 digit on its price. That will be great for this year. And can you tell me BY visiting my profile what is the problem with my account or reason for not getting rewards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay ang yang months of extension ate, let's just go to the positive side. It's definitely giving you more time to save more bch and money hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok lang yan sis... Atleast may pinagdadivertan ka ng feelings mo. Opportunity nga yan kasi may trabaho ka pa. Kung uuwi ka nga naman baka matagalan bago ka makanap sa panahon ngayon. Chill lang. Pasasaan ba't makakauwi ka rin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aaaw that's sad :( But like you said, focus on the brighter side of the picture, maybe a better opportunity is waiting for you once your contract 'finally' ends. Fighting! πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Sa korea din po ms. Jane nag extended visa din sila don kaya ang boyfie ko naman hindi pa makaalis papuntang korea dahil naman sa covid cases dito sa pinas.. Hirap po kapag ganyan uwing uwi kana tapos malalaman mo extended ang visa mo. Ingat ka po palagi dyan 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that everything happens for a reason. God's plan is better than ours. Time will come that you'll enjoy being with the family maybe not now because of the contract extension, but surely soon. And as what you've said you'll use this opportunity to achieve more of your goals. Good luck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakalungkot po talaga pag naka ayus kana nang gamit mo. Piro hindi pala matuloy nakakalungkot po talaga ate jane.😣😣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

positive thoughts nalang talaga kahit na change of plans ka ateng gawin nating good news yan kahit dika makaka uwi .pero sakit padin yung excited kana masyado kasi makaka uwi kana pero sa isang iglap wala nanaman... ingat ka lang talaga jan ateng for ur sake and for ur family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I posted on Twitter as well but I didn't get the airdrop 😭😭😭😭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They distributed it on TG

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😭😭😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Changes in plans may not please us at a first impression. But they could be an opportunity. I hope everything goes well for you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope it is..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oops! Another 3 months . But try as much as possible to enjoy it and have enough rest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything happens for one reason my dear friend, this is gonna be a challenge for you, and you will get it over, and guess what, better things are coming. So nice that you are keeping a positive attitude by facing the situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap din pag kailangan na ng katawan nung pahinga tapos nauudlot pa. Naawa tuloy ako sa tatay ko na OFW din at sa iba pa na ilang taon ding magtitiis bago makauwi.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sang bansa sya?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa Australia po hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo Jane. Might be a blessing in disguise kc may travel ban yata for Filipinos dahil sa Covid. Haays.. Ako rin nito waley di ko alam, trusting all my cares to God. Nkaka stress.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Bka next year pa ko mkauwi nto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww. Everything happens for a reason! A reason that u need to work for a better future. Mapapa sana all nlng ako sa mga Smartbch hehe d ko pa kc msyado naintindihan ang gnyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Read my articles bout that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po. Uulitin poπŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ito yung ayaw korin, mag paplano tas ang ending hindi matutuloy 🀧. Pero lucky ka parin ate jane kasi may trabaho kana may mabait ka pang boss at dadami pa lalo pera mo πŸ€‘. HAHAHAHA

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's not money that i need this time. It's rest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. Maybe God has a better plan for you. Pero wag din abusuhin and katawan lalo wala kang family jan. I wish you all the best, sis.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks sis.. Yun nga gusto ko ipriority ngayon.. Minsan ang hirap tlga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I too believe everything happens for a reason, hopefully everything would turn out fine, and you'll get your rest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just have to be calm and not to worry. It might be something good at the end. Human beings might not know the reason it came out like this, but be positive that something good is coming out from it. Soon, you will have that longgggggg rest you need πŸ˜‰

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope so mama. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehhh another 3 months aguy. Pero for sure may reason pa na iba why it happened baka may mas maganda reason na madidiscover mo soon 🀩

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sana nga madam.. Pro more spendings yun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear about. I know it's not easy for living in abroad. When such condition happen suddenly , it's not easy to accept it but at that time we need to show patience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it has some reason behind why you are extended, just endure a little bit then rest for sure after the 3 months ended. The reason you'll know it later on for sure.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope it's a good reason.. I don't want to suffer another mess

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry to hear that. All things work together for good for those that love God. Says the bible. Just find ways to slow down a bit in the next 3 months ate. Take out time to rest-health is wealth. May the 3 months extension birth wonderful things for you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope so. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya yan ate. Isipin niyo na lang po na lahat may rason kung nagstay po kayo diyan pero nasa iyo pa rin po yan hehe. Anyway, ano po un niyo sa TG?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

@Jane1289

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is great. Every disappointment is a blessing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats on your visa extension, I guess. I'm sure there's an opportunity in there somewhere. Three months is a quarter which is a decent time span to get quite a bit done. All the best to you!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's not actually something to congratulate πŸ˜… coz I wann go back home

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. If that's the case, do you have a say in the matter?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear you may have to stay longer! Hope in the end a solution will come that is a bit better for you. Good luck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Praying for that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That’s the spirit sis. We have a choice to sulk on some unexpected events or turn them as an opportunity to focus and look forward for more blessings. Praying before Christmas makauwi ka at makasama mo pamilya mo. Kapit lang ulit muna. πŸ’•

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hopefully .. Pro mukhang impossible. My quarantine pa dto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe there's something good about it, although you will have to endure whatever pain and discomfort you are feeling. Anyway, 3 months is a short period and it will pass quickly :) Congrats on your airdrops :D I keep missing them, lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Matagal dn yan sis 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yon lng aabutan ka pa talaga ng winter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for posting a nonsense that actually make sense out of sense we make sense it was help for me though πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear, that didn’t work well. But I hope something positive will come from this. Dear Almighty must have special plans for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could imagine how you felt when you found out that your contract was extended. The thought and love of family will always knock on our hearts at some point in life whether we want it or not but the good thing is that, what that happens, we must be positive at all times. I am happy you see the disappointment with a positive mind set.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

But still sad here coz what I badly need is rest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just try and hang on a little longer... You won't when the three months will expire...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laban lang ate. Bilib ako sa positive mindset mo ate. πŸ’— Everything happens for a reason ika nga. πŸ€— Pero sana nga, makuha mo na po yung rest na needed mo.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wag lng yung rest in peace ha? 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha oo ate. Except na rest na yon. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laban lang ate, pero ung may pain and discomfort kanang nafefeelpatang dina tama. Ang haba pa ng 3months, sana makarating kabdito sandec ate para sa pasko kasama mo fam mo. Wag no lang pabayaan sarili mo lalo na at ang hirap ngayon

$ 0.03
2 years ago

At hirap pa kamo mkapag pacheckup dto..need ng appointment..kpg sa public hospital, aabutin pa yan ng months bago ka mabigyan ng sched.. Ang mahal naman sa private clinics

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusmeyo buwan talaga? Jusko wait lang paano ung mga magpapacheck up na need agad ng agarang checkup? Edi bago pa bigay schedule baka dina kinaya ng pasyente kapag ganyan ;-;

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa private clinics and hospitals.. Kpg sa public, it takes time.. Anak ni boss sa government hospital nka base doctor nys sa heart... Inaabot ng buwan or year bago mkapag pacheckup.. Unless urgent tlga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats on getting the 50M ARG. I got nothing.

Anyway, sorry to know about the 3 months extension. No choice but to try to make the best out of it. Contact is signed.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was unfare because they did not informed me about the three months extension. I thought it was just a few weeks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agreed. Very sneaky that they didn't inform you and ask if you would be OK with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like fate wants you to keep staying abroad, there might be something good for you there.

I'm also hoping for BCH to reach 4 digits by December (I'm seriously praying for that to happen).

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I want to rest though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you should do so, you have worked really hard and you deserve to rest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anong pain or discomfort yan madam? Maybe it's something serious na so you need to have it checked? πŸ€”

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Magiging okay lng ako kpg magpahinga ng maayos..hndi naman ako mkapagpahinga 1day day off lng.. Same parn sa arm issue ko dati..balik2 lng sya.. Remember last year pa to..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di nawawala sa masahe madam?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we suddenly get something unexpected, we feel very happy. I think you are very happy. Isn't that so?i like your article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago