Fear of Fear

67 173
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

November 18, 2021

How do you overcome your fears? Would you allow them to just sit in you forever or face to overcome them?

If I would be asked, I would rather face my fears so I could overcome them.

After reading @JustMaryel's article about Respect Fears, I was inspired to write this one. Thanks to @Infinity for initiating this prompt. It awakened my sleeping writer's soul. If you are curious about this prompt, just tap here.

Indisputably, we all have fears about certain things as it is normal in us. When perceiving danger, our body involuntarily reacts to the situation ensuing fear, provoking anxiety, or causing us to panic, especially if the situation could threaten our lives. Just like being involved in an accident, or facing a venomous and dangerous creature, being on the edge of a cliff, getting severe injuries or sickness in our body, etcetera.

I wonder how @TengoLoToDo did not have fear of heights and planes after being involved in several plane crashes way back. Because if it was me, I would fear riding on a plane and I would fear heights. You can check his stories here Fact or is it Fiction?

Some even developed phobias after being involved in precarious situations or falling on the verge of death. Basophobia or fear of fall for instance. Even Philophobia or fear of falling in love again after suffering great painful breakups or separations, which I guess I acquired. And the typical Thanatophobia or fear of death that everyone most feared of.

Those are just common types of fear that we usually acquired after experiencing terrible circumstances. The fear of failure is also inevitable, especially for those who don't accept defeat. What about fear of failing an exam? Of course, students could relate. And the fear of sickness, especially for those mothers who devoted their whole lives to their families just to give them good health.


But have you ever thought of Fear of Fear?

When I created this title, I suddenly asked myself if there is a certain fear of fear which I never thought of before. But Mr. Wiki says it's called Phobophobia or fear of fear including intense anxiety. However, I won't tackle it and I am referring to another FEAR.

Have you ever feared other aspects in life aside from the typical fears we are feeling in our normal days?

F-uture. Have you ever feared your future? As we wake up in the morning we feel grateful that we reach another day of our life. At the end of the day, we are more grateful that we survived the tough day. At the same time, we always think about tomorrow. And oftentimes, we are worried as we do not know what tomorrow or the future holds. We are worried that things might not fall according to how we want them to be.

Back in the times before stepping into this foreign land, I felt disappointed how things become so messed up as they didn't fall into where and how I wanted them to be. While looking at my colleagues, they have already traveled far and achieved the lives they wanted to be. I'm a person who can't control myself but worry about what people would say about me. Think of what would be the outcome of my actions. And worry about what in the future I would be like. Because I don't want to just lay flat on the ground and let my efforts go wasted. I always wanted to move forward.

For instance, if I work in a certain job and quit, the next job should be better and with a higher salary than the previous one. I always wanted to level up, not level down. Unless I truly needed to look back or step down. But as much as possible, I wanted to move forward and be a better version of myself. While thinking of what my life has achieved and yet attained, and how it ruins my equilibrium, I worried about what else would happen to me in the future. I'm not even certain if I could reach the spot of forty or cross over it. But if it happens, then I would be grateful and blessed. And just like what I said to George, life starts at forty anyway.

It is inevitable for us to worry about the future, especially if we have a family to support. It is inevitable to think of bad things that we might encounter in our journey and if we can surpass them. But what if we can't? Where would we fall? No worries if on the ground, but what if on the black hole with no escape?


E-nd. Have you ever thought of what will happen next once we reach the end of everything? End of the day. End of work. End of challenges. End of life. What about the end of the world? Doomsday would be to all of us if it happens. It makes me think of those biblical signs and prophecies if they are real and if the end of the world would happen.

But have you ever thought about what would happen if there is consistent famine, violence, epidemic, immorality, lawlessness, disasters, and death? Will there truly be an end to the world?

Even this end of my contract abroad feared me. What would happen to me next? I always think of that during silent hours. Will I be able to get another job? Or just focus on blogging? But thinking of the disadvantages it gives to my health, I could say that online work can't be my permanent job. Could I even rest after completing this certain journey? That's another fear that's creeping in me while thinking about my future.

But amongst all fears of ends, I am certain that we fear the end of life, the fear of death. Who doesn't fear death anyway? Our life alone is something to be feared of. Each day and circumstances life brings in us is something to withstand. How much more death?

The thoughts of fear of life and death ultimatum could truly drive us insane if we don't learn how to face and accept it. As they said, face the fear to overcome it. That also means we have to face death and accept the fact that everything has an end because nothing lasts forever.


A-bsence. What would you feel if there's an absence of everything in your life? Would you survive being a lonely soul? The absence of love. The absence of joy. The absence of faith. The absence of knowledge. The absence of courage. The absence of light. And above all, the absence of family and friends.

Those are the vital aspects of a human's life that we have to possess to live in this world. And just the absence of any of those could compromise our whole well-being and could make our life's equilibrium unsettled.

And something we most feared is the absence of our family and friends because we can't live like an island in this world. This makes me think of the future once my parents leave this world. What would be my life then? Could I manage to dwell on life without them? Could I deal with all the responsibilities that they would leave on my shoulders? Could I live my ideal life after that?


R-eality. Who doesn't fear reality? The reality is too vivid that we can't deny the fact that it is too perilous to live in this world full of chaos and uncertainties. The violence, crimes, inequalities, unacceptance, discrimination, unjust law, and other uncertainties that we could encounter in this world.

Even social media triggers our fear of reality as it illustrates a life that is way too different from what we have, and shows how cruel the world is. And so we opt to make an unrealistic life just so we could live at peace and feel accepted. Yet, at the end of the day, we still have no choice but to face the reality that we dislike. We have no choice but to accept the life that was given to us and live with it whether we like it or not and learn how to walk in the perilous crowd without getting insane about the reality.


However, just like how we overcome our typical fear, we have to face our fear of FEAR.

Why would we fear the future if we can live our lives today to the fullest and thrive to succeed? And as the adage says, "Sufficient unto the day is its own trouble." So let the day handle things and let's not worry about the future.

Why would we fear the end if there is always a new beginning, and if the sun always shines each day even after stormy days?

Why would we fear the absence if intangible things that can be developed again and we could live each day joyfully with our beloved ones?

Why would we fear reality if we could control our lives and minds so we won't be affected by whatever is horrible around us?

Furthermore, we are still standing in the midst of everything up to this day, dealing with the world, and facing the reality without getting insane.

It is all about acceptance and facing whatever fear we have. If you seem to be falling and failing, don't be afraid to, rather, be brave like a raindrop. But if you fall and fail, it doesn't mean the end of the world already. Just like @FarmGirl said, failing is not the end.

We fear things when they seem not to fall into how we want them to be. We thought we fail, but it actually happens for us to see a better direction, a better vision, to see a better version of ourselves.

We can say "I surrender, But No!" Just like what @Xzeon said. Whatever our future brings, let's face it, and think about the end as the new beginning. Even if the absence of light takes place, let's remember that the sun always shines each day to give us light, to help us see and face the reality. Most importantly, let us face our fears so we could overcome them and move forward.

Let's not live behind the wall of our darkroom. We better step out of it to see the light and the beauty of the world. And by that time we could say that "life and the world are actually pretty and are not something to be feared of."

I'll end this with this beautiful quote from Dale Carnegie.

Image from: https://www.success.com/31-quotes-about-fear/

Thanks for your time.

©read.cash/@Jane (All Rights Reserved 2021)

Time of writing: 11/17/21 @3pm 

38
$ 11.24
$ 9.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 32
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I had lots of fears which were always busy creeping and crawling in my mind, that's why I was unable to enjoy my life to the fullest. I had phoebia of height but somehow I gave myself a challenge and luckily now I do not have any fear of height. I used to fear 'what if my dear & near ones and my friends leave me?', after losing a bunch of people finally I got rid of that fear and I realized those people who loves me in real, who wants best for me they never leave me alone so i have nothing to fear. I have phobia of snake and water,now I want to get rid of these fears I hope I will be able to get rid of these too.

As long as we face fear, we will not be free from tha fear, so it is better to face those fears before it's too late. We need to face our fears in our lives without them we will not be able to understand and recognise our own strength and power just like nature needs storms and heavy rain to create rainbows.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing is for sure is that we should enjoy every single time that god gaved us. Live life to the fullest. And focus to the things that will make you happy.

Hands up for newbie here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have worried about the future several times but it changed nothing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Moreover, Reality is the one I feared the most LOL, Phobia.. I already shared those dolls for me, those dolls with the baby-like figures. And many more, I admired people who could say those things feard them most, for me better to be secret those other feared I got hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Keep the beans then 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life can be playful sometimes and I can't stop myself from fearing what's life will gonna do next in the next minutes of my liffe ..especially death.. I'm not scared of death but the way on how I die..I'm really scared about that .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Reading this, na realize ko na I do really have fear in fear. Aside from that, I am always afraid of what my future will be. I always overthink about it. But personally, I do believe that fear is natural. You are right ate. We should learn on how to face it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dami pala klase ng fear hehe, d ko man alam :D Can't think of something na kinatatakutan ko talaga. Mga ipis, lol!

Kidding aside, we should not fear life itself. If we do, then we will not feel any happiness at all because we will always be anxious.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tama.. Kya much better wag nlng alalahanin ibang bagay. Yung today nlng dapat isipin. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis, although okay lang isipin ang future or yung nakaraan, wag lang maging bitter or worried hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We face challenges every day. We have controlled fears every day. Why not live one day at a time and not worry if we will have many more problems tomorrow. The human being in his complexity always tries to make his life more complicated than it is. Imagination can be our best prize but it can also lead us to destruction.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Please, just a small question, Has the EXC badge being removed from the articles?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The system continue to check articles only the badge was removed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fear what future holds for me. Haha. Pero I learned to enjoy life at present nalang.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Reading the article I find out that there is fear of fear, it would be like a fear inception (for the movie), lol. Now I will consult with the beloved Google if my fear of tranquility has a name. Thanks always for your words.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Some fears are instilled in us by our brain after a very traumatic experience. Like I have a friend that has a fear of crossing roads after she was involved in an accident. But how did TengoLoToDo survive so many plane crash??? 😳

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha..I don't know too. Maybe he's a superhuman 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, even me I do fear about my future but I always remember the word of God that says he never give us the spirit of fear but spirit of adoption. Fear is normal but when we commit everything in our maker hands I promise you that you won't have anything to worry about nothing even tomorrow

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh jane dont even think about fear but reality id reality i can agree with it. Okay lemme explain further.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The truth is when we run from our reality, it's just for the main time because it won't be permanent, we will still come back to face our fear.

Everyone has fear in them but the ability to face it is what that matters.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed. We have to face them so we could move forward

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear of fear. Makes me imagine knotting a rope while losing it at the same time. Nothing is to be feared including fear. Live ya life like the champ that you're.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Marami talaga tayong mga hinaharap o haharapin na takot sa buhay pero ang lahat ay ipaubayq natin sa Diyos at humingi tayo ng gabay na makayanan ang anumang mga darating na ating kakatakutan

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I spend so much time on the internet that I don't stop to think about fears, or anything related, the future is every second that we have that has just passed, do the best you can and enjoy it without thinking about what the future may bring. Without fear of anything.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Running from the facts & reality are the main fear. We have to face it. Otherwise we cannot overcome from it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So many times, we try to run away from reality, but we can not run away from it. We only have to confront it. Thanks you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think those who fear reality, mostly are the people who are dreaming of wanted to be someone (i.e social climber) and hence they act as if they are that someone (rich individual). And they are afraid to face the reality because they do not want to come back from those who really they are.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What I fear in reality are the chaos, violence, and crimes, and the fact that epidemic is inevitable and anyone can be affected by it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so true sis.... and it happened on some countries I believe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A mother's fear for her children is never ending and it would make an article than a comment jiji... Now, face your philophobia, who knows your life will begin earlier than 40 and life would bcom lifer😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha...lifer 🤣.. Let's see haha. 8yrs from now 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds like you are braver than me :D I have a lot of inhibitions, fear of things that have not happened yet, etc that keep me from doing things.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. You only know my name but not my story 🤣. Yeah as you've said. Fear of the unknown

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention and for participating. You have the talent to improve things to an impressive level. Everything you touch you turn to gold. Fear of reality, sometimes I feel it. That pressure exerted on you by the immensity of your own existence.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

your son's health is what I fear.. But I am a parent. I would gain more strength for him

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what we treat friend. We stay strong for him. He is already acquiring personality and at the age of 5, he begins to realize the situation. So far the treatment has not worked :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fear future as well but I slowly learned that I should not worry about it greatly since I need to live in the present. I must live the present very well so I can have a better future

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed.. our future always depends on how we mold our present.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Years ago, I had a fear of heights, and I overcame it. My doctor recommended this, I was going up and down slowly and gradually. Higher, higher each time. Now, due to my job, I can climb all kinds of trees and load high containers. I only have the fear of losing my loved ones, I have no chance to find a solution to this either. The necessity of living and a chain of generations coming and going for centuries. Time is running out and we are running out of time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Good to know that you overcame it. I don't fear heights. But I fear falling from high places haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fear doomsday, the future and the day after today too. A fear failure and I fear people's judgement. But we have nothing to do but face it whether we like it or not.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I fear those too especially the people's judgment. But yeah, we just have to face them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear works in everyone. Some people are more afraid. And some are a little less. But we have to get out of this fear very soon. If you don't get out of fear then you will miss a lot in life. Many also have a fear of the future. Anyway you gave a nice description of it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The fear of death is the one that affects me the most, I think that someone I love stops being there and tears inevitably come out of my eyes just imagining, or I stop existing, and I think it would be my son who needs me so much . I have to learn to overcome this fear. Thanks for your article.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A fear of a mother is when her kids get sick.. And in your son's situation, I guess you guys fear about his future too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is certainly our greatest fear, now that his life begins, we have so many fears, our mission is to make him a capable person and prepare him to face the difficulties that fate has thrown at him, we are sure that he will be a great person.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's great..make him a strong person while he's still young.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My biggest fear is not living up to the task my maker sent me here to do. Such a fear can be present, future or end but in all, what I try doing is to at least push off some of the load of the work day by day. Great article

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmmm...fear of fear!!! What a deep meaning to the theme.. my greatest fear is the fear of what is coming and doesn't seem clear... I'm always doubting if my capabilities are capable enough

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My fear would be disappointment. My future, my what if's .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pag hindi natin hinarap ang fear natin hindi tayo mag go-grow sa buhay 😁.

$ 0.02
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

Takot tayong harapin lahat kasi di pa tayo handa tapos iniisip pa natin yung maiiwan pano na? Parang okii dapat di natin isipin yun kaso di maiwasan hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Hndi maiwasan lalo na future pinag uusapan.. D natn gusto maranasan ang mapait na kapalaran.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is an encouraging article sis, most especially to those who can’t face their fears. So are you ready to fall in love again. Char! 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. No lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha! A big no talaga sis. Tama yan self love muna tsaka na ang iba😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A biggest fear about our future. There are a lot of thoughts lingering in our mind. A lot of question, "What if?". A lot of questions. The reason you have a lot of doubts that's why you have a fears. No matter what happen. Let's face it and we shouldn't be fear. Let's surpass everything. Thank you for this miss Jane. I learned a lot.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Welcome. Indeed. Let's surpass everything coz that's what we should do instead of worrying about our future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes miss Jane. We should be brave always and face it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am thankful that I fear things because it leads me to do everything now in the best I could. Especially the fear of failure. But the what you say is all true let's fear not. I believe the Lord in with us. What a very nice article sis. I learned so much.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks. Those who have strong faith in Him won't fear anything 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear ko talaga about future ko many what if's but suddenly I realized bakit ako nagoverthink fkr future why not live the present and wait what future holds.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Normal naman satin mag worry sa future.. Pro mas dapat iworry ano present.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan din natutunan ko ate dapat para mas focus sa ngayon kasi what we are today ang result is our future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago