Fact or is it Fiction

52 109
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

16th November 2021

Hello all you wonderful readers, how are you today? The week been treating you well I hope!

I survived not one, but two plane crashes

Whilst my mother was alive, she called me Lucky Eddie. She realised that from a very early age I seemed to have a habit of making my own luck and I had escaped relatively unscathed from some quite precarious situations.

I went to school in Edinburgh, Scotland and during my early teens my family moved to the Orkney islands whilst I stayed at school in Edinburgh and went home in the holidays.

This was all fine, and it meant that I flew from Edinburgh to Kirkwall the main town with an airport in Orkney.
However during one Christmas holiday period the weather was pretty terrible to put it mildly and the regular scheduled flights were cancelled for a few days.

My father worked at the Oil Terminal there, and they had managed to hire a plane and I was given a seat on a flight from Flotta the oil terminal to Wick in the North of Scotland.

All very good, but the plane was tiny, I think it had only eight seats.

On to the plane I boarded, and it took off, boy was it a rough flight. Several times I thought we were plummeting out of the sky into the rough sea below.

The flight was to be short as it was only going across the water to the mainland of Northern Scotland.

As we neared touchdown the wind changed direction and whipped the plane sideways and almost catapulted it. Luckily one wing scraped the grass at the edge of the runway and helped slow us down. The undercarriage was a bit mangled and the plane ended up on the grass at an angle. The adults were quite shook up, I was more concerned about how I was meant to get to Edinburgh so as not to get into trouble from matron at school!

During my career, I have had the pleasure to work for many years in the Oil and Gas Industry in a variety of countries.

On one occasion I was working in Gabon in West Africa. We were building new facilities up in the jungle. It meant there were no roads from the main Terminal to our new facilities yet. You flew in, either via chopper or small plane. I was responsible for managing some early production facilities and a small runway had been cleared in the jungle the previous week. I would be onboard the maiden flight in a smallish plane.

We took off with two crew and five passengers and the flight was meant to be twenty minutes. We hit headwinds and the flight had already been thirty minutes when thunder and lightening lit up the sky. We could see the lit up airstrip between the jungle canopy. Down we went towards the runway only for the runway lights to suddenly go out. Lightening illuminated the sky once more, however it also hit our starboard wing, and made an almighty racket. Luckily we were not that far off the ground and the plane seemed to drop the last few feet like a stone, and smack down onto the ground. The plane careered off the end of the runway and stopped in a combination of a sandbank and some trees that had been made. Thankfully it was pitch black and I could not see what was happening on the descent but I was covered in cuts from broken glass, luckily they all healed with time.

What I do remember is the copilot running from the cockpit into the jungle. Seriously, I have no idea why!

My two plane crashes, luckily not that serious but they could have been much much worse.

So what do you think, is it Fact or Fiction?

Actually, it is FACT

I entered this for a hive competition, if you are a hiver then please do drop your name below so we can interact there too!

You can find the full article here

Now then, don't forget to get your pens and fingers ready, the #ChristmasChallenge2021 is just days away, I am still thinking of prizes.

Anyways thank you for reading, and a big thank you to all my wonderful sponsors and an even bigger thank you for reading and subscribing, that means a lot to me.

Copyright @TengoLoTodo 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

30
$ 16.39
$ 15.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.10 from @Jelena
+ 22
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

woah...Uncle you're one heck of a lucky man imagine surviving those second in a row you are blessed with your third life right now

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're a lucky man po. Surviving into two planes crushed. I already know about this before in your previous articles. And I'm curious about Christmas challenge 2021. I should check your pervious article about this

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think that I have already said that you are a lucky man when I read some of your articles before, but now I must say that again because you were really lucky to survive in these incredible situations. Very interesting article.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes I have said it before but it makes for an interesting story!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I wrote that I have already told you before that I think that you are a lucky man, but that I must say again. 😊 It was really incredible to survive two plane crashes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hehe well I like hearing it again, lucky me 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I'm afraid of heights and I've never been in an airplane, besides the fact that I'm afraid of airplanes. You have created in me and in my heart a major fear of airplanes hahaha. I don't know how I will travel to visit my brother, I am in Venezuela and he is in Spain, I think I will swim from where I am so I can see him hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

from the context and topics you have shared I draw the conclusion that this is a real event that you have experienced but you are always under the protection of the almighty so that this accident does not cause you any injury, the term can be called bad luck. but all this because there is protection from the power and you should be grateful for all that🙏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

How lucky you were po sir Ed!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oo I was, all part of life's experiences!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I survived being hit by a jeepney but plane crash would be more scary for me. Even riding on it will be a big challenge for me too. 🤧😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Up until you said it was fact I thought it was fictional wow Eddie is really lucky

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My question is to the copilot running to the jungle. Did he come back though? Maybe he thought the plane is going to explode?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is a superstition, but you should still pay attention to the third. You survived two plane crashes, I hope it doesn't happen again. I cannot become a member of Hive, free membership is closed. Do I need to get an invite or try my paid memberships?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You know, I rarely fly now, where possible I take a boat, even if it takes much longer. Hmm there should be no cost to sign up to hive, which app did you try to join. https://peakd.com/register?ref=tengolotodo that one is free I know

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I try to sign up from the link you gave and the hive sign up option, this keeps popping up.

Service Unvailable We are currently out of account creation tickets. Check back later or use signup.hive.io for other account creation options.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a great fortune you have.. Thanks god your safe..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes I was lucky, but am still here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God you're still here, my lucky master !

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe you can't get rid of me that easily my wee BC 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uwu reallly??????? Wow Thanks be to God that you've survived.😇🙏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes I was fortunate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lucky Eddie indeed. You've got cat's lives. Keep surviving.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I do and used a couple more up and thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so lucky my dear you survive.. I don't have account in hive. Still I'm thinking about the challenge

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you , he's I am lucky. Oh yes the challenge will be soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woaaahh that was unbelievable!!! Two plane crashes 🤯😬... But you manage to survive😳

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes quite lucky, it could have been worse

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm curious avout the challenge hahaha. You're so lucky to survive with that kuya.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat Inday, oo the challenge is soon 😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here we call it being born "cocooned", you know that you should not fly in storms, the scare must have been immense, so much so that the co-pilot got lost in the jungle.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes the copilot running into the jungle I shall never forget that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think it's real. It's too lucky ahaha. Congratulations, you have defied death.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Cheers it was scary looking back in it, and now I try not to fly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you all survived that crash sir Ed and I met you here and on noise. Long-life sir. And have a blessed day.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat Ash I am glad I survived too and that we met here and in noise. Have a wonderful day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were really grateful as you survive those plane crashes. Not everyone has given a chance to survive with plane crashes.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes I was lucky for sure. Life is short so we need to grab it and run with it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward for that challenge of yours. I'm a hiver too and I think were already friends there too. My account name there is just like here in read.cash @flordecar26 :-)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ah yes that is right :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am really curious of your xmas challenge. Is it making poetry? 🤣🤣

Btw, wow. You are so lucky to survive those plane crashes. And lucky those aren't severe like I've seen on movies.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yep that is why Lucky Eddie is one of my nicknames :) Poetry now there is a thought, you want that as you will win 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It just occurred to me that you will make us write the article on paper, pen ready hmm 🤔

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You do know I was thinking of that ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe I read your mind 😂 it occurred to me because you wrote pens and fingers, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was wondering if someone would pick up on that 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i think i'm getting curious now with hive lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yes well I see you and wee pp now ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey sis! I saw you there ;) Ask me if you need :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks sis! still finding my way there hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2 airplanes. Aw. I'm on Hive, uncle Ed. Same username!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yes 2 but was a while ago. Got you, I think I am following you if not, I will now Mrs P :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago