The Hard Life of Being Deaf

48 85
Avatar for ExpertWritter
2 years ago

You know, I am just curious if how was the life of being a Deaf Person. Don't get me wrong, I don't plan to bully those people who has this kind of Condition. What made me think this is because I onced hope during that time when I heared some words that I don't like to hear anymore-that someday, I will never heared the voices around me so that, I can't hear the voices of nagging or should I say, hurtful words that every time I used to hear since when I was stayed in this kind of house.

That time, I just remembered a person before. When I joined to the contest of poster making back when I was Grade 6 in SM CITY Rosales, Pangasinan. I remember the Girl around my age that she was joined to that contest even if she is deaf. I was amazed to her back then and I don't see her as other person just like some bullies does to some people who are born to be incomplete because for me, she is just only an ordinary kid like me, she is still a human and she is also a God's Child. So why would I bully or think of her as other person?

In fact, I also became friends with her that time. We have some more time to travel to Places before the competition started. Well, I was a shy type person and does not talk to other people before so, she is the one who talk to me first. She asked some informations about the Contest just to make sure if she didn't forgot anything.

You know, the first thing that I did when I talked to her is, Keep Repeating the words or Sentences that I always answered to her Repeat Questions. I still remember the feeling of almost pissed that time but I hold my Patience because, I was taught of being professional when it comes to this kind of things when joining contest I mean.

Then that is the moment that I knew that she can't hear me. Not Totally that she can't hear me but she said that her left ear can't hear clearly and because of it, the right side was affected. I was sorry to her that time because I don't know about that so that is the first time that I adjusted my voice being loud so that she can hear what I always say to her.

Oh, Before I proceed and continue what happened next, while Typing the words above, I just remembered how she looks that time. She is Thin, her hair is messy, she wore a fake eyeglasses (the trendy jejemon type of glasses before), and she also wearing her uniform because that is what our coding Clothes before. I seen her ID and even know her name and Her name is "Theya".

Like I said, we still have some time before the Contest Start. So I invite her to eat and roam around because I was bored. Attending contests, one of the things that I don't like to attend because I really don't like wearing black shoes and white socks and a lot of practices of drawing.

But because of this contest, It give me a chance of holding my Crush hands because he is the one who trained me to draw that time. *I should erased that memory to this topic because it is not included, My Gosh!*

I invited her to roam around but before that, I should also asked for permission to her Adviser and to my Adviser too. They are both shocked because they didn't know that we sill became friends. They both agreed but of course since, I have some phone that time already (the first keypad phone that I hold that my Mom give to me), My Teacher told me that she will call me when we need to go there already and so I nod.

Travelling with her is really nice as I hold her hands roaming around. We laughed when we find something funny and that is the first time that I became comfortable with a Stranger.

After roaming around, we are tired so we sit in the corner and eat our Ice cream. That is the start that we shared some things. Getting to know each other. Sharing about life and that is the first time that I know if how was the life of being deaf. She told me a lot of things esp. Her experience.

So for today's article, I will share you the information if how was the life when the person can't hear.

Sponsors of ExpertWritter
empty
empty
empty

When you are deaf, All you can hear is like the sound of Mole Cricket during night

She said to me before that she is not totally deaf. She can still hear before she was a Child but she got an infection to her ears but she don't know where she get it maybe because she is not cleaning her ears before because they can't afford to buy a cotton buds. She is not rich and they are just poor.

When I asked my Uncle back then about that because he is a nurse, he told me that I should clean my ear always because onced that you are not cleaning your ears, there is a possibility that the earwax will form big and it can also be the caused of clogged in the cannal of your ears that's why, Our Mother Advices us to clean our ears regularly and not being stubborn if I don't like my ears to be infected like that.

So she is still familiar with how the sound of the Mole Cricket during at night esp if it was raining. That's also the reason why, she can't hear the voices clearly because it was loud.

When you are deaf, You can hear the voices that you missed to hear the most

She said to me that it was though to live everyday because she misses the voices that she wanted to hear. The Voices of her Mother, The Voices of her Father, The Voices of her Family. She is also crying every night because she is young to experienced that kind of life.

How can I forgot about her crying while she is telling me those things? Esp,

When you are deaf, Other Kids will treat you differently

I am aware with this kind of treatment because I already watched it in the Television. That if you are born to be incomplete, The other Kids will bully you, make fun of you, and it was rare to find some friends because of that.

But she was thankful because I became friends with her and I was with her during that day because she was nervous attending a Competation like this because she was scared that some of the other kids will also know that she can't hear.

All I can say is, she was braved. I admire her for being brave in the younger age and I do understand her even if I'm still young back then, I was aware with what's she is experiencing. I admire her for attending to the contest despite of her condition.

I told her that her life is not different from other people because nobody is perfect in this kind of world because even the world is not perfect.

I told her that I also experienced the same even though, I can hear. I also experienced of being bullied by others because of my appearance and because of the state of our family so I guess it's not far different from what she is struggling. We are human after all.

Maybe there are some things that other people can do, they can have and You can't have BUT there are also some things that you can do that other people can't and you can also have some things that other people didn't have.

That is the last words that I realized after she won to the contest. How can I forgot that? That is the first time in the history of my life. Imagine, I can hear but I was lost by someone who can't hear but you know what? I was happy to my lost because she deserved it.

We have a selfie back then and I also made it as a wallpaper but my Phone broke so I don't have it anymore. How I wish that my phone before can fix because our photo together was there. You know what? I Still finding her after that. Attending to field trips is not trendy back then when we became First and Second year High School. So It was late for me to find her during Field Trips to 3rd year and 4th year until Senior High School. Until I give up and forgot her Last name.

Every time that I go to SM, I always eat some Ice Cream that we used to eat before because that is the only memory that remains of her presence.

Ah, I missed eating Ice cream. Even if I don't like vanilla Ice cream flavored like what I give to her before, I still eat it because she is the only Stranger friend that I meet and comfortable to be with.

I have a lot of questions right now while writing this one. You know like, If How was her life after those years? It's been 12 years past already. Is she is still the same before? Thin? Wearing fake eyeglasses? Her hair is messy? Is she is still studying? How many awards did she got or recieved from contests after she won before?

Actually, she is not the only girl that I have met with that kind of condition because I have also a classmate during my time when I studied TESDA with my Sister. She is beautiful actually and I admire her beauty. She is using a Hearing Aid so that she cab hear some people around her and because of that, she is also a genius. She told to us why she joined studying to TESDA because she prefer doing a work that can fit to her condition and she doesn't have a choice as long as she can able to help her Siblings to study.

When we talked about her experiences about being Deaf, she told us that it was hard to live being like that at first but she is now get used to it like having hearing aid and used everyday is nothing anymore.

I observed her as how she live being with other people and I observe this one:

  • She used to look at our mouth everytime we talk.

I am curious so I asked her why she is doing that and she told me that she does that to read what we are saying when she can't understand us.

Conclusion...

In life, being disabled person doesn't mean that you are different from other people. Like her, She can still do the things without minding the other people thoughts about her. Such doing what she loved and that is to show her talents despite of her condition. Salute to them for being Strong! I salute to the people who does have disability but they didn't make that as an excuse to become successful, to do their dreams come true!

How I wish that, children can understand the feeling of having a disability. That other people can act as if they are on their shoes. Right? I am mad everytime that I saw some bullies, bullying some other kids with incomplete body parts. I admit that I am being bad because I wished that they can also experienced being like that in the future. Sigh,

Not all people who have disability means that they are born incomplete, sometimes some of them are become like that because of accidents. Losing some body parts is hard because you can't back them again to the same old. So, as an advice for this, take care of yourself. Take care of your health, Take care when you go somewhere.

Sigh, I missed her. I am guilty of not remembering her for how many years and How I wish that we can see each other again someday.

Thanks for reading!


My Previous articles:

My Life after being Away from the Toxic World

Can I publish these kind of Topics?

Distance is the best option

Reviewing the products that I bought online

Night Swimming: Travel and Things

27
$ 14.38
$ 13.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Giddyboy
$ 0.07 from @immaryandmerry
+ 18
Sponsors of ExpertWritter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ExpertWritter
2 years ago

Comments

Same questions here, I wonder how's the life of dead people including the blind and all the people who has disability. I'm very lucky to have all what a human needs to be alive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not for nothing but I have also asked that question many times and have come to the conclusion that it is we who make them miserable while they live their normal and happy life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First comment: LOL. Your description of her is kinda funny. I can imagine what she looks like. Haha. (I'm not making fun of her ha.)

Second: LOL. I thought this article is almost done the moment I saw the sponsorship block. But I was wrong. That was only the introduction!

Third: Hehe. I can't clean my ears alone. I am dependent to my sister with regards to that since I'm afraid that I might hurt my ear.

On a serious note, I can't imagine how hard life is for people with disabilities. Unfair treatment and like what you have said, there are bullies who doesn't understand their condition. But at the same time, I am so proud of them in general for they are so brave to keep going. Also, there are a lot of PWDs who are really talented and I admire them for not setting limits for themselves despite their disability. They didn't let their disability stop them from doing the things they want to achieve.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aweee, how sweet of you to be kind to Theya. Bihira nalang ang makipagkaibigan sa bingi. Pero true, bat pag may depekto ka sa katawan like bingi iba na trato sayo ng ibang tao? Bakit di nalang natin sila e treat the same as the normal ones para di nila mafeel na di sila belong

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hays sad reality marengs. Di natin mapipigilan ang mga taong ganyan kahit itong simpleng article ko kapag nabasa nila message sa last.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My gosh, ang daming disabled people na sobrang talented talaga and kahit disabled sila, nagagawa pa rin naman nila ang gusto nila anf I salute them because of that. Sa ganyan kasi ang dami ding discrimination kang kakaharapin. But thanks heaven because they are strong. Sana lahat kayang harapin ng nakataas ang noo kapag ganyan. And one of them is your friend so, they are really awesome 🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh ate ropa. Tsaka naalala ko pala, yung sa may Isang mall sa Manila diko alam if saan pero, nag ooffer sila ng work for disabled people. Nakakaamazed lang kasi may mga mall na katulad non for them di sila mahihirapang nag work at ang brave nung nga bag wowork doon humarap sa madaming tao.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a friend who have a hearing problem but only to her left ear, she said nagkaproblem daw yung ear nya nung nalagyan ng tubig kaya minsan pag kinakausap nya kami lagi nya tinatapat yung right ear nya para dinig nya. Pero nakakalungkot na may mga nambubully sa kanila because of their condition.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pag nalagyan ng Tubig? Halla! Natagalan ba doon yung tubig? Hindi siya tumalon talon para maalis? Pwede pala mag ka earproblem din yung ganun. Ngayon ko lang alam. Sana nagamot padin sjya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun talaga ang mahirap dito satin sis di naman natin kasalanan ang magkarun ng kapansanan pero yung iba makabully eh akala mo ang perfect ano. Hays! By the way according to an ent doctor it is not safe to always clean your ear with a cotton buds, mas magaganda yung pangtanggal ng ear wax yung parang stick. Napupush kasi yung dumi sa loob kapag gamit ang cotton buds tapos naiipon sya sa pinakadulo dun nagkakarun ng infection.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga eh yun din sabi ni Ate yen and after years ko din nalaman na sabi sabi lang yun ng Tito ko para mag linis kami ng Tenga. Bata pa ako noon e. Kaya madali lang mauto gaya ng ibang bata HAHA diko pa natratry ung ear wax candle

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung anak ko kasi ganyan nangyari naipon sa loob yung dumi kaya natuto na ako, mahal magpalinis eh. Tapos according to her protection daw talaga ang earwax sa mga insekto and all. Nakakadiri man pero yun daw ang purpose nya😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

talking to deaf people often causes problems because of misunderstandings about hearing that often experience misunderstandings because they don't really hear the truth. maybe better with gestures or code or with writing. I also feel sorry for those who have to suffer but we must realize that many people like them, old people, grandparents or grandparents can happen like that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh yes, i can relate with that kind of situation with my Classmate during TESDA because she can't hear clearly even though she have hearing aid, she sometimes get the wrong Word of our boy classmate that time. As a result, she was hurt and cried that time. You are right, we need to do a hand gesture to them or write in in a paper instead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap cguro sa part pag binge noh,like you've said malapit knang mainis nung kahit pa ulit2 monang sinasabi ay di parin niya naririning without knowing first namay defect siya. Naaawa talaga ako sa mga ganyan lalo na sabi nila na karaminhan sa mga taong may problems sa hearing ay nahihirapan din magsalita.

Ang hirap talaga cguro magiging ganyan. Kahit inilalagay kolang sarili ko sa kanila parang anhirap talaga how much more pag wala talagang maririnig.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh, minsan kapag ganyan din, Suki sa accidemts tsaka hirap mag aral lalo na kapag walang gabay na hearing aid tsaka tamad din yung guro mag sulat sa board.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga totoo yan , napakahirap kahit iisipin lang, kailangan talaga ng hearing aid yung mga nagsusufer sa ganyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being disabled doesn't mean they become a less person. Actually, they are special, they might don't hear any words but they understand the feelings.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And she is one of an example of that kind of person. Huhu I miss her na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Curious din ako sa life nila at everytime may nakikita akong katulad nila nasasabi ko nalang na "ang strong nila to face life" kasi tayo nga nahihirap at nakakaranas ng bully sila pa kaya na mas prone sa bully.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ako den ganyan. Napapangiti din ako kapag nakikita ko silang natutuwa sa mga simpleng bagay lang pero nakakapagpasaya na sakanila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan mare sobrang nakainspire sila na sa buhay to continue living kahit anong hirap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They have another sense which can not be found into normal people. Thus they can understand us and express themselves. Though their life is hard but we the people make it more harder for them. As a human we should not hurt their feelings by rough words. We should also take then as a friend like we take normal peoples. I know that is not that easy but still if we try we can make this world a better place for them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope that everyone will read your comment so that this will be served as a lesson to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I hope so, I know that not everyone will follow the positive things. But we can express our positive words though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May tita ako na bingi saka pipi, sakaniya ako natuto makipagsign language tas kada nakakakita ako ng mga ganyan sa lansangan na nahihiraoan magexplain tinutulungab ko, mahirap baka mamaya ano ung gawin ng iba sakanila

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aoaka bait mo naman marengs. Ako kasi di ako marunong mag sign language. If ever man, susulat ko nalang sa papel para magets nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are such a great friend to the certain someone, How I wish the world would someone who is as patient and understanding as you are. Bless you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I bet there are also some people like me and one of them are those people who commented here like you. Thank you for reading 🥰 I appreciate your time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're such a good soul. Keep helping others like that and move on with your life. Best wishes as always

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm not really that good hehe I just did what is the good thing to do. Thank you for psssing by and reading this article! 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May nangligaw sakin dati deaf, di ko talaga ma gets eh..parang ang hirap kausapin sila kasi di naman nagsasalita 😂 kidding asside di ako marunong sa sign language.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Halla patawarin ako pero natawa ako 😭 HAHAHA pero Same here ate eyb di ako marunong mag sign language. Trinatry ko igets yung mga nasa ibaba nung mga panuod na simbahan, yung live. Tsaka doon sa mga Balita. Pero wala talaga ako magets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually our family has gene of hearing problems. They are not totally deaf, but can still hear. You only have to shout for them to hear you. In fact, I had hearing problems too. There are times I really can heard evem though you are talking to me in front. On the other hand, my sense of smell is heightened.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really? First of all, Sorry for writing about this if there are some words that I offended you. I also have some classmate the same case as yours and wow! Good to know that you are have a good smell. As for me, I am not good at smelling. Huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hassle talaga kapag may kapansanan ka however mero din silang special talents.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. They can still do the things na ginagawa ng ibang tao. Hindi talaga hadlang ang kapansanan, yung mga paligid nila mismo ang nagiging dahilan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Person with disability still humans mars. They deserve to be respected and to be love. They still have an emotions. Me too mars. I salute to all the people like them because they still remain to be brave. Hindi nila ginawang hindrance kung ano sila. They accept it and continue to be stronger. All in all they have a positive mindset.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mahirap talaga para sakanila mare di ko maimagine kahit ako kung ako, nasa posisyon nila malulungkot at Iiyak ako dahil lagi double yung hirap ng buhay na pnag dadaanan nila.

Hays sana nirerespeto din ng iba yung mga katulad nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo mars nakakaiyak talaga kaya saludo tayo kasi mostly mga fighter.

Oo mars yung iba pinagtatawanan talaga. Yun yung mga taong walang respeto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapag may naeencounter akong ganon I didn't treat them as different one. May mga classmates ako non dalawang may special disabilities and they were so adorable and sarap kasama.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mas maganda pa sila kasama instead of those people na porket complete lang lahat sakanila, ang hilig na nila gumawa ng masama. Di man lang nila inisip nararamdaman ng iba. Hays

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko nga nagegets yung mga ganon sis eh like pano nila nagagawa yun na hindi naguguilty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not cleaning my ears regularly haha. Nung Bata ako sa sobrang kakasundot ko ng tenga ko nagdugo sya and naapektuhan Yung eardrum ko at iyon din dahilan bakit mLakas ako magsalita now. Di din ako nagamit ng cotton buds , I used Yung parang maliit na spoon 🤣 Sabi Naman din Kasi nila Yung ears Kaya linisin sarili nila at dapat talaga merong earwax na natitiransa ears natin kasi for protection daw Yun.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Nalaman ko din after how many years na Sinabi lang talaga yon ng Tito ko para maglinis kami ng tenga HAHA bata pa ako noon e grade 6 uto uto pa. Jusme

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Disability is not and should not be treated as the end of anyone who is affected. I believe that God gave us the ability to succeed even in disabilities.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you. Nobody is perfect but I believe that we are all fair here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that those people having disability are more skilled and knowledgeable rather than those normal people. They can do unimaginative things and can compete in any activities that normal human do. It's really hard to live having disability, aside from discrimination there's also less opportunity and limited actions for you to do. However there are disabled people that succeed despite of their condition, they manage to battle with life full of toxicity. I'm hoping that the girl is okay right now, who knows ,aybe she's already succesful and have a good life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Correct! Napaka talentado talaga nila. Napanuod ko din sa KMJS dati, yung lalaki na paa lang ginagamit nya sa pagpipinta pero ang galing galing niya. Mas magalinh pa kesa sa kompleto ang kamay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago