Motivation: Doing What I Love

29 70
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

I just had some quick meditation, that I am not sure if it makes sense or not.

When I can't think of something to write, or even if I could, but I won't bring myself to write, I guess it's my motivation sleeping. What do you think?

I asked my old friend, Merriam, on how she defines motivation. It's so kind of her to share to me what she knows. My friend is so reliable.

She has given me simple meanings of the word, and this is what I found remarkable:

Motivation: (n.) a motivating force, stimulus, or influence

Are you friends with Merriam, too?

To interpret it simply, motivation is a person's drive to do something. Or to analyze the word itself, "Motive" for acting in a certain way.

Motivation is an integral part of every person's life. It is like the fuel of our own cars. We can never accomplish things properly without it.

Personally, I do believe we all have different motivational sources in every part of our lives. To identify it, I will just answer some questions like these:

  • Why do I work?

  • Why do I write?

  • Why do I attend the church every Sunday?

  • Why do I always strive to live?

  • Why do I dream of being financially free?

These questions may or may not be interconnected to each other, depending on the person.

To some, motivation may always be burning, as fresh as every morning. And to others, it sometimes run out. I testify to that.

In the twenty years of my existence, I have come across different stages of losing motivation, and all of those are not good experiences. Of course, nothing is worse than waking up everyday without anything to look forward to.

I remember I wrote some articles relating to my experience of lacking motivation in general. You can read these if you want to. I will wait here.

When things get hard, it is also gets harder to find motivation, especially if we notice that our hardwork doesn't pay off. Doing things becomes extra burdensome, because it is like working for a company that doesn't give you a salary: a useless journey.

Personal Experience

In the present, I still sometimes get to that point where I can't find motivation to do things. Writing is not exempted.

I have declared to write at least one article a day in this platform, and I did my best to achieve that.

However, there are just some days that I can't type anything sensible on my phone. Exhaustion, stress, and lack of time are some of the factors that affect my motivation, and I battle with these oftentimes.

There are times where I am so eager to write a specific topic before the day, but when that day comes, it's like I am back to zero, like zero, blank space.

During these rare times, I don't deliberately push myself to write because I know I will just publish trash. I don't want that. Therefore, I just sleep it off, and hope I can regain the enthusiasm the next day.

It is different, though, from the instances where I am just feeling lazy. That's a different topic, and even the phrase "I do not feel like writing today" can be a valid excuse that I can use, I always keep in mind the reason I am doing this until now. This is the time when @Bjorn 's motto comes in: Don't Give up: Write even when you don't want to, write!

Ever since I have been in this platform, I have always kept this sentence in my heart, that's why I always strive hard to post once a day, even that would mean I will get to sleep late. It explains why I only post at almost 12 a.m. (in my country's time).

My primary source of income, office work, is what comprises almost 42% of my day, which is almost ten hours a day. I sleep for only five to six hours, do other important stuff, and it leaves my time to write only three to four hours.

These three to four hours are really crucial, as it goes along seven to twelve in the evening, where I struggle fighting against feeling sleepy.

Others have been using laptops or computers now to write. Compared to using a cellphone, it enhances convenience and better exploration of this site. My phone has not much of a storage, and it sometimes malfunctions when I am writing.

There are instances where a big portion of my article I just typed just disappears when refreshedโ€”it doesn't get recovered. It is the phone's fault.

Those are the moments my patience is tested. I am not lying when I say I almost cried that one time my article can't be published because of a faulty connection.

I have experienced many other struggles in writing, too, that I can't share here, because it might be too long. But look, I am still here. It is because I believe writing will really get me somewhere.

Until now, everything that I mentioned is the system I currently use in my life setup. I have many reasons to complain and just discontinue writing, but I don't stop. It is because I am motivated to write. You see now that motivation is the magic that performs all the tricks.

Why do I still write even if it causes me to sacrifice my time for sleep? Why do I still write even there are periods where my works don't earn much? Why do I still write even sometimes my readers don't even reach ten persons?

This is where motivation comes in.

Like a water that replenishes the tired explorer, motivation has always kept me moving. Even there are really times I considered having a break from writing, I always think "Just one more day. Just hang in there." And I continue.

Don't get me wrong though. I didn't consider taking a break from writing because I don't like doing it, nor because I am sometimes not earning. The reasons are, the situations where I stop and reflect. Am I really meant to be a writer here?

Given my current life situation, can I really afford to give time to writing? What if I was just wasting my time? What if it's not yet the right time?

For no certain reasons, these demotivating thoughts rummage inside my head, especially when I undergo some hard times. What great timing to really defeat me, huh?

Well, I guess I won, and I still am. You see, I still visit and enjoy the time of my life doing it. My passion to write has always won over these discouraging allies of demotivation.

My Passion To Write

There, I said the answer. My love for writing served as my weapon that kept me going until now.

My friend, you can't just randomly aquire motivation instantly. There has to be a source, a root.

Yes, motivation, which serves as the source of our will to do things, also has its own roots. It's what I believe.

To me, the root of my motivation to write is my love for doing it. And I think, this root, so far, is the strongest source out there. It encompasses the desire to just earn, to just interact, or to learn. It is about achieving a sense of fulfillment because I got to do what I love most.

I hope you are able to grasp what I want to impart here. As much as my eagerness to write is boosted greatly by good rewards and upvotes, the fact that I get to be myself when I write, is the most rewarding feeling. It's the cherry on top. It's what completes me.

Because of this, I do not dwell much into feeling sad when my articles get a few reads or upvotes. No matter what happens, I will just write, and let fate give me what I deserve. I believe, that in the future, I will be one of those who I look up to. One day, my efforts will be rewarded handsomely. It makes me feel so excited just thinking about it. It motivates me more.

Those instances where I say to myself "Just one more day" are the decisions I don't regret. Imagine that day just came where I don't apply these words anymore? Will I still be here? Probably not.

I thank myself for deciding to continue my journey everyday, and it gives me more energy to just write, and write.

External Sources of Motivation

Even I know that inner motivation is the strongest kind of motivation, I sometimes lose in this area, and can't keep it strong all the time.

My co-writers here are my heroes when I get in this situation. What I do is, search all of the names of the authors I admire/subscribed to, and I read their works, even those I have read already. This hours worth of reading is not a time wasted, as I gradually gain enthusiasm and motivation to write again, as I explore through their profiles.

I mean, I would love to be like that person who never misses a day in posting. I would also love to be like that one who's able to talk about various types of topics that won't get the readers bored. Or that writer who gets to think of genius ideas for all other authors to come together and interact more.

I may have said this a multiple times already, but the welcoming community of this platform is one of the reasons I decided on staying here. I came across different talented writers but are still humble ones, and that supports everyone.

This greatly motivated me to become more confident and active in writing. Without them, who would read my works?

Just recently, a fellow writer here has published an article about the people he admires as authors. He is Bjorn, I've mentioned him above already. Here is the article, please read it:

Some words you can see. :)

I was one of those persons he mentioned, and no words could express my happiness at that humbling moment. I think I have read that article for more than five times already. Just seeing my name on someone else's article makes me so happy, and greatly motivates me.

Other writers here, who I also consider as my friends, have mentioned me once or multiple times in their articles, and I am always thankful of that. Whenever I see those mentions, I am more encouraged to do better every single day, so as to not bring all those endorsements to waste.

You know I can say "You can do it" to myself easily. Anyone can do that. Self-motivation is important and should be practiced all the times.

However, there is a different feeling when I get these words from someone else.

  • You are doing great, keep it up.

  • Please keep writing!

  • I like your writing style, so I will visit you from time to time.

  • You deserve my sponsorship.

  • You are a talented writer.

  • I am amazed by your vocabulary.

  • Go, Elle.

Whenever I think of these people who have believed in me, my motivation to write just rockets all the way to the sky. These people made my journey more remarkable, and worth pursuing.

Reading other writers' success stories here also motivates me well. It always gives me a mindset that "Someday, I will achieve what they have achieved and probably more than that."

Examples of these motivational works are those that tackle about their earnings, those that share their giving projects journey, and those that share their life testimonies.

Here are some, if you are curious:

No matter what type of posts, I always learn bit by bit, and that alone, is something worth my gratitude already.

God is My Strength

And of course, how could I forget?

My source of my overall motivation to live my life to the fullest, Father God.

I have opened about my Plans and Unexpected Realizations that one of my reasons of struggling to find any motivation everyday is my unhealthy spiritual life.

Sometimes, I am bombarded with the hustle of this chaotic world I am in. In constant search of an urge to carry on, I forgot that I will not enjoy every single second of my life, if my faith in God is compromised.

God is the best source of motivation, for my whole life. I personally believe that no kind of life is more worth of living than a life with the purpose of being a part of God's family.

In writing, I always do my best, and utter a little prayer before I sleep. Whatever I have achieved in writing, it is because of God who made all these milestones possible for me. Thank you, Lord.

I am thankful for this little skill of writing that He gave me, and even making it something that I can earn from as well.

Here is a motivational Bible Verse we can all apply in writing:

Proverbs 16:3

"Commit thy works unto the LORD, and thy thoughts shall be established."

The italicized one is the Filipino translation. :)

Final Thoughts

In this second writing prompt by Ms. Jonica Bradley, I was lucky to be there as one of her mentions. It motivated me again, that the mastermind of this challenge has included my name in her article; it felt special to me.

I hope it was worth your time reading my response to your challenge, ma'am, as my motivation is at 100% when I am writing it.


I have been thinking of the topic I will relate to motivation ever since this morning. While typing numbers and words on my office computer, reconciling some financial data, and computing some liquidation-related matters, I have been trying to come up with something that would best suit with my own view of Motivation.

And yet again, it related to writing. It made me laugh a bit. Last week's writing prompt was about freedom, and I also related writing to it. It's pretty much obvious how I love writing, isn't it? (Haha!)

Here is my entry for this week's writing prompt. As always, I had fun doing this again. Thankful for this challenge.If you want to join,

Here are the rules:

  1. Write about motivation

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun.


I am inviting some of my fellow writers who are also masters in the field of writing. You may or may not join this challenge, it's up to you. :)

@Peter-Molnar

@Princessbusayo

@noisytoothie

@meitanteikudo

@wakeuplincs

@Bjorn

@heartbeat1515

Of course, some of you my have been mentioned by other writers here. Write as you would like, I will still look forward to them.

This has been a long day, I hope I made your day better through this article of mine. You may want to check out my recommended reads, too.


I would be very thankful of your support in my humble read.cash journey. :)

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

Until Next Time!

  • Lead Source Image

  • Please click photos for sources. :)

17
$ 8.43
$ 7.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @eve
+ 7
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

It's nice to read articles about this prompt. We can see similarities, differences and we can relate with each other. Keep on being motivated on the things you do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I surely will be. Thank you for being here. :) I appreciate it so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this. Recently, I feel so tired of everything. I'm tired at work, family, and relationships. I am not inspired to work on the things I needed to. With this, I think I could start moving. All I need is a MOTIVATION :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! I am happy I helped you even in small way. :) Thanks a lot for reading! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome. It's worth the time tho :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I motivated by your comment, too. See you around here. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the mention. So this time it is about motivation. I will try to find time to write about this. It has been fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I find these writing prompts really fun. It exercises my skills well. I am excited to read your entry. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just finished writing it and posted it. I hope you enjoy it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had so much fun reading this. Bjorn is right, you are worthy of the recognition. Keep up the good work, Ellehcim! ๐Ÿ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. Thank you so much for your wonderful words. My heart is full. <3 I will do my best and improve everyday!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aweeee thank you for the mention :) I'm actually having a difficulty on choosing the topic I want to publish. I will try to make one about motivation tonight. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am excited to read it! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've already published it. โค๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You deserve that recognition. Thanks for tagging me in this challenge. I'm gonna start now writing about motivation, it only takes me 3 hours but I am trying to lessen it at least an hour and a half.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always appreciate your support, Sir. I will anticipate for yours. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think this is the answer of my yesterday's post in noise.๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, really? May I know what the question is? :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magtatatlong araw na kasi na wala akong matapos-tapos na article ๐Ÿ˜Š I think this is the answer-I am lack of motivation ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! buti naman! This is the sign! LOL, anyway, you are very free to join the prompt challenge. Just read the rules above, and post yours <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll try po.๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can do it! But don't oush yourself naman. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I got a blank space baby... and I'll write your name. :D

Okay if you don't know the reference I am sorry. LOL

I'll try to freewrite this one. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, I know it! Hahah! The clue is always seen on your noise.cash posts LOL

Anyway, looking forward to yours! I hope you are feeling okay now. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am well. Thank you very much. :)

Hmmm.. I am lacking the motivation to write about motivation. Hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if I should laugh or be amazed by your wordplay haha. It's okay, I will always wait for your posts! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha okaaay will try it later...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

good read! this helps because I just started with this platform

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the nice words. Have fun in read.cash :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago