The First Encounter

Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Grabbed a towel just as I got out of the pool. Swimming every morning has been a routine for me and has already been an integral part of my daily exercise. I try to keep my body in shape. I really don't know why but it keeps me motivated to live another day. I know that no one will ever see how hard I worked for this physique but well, I have all the time in the world, all the world to myself, might as well do something productive for myself.

I just hanged the towel over my shoulder and didn't even bother to cover up my naked body as I went down from the hotel rooftop to my room. I got dressed in the most comfortable way, just a cargo short and a white shirt. I decided to go out for the day and look around a nearby city.

I loaded up 2 hand guns, holstered them both on my side. A box of extra ammo on my pockets and on a fanny pack. And I brought my long range rifle just in case. Basically, I am armed to the teeth. I will be going to a strange and new city so might as well be prepared for the worst case scenarios. I also packed in the trunk some explosives.

I drove out for 2 whole hours before stopping at the city entrance. Took some selfies with the city border's sign and went on ahead on my trip.

It was a city known for its fine sandy beaches. I have always wanted to be in the water front but I didn't find the time nor the right company to go to a beach. I parked the truck right near the shore. I got out and walked around for a bit. Not a soul in sight. The sea breeze is the only thing I can hear and it's drowning me in awe.

The horizon seemed so near, the sun shining and glimmering on the surface of the clear blue water. I walked towards the water and dipped my feet in it. The water was so cool to the touch. I sat down on the sand and let my thoughts lingered for a pretty long time.

I ate some biscuits I brought and drank from a bottled water. I thought to myself that I should really teach myself how to produce drinking water. All those distilled water bottles at the hotel may last for several years, but just in case, I thought I'd like to know.

I got up and went inside a beach house. It was a big structure and a bit fancy for a beach house. Whoever used to own this place must be a bigshot back in the real world. Wait, yes, this is the real world now. This is my world. Alone. And it is mine.

The door was opened when I turned the knob. As soon as I stepped inside the house I heard a rustling sound inside. It might be the air pressure, it might be something else so I drew my handgun and I aimed it in front of me. Placed my finger on the trigger and I was ready to fire at the sight of whatever that might be.

A few more steps and I heard it again. This time it sounded like little but fast foot steps. It was on my side, and now it's in the other. It sounded like it was running. I turned to left and turned to the right, my hands were now shaking a bit, and I was starting to panic.

I shot once towards outside for a warning shot and like it answered to the call, I heard something came rushing towards me. I guessed it was also scared and panicked as it hit me while it was trying to escape. It came out the door and ran with full steam ahead. I never knew beagles could run that fast.

I ran after the dog and found him running in circles just around the house. I whistled to it but it didn't budge. I reached into my fanny pack and got some more biscuits. I threw some in front of it and it slowly came towards it. It sniffed it good and licked it. I guess the taste was acceptable to it because it ate the biscuit. I threw some more but this time more closer to me. And then some.

It was close enough to me that I was able to pet him.

Alfred

The dog has a broken leash on his neck. "Are you okay buddy? I'll take you in. Don't worry. I guess I have to name you now. Let's go with Alfred, shall we?" and as if to answer my question he barked at me.

He came with me and I was able to get him up to the truck.

On my drive back home, I can't control the smile on my face. I went out looking for something and I really found something, nay someone. Welcome to the cruel world Alfred.

Hey there!

Thank you for reading this one. The world still feels so cold without anyone else in it. This is still an on going project and I will try to keep the dead world alive as much as I could. But if you are interested, feel free to jump in on the story any time. You can see the rules and a bit of the mechanics here :

Earth After Dark : The Setting

And for a bit more background, here's the first part of the story.

Earth After Dark : The Beginning of the End

Hope to see you there. But if you just like to read, it's cool I appreciate you taking the time to read this and as always,

Cheers!!!


Reference :

Alfred : https://www.emiratesdos.ae/breeds/275/beagle

11
$ 10.67
$ 10.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
+ 4
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Ayun may nakasama na siya. Ang hirap pa naman ng nagiisa,may napanood ako na ganito rin ang nangyari.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha ano yan? Movie?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ata, nagiisa lang siya tapos may nakuha siyang aso then gumswa siya ng mga robot para makakatulong niya. Ganda rin akso namatay siya dahil hindi na niya nakaya yung sobrang radiation ng mundo. Ang nabuhay yung robot na ginawa niya at yung aso.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ah mukhang ayos na malungkot un ah...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool. love this! as always.. keep on!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought it will be a girl, I love that twist I never see it's coming. That's how suppose stories would be unpredictable. It might not be what I expected to be (girl) but it exceed my expectation. I love dogs and dogs is man's best friend, I believe having best friend in this world is more than having a girl. More stories pls. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha really? Thanks. That's so great to hear. I'll try to do another one next week. :) feel free to join if you want. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks I will do my best 🥰 yeyyy I'm excited 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward to it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am making myself familiar to it first. 😊 Maybe I will read first in order for me to have ideas how to get in to the story. By the way I already join the community.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oooh no worries. No pressure and welcome. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Story telling 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thaanks mate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, new part. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yeaah. Tryna post just weekly, still hopeful that someone will join. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well.. I actually submitted my entry. Have you seen it yet? Hehehehe. Not sure if I did it right though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just seen it. So I take that Alfred the dog was Ely's? Haha am I catching your drift? :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago