Ice Cream, and thoughts about Body Image

26 60
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

03/12/2022


I am already feeling really sleepy right now. The funny thing is, I did not really do tiresome stuff today. Weekend are chill days, so I know I deserve a relaxing rest this Saturday.

It's still an hour before 10 pm, but I can already feel my eyes getting heavy. A good bath before bedtime really gives this effect.

Saturday again.

The only productive thing I did, is washing the dishes for the day. I did not even do the laundry. I was with my phone almost all day, catching up with some useless and some important stuff, talking to an old friend, watching various videos, a series episode that I did not even finish, and that's it. Today was indeed a lazy day. (What's new, Elle? Just kidding.)

The highlight photo of today's random blog:

Two ice cream cones for ME.

I can't really say no to Ice Cream. Goodness. Maybe it's why I am struggling with my acnes lately. I am craving for more sweets than before. Sweets are my comfort food now. Though I still try to manage sweets, there are cheat days like these that I just let go. Thankfully, it's every weekend. When I have spare money for snacks, I always buy ice cream. Or chips, or cookies. Sometimes, cupcakes. In specific weekends, all of them.

Oh, maybe it's also the reason I am noticing some addition to my belly fats nowadays. Thank goodness, I am still motivated to do 2 minute planks at least once a day. Two minutes is a long time for me. That's the most I can do for now. I remember being able to do plank for five minutes though. That was at least five years ago. Now, I suffice with at least 2 minutes. It's enough to manage my tummy that always likes to bloat, even if I don't want it, too.

It's not that I am overly conscious with my body, but I just feel more comfortable when I don't feel my tummy dangling with fats, like you know? It's hard to explain, but it's a bothersome feeling to me. LOL. And I am more comfortable to wear the type of clothes I want when I have a not to slim, and not too lean body. I think, I am somewhere in between.

I admit I feel insecure about my body sometimes. Whenever I ask people ask people around me, they always tell me I have nice body proportion. That my body does not look chubby at all, and my height is amazing.

In some days, I don't believe them, what the majority of them says. I want to believe them, but I don't know what's holding me back. There are certain times that I keep on looking at my arms that I find thicker than they should be. I sometimes wish I have a nicer tummy and waist. And oh, my thighs, I still find it hard to appreciate my upper and lower legs, because they are not slim like how I want them to be.

I am sorry, am I being negative with what I was saying? I did not mean to annoy you, nor ignite some feeling of insecurity towards yourself, too, but I just want to share it. How I struggle with my body image. I know some people even have it worse than me.

I tried to shake it off, but I know deep inside I have issues with my appearance. This was even worse before, because I have greatly improved now. I love this version of me now.

Back then, I really do this, looking at these beautiful girls on social media, envying their slim bodies, facial structures that I don't have, their tones arms and legs, their curvy figures, and flawless skin. All of these qualities I know are missing in myself. Back then, I had this thought that because I don't have these features, I am ugly. I am a hopeless case. On rare nights, I even cry.

Why is my skin always full of scars and insect bites even I try my best to prevent them? Some people I know don't even pay attention to their legs, but theirs look a lot better than mine. In the past, I had moments where I just look at myself in the mirror and despise my asymmetrical face, my body structure that's far from how I want it to be, and my skin with scars that I couldn't get rid of. All these self-criticism always overwhelm me that I cry. I blame genetics, I blame myself for not taking care of myself enough, I blame the products I use, and other similar stuff. I even said I'll never be that woman I dreamed myself to be, in this overall look I have right now.

Thinking back now of those days made me sad. I was too harsh on myself. I was to pre-occupied at finding and despising my "flaws" that I did not believe the compliments I received. I always though people were just being nice. I thought I knew in myself people were just being nice, because I did not really see what they saw. I could not really find those things they claim to find beautiful about me. I did not appreciate my features, because I kept comparing myself to others.

It was a difficult phase in my life, because I was so low on self-esteem. But the good news is, I have come far from that kind of person I was.

Now, though I still feel a bit insecure sometimes, I do not let these negative thoughts get to me. Whenever I start seeing some beautiful girls on the internet, and the tendency to compare comes by again, I shut myself up, and think of good things about me.

I always remind myself that I am beautiful enough, though I can't, for sure, say it out loud. Honestly, I still find it hard to actually write it here. I still find it unusual to call myself beautiful, knowing someone else other than me, will read this. The farthest I could go, until this, was to compliment myself, mentally.

Every morning when I wake up, I think of positive affirmations. I think I've shared about it already, the new habit I formed this year.

I am beautiful. I attract blessings and healing today. I practice the right habits. Today's gonna be a good day, I feel it. A good news is coming soon. I am confident. I am smart.

Those are just some of them. Somehow, these affirmations helped me feel better about myself, when I started this habit. Of course, the result was not overnight. I tried my best to believe these thoughts, until I feel like they really are true.


I was supposed to talk about how my day went today, but you see.. A simple blabbering about a clueless ice cream suddenly went to me sharing a dark side of my old self, that I am still on the process getting rid of.

This side about me is not really known to people around me, in real life. Perhaps, this platform is my safe place where I can talk about things such as this, without fear of being judged. I don't know how these blog got to you, but this is actually special to me, as I feel like I was able to open up a side of me that I chose to hide.

Right now, I can say that I am not that old version of me who's overwhelmed with insecurities. I may still feel it in the future, but at least I know how to handle them.

Just believe you are are beautiful, then magic happens. As they say, there is beauty in confidence. The truth is, we are all created beautiful, the beauty standards just told us lies.

We can't bend the truth, but live with it, instead. Make sure to make it YOUR truth that you are indeed, beautiful.

Random thoughts inspired by ice cream! LOL! Let's get it! Goodnight for now, I am really half-asleep right this moment.

What do you think about this article? Show some love! Feel free to leave a like, comment, and share it to your friends! If you want to support me in a different way, be one of my sponsors! This user loves sponsors! 💯

Start worthwhile journeys:

❄️ Read Next!

#Club1BCH

Lead Image from Unsplash

To GOD be the glory.

14
$ 5.24
$ 4.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Giddyboy
$ 0.07 from @HappyBoy
+ 7
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

Dati nung dalaga pa ako i used to plank everday. ngayon, 2 kids CS, naku ang sakit sa likod. try ko sana mag plank tapos sabay takbo anak kong lalaki andito na sa likod ko naka angkas.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha, may abala na sa plank. 😂 May days din na nag-skip ako ng planking 😂 Cheat days haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oiii masarap ba ung ice cream ng creamline?

Anyways, I still have a lot of insecurities. I can't really just remove it. But well as long as I'm doing good today, bahala na ang bukas ehee

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Creamline, paborito ko yung ube at cheese combo, kasi medyo may alat yung cheese, tapos masarap naman sya. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ice cream nagpalaki sa belly ko non, lol! Gusto ko tumaba pero hwag naman yung tyan lang, haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ako naman gusto ko maging slim na mahirap tumaba, kaso di nag paparticipate yung metabolism ko eh hihuhihu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, may planks sis, saka iwas ice cream muna 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay tama, sige na nga hinay hinay ako sa ice cream. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I too love Cornetto when my brother wander outside late night and mother did not allowed him to enter home so Alex brings it for me and I opened door for him in return:)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wahahaha, he used ice cream as suhol haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako my insecurities padin kasi hindi talaga ako maganda 😁 hindi clear skin pero I can still say na may part parin sa kin na nakakaproud

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, ika nga. I am sure there are people around you who find you beautiful. Soon, you'll learn to appreciate your beauty, too. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we really want a proportional body shape and other stunning looks for confidence but for me what God has given we must be grateful because out there there are still many people who are not as lucky as us who have incomplete bodies even from birth they have to lose body parts they. just be grateful because the real beauty is not from the appearance but from the heart.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Very well said, Pajeroz. :) Thanks for reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we look at some parts of our body, and seems this is not how they should look, we desired we had better parts. This happens to almost everyone. Even some people we see as the most beautiful and the most handsome still experience this. I had a classmate we respected so much as one of the most beautiful on campus when i was in the college, one day she told me she wished she had a pointed nose like that Margot Robbie. Can you see someone we respected as a beautiful girl still wishing she's like another person? So in all, we should always tell ourselves positive things and appreciate whom God as made us.

$ 0.08
2 years ago

I agree here. Even people I envy still talk about their own insecurities. 🥺 Thank you for reminding me of this. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to be insecure with my body, well, I am until now because I couldn't exercise a lot. I used to do hula hoop but not anymore. Now I have those unwanted belly fats lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Every body is beautiful. It's hard to believe, but it's true. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you :) Everyone's beauty is unique.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nailed it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're beautiful elleh. You have a uniqueness. You're in your own way. You're cute Elleh. I saw a picture one time from your article. So cute. 🥰 Ang sarap ng ice cream Elleh. Huhu sarap pa naman ng ice cream Elleh. Adik din ako sa ganyan. 🤤

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, Ramona! Let me give you virtual ice cream! 🍦🍦🍦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And now I'm craving for some ice cream and close na lahat ng stores dito. lol. If eating your favorite food makes you feel calm, then don't hesitate to do so. This is LIFE.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat! This is indeed, LIFE. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And we should enjoy our life as much as we can! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago