Earth After Dark: Encounter

17 66
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Just a little flashback in the previous part:

Ely checked through the kitchen area discreetly as soon as she heard evidences of movements. She made sure to not make any noise, so she could catch the possible "thief" of her food supplies. Her attempt was in vain, for there was suddenly no sign of presence in the now messed up kitchen.

She tried calling desperately, to no avail. When she gave up, and was about to walk away, she heard some sounds again, and it took her less than a second to run back, and finally catch the thief, hopefully. What did she saw?


Previous parts:


"There.. I got you!" I declared as soon as I came back to the scene again.

I saw no one. What is this? Are my senses failing me now? I am sure I heard some noises again!

The last noodle pack from across the window fell, revealing a curtain that was rolled up. I carefully examined what looked like newly-torn curtain parts, and my eyes brought me on the ground, where broken shards of glass are scattered.

I immediately looked outside of the broken window, and saw a big truck going away from this house, at full speed.

Oh my goodness. Adrenaline surged up in my while system, and I forgot that I am not a vehicle, but a stupid human who tried to run after the truck. What was I thinking? Honestly, I don't know, what I had in mind was to just go after a person.

Yes, a person! I am not the only person now! Would you believe that? I don't understand myself, too, especially when tears fell from my eyes that very moment. Does this mean, hope? Am I not alone, after all?

Due to extreme exhaustion from running, my legs grew weak as I walked back to the house, and immediately slept as soon as I approached the doorstep.


I checked my social media accounts first thing in the morning. I actually don't care anymore if I might look like a social media addict or whatever, I just want someone to communicate to. I think I am going crazy every single day that passes by.

No one has interacted with my Facebook post, and to others. Not even a single engagement. My shoulder went down in dismay.

What I saw yesterday, was that real? Was that a dream instead? Due to this surreal situation I am now, I can't even distinguish imagination from reality. Is it because of my desperation to meet another human that I had some hallucination yesterday? Or is that encounter real?

There is no denying that I am really im the verge of insanity. I am crossing that thin line now, between sane and crazy.

With hopes to lighten my spirit, I took a bath, and cleaned the house. The living area, storage room, the bathroom, the bedroom, dining area, and lastly.. the kitchen.

The messy place that welcomed me, confirmed my doubt. What happened yesterday, is indeed real. Someone else is around this area.

Instead of getting worked up like I did yesterday, I took deep breaths and assessed the situation. I have to do something to meet that person again. A text or a call won't obviously be effective, as I did not even get that person's number, let alone come close.

Should I check my Facebook account again, and post something new? I am only wishing to the skies that this person has an active social media account, and that my desperate call for response would reach him/her.

I did not even see if that was a guy or a girl. It's freaking frustrating. After having my brunch, I got a silly idea. Why not go to a nearby place where I can relax? I have recently discovered a sea here, when I was looking for supplies. I don't remember exactly where. Maybe I'll wander around, even it may take me hours.

I saw the clouds changing formation as hours passed by. Time seemed to flow slower than the usual, as I just let my eyes feast on the beauty of silence.

Silence. I have craved it so much before. Now that I got it, quite completely, I became so suffocated of it. Humans can reallt have twisted minds, don't you think? It made me smile knowing how this place got a nice "glow up" without humans in it. The air was noticeably fresher and cleaner. The place around was suddenly greener—to be honest, I noticed this only now. I was too focused on myself that I failed to appreciate the good side of being alone in this big place.

It may be three to four hours, I think, when I already started seeing the blue beauty from across the horizon. The sea, I am getting near to it. Again, it made me smile. Why didn't I think of going here sooner?

My grin grew wider as I imagined the things I am about to do when I get to my destination. I have no spare clothes, but at least I got some snacks to enjoy while watching the sunset.

Edison would surely be happy to come with me. My beloved dog loves beaches. If he was with me, we'll definitely have a good time playing in the waters.

My, no time to be sad! Let's go and walk on the seaside!

A thirty minute walk is enough to clear my foggy mind. Anxiety and fear were not eliminated, but at least, alleviated. I hummed a melody as I continued strolling and looking for seashells to collect.

I stopped right on my tracks upon seeing something unexpected. Few kilometers away, I could see a faint shadow of a chair, with some stuff beside it. What was on the chair shocked me the most.

My feet automatically moved nearer the figure I could see. My mouth could not utter a word, while I see a human figure getting clearer as I got closer. It was a shadow of a person, I am sure.

*Ding!*

A beep from my phone caused me to stop abruptly. Maybe it's because it's been quite a while that I haven't heard that notification beep from Faceboo—Wait.. Facebook?!

I instantly got the phone out of my pocket and opened the notifications to see a "Like" on my post. I blinked multiple times to make sure I was not dreaming. Below my post, is a comment:

Uhm.. hi? I am alive, and I wanna kinda meet with you? Can u tell me your place?

"Oh my go—Someone commented! Holla cow—she should've at least left her address! Wait, lemme call her.."

My hands were trembling as I visited her profile and called her. I don't know what her name is, as I only saw foreign characters as her display name.. Chinese, Japanese, or whatever that is.

"Why is she not answering the phone? Goodness.."

On my seventh try, I gave up. It looked like she immadiately logged out after visiting and interacting with my post. Nice timing. (Note the sarcasm).

"Right! The person here!"

I almost forgot. I saw someone near the area I am in.

"Wait.. where did that someone go?"

My eyebrows met in both curiousity and disappointment. How many times have I been disappointed today?

I saw a black cardigan lying on the chair, and I assumed it as evidence of a person really coming from here. Why can't I ever find that person? This is freakin' frustrating.

Judging from the piece of clothing I saw, it was a woman who owns this. I am pretty sure, it was also the same person who's from the house I am staying at.

"Just wait 'til I find you.."

I tried looking around the area to check if she's still somewhere near. Well, I failed. I can't see the truck, nor the supplies, so she probably escaped again. Truth be told, I don't care if she's a ghost or whatever. I am willing to be accompanied, even by a ghost now.

Walking back, I heard my phone ring.

"Oh, she's online again!" I said, referring to the person I found on Facebook. My frustration was immediately replaced my relief when I saw the caller ID.

"Well, hello there! My name's Ely.. I tried calling you earlier, but you must have been busy. Can I ask where are you—"

["Yes, hi! Nice to meet you, Ely.."]

Wait., wait, wait.. A guy? I am taking to a guy right now? I though the account owner was a girl?

And.. Cut!

Oops, let me stop here! It's been a while, don't you agree? Some, or most of you may have forgotten that I wrote something like this, too, a few months ago. Good thing I added a quick recap of the last part before this one, so you'll not get lost. So nice of me, right?

This is a contination of my own entry to @meitanteikudo 's amazing story challenge titled "Earth After Dark", where we are to make our own version of a lead character who was left alone after an apocalypse. Somehow, we get to connect with the characters that other writers make here, and that's actually the fun thing here! It's not yet too late to join the fun!

Look for a community named "Earth After Dark", and write your own, too! I wanna read your version of it. 😉

This part has been in the drafts for lots of months now, but I always failed to finish it. I had to revise some parts, too, so I could make some interesting connection with other writers' created characters LOL.

I can sometimes be hard to understand wth words, too, so if you still can't understand, here are the rules/guidelines found in the mastermind's article:

Come on, and let your imagination flow! More joiners, more fun!

ps. I still don't know what to make of the male character I suddenly added here. LOL. It can be YOUR character. Wanna relate your character with mine? Join now, and write!

And...hey, @Ayane-chan ! Just WHEN can our characters meet? 😂 Mine can't always find you!

Shout out to my Top 3 Fabulous Sponsors!

@Bloghound

@JustMyRambles01

@Vibration101

Thanks a lot for reading! And also... ehem! Thanks in advance for considering to sponsor me. 😉 I will do my best to not disappoint you.

Connect with Club1BCH!

Start worthwhile journeys:

❄️ Read Next!

#Club1BCH

To GOD be the glory.

  • Lead Image from Unsplash

19
$ 11.25
$ 9.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 14
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

ang galing nyu sumulat ng mga ganyan ...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha ako ba. parang di naman. Thanks! 😂😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagplan na ako sumali kaso hindi nalang pala baka maging other nonsense na naman ahahha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uy... sali ka na!!! for sure di nonsense yan.. Go!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kain muna ako ng sakatirbang bigas hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What an interesting story you had. It's a fiction wherein I really love to read.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! Please anticipate the next parts. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Living in a world alone is blessing in early days you can enjoy and do everything you want, you can wear anything buy anything and eat anything, however as the times go by, it became boring, to the point that you will feel lonely and depress, we humans are not capable of living without talking to others, we need to socialize however if you are the only person in this world then you need to strengthen your will in order to survive mental delusions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! Such insightful comment in a fictional story! Thanks for this. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

one's desire to pass through an infinite life. life without rules. make everything like yourself. will disappear sooner or later... my dear

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hey, thanks for visiting here. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably, I'm a Grim Reaper in a black cardigan, shooting souls of vultures on the street. Haha! Am I the one you saw at the beach, the owner of the black cardigan? Just to be clear, so I can include it in the next part. If yes, then you are trespassing on my beach resort.

Just kidding. 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes, it's you. Hahahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Favorite line is no time to be sad! Let's go and walk on the seaside! Thumbs up

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks! 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I saw the title Earth after dark I was like what is this about. I took a glance and figured out a faccinating part, although I have not read the previous articles but right in presence trying to figure out who the thief was and could not see any one, if this happens to anybody such person who have felt the same way you felt. It indeed a scary experience looking like an imagination and reality at the same time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree. Thanks for reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago