Start Small, and Continue to Grow

53 118
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

11/02/2021


A million dollar starts with a cent. Just like how a massive fire comes from a little smoke. So yes, you may not notice it, but every tiny efforts you make, can bring about an immense success you do not expect.

Source: Unsplash

I recently monitored my daily expenses again. My, I noticed how irresponsible I've become with my daily expenses, to be specific, my allowance every two weeks. Before the two weeks end, I become short on budget already. Can you believe that? I am doing quite well in saving money online, particularly, crypto ones, but in actual money, I am carefree.

I have $20 budget for travel and food expenses at work for two weeks. That means $10 per week, and $2 per day, because I only work for 5 days a week. That's already enough for me, given I only use 70% of the daily allowance for transport, and the remaining 30% for food is not really always meant for food, because I always bring my own lunch "baon".

Where does this 30% go then? Honestly, I could not tell where that went, because I have been mindless about it. Maybe it went to random bulks of foods bought on certain days of the week, or unplanned online shoppings. Anyway, I'd stop because I am really shaking my head in dismay right now.

Therefore, starting this week, I made sure to be back on the right track. Imma restrict myself from sudden food cravings, or other unplanned expenditures. I started reserving even a small amount for the week so I won't be tempted to spend it on uneccessary stuff.

Let me also share how one of my BCH savings I started a few months back is showing results now. Who knew that $1 per day can grow into an amount enough to celebrate Christmas with the family? I started last August, so it's probably $92 dollars as of the end of October, and it may have increased due to changes in BCH value. But I have promised to spend whatever it may turn out to be on Christmas. Either treat the family to a simple meal together, or buy them random gifts. I know it's a small amount compared to the others' standards, but I still feel happy about it. I promise to start this $1 a day as soon as year 2022 starts. How about that?

This $1 a day savings is actually inspired by the idea of a fellow writer here, Ate @leejhen . Thanks for this, Ate, I learned how to portion a specific amount for a future purposes.

I will wait until the 24th of December, and my Year 2021 $1 savings for Christmas will finally be over.


I have shared these little achievements of mine, because I know, one day I'd look back and see how far I've come. Right now, I am still in the noob stage of growing my crypto portfolio, because I am still in the accumulate-only stage, and explored the trading field very little. As soon as I get my hands and focus on other ways to grow money, then I can be better at growing what I currently hodl through just writing here alone.

It's honestly hard to start. I know it always is, for beginners. It's okay that I am still not taking any actions like how I see others, because I am still worried about the risks. I am still not that brave enough to take big risks. So, I am planning to start with little amounts of investments and ask for the help of our experienced friends here.

How though? I know that in the meantime, it still not doable. I can't even read all the messages weeks old already, due to other stuffs that I do. It may sound like alibis, but I am serious, I can't dedicate even just a few hours to devote myself learning the basics of it. My weekend plans don't always work well because of unexpected events.

Anyway, these are just the random reasons I thought of, on why I feel like I am slow in growing my crypto. As of now, I grow my BCH 100% through read.cash only, or maybe a bit from noise.cash, too, since I can not be always active there. I see others gaining bigger amount of BCH through just trading and staking alone, activities of which I know very little about.

I have asked for these people's pieces of advice, and they always reminded me similar things I always keep into mind:

  • You'll never learn unless you try. They learned it by trying it themselves, getting the hang of it overtime, while assessing the risks associated with it;

  • DYOR. I know you may have read it at least ten times in this platform alone, especially when you like reading crypto-related articles. DYOR, or Do Your Own Research is a vital tip when it comes to growing our portfolio passively. Only invest in projects you had a proper know-how about, rather than just coming in due to the hype.

  • Invest what you can afford to lose. Yes, don't invest an amount that may incredibly affect your mental health when you lose it. In crypto, they said that we should always expect the worst. There are lots of scams, rug pulls, and other major events that have made many people suffered. Let's do our best to not be one of them. As of now, I still haven't gaued that specific amount I am willing to lose, maybe one of the reasons why I could not start im trading, too.

  • Ask for assistance. Don't be shy to asl questions. There are experienced traders who are willing to help you out. They can be just a DM away, or they maybe people from around you. I am grateful I am part of a club here who helps each other out in crypto stuff, among others. I can always ask for their help.

These are just SOME of the things I always heard from them, whenever I ask "How do you do this?"


If you are like me, a self-proclaimed small BCH hodler, it's okay. It's fine if we feel that our growth is slow, but it does not end with that. Let's always look for ways to improve, and above all, compete with ourselves, not with others. We may be inspired by them, but don't let that affect our self-trust. We can do it, too. If others can, then yes, I know you know what I am about to say.. why can't I?

Through starting small, we can grow, steadily but surely. Start saving little by little, educate ourselves of other ways to grow and gain more knowledge. I believe we can do it.

Speaking of, do you want to recommend me other ways to grow my BCH? I would always be happy to learn from you! I am not ashamed to say I am a noob in this field, because I am not planning to stay in this title, anyway.

I hope you've gained some insights through this blog of mine. This was also inspired by @Princessbusayo , about finance. It seemed to be a wake up call to me to start being better at handling my semi-monthly budget again, because I've been a bit careless for the past few months. You may read her article here:

Fun-filled day..

Well-spent day learning and being reminded of many things again. This plaform is my haven after a tiring day's work.

Okay, I've read the intoduction of this blig again, and I remember the tag line of the #Club1BCH ,

"It's started with a single drop that soon became a river. In this river, hope was born. From this hope rose a raging flood. A tidal wave of change "

Click photo for source.

Thanks a lot for reading! And also... ehem! Thanks in advance for considering to sponsor me. 😉 I will do my best to not disappoint you.

Connect with Club1BCH!

Start worthwhile journeys:

❄️ Read Next!

To God be The Glory.

  • Lead Image from Unsplash

22
$ 9.89
$ 8.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Cryptonators
$ 0.10 from @Jher0122
+ 17
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

goal to din mag hodl muna or save some para sa pasko. Kahit gusto kong mag trader hindi pa ako nga particate kasi hindi pakp ready.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ako nga din eh, kinakabahan. Kaso kelangan ko simulan para matuto eh. Kahit maliit lang ba muna.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm baaaaaack. Hehe. I will try to go back to where I stopped months ago. I am also doing $1 challenge since January. But sadly, I haven't put in a dollar since June or July. The last time that I have tracked it, I know I am $100 short 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good for you, marami na yan for sure! Next year talaga start ako ng January para at least may 360 dollars ako for Christmas. 🤗 Welcome bacck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

$210 na dapat kaso dahil sa price ng BCH nasa $100+ lang. Kasi nung nagstart ako ulit mag $1 nung time na nagATH ai BCH noon. Hehe. Kasi yung naipon ko talaga from January-March andoon sa phone ko na ayae magbukas. Ang sakit. Hahaha. Kaya hinabol ko yung $1 a day ko nun. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay grabe naman. May seed phrase ka namn dun sa naksave sa phine mong nasira?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakascreenshot at nakasave sa mismong phone 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nyek, goodbye na pang talaga. Buti nakamove on ka na. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing great, saving a dollar next year would be 360 dollars now that would be a great Christmas.Do you farm tokens in smartBCH?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks po! I have few tokens in SmartBCH, from airdrop and Giveaways, i bet thise don't even reach $20 worth of value. 😂 I can't focus in Metamask. 😂😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah Metamask just needs practice and then add on the exchanges to Metamask then have fun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whew. I just started transferring BCH tomy MetaMask wallet earlier. I am nervous but i gotta do it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't do anything until you understand what you are doing! If you need help just holler

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will! Thanks a lot. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di pako makapag invest Elle. Kulang pa talaga. Pano nalang pag mawala lahat. Haha. Ipon muna me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here. Hehehe. Di pa tayo nakakalikom nang malaki laki na medyo keri na ilet go. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Soonest na talaga. Tamang ipon na muna. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fighting! Kinakabahan ako sa pinasok ko oaninang hapon, sana maging okay ang kalalabasan. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice that you are saving some BCH for Christmas. I'm doing it too, to give my family some presents with part of my BCHs. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for saying this. This is one of the best thing I did this year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a great start! Kahit maliit talaga kung consistent, it will grow. Kudos to you for sticking to your Christmas goal :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat! Hrheh. Pag iipon palang talaga magagawa ko since di ko pa keri mga trading eme na yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok na yan sis, safe pa hehe. Pag matuto ka magtrade d rin masama hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I would do this save a $ a day na din. Si leejhen talaga pasimuno nito. Pero nice idea talaga yan. I will start this month na para meron din ako for Celebration sa Holidays. anyways, I agree don sa mga unplanned purchases, yong nanonood ka ng live selling tapos napapa "mine" ng marami na wala sa plan. Yong may mga kasama sa office na nagsell ng food na gusto mo na din bumili. Ako din naman, minsan nagtatanong sa self ko, asan na ba yong pera ko, ba't wala na. ang dali pa naman maubos ng money talaga.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Opo, yung pautik utik na nagagastos sa mga Piattooss, mga maliliit na items, di natin napapanson pag nag add up sa isang buwan, malaking gastos po talaga. Tapos malalaman nalang natin, short na sa budget. Nakakaumay na po mastress sa kuoang na budget, kaya kailangan ko na po talaga mag adjust, para din naman sa akin ito.

Push po natin yung 1dollar a day. Di sya mabigat ipunin kada araw, pero kapag naipon na, malaki laki na din. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saving $1 everyday is actually a good savings pattern which I think in gonna have to adopt as well. This savings pattern has caught my attention and I'm gonna try it out.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Glad to know that. Let me know when you start for real. 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ika nga "Great things comes from small beginnings" It is a good idea to make a saving a day even how small it is because later if it is all intact it will be bigger amount. Nice Article Ate Elle, I really Appreciated this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, Jay! I also appreciate you coming here. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always Welcome Ate Elle!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You won't really know unless you try.. Ganyan ako dati.. Takot nga itry.. Pro nung nagawa ko.. Ang dali lng pla 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Ikaw nga naalala ko when I included that tip above. Ikaw lang naalala kong nagsabi sa akin na subukan ko lang then marealize kong madali pala. Ay si mareng Rufa din pala, ganyan sabi saakin. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many times before I started saving, I wouldn't understand how I spent my money and before I know it, I wouldn't see any change on me until I started an app to help me track my earnings and I have seen changes since then. I make sure I save unnecessary spendings in case of any emergency.

I still try my best in trading and right now, I am only staking eben to help me accumulate more BCH when the price goes up. Thanks for the mention too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, good for you. You ate now involved with saking, which I still don't know how to do. 😭 And what app do you use to track savings and expenses? I would love to try that, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's called Money Manager. Though you can search through playstore for more options.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, I have looked for an app that suits me. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From the title itself, nakaka inspire na talaga sis

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And I do hope na mas nainspire ka upon reading the piece. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. That's a nice practice sis. It means cutting the latte-factor. You are cutting the unnecessary expenses you make everyday and that would lead you to save an unexpected amount of money.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, yes. Those uneccessary expenditures end uo becoming a big amount when added up! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Months ago on noise.cash someone asked, "What number are you willing to lose?" he asked, there were some pretty interesting answers. Saving and saving some of the earnings for the future is life insurance. All kinds of things may happen to us at unexpected times and we may have needs that need to be met urgently.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, we have lots of unexpected situations in life, so we always gotta be ready. Thanks for reading. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Little by little it will grow after a month

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Responsibilities make us more conscious and responsible. You are lucky you can manage things easily. Not everyone can do that as you are doing. I wish you best of luck.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I could not say it was easy managing, though. There were always temptations to spend. 😅 But I am doing my best to achieve something, even if it may be small, it's still a milestone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wawo i like your energy and passion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahehe, thanks for that. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have no words to explain to you, the amount of money we have spent this month here at home. We even had to take from our savings. Incredible.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, yes. When emergebcy sutuations come, we have no choice but to spend hefty amounts of money. It is so easy to spend, but hard to earn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago