Earth After Dark: Ely's Diary

8 42
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

My weak body crumpled into a corner of the room. I can't even mutter a word. All my energy has been lost. Or my will to move, to be exact.

My stomach hurts so much because I have been eating only instant noodles for a whole straight week now. It's the only foods I managed to get from the nearest convenience store. Maybe I will go outside again, and grab different foods today.

However, I can't move. Or rather, I don't want to move just yet. Nothing is worth looking forward to in this day, because everything I've been working for are deemed worthless already.

What are we all working for? Money. For what? To buy foods, to live, to buy everything we need and want. Why? So we can stay here and enjoy our lives in this place, and be with the people we want to be with.

That is how I (used to) live. Well, look at all those reasons just crumbling down before my eyes. Money isn't worth anything as I can just grab whatever stuff here now, without paying. No one's gonna charge me anyway.

Currently, I am staying at someone else's house. A house whose owner I don't even freakin' know. I hope that they won't judge me—oh, I forgot. They aren't here anymore. I am all alone now.

I stayed here because the house is bigger, has a fridge, and wi-fi connection, which aren't present in our small, humble home. Moreover, all the food supplies I had ran out. I got some unopened ice cream from the bigger house as a bonus.

I hope I am making sense right now. And I hope I ain't crazy. Not sure whether someone's listening nor seeing my ramblings, but I will still share this as I would go mad for real if I don't.

Let me talk to you, even I don't know if someone else lives here aside from me. You, who don't have a name. Please respond if you could see this.

I don't wonder why all the people around me are gone now. I am very aware of the situation and the core reason why the mankind has been wiped out. So, I don't find any reason to wonder why.

What I can't stop thinking about, is why I don't die yet. I mean, hello. I am a human, I know that for sure. Why did the world even other to let a single person live here? What for? I don't know if it's a reward because I am guilty of wishing I was alone. I am starting to think it is a punishment, because I hate what I am in right now.

Everyone disappeared. Literally. I wished I am alone, but I didn't expect that the skies will grant it this way. I don't want to be alone permanently. I would rather die.

With all the little strength I gathered, I finally stood up and headed outside.


Character Profile

Name: Elyssiah Kim

Age: 21

Job: Used to work as an Accounting Staff

Other facts:

  • She is an introverted person

  • She sings well

  • She has a pet dog

She likes to write on her diary little entries about how her day went. This time, she just started writing longer entries, attempting to entail the new kind of world she was forced to live in. Alone.


My, I didn't even bother to comb my hair, nor just wash my face. No one's gonna insult me for how I look anyway.

Like someone who owns the store, I casually grabbed all that my hand could reach—sausages, sandwiches, eggs, milk boxes, sardines and other canned goods, plus some magazines. Wait, I practically own all of these, right?

I am starting to get worried because all the reading materials from the store are running out. I wonder what more I can read to stay sane. I don't know.

Nothing's more upseting than seeing the supplies expiring already. Ugh, such a waste of food. No worries, I still eat them. Like I have damn choice.

I lazily tried to look up, only to meet the bright rays of the afternoon sun. I don't wanna think I am crazy yet, but for some reason, I stayed there for a few minutes and enjoyed its heat. Dude, it's hot. I mean hot hot. It is the middle of the day and I got a sun-bathing session when I ain't even in the beach. What am I thinking?

Anyway, I did sweat enough and walked towards home. I felt a bit better knowing I can still feel things.


March 2, 2021

Dear diary,

Had some eggs for lunch. Eggs again for dinner. Earlier, I felt hot because of the sun. Guess I am still normal.

Day 15 of living alone since realizing the virus has wiped out everyone that I know, or maybe the world. Day 14 of trying to call all the people I know, down to the delivery drivers I just met once.

Heck, I even dialed random numbers.. I am desperate to talk to anyone out there. I can turn on the television, but it's all black and white now. Don't get me wrong, the reception's perfectly fine, but there are no people on the screen.

I think I am the sole survivor now. It's hard to believe, but I think it's all making sense. This virus, I don't know what it's called. But, like the leader of an apocalypse, it killed all of the people.

Why don't I die yet? Why?? Was I vaccinated with the antidote when I was not aware of it? Did I accidentally drink some anti-virus substance that's why I ain't infected?

Can someone please answer me? I have almost lost my voice by shouting as hard as I can for the past few days.

These are the times I think of my dog. How I miss him so much. I wonder how is he right now. Maybe it was a bad choice that I entrusted him to my grandparents in my hometown? Are they still there to take care of Edison now?

I wish I could go to my hometown. But, how in the world do I get there? It's so far, and I can't operate a ship, nor an airplane just to get there.

My poor dog. He must be so hungry now.

-Ely


Stop! Oh, you got into here? Thank you so much. I hope I managed to play with your imagination with this fictional scene I wrote in a rush, but with a cautious manner.

This is my very first, and hopefully, not the last, entry to the writing challenge I have promised I would undertake.

Hello there, @meitanteikudo! You saved me today, as I can't think of what to write today. I have read your latest post, and it prompted me to start this right away. I hope you'll like this one. Hahaha! I am kinda nervous as I have no solid plot yet, and just typed whatever came to my mind.

Hopefully, I can develop something in the next days, this is just the start, anyway.


I enjoyed it! My imagination kinda worked nicely today, so I can say this is a really helpful project.

If you want to write under this project as well, don't hesitate—write away! Here is the detailed explanation of the mastermind himself.

He has published some parts as examples already, so I got the basics (kinda haha!). No more talking here, just visit the community he mentioned, and explore it yourself. :)


Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

Until next time!

  • Lead Image Source

  • Reference photo for Ely, click the picture for the source link. :)

6
$ 3.55
$ 3.00 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
+ 2
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

Hmmmm.. I like this very much. :) I think I know where Ely's dog is. Haha

Thanks so much! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, He may or may not be. If I may have affected your plot, you don't have to make them the same dog haha. I just felt I want Ely to have a pet companion, too. Not so alone after all, LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol nope. That's the goal. We should at least make the stories intertwine... that's really the point... that's really good. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! So it isn't a bad idea after all. Haha! :) thanks a lot for the encouragement :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

On the contrary, it's really good!!! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you say so! Hahaha, thanks a lot lot lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice😊As I read, I imagined the scene in Avenger. When Thanos snap his finger and 50% of humankind disappeared. 😁😁😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? Thanks a lot! You may want to have your own character in this too! Haha. Check the article I put there, the rules are there. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago