Earth After Dark: Fireworks

27 58
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Random, 2021, Darkness, Reading, Fiction, ...

I am now used to silence.

Image from Unsplash

The noises are probably always from me. So, it's strange hearing some sounds not caused by my movements.

I opened my eyes to confirm what I just heard. The sound got louder. I went outside and was too shocked to even speak. Is it real? Those sparkling stuff in the sky, are they real? I had to slap my face to check if my imagination was just playing with me.

Fireworks! They are indeed fireworks! Wait, it's too early for New Year's celebration, right? Damn, it's not important! Fireworks don't just go off on their own! Do you get a grasp of what I am saying? There are other people here! There are—

Thud!

"Aww.. This freaking hurts.."

My butt hurt so much from falling on the floor while sleeping.

That dream seemed so real. It's so frustrating. I just remained on the floor, trying to imagine the vivid images in my dream. I could not stand quickly, because my butt really hurt, man. That was one good fall. I'd just sleep on the floor next time.

Source: Unsplash

I did not bother eating breakfast as I don't feel particularly hungry. Instead, I just let the time pass as I brought together all the trash that accumulated within one month, and I put them outside. I got so lazy organizing the garbage so they just piled up like that. My inner cleanliness-obsessed self is nowhere to be found now. I think my sense of smell just got used to the stink of the chaotic sink, and that poor corner full of waste.

After many hours of organizing the trash, I felt satisfied. It's like I had done something worthy, which is, technically, true. That's nice, Ely. You're making some progress. Keep going.

I can't stop thinking of my dream, so I tried going to that place where I saw the fireworks. That's genius, by the way, I mean, letting the area know someone is out there, somewhere. How come I did not think of it? Well, if I do, where could I find fireworks, anyway? Maybe I'd light up some fireworks if I come across some fireworks on my shopping tomorrow.

I opened my facebook account with the desperate hope that someone may still see it. Who knows? Maybe, just maybe, I am not really alone, just yet.

I posted a status that goes along the lines of "If anyone out there sees this, please respond. I don't care if you just like or comment a dot here. Just respond in any means, and I'll message you right away."

Source: Unsplash

I did not bother checking it out from time to time so I won't be dissapointed that much. Maybe I'd just open it after a day or two. Hopefully, someone would see this post. Now, what should I do next?

I looked around the big house and started opening all the windows that I closed on the first day I went here. The fresh air immediately seeped inside, along with the warmth of the sunlight. What time is it? What day is it? To be honest, I don't know anymore. I'd just look at my phone to know, and I'd forget to keep track after a few days. Basically, its like I am living in the ancient times, the only difference is that I have all the modern things here, absolutely free.

Source: Unsplash

Usually, I would walk my dog outside on times like this. I would just sit in a nearby bench while enjoying my ice cream, and Edison would just run around the park with other dogs. Gosh, I miss him so much.

Right now, I am watching the Korean Dramas I downloaded, episode by episode. This is now how my everyday life has become, majority of my day just binge-watching all the dramas I could find online. I hope I won't come to that time where I have watched ever single KDrama out there, and I am still alone like this. I might really go crazy.

I paused the drama and changed my position to a more comfortable one. This bed is not my style, I guess. Just when I was so immersed with the fight scene of the actors in the series I am watching, I heard some sounds again. I removed the earphones from my ear and quickly hid beside the bed.

There it goes, some weird noises again. It seemed like the noodles I stacked above the refrigerator are falling simultaneously, and some other supplies were falling. I tiptoed my way to the dining area, to have a good look of the chaos in the kitchen. I made sure I won't be heard nor seen.

A grin is plastered in my face knowing this. Someone is looting from my house. A thief is here. My, never in my life I have expected I'd be so happy knowing there is literally, a robber around.

To my surprise, the noises stopped. I could not see any presence in the kitchen. The noodles are on the floor though, along with some stuffs. Someone was really in here, for sure. With my eyebrows raised, I quickly marched near the refrigerator and called out,

"Hello?"

No response.

"Hi? Is someone here?"

"I already heard you making some mess here! Don't bother hiding! I won't hurt you, I promise!"

"Hey, friend, come out now!"

"Please, please talk to me.."

"Hey.. you still there?"

"Where are you, really?"

I looked like a fool talking to myself for ten minutes straight. I looked below the sink, instead the cabinets, over the window, even inside the refrigerator, only to see nothing remarkable. Again, I am alone. Again.

I calmly walked my way out of the kitchen when I heard something fall again. My head turned as quick as Flash.

"Caught you!"

I stormed back to the kitchen without any second thought.

Hello! How's your day?

I am exercising my story-telling skills again, as a break from those days that I wrote for various themes. Just for something different.

First of all, it is a fictional story. Just in case you don't know yet, there is a community here called "Earth After Dark" where we could make a story about a person surviving alone in the world after the apocalypse.

This is fun, indeed! But I never realized writing a story with a single character is hard! Haha, it's difficult to write creative scene if a story only has one character.

The good thing though, is we writers could make our characters "interact" in some ways. It depends on us on how to make these connections more interesting and more colorful.

All the rules are summarized here, you can ask @meitanteikudo if there'd be something you won't understand.

We are excited to see what your character would be like after the worst destruction that ruined mankind. So, what are you waiting for? Write your own, and just submit it into the community where you could see this work of mine. Let's make the story more fun and interactive. You'd love it here, I promise!

Let me just share something today, as I don't casually share it with the people around me LOL.

It is now Day 2 of my goal to sleep strictly at 10 pm per day. I was able to successfully accomplish it, and the results are quick! Not gonna lie, yesterday and today, I was not feeling much sleepy anymore! See that?! The two hours additional sleep every night made that difference! I could not believe it at first, but yeah, I guess, 8 hours of sleep really works wonders, at least to me.

Knowing this, I have decided to keep up with this goal amd make this a habit, until I blend it into my lifestyle.

One more thing, I have been wanting to get that diamond icon next to my name like how other generous users have it. So, I hope I could earn more so I could share more. It's added to my goals now, being one of the top-tippers. For now, it is not yet possible, given the current range of my earnings, but I know, soon it will. God, help me. :)

Wait, this has been so long, OMG. With that..

Until Next Time!

❄️ Read Next:

And please, also take time to read this one, and let us help our fellow good-hearted writer in this platform, he is @Macronald.

Thank you in advance for supporting me in my humble journey. My sponsor block is always welcoming of new people to fill it!

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Lead Image Source: Unsplash

14
$ 9.23
$ 8.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.33 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.20 from @MizLhaine
+ 9
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Random, 2021, Darkness, Reading, Fiction, ...

Comments

Honestly, I was wondering if it was really your daily journal. I even said to myself, "wow! We're both dog lovers". 😅 anyway, I also want to try making a story but I do not think I have a talent or skill for that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can alwaya try! Hahaha! i can't say i am good with this, either hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am wondering what happened in the kitchen. What did you see when you heard the noise again and went back.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was wondering what I could see there too. Haha! Thanks for coming by. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice write-up. I love the way you put words together.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, Queen. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I didn't read this until the end, I might say, that is the effect of quarantine on people. Hahaha.

I experienced how it feels to be isolated in a room for two weeks. It's not because of covid, but chickenpox. It's such a troublesome experience. Whenever darkness strikes, you hear a strange noise coming out of nowhere and see strange images of shadows in the wall.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What? That must have been so scary!!!

Anyway, I can see you are good in writing fictional stories, too! You can join us anytime! Just add EAD or Earth After Dark in the title. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I'll try. Is after-war scenes can be counted as Earth after Dark themes?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! I saw that you already posted yours! Let me have a read. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, take your time. I hope you like it. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Got lots of notofs piled up. Mahhabol ko din yung sayo . hehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagpile up din yung sakin kaso tinatamad na akong basahin lahat. "Mark as read" na lang. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay kakatapos ko lang sa akin, mula sa kahapon, ngayon at yung nakalagay na "1 Day ago." Dun naman ako sa "2 Days Ago" sunod. Tatapusin ko talaga lahat! Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinipili ko na lang yung binabasa ko. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang naman yan. More pahinga sa mata.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saka masakit din sa ulo kapag na overload ka na sa infos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabagay! True!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is just amazing. Hmm I love noodles, and been binge-watching a lot lately. I somehow feel that you are describing my off-day here, LOL

hmmm.. anyway, I'll see what I can do with this. You got TG or something? :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Whaaatt, I just told the story like this, but this is how I actually spend my rest days as well! Hahaha, except the garbage thingy. LOL.

I have TG too! Michelle is the display name. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah really? then it's real close to reality. I like it. :)

Can you send me a message on it? there's a lot of Michelle there, and I don't like to be mistaken for a random creep. LOL

my user is the same meitanteikudo :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, I will. Please just wait bit. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

patiently... :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am already there! Ahhaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ihave never tried writing or narrating how such a thing happened as nicely as this... you did very well..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Really? Is it for real? I am so flattered, thank you so much. I will do my best to improve in the next parts. Thank you, Jean <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago