Some of my Christmas memories

82 110
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

How are you beautiful people of Read.cash?

We are less than two weeks away from Christmas, and there are only two days left to participate in my dear friend @gertu13, Hey you! This is the promised "Christmas contest.". So here is my entry to join.

These days I've been reading some of my friends' posts on Read about their Christmas memories. And reading @Jane's Christmas Challenge ft Acrostic and @Eylz2021's Christmas that I used to know posts have inspired me to share Some of my Christmas Memories too.

For me, this season has always been a magical time. A time of sharing and giving. A time to get together with family and friends not only on Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve but throughout the month, to see friends you often don't see all year and share. And although the circumstances of the country have stolen some of its magic in recent years because many family and friends have gone to live abroad, it is still a special time of the year.

But let me share with you how my Christmas used to be like in the past.

Christmas in my Childhood

When I was little, Christmas was a very joyful time. My mom loved to fill the house with Christmas decorations. There were many Christmas activities at my school, and we used to make living nativity scenes. There were many Patinatas, a tradition that sadly has been lost over time. In some neighborhoods, they would close some streets so that the children could go skating, there were Christmas caroling (aguinaldos), and everyone who went would bring something of food to share.

This tree is not from when I was little. It's one of the biggest I ever put in my house. Sorry for the noise in the photo, but I couldn't find a better one.

Christmas Eve was a long-awaited day. We used to go to lunch that day at my paternal grandfather's house. My uncles and cousins always were there too. We exchanged gifts, and I spent the day playing with my cousins. On Christmas Eve evening, dinner was at our house. My uncles, cousins, my grandmother on my mother's side, and her sisters and some of my mother's cousins came. They used to be large gatherings that often lasted until the early morning of Christmas Day.

On Christmas Day, my sister and I would get up to look for the gifts from Baby Jesus. In Venezuela, the figure of Santa is secondary, and it's the Baby Jesus who brings the presents. We used to go to mass, and then my sister and I would spend the day playing with our gifts.

And one time I dated Santa Claus

When I was in my last years of high school, my grandfather was no longer with us. But by that time, my family had become fond of spending holidays in Merida; I had told before how much my father loved the Andean mountains. So it became a tradition for all of us to spend Christmas in Merida. We used to stay at an inn in the town of Escaguey, on the road from the páramo to the city of Merida. My aunts, uncles, and cousins would go too, and we had a great time.

The second year we spent Christmas in Merida, we started a family tradition of having a party for the people of one of the villages in the páramo, which was quite far from the main road and where the people who lived there had very limited resources. Our family and friends collected money to buy gifts for the children who lived in Gaviria, the name of the town in the paramo of the same name. We also used to bring clothes, and we made a party for them with food, sweets, candies, and treats. One of the men in the family always had to dress up as Santa Claus to hand out the presents.

I was looking in my box of old photos to see if I had pics of that time; I didn't find any of the parties; these photos must be in my mother's house. But I found one from the year I dated Santa.

The day I dated Santa Claus

It was Christmas 1996; it was the first Christmas we spent in the cabin that my parents and uncles bought near the inn where we used to stay.

I had already met my husband that year, but we weren't married. We were dating, and that was the first Christmas we spent together. He came to Merida to spend it with my family.

That year, when it was time to choose who would be Santa Claus at the party for the children of Gaviria, all eyes were on him, hehe.

Our Christmas in Merida was a tradition for many years.

Being Baby Jesus on Christmas Day

When my son was born, Christmas took on a whole new dimension. He was too young to understand about Baby Jesus on his first Christmas, but I remember his excitement as we put up the Christmas tree.

As he grew older came the magic for the gifts from Baby Jesus. The letters asking for presents. He left the cookies with milk on Christmas Eve for Baby Jesus and his friend Santa that we shouldn't forget to eat before going to bed. The excitement of opening the presents on the 25th in the morning. The year that Baby Jesus brought him his first Lego, the three of us spent the whole Christmas day putting it together, and I don't know who enjoyed it more, hehe.

My son shoes under the tree on his first Christmas

I remember the Christmas that he found out that Baby Jesus was not the one who brought the presents; it was a Christmas that my sister-in-law and my nephews came from Spain to spend with us, the same that I put the Christmas tree of the first pic. One of those Christmas to remember; we all enjoyed it so much.

But in which my nephew told him the truth about the Baby Jesus and the Three Kings, the ones who bring gifts in Spain. However, my son skillfully told his grandmother and pretended he didn't know for a few more years, and we played along.

I have many more memories that will always be with me, but I don't want to make it longer. As I said initially, this is my entry to Gertu's #ChristmasContest2021. If you haven't joined yet, you have until tomorrow, December 15th, to do so.

Don't forget to be tunned on the several Club1BCH events, such as the Christmas card competition. And don't forget to join Christmas Challenge 2021

Thank you to my amazing sponsors. You rock!

To you, my dear readers. Thank you so much for reading!

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise.Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

December 14, 2021

36
$ 12.89
$ 8.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.50 from @ARTicLEE
+ 27
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Greetings friend. You have won $2 for selection of your post in my challenge. Congratulations!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Gertu 🎄😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When Santa became hubby, how cool was that, love the picture :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yep is a cool pic, I didn't remember I had it, hehe ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find it very interesting to see how other people from around the world celebrate these types of holidays, especially Christmas. You surely have a beautiful memories to Christmas!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I do have fond memories. Do you celebrate Christmas?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, of course. I just find interesting the variations of Christmas dinner, Christmas characters, carols, etc... Each country has slightly different traditions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So cute life story dear. Sending hugs. I remember I sent wish cards to neighbours and relatives during Christmas.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice your story, I really liked the gift giving in Gaviria. Spending Christmas in Merida must be great.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was a very nice tradition that I really missed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed reading the part where our dated santa. My mind ready went far but it turned out to not be what I was thinking.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha, I wonder what you were thinking?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Was thinking you flirted with santa.. 😃

$ 0.02
2 years ago

LOL :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We used to have some decorations too Ma'am when I was a kid, now it's only limited, almost none because of money matters; but still the love is always there:)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

At the end of the day, love is the most important thing. Thank you for stopping by :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow Coqui, these are the kind of Christmas I would like to live once, they looked so magical. They definitely were better in the past.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh, Simon, I hope you have a Christmas like those one day. Mine is very different now, but I have those beautiful memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first, I want to thank you so much for sponsorship! Your support means a lot to me. 😊

Beautiful Christmas memories. They always evoke some special feelings. I am delighted with husband Santa! 😀 I hope that your Santa makes your wishes come true even today... 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, Jelena! And it's my pleasure to be your sponsor😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like the Christmas celebrations in the past years feel better don't you think? I miss also the carols of the childrens in our street and we often go to our aunties/uncles for some aguinaldo😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They were better, and this year, I think I miss them more for bringing back those memories and sharing them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great and priceless memories, sis! Those are great photos too. You're so lucky to date husband santa..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, amiga! I was very lucky, I don't know if he thought the same at that time, I guess he did since we married after all, hehe. Thank you so much, sis for renewing the sponsorship.♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas memories is one of the best memories that you can really treasure in your entire life specially if you're with the people you love. This is my christmas away from my family and it makes me a little bit sad, but I am doing this naman for them so I know I'll be fine. Merry Christmas to you in advance and may God bless you always☺️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm sorry you will be away from your family, but I hope you can still enjoy the holidays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha that's a fun Christmas back then. You can recreate that photo of you and your Santa husband ate cocola that would be so much fun!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha, I don't know if my husband wants to recreate it too much, but he sure looks more like Santa now, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, it's so adorable that you dates Santa, I guess everyone back then will refer to uiy as Santa's girlfriend 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I like that to be Santa's girlfriend 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You dated who? 😁😁 but that looks adorable.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

😆😆 Thank you, Luci!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a wonderful christmas memories ate cocola❣️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for stopping by!♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice memories, hahaha but I remain with the commitment to be a saint of Mr. Gangsta; "no lo iban a pelar jajaja" as we say here. LOL

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Por supuesto no lo pelaron y el Sr. Gangsta con cara de ponchao tuvo que echarle pichón. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pase por muchas cosas parecidas, perooo ninguna suegra pudo conmigo jajaja.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jaja el problema es que aquí no era la suegra sino la familia en pleno, la suegra en este caso lo habría apoyado si se negaba. 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

jajaja se parece a mi entonces, amado por las suegras, en realidad a mi me han querido todos jajaja y es que soy imposible de odiar. jajaja un poco de modestia por favor.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Jaja cuidado y te llamamos ahora Kike el modesto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kike I The modest. Me gusta jajaja

$ 0.00
2 years ago

seems like we have almost the same traditions back then.. some of which had changed overtime indeed..some had gone..unfortunately

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's a shame that everything has changed so much, and yes we share many traditions🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, it's hard to look back on my Christmas memories since both parents are gone. Hoping that we could create a tradition with my own family now. :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm sorry your parents are gone, but you have to create new memories with your family so that your children will treasure them over time. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes will do. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Brought me back to the good old days. Beautiful memories, amiga!!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's something to ask Santa Claus to bring back a bit of the good old days. Besos amiga!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas time is always a memorable one. Merry Christmas in advance.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Merry Christmas in advance to you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful memories are never forgotten, may God protect your family, love and peace to you, my friend

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for the good wishes! And blessings to you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are beautiful memories coqui🙂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Those are wonderful memories! I was wondering who was the Santa you dated, thinking it was some stranger. Turns out it was your ex :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wonderful, indeed. And Santa isn't my ex, he is my husband now, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your participation. Beautiful memories as a family.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are welcome, friend :) I have beautiful memories. Now everything has changed a lot, but the memories remain and nobody can't take them away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was also like your nephew before. I used to believe santa is real and he's the one putting gifts in our xmas socks placed outside our door. 🤧😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

When we were children, my sister believed in Santa for a long time ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such amazing memories and I really enjoyed reading it. You are really good at keeping things especially the pics of 1996. I was just two years old then 😄😄

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, princess. And I, at that time, was about to finish my master 🙈😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe! Great 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we say Christmas, what comes into my mind is spending holiday with the family. Advance Merry Christmas.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same for me. Advance Merry Christmas to you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Family is home. It is more fun and good to be with family. Christmas reminds us how valuable families are. Christmas can't be complete without our family and this is the time for family bonding. You have a memorable and wonderful Christmas.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes I do, thank you for stopping by :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good sir. ❣️❣️❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow these awesome you even dated santa Claus. I really enjoyed these . My mom usually design our house for Christmas. All I can say is that Christmas is a real fun. @gertu13 I appreciate you for bringing up these wonderful contest ❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're welcome my dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, Christmas is for many a happy season. 🎄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really have a wonderful and memorable Christmas childhood.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I do :) Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the part of being with family and having a nice and healthy relationship for everyone. Also, throwing parties for people with less resources is another essence of christmas. Hoping that a lot of people would continue to do itm

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree with you that helping those in need is one of the essential things at Christmas. Now I help those around me, everything has become so difficult in the country that you can not travel easily by road, and several years ago we had to stop spending Christmas in the Andes. Still, I hope that other nearby people are helping there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a memorable and lovely experienced you had in Christmas. Merry Christmas Ma'am Coquin.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you! Merry Christmas in advance to you too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are right sis... we almost have the same memories of how we spent Christmas before!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We share many values sis and I think is one of the reasons we connected so well, love you 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

¡Yo también te amo hermana.. really glad i met you here

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You had a wonderful experience back then as I've seen it in your memories,I hope this year's Christmas would be one you wouldn't forget.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you :) I wish you a Merry Christmas too 🎄

$ 0.00
2 years ago