Christmas Challenge ft Acrostic

55 122
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

December 11, 2021

Christmas is truly in the air and I could see Christmas decorations and hear Christmas carols everywhere. At shopping centers, supermarkets, malls, and even train stations. The annual Christmas displays on different HK establishments have already been installed, and they would be my next holiday destinations. And to take photos with them of course, as this would be my last Christmas celebration here.

Holidays wouldn't be complete without this most awaited event of the year. An annual event for everyone where there shouldn't have bitterness, only happiness. This only happens once in a year where everyone remembers Jesus, how he was conceived, His sufferings, His death, and how He came back to Earth.

Remembering the good old days, the memories brought me back to when I was a kid. During the Christmas season, I was seeing Christmas Belen everywhere, at church, school, and different houses. A young kid still doesn't know the true meaning of the nativity scene portrayed on Christmas Belen.

In my mind, all I knew was, the people on the Christmas Belen were baby Jesus, Mama Mary, Papa Joseph, and the Three Kings. That's how we called the holy family back then.

Showing love to Jesus, the celebrant, and each other has been part of our annual Christmas tradition, especially for Catholic parishioners, and my mother was still active in church when we were younger. But she became inactive when she had more naughty kids to handle during the day, and she would be exhausted at night, even on weekends.

Traditionally, she would wake me up very early on Sunday morning so we could catch the first mass. Then we would buy food at the market before heading back home. I still remember how she wants me to wear a dress when going to church. But, I don't like dresses. Or should I say, I wasn't comfortable wearing dresses?

My mother also taught us about the holy family and we kids were always excited about the annual baby Jesus kissing on his feet. In our place, every 24th of December, the Pastor, and his sacristan, but most of the time, only the sacristan would go house to house to show baby Jesus doll-like figure to the house family and we would kiss the feet or forehead of Baby Jesus. My mother would then put some money on the donation box for the church after we kissed the Baby Jesus.

After mass on the 25th of December, we kids would carry plastic bags with us and would roam around the town to collect candies or money from different families, going house to house. And the last stop would be our own village and we would visit our Godmothers/fathers). Some would hide, some were thrifty, while some were generous.

Spending the rest of the day with the family, and celebrating Christmas with or without food on our table. But our mother would always prepare at least pansit (vermicelli) or spaghetti for us, paired with sliced bread and coke. A family with an ordinary life, that small food on the table meant a lot to us. 

Can you still remember the funny memories during the Christmas season when you were a kid? Seeing Santa riding on his sleigh with the reindeers in television advertisements, I also wished to ride on it and hug the big belly of Santa Claus and receive a gift from him. And adults said that Santa would pass by on the midnight of the 24th, so we kids would look out of the window and would wait for his appearance.

However, we just fell asleep waiting for Santa to pass by and we never saw the shadow of his sleigh spreading glittering dust in the sky. Until we grew up and realized that all were just lies and adults just gave us false hope and created fantasy stories in our minds. Remembering those memories is fun though.

And putting socks on or near the window, can you still remember the reason why? As they said, Santa would put his gifts for us in the socks while we were sleeping. And they said that we would receive more gifts from him if we have bigger socks.

Lively and excited we were in the morning upon seeing the gifts inside our socks. And mostly candies and other wrapped foods. But kids love food and we were so happy with the thought that Santa put it on. Sometimes we would anticipate more, like the pretty toys he gave to the kids we've seen on the television.

Laughingly, my naughty brother one time broke our happiness when he spilled the beans. He revealed the truth and told us that he saw mama putting candies in our socks at night. We felt sad to learn that Santa isn't true. Yet, still happy to receive some gifts from our own mother.

Evening Christmas caroling memories are still clear in my mind. I would beg my young uncle to allow me to join his group despite having a not-so-good singing voice. Even the song Jingle Bells was sung like "Jingumbels." Can you relate? Just imagine me singing, 🎶"Jingumbels, jingumbels, jingol ol da wey."🎶 Oh don't laugh at me. I know you sang it that way too when you're a kid, lol. (Grammarly wants me to correct the spelling of jingumbels 🤣🤣)

Naughtily, we would sing, "Thank you, thank you, ang babarat ninyo (you are so niggardly), thank you!" To those house owners who were not so generous to us and would only give us Php 1 or 2 after singing several Christmas carols. Some would give none and would only tell us, "Just come back on Christmas day" after singing all the songs on our list. We exerted efforts though from clapping our hands, playing tambourines, and singing out loud that even the farthest neighbors could hear, just so they would give us generous tips for singing. So we would naughtily call them niggardly and would run so fast away from the house, lol. Then dogs would bark on us and we would scream and run faster, haha.

God knows how our hearts raced so fast while being chased by the dogs barking behind us. And we heaved a sigh of relief once we successfully entered our co-group member's house and shut the door. And I know that you have experienced the same as well, haha.

Endless memories we had indeed during the Christmas season back when we were kids, and those funny memories are truly indelible. Now, entering adult life, I somehow perceived Christmas differently. Candies and toys aren't valuable for me anymore. But I still anticipate Santa Claus, his sleigh, and the reindeers. Maybe because they symbolized Christmas, along with Baby Jesus.

Undeniably, even in adult life, we are still wishing to see real Santa on the street and wanted to take photos with him, hug his big belly, or caress his long white mustache, lol.


Those were just some of my childhood memories during the Christmas season. And it would take a plethora of time if I would list them all that are still vivid in my mind, lol.

I purposely made this acrostic for @TengoLoTodo Christmas Challenge 2021. However, in the middle of my writing, I read back my story and realized that it doesn't suit as entry to his contest. Besides, I don't have yet his special requirement.

Since I started it with acrostic, I continued writing and just I opted to submit this to @gertu13 Christmas Contest as it suits more her contest' theme.

You guys can join too. Click the link above for more information. I would like to invite @Sel to join this contest. She doesn't know yet what to write for her article. So I guess this topic would help her compose one.

Share your Christmas stories with us guys and join the contest.

Thanks for reading and happy writing.

©read.cash/@Jane (All Rights Reserved 2021)

Special shout out to @Eylz2021 for renewing her sponsorship. Thanks sis

36
$ 11.63
$ 8.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
+ 25
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Congratulations you have received $2 as a prize from my Christmas challenge random drawing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And only 11 days left. Then everyone can say Christmas together. Christmas is being beautifully arranged in different places in our country. Colourful lights are being installed, the roads are being cleaned, various food is being organized. All in all, a festival environment has been created. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our tradition is gifts under the tree, we never put socks under the tree. It is a time of great fun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We used to put our socks up over the fire place. Merry Christmas Jane, going to read your entry now 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sure 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a child Christmas was my favorite time, everything seemed so magical, I don't remember when I found out that it wasn't Santa or Baby Jesus in my case who brought the gifts, but even so, it continued to be a special and awaited time of the year. Thanks for sharing your memories, Jane 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Welcome Coqui. You can share your stories too 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You make me wanna fly to North Pole and find Santa! Merry Christmas, sis!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same to you sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back to memory lane😁... I also wished to have been born in America (un lng ung bansa na alam namin nung bata pa kmi na my snow🤣) and witness santa and all the illusions of Christmas. Simple dto sa amin ngunit angsaya pag pasko

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ako naman north pole..kung saan si santa 🤣. Mkafeel ng snow at makita elves nya at si Rudolph 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami nung bata pa, alam na namin na di totoo si santa haha. Kasi si Mama at Papa direktang nagbibigay ng gifts sa amin. 😄

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha..buti pa kyo hndi nauto 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your participation. We all remember that bad day when we learned the cruel reality. Hehehe. But it was still Christmas with lies, truth and all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And fun 😁 Thanks for this event too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAH brings back memory. Kami dati kahit dipa december ready na agad lahat mga gamit namin pang ngaroling, yung mga tansan na pinupukpok ng bato HAHAH

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo.. Cheap version tambourine 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really want to spend the holiday with you 😊… your number tricked you all with Santa’s gift but it’s the most prettiest thing I’ve ever seen.. you revived Christmas with this write up it’s going to bring back old memories and the possibilities of making new ones…

Merry Christmas dear

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same to you dear 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen children traumatize knowing that Santa is not real. And some find out that fast, from bad friends ahah. They literally have to reboot after that. It is traumatic to learn that all the illusion of these gifts is nothing more than the sacrifice of the parents. But then you understand that Christmas is sharing with others, family and friends and spreading love wherever we are.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

But we still smile while seeing people wearing santa costume 😁. As if they arenreal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These Santa Claus costumes are not used much around here. I have never seen one in my life in person. That says it all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously? I saw it many times 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hell yeah for Christmas! You did it perfectly. Best of luck for contest

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yung jemgul belss talaga 😅yung anak ko ngayon ,dahil alam nyang malapit ang pasko ,araw araw kumanta ng jemgul bels🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha..d mawala2 yang jingumbels sa kabataan 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas is a big deal. And the most exciting part is that it's here already 😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your article makes me smile and reminisce the times when I was a kid. It was such a good memories and pure happiness. Have a merry Christmas to you .. God Bless.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe i remember myself here. Singing that song and yes hahahha kinanta ko hindi ko binsasa. Ako din maglalagay din ngmedyas noon pero ngayun hahah paos na

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mali dn lyrics mo 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad to hear these sweet memories, the way you were used to celebrate Christmas with your family, and the way your mom taught you to be a good parishioner. The thing i like most is putting socks for receiving gifts from Santa.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Panay ngiti ko habang nagbabasa sis, naalala ko at sobrang namiss ang dating pasko, ibang iba na kasi ngaun. At yung pangangaroling, naku ganyan na ganyan kami,😂😂 tapos pag di kami binigyan ang babarat na, sabay karipas ng takbo..😂😂😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sobra iba..sna bata ulit sa pasko ,🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap balikan ng mga Memories na yun ate Jane. Christmas is really fastly Approaching.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those gold memories talaga ano ang sarap balikan. Paniwalang paniwala din ako sa paglalagay ng sock noin ee hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hndi ako nag iisa 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas in advance 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas is nearer yeyyy 🎄💖 Advance guys have a blessed Christmas.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Christmas was more fun in the past,but now people are all grown up and no longer look forward to celebrating it again, let's hope this Christmas would be more fun with our loved ones.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Christmas is really fun . I enjoyed your post about Christmas, I even write an article planning to build a great Christmas memories, Christmas is getting near . Happy Christmas in advance dear sis jane❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha inggit ako di ko naranasan mag carolling... d ko din naranasan na mag ikot during Christmas but we do visit my grandparents to greet them and have lunch with them tapos yun na uwi na kami ng bahay ... wento ko na lang sa article haba pala hahaha pero ang saya ng childhood memories mo pag pasko

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Iarticle na yan 🤣..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha yep yun gawin ko para kay Gertu hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're lucky to have Christmas decorations here and there. It's quite the opposite here, we have none. Chrsitmas spirit died already..

I remember that Christmas used to be so much more fun when I as a kid, but not anymore.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh sad.. We don't have here at my boss' house, but everywhere in hk has

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your artie made me realize that christmas is getting nearer , have a joyous christmas 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas was very fun for me when I was a kid, my favourite memory was waking up on Christmas morning and sitting in front of the TV to watch different cartoons that are tailored for Christmas while waiting for my mom to finish cooking. But these days, Christmas is no longer fun as it used to be in the past, but I am still happy to spend it with my family

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True.. It's really different now. It was funnier in the past

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Daming memories na bumalik talaga. From kissing baby Jesus, to pangangaroling, to pagkanta sa christmas song na mali yung lyrics, plus minsan papatayan pa kami ng ilaw minsan. Haha.

Gonna try to join this contest ate.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣 hala d ko nasama yan..pinatyan dn kmi ng ilaw nun 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have you been a good girl or you're on the naughty list? 😆 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ahm.. Both 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what I want to hear :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago