Christmas that I used to know

40 45
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

December 12, 2021

It's the most wonderful time of the year! ...playing right now on youtube while I'm writing this.

Indeed it is really the most wonderful time of the year ever since I was a kid though it did change for some time and until now I still haven't done all the stuff that I used to do for Christmas.

Christmas used to be my favorite season especially when both of my parents are still alive. As early as September I start buying gifts and new Christmas decors because I want my Christmas theme different each year. When I started working at the age of 21, my mom made me in charge of our Christmas decors and because I really loved decorating our house especially during this season I gladly accepted it and used all my salary to buy gifts and new decors and even curtains. My first theme was color red as it is my favorite color, then the following year it was blue, then silver then, purple and when I ran out of color I always go back to red and pair it with another color. That is how I used to decor our house every Christmas.

Christmas tree at my brother's house

I never experienced joining caroling groups since my Dad doesn't allow me to be out of the house after 6 pm so I just enjoyed watching kids sing in front of our house, some just sing and some even dance. It was fun watching them though especially when they are dancing. But what excites me the most is when we are going to watch Christmas displays in COD in Cubao, the one in Anson and then later on in Greenhills too, where their displays are animated or should I say all moving with Christmas carols playing over and over again. I loved watching Christmas lights displays with different colors blinking and sometimes even dancing to the tune of the Christmas Carols it looks so festive and joyous.

Another thing that I loved the most about Christmas is the thought of giving and receiving. I loved receiving gifts but not as much as how I loved giving gifts. I loved the thought of carefully choosing something for family and friends. And the best part is wrapping it up beautifully with ribbons and trimmings. Then putting it all under my well-lit Christmas tree. The feeling is different when you see loads of gifts under your Christmas tree and know that you'll make someone happy just by giving them something.

And let's not forget the food!

Every Christmas Eve my mom always prepares something for us to eat for the Noche Buena. We have Chinese ham, Quezo de bola, (Christmas is not happening if that two isn't on our table) bacon, eggs, hotdogs, bread, and salad (three different salad), and our favorite during Noche Buena is the hot chocolate drink that mom made every Christmas. (Sorry Mom, been sleeping during Christmas eve ever since you left, think I'll make up this year) I don't know why but hot chocolate drinks that mom made during Christmas Eve taste different than when she made it during ordinary days. I guess it's the season and the weather that makes it tastier. Wanna know why mom prepares three different salads? Because my Dad's favorite is Chicken Potato Salad, while my favorite is Chicken Macaroni Salad and mom wants Fruit Salad, my two brothers just ate whatever is on the table while I and my Dad always request those salads to be present during Christmas.

Santa's gifts!

Santa's gifts make Christmas Eve more exciting. Would you believe I never caught my parents putting gifts on my Christmas socks? That's is why until now I do believe that Santa is real. Though now I'm the one who buys the gifts that will go to my niece's and nephews' socks. But still, I know in my heart that Santa is real, it is just that he doesn't make it up here because we are so far from the North Pole. Right Santa?

Christmas Day!

We start the day by hearing mass. That's always the first agenda to give thanks and to greet baby Jesus then after the mass we all go to my grandparent's house where other relatives will be there also. It's a family tradition to have lunch together at their house every Christmas and this is also the reason why I never experience going around in every house. I always call it lunch with gifts, because it is the time where we all give gifts to each other after having lunch, everyone gets something especially the kids, the star of the day. I remember how we all lined up just to receive cash and a gift that is beautifully wrapped from my Lolo (grandpa). After lunch and receiving gifts we all went home to our own houses and spend the rest of the day with the family.

That is the Christmas that I used to know... That is how my Christmas used to be when my lolo and my parents are still alive and God knows how much I missed them especially during this season.


And this is my entry to @TengoLoTodo and @gertu13 #ChristmasChallenge. And if you want to join the challege you can visit their article Christmas Challenge 2021 and Hey you! This is the promised "Christmas contest." . All the requirements are in their article and it is so easy.


Thanks for your time reading this article, if you enjoy reading it hope you're gonna click that button to like and subscribe. By the way, let's talk some more so I hope you will leave a comment below and share with me your thoughts.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)

16
$ 10.03
$ 9.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
+ 13
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

di ko pa natry mgcelebrate ng Christmas na my mga ganyang handa like Queso de Bola,ham.Nkikicelebrate lang kami sa bahay ng Lola namin at nangangaroling kami ng mga pinsan ko para mgkapera

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung ham nung bata ako tuwing pasko at bagong taon ko lang natitikman. Laging may paham at keso de bola sa work ni mamat papa. Tapos lagi akong kasama sa pangangaroling para may pera. Ay kakatuwa. Ansaya kaya na nakakahiya. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your Christmas memories, and in many ways, some are similar to mine. We usually have Chicken Salad and a Fruit Salad with Christmas food, which we call a sweet salad. I don't remember when I found out about Santa Claus, but here, in reality, the one who brings the presents is Baby Jesus. I guess I was little because most of my cousins were older than me. When my son was little, I enjoyed giving him presents from Baby Jesus and all that Christmas magic. I think I have to write for one of the challenges; hehe, you have inspired me, sis. 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang saya mangaroling tapos kapag dika binigyan sasabihin mo thank you thank you Ang babarat ninyo thank you 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

d ko naranasan yun sis.. nalaman ko nga lang na may nakatira pala sa kabilang compound eh high school na ako.. . d kasi ako nakakalabas ng gate namin nun hehe so kami kami lang magpipinsan ang magkakalaro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the sponsorship!

I appreciate!

Stay Blessed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is interesting to see that a lot of preparation is made towards the material significance of the celebration but it seems to me that the spiritual meaning is key.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

material and spiritual should go hand in hand sis... you may only see the material prep but we also have time to give thanks and praise him. .. and i think i included it there that the first thing that we do on Christmas is hear mass :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

keso de bola, always present sa table every Christmas haha parang tradisyon na rin ate noh na merong keso de bola sa lamesa haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo sis...as in tradisyon na din talga namin yun... hindi magpapasko sa bahay namin pag wala yung quezo de bola at chinese ham... kapatid ko ginagawa pa din yun pero ako nag stop hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I liked the decorations, the carol singing is very nice and the colorful decorated stores, all very beautiful. The food is the best thing about Christmas. Happy day

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happy day Frankmart.. thanks! yep.. food is the best thing about Christmas lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your Christmas tree is so beautiful. I like the silver and white accent. It really pops out the color.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you dear for your entry. In my country there is also a custom with chicken salad. In addition to other typical dishes for both Christmas and New Year. I also love to give gifts in the family.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep same here for both Christmas and New Year and sometimes the food during new year is plentier than we have on Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is the Same here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love the tree and his curtains are like mine except mine are blue 😂 What is Chinese ham, is that what you showed the pic of? Well Eylz you had a good time I can tell. Here is to plenty of your favourite salad this year.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Ed! Yap.. the one in the pix, Chinese ham is just like the serrano ham from Spain, bone in and taste real good too. My fave salad? Yep got ingredients already will just whip it out before Christmas eve.... and Yep, i really had lots of fun then ...our house used to be the most beautiful here in our compound back then but I can't bring back the excitement anymore :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaka miss ang Greenhills! Naalala ko tuloy ka roommate ko dati pagdadaan kami jan, sasabihin nya "dami tinda, tayo walang pera" hahah!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ahahahaha ang dami kasi lagi tinda dun sis hahaha tsaka ang saya lang lagi.. this year d ko pa alam d pa ako nagpunta ng greenhills hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganda nang Christmas tree ni Bro.. I miss the carolings also and I never experience going out to watch fireworks displays for we only stayed at home or went to our grandparents house

The best part really is the gift giving ..aigooo

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep... last year red and silver ang decor nila hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dito sa office green and gold motiff ni Lady Boss...sa bahay assorted hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganda din yung gold and green sis... si nanay befpre mahilig. sa green eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maka BCH pala si Nanay hiihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo sis kung buhay yun malamang maka bch din sya ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahahaha magkakasundo kayo sa BCH maam hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the Christmas tree with your brother sis.🥰 I love the color.❤️

We have a lot of memories of Christmas sis. Those memories are really unforgettable for us. The memorable one. The most exciting part when you are preparing and busy before Christmas Eve.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you sis! And Yep.. will always stay in your heart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your brother's Christmas tree because I have never seen only two colours green and white together in a christmas tree.. looks so pretty and unique

$ 0.02
2 years ago

that is how we decorated our Christmas tree.. we rarely put too many colors on it. thanks doll!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are the same, I no longer have my parents as well. This will be our first Christmas without my mama. I think your mom gave you "tablea", it used to be my favorite drink my Lola gave me for my breakfast when I was in highschool. If am not mistaken. I wish you a Merry Christmas sis.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks jas! yep.. think i have to make my own hot chocolate drink this Christmas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My lola used to have a special "roller" just for tablea. Good luck in making your own hot chocolate. I think that's a wonderful tradition that I could start doing for my kids :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep itnis... aside from the joy that Christmas brings they gonna look for it every Christmas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I could visit you on Christmas, sis!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks sis! chikahan lang natin sis enough na sa akin :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww I feel the essence of xmas in your article 🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Melissa! Merry Christmas!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes , have a joyous xmas 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago