Forgive Me, Father For I Have Sinned

92 144
Avatar for Bloghound
1 year ago

"Forgive me, Father for I have sinned."

I was born and raised Catholic and in our faith, this is what you first say when you confess your sins you have committed.

Disclaimer:

I am not a very religious person and I do not go to church often, but I highly respect my faith and that is unwavering. This is also based on a Catholic faith (which I rarely discuss on my blogs) and not intended to disrespect any other beliefs. If you do not practice what is written below, please respect and go to the next post. Thank you very much.

Greetings, lovely read.cash people!

In the Roman Catholic Church, people confess their sins in their lives and to encounter God's mending through absolution or forgiveness. It is likewise allows reconciliation with the church, which is injured by the wrongdoings people did. Catholics do confess their wrongdoings to a priest since that is the way for pardoning that God has established long time ago. It is only The Father Almighty has the ability to pardon sins, and the son of God allowed that position to His apostles.

My Daughter's First Confession

Earlier today around 8 am, was my daughter's first confession and it was held at her school. I woke up very early to get her prepared. Her school is in other town next to our town so we needed to be there 15 minutes before the confession starts. We also took a public trike since we do not have a vehicle.

When we got to school, we initially took some photographs in front of the school chapel where the confession will be held, then we went on to the Elementary building for checking of their attendance.

My daughter in front of their school chapel
Going to Elementary Building
Checking attendance
On their way to the chapel
Briefing at the chapel before confession

It was my daughter's first time to see her schoolmates after 2 long years being stuck at home, and was happy seeing them again including her teachers. She was only in first grade when the pandemic began and in a couple of months, she will be a fourth grader. How time flies.

Subsequent to checking of participation, they went to the church to begin their first confession.

My daughter's turn (her first confession)

Most Catholic kids especially here in the Philippines go for their first confession when they turned 9 years old or particularly when they are in 3rd grade. They need to receive their first confession in order to receive their first communion after they have met all the Catholic Church's requirements.

A Few Things To Know About Confession

  • Do not be afraid to go to confession. Instead attempting to conceal your wrongdoings, go to confession so you can be pardoned and receive the grace of God

  • The priest will never let anybody know everything that you have confessed to him.

  • The priest will be glad to hear your confession. It is a delight for him to have the option to pardon your sins through Jesus' mercy.

After confession, the priest will recite the Prayer of Absolution

"God, the Father of mercies, through the death and resurrection of his Son has reconciled the world to himself and sent the Holy Spirit among us for the forgiveness of sins; through the ministry of the Church may God give you pardon and peace, and I absolve you from your sins in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit."

The person who confessed his/her sins recites the Act of Contrition

"Oh, my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended Thee, and I detest all my sins because I dread the loss of Heaven and the pains of Hell. But, most of all, because they have offended Thee, my God, Who art all good, and deserving of all my love. I firmly resolve, with the help of Thy Grace, to confess my sins, to do penance, and to amend my life. Amen."

Later after that, the priest will then assign a nominal penance, and it is usually the recitation of some short prayers, which the penitent does after leaving the confessional.

Next week is already Holy Week and as a Catholic, we do celebrate it every year as a commemoration of the passion, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ our Saviour. This is also the best time to confess our sins although we can do that anytime of the year. Holy Week actually begins on Palm Sunday (that would be on coming Sunday) and ends with the Easter Vigil Mass on Saturday evening. And then we celebrate the resurrections on Easter Sunday (the next day).

The Lent however does not end until the Mass of the Lord's Supper which is celebrated in the evening on Holy Thursday.

Holy week is a time of reflection and repentance about what we might have done during the previous year and a pledge to do better in the next coming year onwards.

May we all spend these special holidays in peace and with love in our hearts.

One love,

@Bloghound

You can also find me here:

noise. cash   - Hive  -  Blurt   -  Appics - DTube 3Speaks

#Bloghound #Bloghoundism and I am a member of #ClubBrokeBch

April 8, 2022

11:00 pm PST

In between the farm and the beach

Philippines

(All photos posted above are my own and taken by me unless stated otherwise)

Copyright @Bloghound 2022. All Rights Reserved.

To my wonderful and amazing daily readers and my generous sponsors, thank you all so much! 

48
$ 6.40
$ 5.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.07 from @Giddyboy
+ 36
Sponsors of Bloghound
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bloghound
1 year ago

Comments

Nakakaexcite Naman hehe. Sinabi Niya ba Sayo ano sinabi Niya sis?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, sis. Sometimes daw she's not listening to mommy :D hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh..hehe kabait naman talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just love to know new things about the religious and belief of the world. It really nice to make confession. We must respect all the religion of the world

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad to hear that, @CrazyWrites ♡

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am also a Catholic who practiced some church activities especially within this Lenten season. I am happy for your daughter that she could now receive the body of Christ. I am also excited for my elder son.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm a Christian but not catholic. We ask for forgiveness directly from God through Jesus by faith, and don't need to confess our sins to a priest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ka nice po sa experience talaga ang makapagkumpisal like me who actually experienced this as well once during my elementary days. Excited po anak niyo hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Excited din ba daughter mo Sis? Mga bata dito sobrang excited sa kumpisal nila then pag pasok sa simbahan kakabahan hahha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Excited naman sya sis heheh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love your disclaimer and rightly so. It's shocking how people can be so judgmental sometimes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala nagtayag en suna.

Mayat kuma agbisita dita nu holy week.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

wen hehe umay kayo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda ng anak mo sis. Tunay na kapag katoliko hindi nawawala ang first communion. Ang alam ko grade4 nag first communnion ang mga bata

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do believe that spirituality plays a major role in a kid's future- if we teach them "holy fear", it will be their guide to always do what is right according to the eyes of God. Congrats sa pretty baby mo sis. I am happy that she finally met her classmates. The next will be the first communion, right?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, sis. Yes, first Communion na nila after Holy Week naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww that is a once in a lifetime event sis :) Handa na ba ang dress ni baby?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never experienced like this, because I am not Catholic but I respected other religions..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I respect everyone's religion too @Dawn_Dii :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your daughter is so beautiful my friend. Anyway, I'm so happy to see these kids wesring their uniforms and having theit confession.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much, Felize :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember my first communion and confession at school during my elementary days Maam and I feel so relief because I finally release all the wrongdoings i've done and my faith to God became stronger after that because i have a great feeling that God never abandoned me and He forgave me. Nice to meet you maam, a novice writer here❤️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's wonderful, Lorelei. Nice to meet you too :) Just call me ate hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your daughter is really beautiful. I learnt so much about the Catholic's way of confessing their sins.

In movies, I do watch some hardened criminals, in church, confessing. But the preist's would actually be in a small enclosed space, while the other person remains outside, sometimes the priest face isn't seen. Seeing it clearly here, with your daughter and the priest being clearly visible, seems like the are different positions or styles of laying out confession.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, Ella. This was done in her school. 3rd and 4th graders did their first confession and there are a lot of them this is why they did it that way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh! Now I fully understand the concept. Thanks for elaborating, I initially had no idea that this was a school setting. Thanks hound.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Then do you believe in your religion that Jesus Christ is the Son of God? But I know God is one and unique. Anyway, corona epidemic has taken away two years of joy for students all over the world. Still, be careful of your daughter.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I believe in our faith, Seik. I'll leave it as that. Happy weekend, my friend/

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Confess our sins to our Lord Jesus Christ is very important, it's good for us para naman maibsan ang mga kasalanan natin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen, sis. Para magaan pakiramdam natin :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis, tama po, napaka gaan talaga ang pakiramdam natin kapag ganun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So happy to see kids in uniform marching inside their school grounds ... Happy to see kids see their friends after a long while!

Wait f 2 f na ba sila after that?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me too, Pich. Hopefully next school year f2f na sila unless may emergency na naman. Wag naman sana. It's so tiring na eh hehe. Happy weekend!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

After two long years, nagkita nadin sila ng mga kaklase nya sis. I am sure nag enjoy sila hihihi. Happy for her first confession.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaya nga, sis hehe. Kahit 2 oras lang happy naman na sila. Salamat, Seq :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nkakamiss mkakita ng nka school uniform sis. Buti nmn at nka confession na c bb gurl. Di rin ako palasimba sis at nkaka attend lng ako sa school mass ni eldest ksi catholic school yun eh. Pee holy week syo sis!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo nga, sis. Salamat. A blessed Holy week din sayo :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My niece's confession was also yesterday. Halos sabay sabay din pala yan

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ay talaga, Charlotte? MOstly kasi bago mag Holy Week dinadaos ang first confession.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko din yung samin dati sis, binilhan pa ako ni papa ng damit sa divisoria para may magamit kasi dapat white kami lahat,nakakagaan sa feeling after the confession,.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True that, momshie. Tagal ko na ding di nakapag confess eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remembered the first time to confess was when I was in second grade and it was a great feeling to confess everything and ask for forgiveness with all my heart.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That was wonderful, chamybels!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm going to share this article with a Catholic friend of mine, she do tell me a lot about confession, I'm sure she will be glad to read this and be glad I learnt from this too..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awww. Thank you, my friend. That was so kind of you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This was her reply

God bless the writer🙏

I'm very proud to be a CATHOLIC...... I LOVE MY FAITH, I LOVE MY CHURCH, I LOVE CATHOLIC❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ohhhhhh tell her God Bless her too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen.😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember my mom sis she was really a very religious person evey Sunday of the year she'll always present and when I'm so lazy I wouldnt go I'll need to go to the confession room before my whole week start once more. Nasa private school po daughter nyo sis?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ay talaga, sis? Yes, sis. Private sya hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sissy kpg ngconfess ba lahat ng tinatago natin o lihim need sabihin sa pari? Anyway ang ganda ganda ng anak mo sissy, nqclear ko n din sa wakas

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, sis. Lahat ng naging kasalanan mo, mortal man or maliit lang. Thank you, sis. XOxoxo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nakalimutan ko na Holy Week na pala. iba pa rin ang Holy week sa Pilipinas.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, sis. The best mag Holy Week dito :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is a good thing to teach children to confess, although I am not a Christian, but I watch it in the movies and find it a good and comforting thing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, doc Lara!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good thing classes are back now in your area and kids don't get bored anymore at home. Sadly in our province F2F is 50/50 for now , 50 for push to F2F and 50 for not.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wala pa, sis. First Confession lang po yan :) Sa Catholic School sya kasi at requirement yan sa Religion subject nila :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko tuloy yung first communion ko nung elementary ako sis. Nagsuot kami ng color white tyaka yung sa head sis na nilalagay.

Ang cute ng daughter mo sis. 🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ganun din samin nun, sis. Thank you po,tita :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis. Di talaga natin nakalimutan sis. You're always welcome sis. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is something I like about catholic. Maybe it is the sense of orderliness with which everything is done. Congratulations to your daughter 👏

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much, Aimure :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nung nagcommunion ako, kagagaling ko lang sa bulutong hahhaa. I can't forget kasi sa picture ko may bakas pa ng bulutong hahaha. Forgive me father for I have sinned, alam na nya yun. di ko na isaisahin 😂😂😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ay hehe di bale at bata ka pa naman nun, sis :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am have always been fascinated by catholic practices. Despite being a Muslim I attended a catholic primary school and even started the secondary school. We recite the Angelus on even go to church from time to time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awe. I appreciate that, Doc Lay :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome ma'am. ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's so good to see that children are still being encouraged to go for confession. I was into catholic when I was litlte and I really enjoyed those their classes before being allowed to some certain things in the system

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Was happy to seem too, Kacy :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

must be recognized as human beings are limited many times the actions and actions that we do are not in accordance with His will. if only humans could count it maybe we would understand that God loves us very much as human beings full of mistakes and sins only a prayer of forgiveness to Him we can be saved and you and your child have done it, always blessed

$ 0.01
1 year ago

truly, reanbooks!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just suddenly remember when I had my first confession, I was really nervous and scared 😅, but I am also excited to share my confession to the priest.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe same, sis :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also studied in a Catholic school, elementary, high school and college.

Before receiving Holy Communion, we are required first to have a confession and I still remember that after you said the words, "Father forgive me for I have sinned" next thing to say is, "My last confession was last year" or if first time, "This is my first confession Father" ganern. Hehe.

Kakamiss din ung kakabahan ka pag turn mo na to confess. Tsaka na cguro next confession ko kapag before "ikasal", chariz.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, sis ganun nga hehe. Long tme no see, sis. Nice to see you again here :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thankyou sis. Wala masyado time gumawa article e. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good to see the little cute daughter again in school with her friends. GOD bless both of you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, Dreamboy. You too, my friend!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really did not know there will be confessions for kids as younger as Ari.. hope it all went fine and not stressful to her. She looks gorgeous

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I was at her age when I had my first confession too, doll. Thank you, it was a good day and she was happy seeing her classmates and teachers after 2 years hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is great, please give her my hugs.. love you guys

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Xoxo back a ya, sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a beautiful moment it is for your daughter seeing her classmates again after such a long time

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am happy to see them too, Bilqess :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

feel touched by the appearance of this picture a very beautiful little woman in school clothes like an adult woman has been taught to be devoted to mother and church, your child really has a sincere soul.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh thank you, pajeroz :) In our faith, it is an obligation. Good evening, my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di rin ako religious na tao pero I always talk to God kahit saan man ako mgpunta. Anyway about confession I think last time I confess sa priest is nung high school pa ako. I have did a very big sin na need talaga ikumpisal pero kinakausap ko nalang si God at lagi akong humihingi ng sorry sa kanya.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same, sis. Tagal ko na ding hindi nakaconfess ulet. But I do talk to God in my own little corner. I am sure, God has forgiven you, sis. Good evening!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes for me kasi God is everywhere. Good evening din sayo sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know you and your daughter have been forgiven . Just don't go back to it stay safe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

All of us, Captain. Xoxo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago