Of losses and wins

59 124
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

I was just talking about him in my previous blog. My paternal grandpa. I got used to seeing him in our parents' home whenever I visit. During the last days of his life, he got spend it at home. He really would have wanted to go to his own home but nobody can take care of him fully there. My sister and family would bring him there sometimes when he really insists or if there is free time.

As most of you know, our grandpa died last January. It's still hard to accept. I still miss him.

I also miss one of by best mates. We used to hang out a lot but since moving away and working overseas, we haven't had the time to bond. Whenever he comes home, he would spend at least a day here in the city. It would just be a surprise really. He would inform if he is already here and I would have to drop everything that I'm doing to go meet him.

I also miss my brother and family. It's been three years since they left home and moved some place else.

I also miss another friend who got stuck in another country since pandemic.

It's inevitable that people move away but what's important is that we remain friends.

We are all given opportunities but it's not the same with everyone. What matters is what we do with those opportunities that come our way. If we choose to grab those opportunities, we should be grateful with whatever we get from them be it small or great.

I am grateful for platforms like read where I can earn and express myself freely through writing, photography and sometimes videos. I also get to meet different people virtually and be awed and inspired by what they share.

I posted about Steemit contests and I have been joining them. This is my entry for another contest with the theme of cityscape. You can read more about that here. That is an opportunity that won me 2 Steem as a reward.

Because of what I earn from these platforms, more opportunities have been opened for us. We now have the opportunity to take care of ourselves more through our own efforts and to share those blessings to others.

What opportunities are you grateful for?

Time with family. That is one thing I am grateful for that I didn't have last year.

We all know what was the effect of the pandemic to us all. Everything was restricted including travel. Thus, we haven't had the chance to spend more time with family. Not only travel but some lost their source of income, some had to give up their vocation and in effect it limited our resources.

When our grandpa died, it was a huge loss to us all. You can feel the sadness from everyone.

Heartbreaking that may be, it is quite ironic that it was during tragic times like this that family, friends and relatives come together. It's an opportune time that travel was eased such that people have the chance to pay their respects to our grandpa. Therefore, we have had more time to bond with our relatives and family.

Everything in this world has balance. We lost some, we win some. Yes, it's terrible and sad and lonely and frustrating to lose someone or something. However, life still gives us opportunities to make our life worthwhile.

So cheer up! Have a change of perspective. Have a change of heart and live!

I wanted to answer these questions that JustMaryel posted. You can check her post here.


Do you have a job? Is it full-time or part-time? Do you make a lot of money?

Yes. Yes. Yes. No.

Yes, I have a job which I can do full time or part time. That depends on my mood or when I have some errands that needs to be done. It's a production basis so you are free to work or not work. That's why I say it can be full time or part time. Makes sense?

However, it's not a high paying job. It's just enough to sustain myself.

I consider read and other platforms as my part time.

How do you usually pay when you go shopping?

Credit card. I prefer that because I am only after the points plus it's easier and more convenient so that I don't have to bring a lot of cash. The only issue I have is that it is not widely acceptable so I have to go to places where I can use it.

What was the thing you bought? Where did you buy it? Talk about it.

Cakes!

Today is one of my niblings graduation that's why it's a bit busy day for us. I was in charge of cakes. I was impressed for how much improvement this shop had in terms of their cakes. The ones at the bottom are sweet potato cakes but it was the mango cake that caught my eye. We used to go to their main branch for cakes and other food. Good thing they opened a shop near our parents' house and that's where I bought one. I also bought another cake from one of the newer shops across but I didn't manage to take a photo.

What's the most you have ever spent on a gift? What was it? Who was it for?

I think it was shoes about $30.00 each. I bought my partner and my brother shoes from a friend. It was a bargain actually. It was almost half the original price. She said that they had been stuck for a long time and she just can't sell them. That's why she decided to mark down the price.

I honestly thought that I already made an article for today here in read. I got busy earlier and when I got home, I relaxed a bit not realizing that I have not made an entry here in this platform.

I got busy also trying to think what entries should I submit for the other platforms.

Anyway, I'll try to maximize my time her by checking your articles and sharing some BCH. I'll most probably not leave a comment for now.

33
$ 5.55
$ 4.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 27
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Same with wanderingmed, its my first time seeing a cake made with sweetpotato 😅.

My condolences about your grandfather.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know how they do it but I think they just add some sweet potato like what you do with carrot cake :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I understand what you feel kuya about your grandfather. My condolences, I, too, lost a loved one in that month. It's never easy to move on specially that they were a big part of our lives.

I'm curious about what the sweetpotato cake tastes like. Of course, I know what a sweetpotato tastes but I can't imagine how it would be as a cake.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not entirely made of sweet potato but you can taste it. Like what they do with banana bread or carrot cake, they just add some sweet potato to the mix :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Losing someone is really hurt us. But we should continue our life with new start.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That indeed is true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In our life we have to understand it nobody can live forever. We will lose and gain. but we like to accept gain and hurt by lose.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those are words of truth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember one time when my Grampz was still alive and missing his children he would say that he wished to be dead so that his children will come by and visit him

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ouch! Tagos sa puso naman yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

in life, we will at some point lose someone and it breaks our heart... but life has to move on..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So true. Life and death happen at the same time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

if you don't know, we're currently grieving because my lolo died recently. hehe. your photo deserved to be on the second place. it is great shot!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How are you and the family? My condolences again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oiii worth 1st place yong photo mo apaka ganda 😍.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madami pa mas magagaling talaga hehe. Nachambahan lang :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's painful to lose a love one. Hoping you'll get over it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It still triggers me when I get to read about death.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww. I posted about it when I lost my parents.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The pandemic has really limited activities so that jobs that should have income opportunities are finally eliminated, there are many ways that some people try to get up by taking advantage of every opportunity that exists, even because they are stuck with the need for someone to take actions that are not good and harm others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Different situations call for different actions and reactions. We should always put in mind not hurting others or ourselves in the process.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am grateful for such a place as read cash too where I can express myself, share my knowledge and gain from other people's own too.

How are you holding up? Grandpa is in a better place. I know the memory is still fresh but own those feelings and memories. There is no right or wrong way to grieve.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for asking. We are coping just fine :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad. Well done. We keep pushing through with the strength regardless.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Condolences po at congrats sa nagtapos. Kuya pareho tayo ng sagot sa dalawang sagot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now ko lang nakita un sorry haha! Nidelete ko na. Di ko ata nakita un question na yun nung sinagutan ko to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Condolences to your grandpa. Last month din nmatay auntie ko kaya nagkita kita kmi mgpipinsan. Goodluck to your entry at steemit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat :) Join ka na din sa Steemit :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pass muna Lee madyo di na kaya ng powers ko hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakaka overwhelm din daming platforms hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True pero mnsan gusto ko matulog buong araw hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Much to be grateful for despite some temporary losses :) Congrats to your wins! Mayat daytoy nga prompt :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed :) Imbag na lang adu pagpilyan nga prompts hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wen, no sumro mental block ket adda lusot hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let this be my article later on, sir. I would love to answer these type of questions

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awesome! :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good article to make an in-depth analysis of what we spend on what and also to let us know if we should change something or not. On the other hand, I'm sorry about your grandfather, it's never easy to get over a death, as natural as it may be, is a difficult void to fill

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's profound - a void that can never be filled.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel sorry for your grandfather's death, may he rest in peace It is very difficult to part with the loved ones with whom we share beautiful memories As for me, I have never met any of my grandparents and I feel bad because I couldn't make some memories with them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for your words of comfort. Much appreciated!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do pay with my debit card when I go out for shopping and if I don't have that with me, I will definitely have cash with me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes the machine fail but I don't have cash with me so I can't pay lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I belong to a middle-class family. So middle-class children are very sensitive and got things very soon about luxury life. Even though I was a younger child in my family, I never got what I wanted. From time to time, I realized to wish for bigger things is useless. So I never demanded or fight for more pocket money or toys. I grow up soon and got my family situation easily. I have no regret about it. I am very thankful to my parents. They always supported me too much indeed. Allumdulliah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God bless all parents who are as supportive as yours :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Last December also was out semi reunion with our other relatives when my father passed away, so sad but what can we do every one of us has his own life that is far from each other. May your grand Pa rest in the Lord's eternal peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. We can't be there for everyone but let's do what we can to those who are near and around us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May your grandpa's soul be at peace dear. Exactly, we always miss those we are away from. But distances never diminish our friendship and love for them. Wow those cakes are so delicious...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for those kind words :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo. Nakakasad na nakokompleto lang ang pamilya kapag may isang aalis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sadyang ganun yata talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I have... That's money was my endeavor. Pinagpagoran ko Ang perang Yun... Kaso ninakaw lang hayst🤧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Saklap talaga pag ganyan. Isipin na lang na sana gamitin sa magandang paraan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hopefully ma realize nila Yun but I'm praying to above that they'll have conscience

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Time with family sobrang totoo yan. Kaya tong mga platforms nato napakalaking blessings satin. Ang laki ng tulong tas ang daming advantage para satin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga e. Kaya tuloy lang sa pagsulat :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Death leaves a pain no one can ever heal, my grand ma died last year in feb and still it's unbelievable to me that she is no more with me, although memories are best part of life and memories always stay with us, may god give you patience!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed it takes time to move on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The thing is, we don't value that togetherness that much until we no longer have the chance to meet again. And that is when we realised that we have missed a great opportunity in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is true. We don't realize what we are missing when it's gone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago