My Streetphotography: I see in black and white

92 113
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Bloghound talked about her photography enthusiasm and I want to talk a little bit of some of my photos too.

She's the reason why I started my photography journey. I'm sure you all know how amazing her shots are. Who wouldn't be enticed and encouraged to take photos too.

The photos below were taken pre-pandemic time.

This is my first photo in my IG account. Do you have Instagram account? What was the first photo that you uploaded there?

Back then I opened an account but decided to upload black and white photos. There were a handful of colored ones but mostly all are in black and white. There were less than 100 photos there.

The photo above is the hospital in our town. It rained that day but not for long so I decided to go out for a walk.

I have been to that hospital to visit family, friends, relatives, churchmates but the most memorable of all was when I had to rush my brother there after he accidentally fell off a neighbor's wall.

I can't remember the details much how that happened. Maybe they were playing and he slipped. Me and my friend were on our way to the house when we met two of my siblings accompanied by a neighbor. My brother has a bloody head and obviously in pain. I was shocked and began to panic but seeing the fear, distraught and shock in my siblings' eyes I composed myself. I asked my friend to go fetch our eldest who was in the city at that time and told him to meet me at the hospital. This was the time when cellphones are not that commonly used. I asked my sister to go home and wait for our mom to come home and tell her what happened.

I was just a student then and I have no money. I brought him to the emergency room and good thing they admitted my brother right away. Thankfully his skull did not split open and no other fractures but they had to stitch his wound.

Every time I look at this photo, I still can't figure out what the guy at the end of the alley was doing. Why was he just standing there? The only reason I can think of is he was waiting for the rain to let up. It was raining hard at that time.

I took a photo of this guy on my home from my morning walk/jog. It was a cool morning but this guy wasn't bothered by the cold it seems. I can only speculate why was he shirtless. What are your guesses?

This was part of my route whenever I go for a walk/jog. However, this was not a morning jog/walk. I'm sure of it for it was raining. I don't remember exactly why was I there at that time. Maybe I did go out for a walk still. I do that even if it is raining. The lady on the right was carrying a sack of vegetables.

Whatever these guys were carrying, it does seem heavy. My guess is a costume of a mascot but I could be wrong. This was taken on a Ped Xing (pedestrian crossing) or zebra crossing or crosswalk.

I like this painting a lot. This is a door of a restaurant/bar near the strawberry farm. This reminds me of Lone Ranger and Tonto. For you kids out there, Lone Ranger is a popular fictional character who is a Texas Ranger and Tonto is his Native American companion. Together they fight the bad guys. Lone Ranger refers to the only survivor of a group of Rangers who were betrayed and ambushed. More here.

Leisure or lesiure? Which one is correct?

I find this lady's tattoo to be cool. We were waiting inside the car for the mechanic who will check our car. Where we parked is this fish vendor. The smell of the grilled fish was making me hungry. It's hard to ignore.

I was on my way for a jog when I took this shot. It was still dark when I passed by this newspaper vendor. See my shadow? In this digital era, print materials are still in demand especially the weekend newspaper that is well known here. I used to buy one especially when I was looking for job or place to rent. One local daily newspaper company have totally gone digital a decision caused by this pandemic.

These guys were busy tearing down signages and other obstructions. They are preparing for road widening. They kept widening the roads yet more and more cars and being manufactured.

That ends my share for now.

I was supposed to write something else but no matter how I tried to remember, I just can't remember what was the topic I was supposed to write. That thought was from one of the posts I read here. I tried going back and rereading some of those but I came up with nothing.

So this is what I decided to post.

43
$ 13.17
$ 11.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @fantagira
$ 0.35 from @Pichi28
+ 24
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

you should check sean tucker's works.. he loves to play with lights and his images are mostly monotones.. love that guy. he has a youtube channel and he also shares really good tips on photography as well as about life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'll take note of that and check him soon :) Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go go go

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have IG and I guess I am not planning to create one haha. I already neglected my FB and my focus is here and in noise. B&W photography and artworks have such depth into them that is enough to tell a story. Sometimes the color can be distracting and being in B&W allows us to see it in a different perspective.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I stopped posting there as I don't feel the need. Maybe I'll post about BCH and noise and read :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking at photos of past events is good for us. It doesn't matter if they are in black and white. If you think about it we are seeing how our pets do it. They see in black and white too. They are beautiful your photos, Thank you for sharing your memories. Greetings.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I read in noise that dogs see brown, green and blue (I think those were the colors mentioned) and not purely in black and white as we have thought. Thank you for appreciating! Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I took down my first Instagram picture🀧, not everyone is as gifted as you are .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It takes a lot of practice so keep shooting :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will take your advice 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Go for it! It's through practice that we improve.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Impressive bruh you got skill to make look photos amazing!

B/w effect is best one it's been so long since I've clicked these types of stuff but b/w make them look more beautiful and I've seen many talented person who click way better than any.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like bw for there is nothing much to deal with it other than the light and shadow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Last semester one of our subject teacher, task us to take our selfie and edit it to black and white. Seeing my classmates output, make me realize that this kind of color is also great for photography

$ 0.02
2 years ago

B/w portraits are more dramatic which I like :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are really a good photographer. I like the way when you explain the every picture. Black and white concept is soo good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks so much! Indeed it's interesting how normal things transform into something else in black and white.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, Bloghound has an amazing skills of capturing photos. Btw, I uploaded my first photo on Instagram was my own selfie πŸ™‚. Your all photos are also gem keep it up mate.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think it's a common trend for some to post a selfie as their first photo. That is understandable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung kahit black and white ay nabibigyan parin ng buhay at kulay ang aking mga mata dahil sa laman ng litrato πŸ’— Napakaganda, kuya Lee.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maraming salamat :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a nice repertoire of photos and good details for each of them. Sometimes we take pictures and then find details we didn't know were there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right about the details. Sometimes in colors, we are focused on a lot of things so we missed a lot. I black and white we see things clearly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti naging okay din si brother mo, kuya. Pinakabet ko yung nasa hallway. Parang sa mga horror movie lang haha. Parang si kuya nakahubad gusto niya lang ipakita yung abs niya haha o kaya gusto niya ipagsigawan na sanay na sanay na siya sa lamig dahil sa pinaramdam sa kanya ng jowa niya. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kya nga e. Salamat sa Diyos talaga. Ako din un sa hallway ang di ko makalimutan. Haha! Feeling ko din naglasing si kuya naka abs hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really nice monochrome pics. You have a real feel for street photography. More please :-)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks so much! I hope I can take more photos soon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Frankly telling I don't have account on Instagram and I hardly look at Facebook. I generally use what's app because my all family members are using it. I tried to start taking pictures but I feel very shy while clicking photo. I don't know what to do.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I still feel shy to this day sometimes that's why I miss photo opportunities. I don't visit my IG anymore and not much on FB other than to chat with friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang gaganda ng kuha mo. Yung tattoo kala ko nka gloves 🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Akala ko din nung first parang ung mga sinusuot na sleeve protection. Galing nga e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To answer your first question, the first picture I uploaded on Instagram was a picture of myself. Its still there till now. The picture on 6th frame looks like a man trying to negotiate with the devil. Hahahaha I think the guys in 5th frame are carrying work equipment. I guess they are going for a job or something.

Altogether I'd say you enjoy taking pictures and you had a lot of fun while doing so.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's an interesting thought about the 6th frame. It does make the other look like the devil :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice photos, Kuboy! I love black and white photography. And I really like how you tell the story behind each photo. I rarely use my account on Instagram. I have two, the second one I created to share some photos of my last trip. And the truth is that both are quite abandoned. Do you have yours active? I would love to see your photos there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mine is not that active too. I stopped posting last year. I intended that to be photos from our town only. Since we moved here in the city, I didn't post a lot there at all.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

kick ass photos from sir bestie! whoop!

"The cold never bothered me, anyway" daw sabi ni manong shirtless.

Black and white really have soul ne? Awesome shots.. .also i like what you've done with your cover photos!

When this pandemic ends.. i will so meet up with you both. would be fun to shoot around and get pointers..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol! Arat na at magpipix tayo ng kung ano ano :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko yan!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love all your black and white photography Sir lee. Hmmm, kitang kita pala ang rain pag black and white, thanks for sharing that photo. Now I know. Meron din akong black and white na shots pero nasa gallery ko lang. Now pwede ko na pala ishare din yon dito. Thank you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes po madam share lang po tayo ng share hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really creative of you to tell us the story behind those great pix and making them connected into one thought. Sana all. Ma try nga din mag picture2 Hehehe! And I think, leisure yung tama.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Go na practice lang ng practice :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sana all talaga eh magaling kumuha . haha. I do not like the first photo. I don't know what seeing those kind of places in black and white is so creepy or maybe ako lang yun. haha. On the other hand, magaganda kuha mo. nacurious din ako dun sa nakatayo sa 2nd photo. hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe subjective talaga ang photography kaya our views are different which is okay. Practice lang ng practice :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano ginagamit nyong camera sir? Pinakagusto ko is yun first and second photo. Although yun second photo is mejo creepy for me, but i like it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yun din gusto ko sa lahat hehe. Phone lang gamit ko dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

High end siguro phone nyo or siguro mgaling lang talaga kayo pumitik.. Heheh

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hindi naman high end hehe. Need ng maraming maraming practice :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ito madalas talaga makikita sa daan. ang ganda ng mga kuha lalo gumanda kasi black and white. 😍 Naapreciate ko ang black and white gosh😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat sa pag appreciate :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng pagkakakuha niyo. Sa mga horror ko lang nakikita ang black & white na photo. Pero sa mga photos niyo ang ganda at lahat may meaning.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maraming salamat :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang awan word nga lesuire sir..isu diay immuna ti choice ko . Aypayso tay kunada nga stolen is the best shot, agbestfriend kay talaga ken ate bloughound sir..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nagkamali lang siguro tay nagaramid signage.

Kinyana nakasursuro ak :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These dark shots are really perfect and amazing. I am thinking what if we would be living in black and white world hehe. Sounds crazy Your pictures remind me of the 90's black and white movies

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There's a nostalgic feel to it indeed :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's always something special about black and white pictures. I can't remember my first IG picture. I deleted all already πŸ˜‚. Most likely it will be a Lionel Messi's Picture.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol! That happens. Most would post picture of somebody else :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHHAHHAHA LT binasa ko pa talaga ng paulit ulit yung leisure at lesiure. pinaka fave ko sa lahat ay yung narrow place na may taong nakatayo sa dulo. Though maganda naman lahat

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe. Feeling ko magkaiba gumawa nun :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Picture paints a thousand words indeed! Your shots are astonishing! I would not want to speculate on that shirtless guy, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol! I want to speculate too but I remember he was disoriented that time not sure whether to cross the road or not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got him though :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some random photos reminds me of how photojournalism is about.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Right you are. I wanted to do street photography pero challenging siya hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do the things that scares you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the dark shot, you are really topping the photography chain if that's what it's called though.....these great shots brings back memories you gonna have to remember the scenes and wonder how exactly you did take this shot. Weldone cLEE

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! It's the second photo that really made an impression on me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great b&w photos Lee! Are you still active on IG? I’ve never created my profile there for some unknown reason. I guess too many social media accounts to handle daily.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm not active there anymore in terms of posting. I think I posted there last year. My account is still logged in though and my phone gets notification about posts by network there but I don't check it that much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice shots sir, eventhough it is in blackand white the beauty of the subject is still there and visible. Anong camera mo sir?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks so much :) Phone ang ginamit ko sa mga yan :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lesiure hahahahah

ang gaganda nung shots pre lalo na yung sa alley habang may lalaking naghihintay sa dulo ...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maraming salamat :) Un din gusto ko sa lahat. Parang horror or parang alien movie hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha bet mo talaga suspense noh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang galing 🀩 I mean ang ganda din talaga pag black and white ee parang ... Basta iba ang effect πŸ’–.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat ng marami :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng pagkakakuha ng mga pictures lalo na yung may lalaki na nakatayo sa dulo and I love the black and white vibes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yan ang pinakagusto ko sa lahat :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice shots does not need to be colored.black and white sometimes is more colorful than the colored one😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. It leaves a lot of room for imagination.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Black and white are the decent and beautiful colours.. πŸ–€πŸ€ Maybe he is kinda show off the shirtless boy 😜 he got six abs πŸ‘Œ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol! He is proud to show them off :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay wen malagip ko...puro black and white gayam pics mo ijay nya? Mayat man.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ada naisingit lang nga dadduma colored hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng black n wyt wag lang sa parang tunnel or eskinita hahjaja.. Horror e 😱🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These shots are really πŸ”₯ they are amazing. Black and white shots are one of my favourites.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like to do b&w once in a while. It's an option when the color I like doesn't show in the photo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am really a fan of black and white photos. For me, it really has more meaning or it brings more meaning to a photo you took. Let me try also to post mine as well. πŸ™‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. It's open to a lot of interpretations :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah I was just from Bloghound's article and truly her shots are amazing, you're getting there as well! That second photo on the alley have some cool vibes!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks much! I am learning from her :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago