Busted! Who's that?

60 118
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

The lead image was taken during my walk earlier today. It was taken at the protected area that is slowly being encroached by land grabbers.

Anyway, let's get on with our topic for today.

Have you ever wondered whos busts or statues are those that you see in your area? In your city? Or places you have been?

Here are some of those that you can see in our city.

I only jogged in the park today specifically Burnham Park. The park was named after the Daniel Burnham - a city architect. During the American occupation here in the Philippines, he planned the city of Manila and Baguio. Although those plans did not materialize, some of it were based on his plans. In Baguio, he did plan the city design but left the implementation of it to another person. Unfortunately, the city was not built as per the plan. Only the Melvin Jones Grandstand was in the original plan.

Also, the provincial capitol of Pangasinan was designed by Mr. Burnham.

Source

You can see this bust of Mr. Burnham just behind the gate of Burnham Park when you enter the Rose Garden.

Across the Burnham Park gate where the bust of Mr. Burnham is located is Rizal Park.

Dr. Jose P. Rizal is the national hero of the my country, the Philippines. He fought the war against the invaders not by sword but by the might of his pen.

It was said that the eyeballs of his bust were gold. I remember when I was kid that it does have eyeballs but now it was gouged out. Maybe it was true that those were gold. Just maybe.

There were those who formed a religion worshiping our national hero.

In the second photo, in the background is the city hall.

This was the first statue I took a photo of earlier today.

This is located at the Session Road circle and can be seen when you go up to one of the malls here.

This is a statue of Jesus.

In this spot many people would come and race to secure a spot not to worship Him though but to watch parades especially Panagbenga Flower Festival, the annual festival here in the city.

I did position myself there once but I find it not that great a view for I cannot take a good picture from that angle.

An Apache Indian on a horse at Baguio Apache Circle.

No, there are no American Indians in Baguio City. That is in honor to the club from Baguio who were inspired by one particular warrior, Geronimo, who together with other Apache leaders led raids against Mexican and American territories in the 1800s.

The Baguio Apaches started as basketball group. That is where they got their name from.

This statue can be seen at the circle going to Camp John Hay and Baguio Country Club.

Potenciano Ilusorio was a great contributor to Baguio Country Club which was one of the reasons that he was adopted by the city as one of its citizens even naming a stretch of road in behalf of him.

(I have made an article about our stay in Baguio Country Club. Feel free to read)

He is a lawyer and a philanthropist. Thanks to him the telecommunications industry of the Philippines was established when he founded Philcomcast.

Source

Although there were scandals surrounding the Ilusorio name, I don't want to dwell on that.

This bust is located at South Drive and it sits close the golf course. Rumor has it that this is made of gold for there is always a guard there watching over it.

There are more statues and busts I think that I have yet to see. I know there's a statue of our first president, Emilio Aguinaldo, at the Aguinaldo museum. I have been there once. I'll post about that next time.

How about in your place, if you have, which of the busts/statues are you most interested in?

Would you like to your a statue or bust built in your honor?

I would like to thank you all for taking time to visit and give your supports.

I hope you are keeping safe wherever you are.

34
$ 15.86
$ 14.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 22
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

You're so eager to have a walk everday 😁 Unlike me who's so lazy to do that though I know my body needs an exercise. I didn't knew walking could be a great way to take a picture of something relevant.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This month had been total rest for me from walking :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The well-known city of Baguio I always dreaming of.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you get to visit soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Philippines lots of different amazing statues/busts where you can see in any places. One of it is the Baguio.❤️

That's why I want to travel there and explore those amazing spots there. What a perfect walking day ARTicLEE. Looking with those beautiful click shots from yours.❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope one day you and I get to visit each other's places :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me I have noticed lots of bust along the Roxas Boulevard and Rizal park as I travel daily along going into school. I am fine not having a bust dedicated for me haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Some day or the other, I have to visit your place, everything you post looks amazing. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, come and visit and I'll tour you around :) It's a small city. We can do it in a day or two :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every day walking.. For sweatcoin b? 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Para sana pumayat pero walang epek haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahh, si Rizal lang kilala ko jan. Sa plaza din namin may Jose Rizal ang ganda nya lang doon habang nag iisip ng malalim haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Siguro sa lahat ng lugar may Rizal Park at may school din na Rizal hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i feel like I have known Baguio City more because of these info you shared!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Visit na ulit hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isa ka sa mga writers na nagbibigay talaag ng historical information sa akin hihi. Thanks for writing and sharing this one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat naman sa pag appreciate :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great People with awsome history contributed to the country. daming pasyalan ahhh maka punta nga jan

$ 0.02
User's avatar RM
2 years ago

Si Jose Rizal talaga siguro pinaka marami. Nakagala sya jan pero kita ko rin sya dito. 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totoo. Pati school dami din hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the burnham park and the Indian statue on a horse.

We have several statues here in my country too. And to the question. I would like to see myself on one. 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you get to see one :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

napatitig ulit ako kay rizal eh.. .eyes gouged out .. wah filipinos! .. sa bagay gold... at pano din ako nakakasigurong pinoy may gawa no? wah! Rizal bust is everywhere! even internationally! ay di ok na vantage yung statue for Penagbenga? Noted. hahah..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga di natin masabi kung sino may gawa nun. Fake man o hindi, sana hindi ginawa yun. Lagi ko nadadaanan un Apache Circle pero di ko alam na Indian pala yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is eye-opening...keep it coming!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kasla Europe jay Apache Circle

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kanayun malabasan dayta tadtak na naresearch hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala ba ang pitong hokage dyan lodi? Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol! Wala pa nakaisip gawin :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry can I laugh? Hahahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, pwd basta wag mulang lakasan lodi, 🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everythings seems great until I read that rizal's eyeballs was gouged out. Kinda disappointed to my fellow filipino but still I didn't get shocked because they actually doing it for the sake of money. Thanks for short history sir CLEEE

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I remember seeing his face without eyes and it reminds me of those in horror movies. I hope things like that won't happen again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rizal statue is always visible in school, it always be in the center of attraction. Here in us my statue especially in city.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right but I think the importance is just about there. I wonder if we really know and value what he did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana kuya alam ng kabataan para mabigyan lang value.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good information for people who really wanted to know the history. The photos are also captured in such a way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here there are many statues of national heroes who fought great battles for the independence of the country. Unfortunately in these last years they have been stealing parts of the statues, some pieces are made in bronze.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's unfortunate. Maybe they should stop making statues out of bronze.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here there are usually some squares with busts or statues of figures of heroes of the country's independence. But the main square of each town or city is usually called Plaza Bolivar, in honor of the liberator of Venezuela. And they have a bust or statue of Simon Bolivar the national hero.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Plaza Bolivar is like Rizal Park in every part of our country. Even schools have been named after Rizal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that you said it.. There is a status around my area and I never bother asking the story behind it, I only know the story of the status in the city, well, I guess I would ask now, nice write up, I enjoyed reading the write up

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It pays to be curious :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure it does

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay grabe naman, ninakawan pa ng mata si Rizal. Talagang gold siguro yun Kuya Lee kaya kinuha, hays.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ewan ko ba sa mga tao na walang magawa sa buhay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

such are great people and philanthropists. people respected him so much that they made statues to commemorate the services of this great person

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There are other statues here but I couldn't get to them all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

que bien que hiciste ese recorrido, de todo lo que mas me impresionò fue ver la estatua del indio apache.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ako na naeencourage mag jog dahil palagi mo ininclude sa article mo hehe magand mag jog jan kasi park unlike dito hehe need ko makahanap maski man lang court hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sana may nahanap ka na :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sanaol taga baguio HAHAHA pero no worries kasi marami narin naman akong na discover about baguio dahil sa articles mo kuya lee HHAHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Soon pasyal ka na dito :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how Baguio has a lot of parks, I wish I could visit them! We only went to Burnham. I forgot what I am about to say next lols perhaps next time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think because it's easier to set up and maintain that's why there are a lot of parks here :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice tour ART... the statute of Jesus reminds me of that of brazil rio de janerio . During the 2014 world cup ,it was frequently shown.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is something I have yet to see :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda talaga sa baguio, sana all nakapunta na ng baguio 🤧

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Best Wishes For You dear . I wished you have million Of success and you're hard work make you happy and feel better then other . Everyone don't hard work like you . Good evening

$ 0.00
2 years ago