How did we afford to stay at a five-star resort

89 115
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Baguio Country Club is over 100-year-old club. Looking at how the place looked now, it's hard to imagine a one thatched-roof hut sitting on what used to be a cattle pasture. Now the club has 166 rooms with dozens of recreational facilities, function halls and dining areas.

FROM PHP2,400.00 to MULTIMILLION PESOS

The 32-hectare land owned by an Igorot chief, Mateo Carino, was sold for only PHP2,400.00. That's around $47.78 as of this writing.

It all began when the Americans wanted to have a place where they can relax and unwind, and have a respite from the oppressive heat of the tropics. The Americans have learned from the Spaniards of such a cool place in the mountains of Northern Luzon where there were forests and rolling hills that turns mystical and magical when enshrouded with fog and mist.

William Cameron Forbes and company found the right place here in Baguio City. A deal was then struck between the Igorot chief, Mateo Carino, and William Forbes. In 1905, a club was established. It started as an all-white club with PHP50.00 initiation fee and PHP20.00 annual fee.

Aside from a three-hole golf course, the club started with two tennis courts and croquet grounds. It was in 1907 that the club was redesigned through the concept of Major Gallagher of the US Army, Mr. Marshall of International Bank and Mang Dangal, from the Manila Club and then redesigned again by Luis Silverio to what the golf course is now today - an 18-hole golf course.

Today, the country club boasts it's prestige as a 5-start resort here in the Cordilleras. Aside from events like bridal fair, pageant venue, it is home to the annual FilAm Golf Tournament, the largest amateur golf tournament in the world.

Aside from the golf course, they have pools, reactional and fitness centers, bowling center, tennis courts and archery area. They also have a greenhouse and strawberry garden and aviary.

The establishment of country club is also the creation of Baguio City. In 1909, the City of Baguio was chartered.

Our one-time staycation

Earlier this year, the club decided to open its doors to locals. Room rates start at PHP7,000.00 a night. Depending on the location of the room, the type of room or cottage, that price will be doubled or tripled even. So you see, it was never an option for us to stay there for it was way out of our budget. It's best to say away from anything with 5-star in it if you are on a budget.

Imagine our surprise then when it was posted in their social media that deluxe rooms are priced at PHP1,000.00 per night. Me and my friends immediately booked rooms.

This kind of deal was for the locals only. Me any my partner booked one night only while our friends and their family booked two nights.

I am not new to the club in a way for I have worked her one summer many years ago while I was studying in college. Every summer, I worked somewhere and this was the last summer job I had before finally deciding to stop my studies. During my short-lived job there, I was at the back office most of the time. The only time we get to check out some of the areas were during inventory or when I am asked by superiors to to go to other offices for errands.

One time, I was asked by my superior to bring some documents to the office of the General Manager, who until now is the still the head of the club. I went to his office and handed the document and awaiting instructions. The manager then asked me our department's extension line to talk to my superior. You see, I don't make calls around the club to know or memorize extensions. However, that time, I surprised myself for I was able to give the correct number of our department. With no further instructions, I then excused myself and went back to our department. I left his office shaking my head in disbelief. I might have at one point saw or heard our extension number and it was stuck in my memory. Today, I don't even know what number that was lol!

So back to our staycation.

After going through the triage, we checked and made necessary arrangements. We were then given the keys to our rooms. The rooms were clean, neat and well maintained despite the place being 100 years old. Our rooms have a mountain view.

After settling in, we then checked out some of the facilities and to see if we can eat there for dinner. Seeing that the only restaurant open at that time was full, we decided to eat to nearby places instead. We bought wine to drink and we drank that in our room before calling it a night.

This was the view next morning. We missed the sunrise for we woke up late. Breakfast was not included in our reservation. We did avail of the breakfast buffet. We were a bit disappointed for there were fewer choices of food than what was served at another place. We still enjoyed it though and had lots of their coffee. We saw our city mayor and the presidential spokesperson and had picture with them but I am not posting that here.

After our meal, we decided to check the place. There we saw peacocks, hawk and other birds in the aviary. There was also a greenhouse with lots of succulents and other plants. There was also a strawberry garden where there were still unripe fruits so nothing ready for picking.

We wanted to try their pool or gym or the recreation area even but due to safety protocols, one must reserve a day before if you want to use those amenities. You have limited use of those facilities as well. For example, if you want to use the pool, you have to choose one pool only and that you have to use it for two hours only. After our tour, we went back to our rooms and checked out later on.

Baguio Country Club is also known for its delicious breads and pastries. I particularly liked their banana bread and cheese bread. When we checked in, I thought of buying banana bread the next day. However, I forgot that the next day for my thought rescheduling our next stay which did not materialize as well for we had to give that up due to conflict in schedule. Good thing they have a stall at the mall where we can buy their baked stuff.

So that is how we spent a one night at Baguio Country Club.

I am happy and thankful for the experience although how limited it was. This kind of promo was actually started by some hotels also here in the city especially the big ones but we chose here. If there will be another promo as cheap as this, which I highly doubt given that we are now going back to some normalcy, we will take advantage of it again.

I made a short clip up until our room only. I will be making a video of the rest later on.

When was the last time you had a staycation in your locality?

Thank you for your support and checking out my blogs and vlogs. Thank you also to the new sponsors. I'm not the one to mention and tag someone but know that I am very grateful to you all. From the bottom of my heart. My success here is your success as well.

Also, happy monthsary for me here in read.cash! I know I said I will be making an update but let's not talk about read.cash, yeah? Let's talk about other interesting stuff instead :D

You can check out the official page of Baguio Country Club.

For resources and further reading about the club, check out Link 1 and Link 2.

29
$ 14.08
$ 12.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
+ 22
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

I want to go on a staycation too... i am eyeing some resorts in Bohol... hopefully we can do tbat once we arrive next week. The promo deal was indeed a good one.. glad you were able to take advantage of it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sure you'll find a good place to stay. Looking forward to your post about it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow lucky you there was a promo! Would love to try some of those here in Metro Manila if only they would have the same promo. haha. Kaso sad life mga pool sarado pa tlga.

This reminds of the time I got inside a golf club. Haha, although di naman 5 star whatever yun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dapat jan ang marami ang promo kaso jan naman mataas ang cases kaya wag na lang haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Hahaha. Siguro need ko mag-check para makakita ako ng promo. Wahaha. Bahala na si Batman pag may nahanap ako.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sana meron hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I gulped at the 7k/night hahaha. Good thing you got a nice deal. The place is so nice, sana all maka-staycation rin. Sayang hindi nyo na-try ang ibang amenities. Covid kasi, makes everything dificult and limited.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakakabulag un 7k kaya laking tuwa ko nung 1k na lang siya. Tiningnan ko talaga ng husto baka namalikmata lang ako haha! Oo din para safe kaya ganun. Kaso kahit siguro walang covid, di pa din mag aavail hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, pang-grocery na kasi yang 7k hahaha. Pero yung 1k, patusin ko rin kung ako lang. Kinusot-kusot mo pa ang mata mo noh? πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hindi lang. Tinitigan ko talaga. Refresh ng ilang beses un page haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful place..It was built in nice location though for the view is amazing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda po dyan sir. Mahal nga lang po. Favorite ko din yung raisin bread nila. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh hey parang familiar ang username. Haha. Welcome to read cash.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello po. Hehe. Ano po name niyo sa Steem? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Artgirl. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Si Artgirl! Yung isa ring napakagaling!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

totoo bro :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy... nahiya naman ako. hehe. Sulat sulat lang din ako dito para may BCH. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo sinabi ko. Hehe. Okay lang. Ako nga nagsisimula pa lang. Barya pa lang kinikita. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe ok salamat. Lalaki rin yan barya barya natin,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

si artgirl yan bro :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe kasama natin yan sa steemit :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Onga haha, tama nga andun din siya. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

small world haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap talaga nung raising bread nila e. Un ang pinakamasarap na natikman ko na raisin bread.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diko pa naexperienced mag staycation Kasi puro drawing mga tropa ko haha. Pero nice Yan ah.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Ikaw na lang hehe. Pag nakita ng mga tropa na nagstaycation ka sasama na yan next time hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was like in 2019 pa when I had a staycation at a hotel. Indeed one of the best day of my life. Tsaka libre lang din yun ng isang friend namin na nag-debut. Can't afford that 7k a night though, good thing there's a promo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sarap ng libre mas maeenjoy pag ganyan hehe. Ako din sakit sa mata at bulsa yun 7k hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't remember having a staycation. Whenever we have the chance to take a couple of days out in a hotel or posada, we do it somewhere near but outside the city. But we haven't done it since before the pandemic started. That hotel looks great, ideal for a vacation. But I guess it must cost quite a bit for foreign tourists. I loved the photos as always. And many congratulations on that month here!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It does cost a lot especially for me who doesn't have money lol! It was built in nice location though for the view is amazing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, here a 5-star resort is also very expensive. And out of the reach for most, including myself. ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Anything with 5-star in it lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang namamahalan ako sa 7k per night Kuya or Ate. Okay lang kung maganda ang view and sulit naman kung sakali hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mahal talaga un kaya nung may promo sila na 1k nag avail na kami hehe. Kuya po ako :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nalilito ako sa numbers. Sige po Sir, nalilito lang ako eh haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No problem :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've just done reading Bloghound's article about mini Santorini, and now I'm reading yours. It's so interesting reading articles like this because I can relate to your articles since it's related to my course which is hospitality Management. It's also a way of promoting the Club ❣️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you can relate to this. The hospitality industry is one of those hit by this pandemic the most.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had your enjoyment with your partner. I haven't gone out to such places like this and I am hoping someday when the money comes, I will have to take myself out and visit an expensive hotel where I can have time to enjoy and explore different places too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh I hope you can so you can tell us all about it. Sometimes we have to experience things at least once :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halaaa, 7k down to 1k ang saya non. Pero bat di nyo pa sinulit sayang naman hayyy πŸ˜– sana 5 days na agad anong gana wari non 🀩. Tapos ang ganda ganda at ang daming pwdng gawin no. Pero bat kaya ang daming nagkakagusto sa golf, I mean eshoshoot mo lang naman un ee tapos yon na. Anong exciting dun 😡. Ahahaha naisip ko lang ahahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Saya nga sana kung mas matagal pero need na umuwi kasi may work pa. Tas may bayad lahat ng gagawin mo dun kung gagamit ka ng amenities. Food mahal din hehe. Kaya next time paghahandaan dapat ang gastos dun.

Oo din di ko din magets ung golf. Pati soccer. Haha! Di kasi talaga ako sporty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baguio is one on my list to visit. I wish I could go there someday.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Don't worry. Once everything gets better, you will have the chance to visit I'm sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! I wouldn't lose hope. πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, never been to an expensive place or hotel.. I think I was grade 5 when I go to Baguio πŸ™ˆ.. it was 1995 or 1996 ..I'm not sure πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You should come and visit again. It's a different world now :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully soon, I get to visit Baguio again.. The last time I was there was in 2013 during Panagbenga festival. 🧑 That's a cheap price for a staycation. I hope to have one soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was and something I think will not be repeated now that we are going back to normal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basta may club mahal talaga like the Bohol Beach Club super mahal din. Anyway, wala pa akong na try na staycation, vacation lang hahah! eh paano kc pag home court disadvantage ako lagi hahah! love the photos! sana all!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehehe oo nga e kaya take advantage na namin to. Tas hindi rin naman kami basta makalabas pasok ng city kaya eto na lang muna hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy monthsarry!! I had a good time with your "virtual" tour. Though, to someone like me, Php 1000 is still expensive. LOL

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is expensive indeed but compared to 7k, it's worth it :) It's like 500 each for there were two of us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hati naman pala. Thanks fpr clearing this one.. Affordable nga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pangako andami kong gagalaan sa baguio kapag magkataon ng dahil sa article nato HAHAHAHAA

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! See you soon dito sa Baguio :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! It's awesome ARTicLEE. The view was perfect, so still it's worth it..

God bless you ARTicLEE..πŸ™β€οΈ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It truly was. It was also a night of good times with friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes a perfect for enjoyment and unwind with friends..❀️❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cge kasta kay lang haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Bareng a next time ada manen promo intayu to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

adu absent ko en 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isu pay hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kasama mo si Ateng @Bloghound that time no? I seen her post same spot hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully sa next na mag promo ulit sama namin siya pag wala na restrictions :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

awanak, deng. narigat pay agout of town baguio sobrang strict da.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Staycation na uli a ngarud.. That's a nice experience staying in one of the renowned hotel in the country/city

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wen to nu maulit promo ngem feeling ko talaga di na yan haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana or bka ikanta na lng ng 'sana maulit muli' πŸ˜… praying n magkapromo uliπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di na ako aasa haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ada ka met dita nya mars?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wen mars hahhaha.. Nakipromo met πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehe mayat mars...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng place! Also happy monthsary po.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maraming salamat :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah 😍 I never been in 5 star hotel but I checked in 3 star hotel multiple times. They had swimming pool and sports club having snooker and other indoor games.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That sounds like a lovely hotel to stay :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a steal when you were able to book at that price. And it's really a good initiative for the club to do it for the locals. Sana may next time haha.

I was there once, but didn't sleep overnight. We just had dinner :D

And about you being able to give the correct extension number, I think it's your subconscious rescuing you lol! Yung siguro narinig mo minsan and then nagtago na don and when it was needed, it just came out.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I doubt that there will be another promo that cheap but I will avail again if there will be lol! We plan on going back to try their restaurants there. I'm not sure if we can do it though.

Siguro nga nakita ko sa phone sa department namin or narinig ko one time pero buti na lang tumatak. Mejo strong din personality ng sup ko e kasi siya ang parang second sa manager kaya malalagot ako pag un kunting bagay na un di ko nasagot haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope there will be and please let me know haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will right away lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg ang mura ng pagkakabili no?

Ganda dyan ah. Yung 1,000 per night masakit medyo sa bulsa pero nung nakita ko nasa paligidm sulit na sulit.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Okay na din un ma experience naman one time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy one month sir bestie! That was one hell of a deal to be able to stay for 1k! And good for the country club as well to open to the locals. Good marketing and pad for the damages pandemic is doing to the business.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat! Kaya nga. Kaya nag avail na kami. Kung mauulit man yan na promo, avail ko ulit :D True, ang pangit talaga ng epekto ng pandemya.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kelangan ko iremind sarili ko na indi ako local ng baguio ahha montek ko na silipin bcc if may promo ahhaha. Bal-la...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! Ako mag check in para sayo haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago