Importance of Vocabulary & Ways to Improve It

52 79
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

We're aware that English is our universal language, and it is the most voluminous. It means we have many words to use, and we will not run out of vocabulary to learn. I know that being a writer is sometimes frustrating, especially when we cannot think of the correct terms.

And some of us come up with the idea of bolstering our writing skills by learning and adding new words to our vocabulary. When we start thinking about it as an investment in our writing journey. Maybe we are curious about the difference between speaking and writing vocabulary. In writing, there are words that we can quickly summon and use.

Having a solid vocabulary can help us facilitate precise writing, and we can describe things better. But, there are different ways to use the terms. Please express the common words correctly instead of trying to misuse complex expressions. The best thing is that you can use precisely both of them.

In this piece, let me share some ways to improve our vocabulary as writers. Maybe some of you already have their unique strategies, but I still want to share some.

Check out the thesaurus and dictionary.

Of course, the school taught us to check the thesaurus and dictionary to expand our vocabulary. Did you listen to your English Teacher before? I did, and I had to. These two are the best resources if you want to use them as a starter.

You can count on how they add the synonyms that will help you understand what you are using when writing. Also, check out the full definition of words from the dictionary to know the root and related words and their antonyms. In such ways, you can learn a lot.

Make reading a habit. 

I believe that we learn a few words when we encounter them in context. You can count on checking the newspaper or reading something on the internet that you think will help you improve your vocabulary. Expose yourself to unfamiliar words and study how authors used them.

And reading became my habit recently when I started to interact with the writers here again. Some of my favorite content creators are @McJulez , @Peter-Molnar , @Laurenceuuuu , @Olasquare , @Fexonice1 , @Jane . I love reading your content because of the unfamiliar words I can learn from you. But of course, aside from that, I like the quality and the ideas you bring out every time you write.

Consider subscribing to "Word of the Day" feeds.

Social media accounts share the "word of the day" content. I remember @McJulez because he has this section in the last part of his article, where he shares the definition of the unfamiliar words he used. Also, I tried listening to a Podcast Account, and I am still learning a few words from them.

Practice new words in a conversation or sentence.

Maybe you will feel shy in using new words in a conversation, primarily in-person and verbal. You can try using it in a sentence when interacting somewhere, like on this platform. Start with remembering exciting words that you heard or read, and try to experiment by trial and error. In this way, you will know if it is the proper term to use in a particular context. 

Having a strong vocabulary is an advantage for a writer. I know that not everyone has that talent or skill, but I know a little push will do. You can try the ways I mentioned above and see the improvements yourself. 

I know that I have been publishing writing tips recently, and maybe because I also want to improve my writing skills. I hope you learned and understood something from this and can use it someday.


Want To Connect With Me?

Article # : <264>
Category  : <Corporate Blogs>
Author    : <charmingcherry08>
Posting Date : <May 28 2022>

If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:

24
$ 8.88
$ 8.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 12
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

Comments

I admit that I was below the average in English vocabulary both verbal and writing. I find it hard times connect each word to form the correct expression. Thanks to google dictionary it help me a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too. I consider myself not fluent in English, but I am trying my best to learn as well. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've been hankering to expand my vocabularies to atleast add life to my writings but how can I do that if I am slowly losing ny desire in writing huhuhu. I felt like I am getting worst than better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ano ka ba, it's okay. There are moments na akala mo talaga you are not doing any better, but you do. Minsan demotivated din ako magsulat, but I always push myself. Cheer up, and just continue writing sis. :) Kaya yan hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks so much cherry, these tips would be very helpful, thanks a bunch, now, it's time to put all these to practice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww. I really appreciate it! I hope you learned something too. The pleasure is mine. Let us improve our writing skills together. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Malaking tulong din talaga tong article mo ngaun sis ako din kadalasan mali mali yong pagkakasulat..hindi na din kasi ako nakakapagbasa ng matagal...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay lang yan sis. Mag-improve din yan soon. Goodluck sa journey natin :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thesaurus is a new word to me😆. My English is poor and so there's a lot of unfamiliar words I always encounter but as you said we can learn to enhance it. And indeed Reading is one of the best way to enhance our vocabulary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thesaurus is like a dictionary too. Anyway, it is okay. I also consider myself not fluent in English, but the important thing is, we are trying to learn something new for improvements. Making reading a habit is one of my ways to enhance my vocabulary :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oww nag review ako kagabi about sa vocabulary hehe, planning to pass my CSE exam requirement this June for me took the August Exam. I will take prof, and honest me; my grammar and vocab in writing weren't that fine, hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uy, goodluck ha. But your grammar and vocab are good naman. I always read your contents, and so far so good. Goodluck on your exam :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly dear, having good vocabulary skills, can help us in having good writing ability, and a better conversation. Using the dictionary and practicing new words can help us very much...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true. And I agree with you. It can be very helpful to writers like us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fun dun yung may nadadagdag na at least isang unfamiliar word sa vocab, tsaka nakakahasa talaga ng isip. I agree that enjancing our vocab skills is important and would really help us in the future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree sis. It may help us improve our writing skills too. Nakakahasa talaga ng isip, lalo kapag curious ka talaga doon sa word. Haha. Doon ka talaga matututo eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are really useful tips to add in our vocabulary. It's very important to get perfection in any language

$ 0.00
1 year ago

On point! This is why it is important to that learning can give us so many advantages.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi ako familiar sa thesaurus ah. Haha. Tama ka sis, madalas wrong word ang naisusulat ko. Need ipractice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Practice makes it perfect, ika nga sis. Kaya improve lang improve :) Thank you sa pagbabasa. Thesaurus yung parang dictionary rin sya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's still a challenge to me to read books these days. I mean, reading helps a lot for us to learn new words, but I guess, I still can't do it these days huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can try reading articles here too, you will so much good contents from them. And of course they also use unfamiliar words that you can learn and try too :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, I don't have a wide vocabulary, that's why most of the time I used familiar and simple words,. When I read some unfamiliar word, it makes me to open Google to check the meaning. Having a good vocabulary is an asset in writing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same goes with me ate. Ganyan na ganyan ako, tapos I make sure na yung unfamiliar word eh magagamit ko rin soon. Matututo talaga sa pagbabasa eh :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's a setting on google assistant that you can set that automatically sends you new word every morning. A big help to improve your vocabulary :))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. I didn't know this technique. Will check on it, para makatulong din :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aside the tipping, we learn some much in read.cash everyday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I totally agree! I also love reading stories from other users.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those you mentioned helps me a lot to practice and improved my vocabulary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana makatulog sis. Kamusta Axie natin? Nasa Guild ka pa ba?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for the mention and your kind words. New vocabulary is key to make your articles make more interesting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yey. You are one of the best writers here. 😊 And I am learning a lot from your contents.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you and I am glad if you learn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome. More quality contents from you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will do my best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the spirit!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Through readings we enhance our our writing skills and communication skills. Being sustainable when reading long thoughts can give you a lot of knowledge

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for agreeing to me. 😊 And goodluck on your journey here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks also friend ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kailangan ko rin to teh 😭 mahirap sa cc lalo na kapag ung nakausap mong customer demanding sa lecheng accent

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nakatulong sayo 😊 Anyway, ano bang work mo sis?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Call center sis, kaya di talaga makasulat kasi di keri ng schedule

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww. Kaya pala sis, masyadong hectic schedule. Goodluck sa work mo. Pero maganda naman rate? Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kailangan ko na din maimprove Yung writing skills ko 😭

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Okay naman writing skills mo ate eh. Hehehe. For sure, may improvements naman sa writing mo 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo meron Naman and alam ko Naman Yun it's that just kailangan ko pa maging better

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Tama ate. Need pa rin natin ng improvements talaga. Pati ako, kailangan ko pa yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. Aral lang ng aral

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Tama ka dyan ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha remember my college.days because of this topic

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga eh. Lalo sa English class ano? Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago