They Want Me to Run for SK Chairman

38 117
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

Filipinos already know the position of “Sangguniang Kabataan” in the government, specifically in their barangay. And for my foreign readers, it is a type of organization for the youth. They will also vote for the Chairman that they want as their leader. It is also part of the government officials.

I saw an article from @ExpertWritter about her plans once she became their SK Chairman. And while reading, I thought that maybe I should also share my story about this particular position. People are also making memes and posting about this since it will be part of the next election that will happen in December this year.

It all started way back in 2018 when someone called me and asked me to be part of her running candidates. But I said no since I am still 17 years old at that time, plus I have no interest in politics at all. In that same year, one of our barangay kagawad visited me personally to tell me that they are seeing the potential in me – that they want me to be their SK Chairman. And again, I said no.

Another person talked to me, and he was our barangay captain before. He said the same thing, but of course, I also said no. The barangay election happened last May 2018, and someone got elected and led our barangay’s youth for almost 4 years.

During that four years of being in the position, I heard many complains and rants about her way of leading. She has limited projects made for the youth, and people began to throw speculation of corruption towards her. And these allegations had a confirmation when one of the incumbent provincial officers mentioned that our SK Chairman is always sending them solicitation papers asking for financial support for some activities.

But, we felt nothing and saw nothing, even though other SK Chairperson in our neighboring barangay has so many activities and celebrations done. It is when everything started again – the words that they want me to run.

I have been silent since the last election, and now they are trying to win my heart into entering politics. And here are the phrases that they used to persuade me:

  • "You are qualified."

I heard about this when we were at my cousins’ house and we are having a drinking session. They started opening up about the election and pointed their fingers at me. I appreciated it when they told me that I am qualified because it means they saw something in me. I was just laughing the whole time and telling them that I will think about it.

  • "People are rooting on you, even the current barangay officials."

One of my brothers told me this line, and it hits differently until now. He mentioned how other officials courted me to run last 2018. Also, I heard his friends telling him to ask me to run. He said that they are rooting for me since they know that I can do something about the requests and activities that they want to have.

  • "Budgeting and making resolutions will be easy-peasy for you."

My brother’s girlfriend is a teacher, and her cousin is a current SK Chairperson. She told me about the paper works that her cousin did while in the position. And she added that budgeting will not be a problem since I already have a background in financial management. Also, she is one of the people who push me to run because she thinks I can lead them better than anyone else.

  • "You heard the complaints, and now you know what to do."

It came from my other brother. He told me that I heard how people complained about the works done by our SK Chairman, and I can change them. I already know the mistakes she did and the things that she should have never done. And I get my brother’s point.

  • "You have a good support system."

Like what I have mentioned above, people started to persuade me to run. Someone even offered to guide me, and she was an SK Chairperson before too. My brother’s friends are also telling me that they’ll help in campaigning, knowing that they are coming from different parts of the barangay.

I heard this from them and other people too, especially my friends. They even persuade me with the idea that barangay officials already talked to me – and that’s already a good start.

  • "You are the kind of person who can lead us."

It is the line that felt good to hear, so far. They think that I can lead them and be their voice. I also heard them say that they see a good leader in my persona – and that I can work for the betterment of our barangay.

But, I am not decided yet. Even after hearing good words and knowing what they think about me, I am still in the process of decision-making. I need to think things through and make sure that I will come up with a 100% decision. Do you want to know the things that I consider before saying yes to running? Keep posted on my next article about it.


<Lifestyle Blogs>

Article # : <260>
Time      : <12:50 PM>
Published : <May 20 2022>
Author    : <charmingcherry08>

If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:


Want To Connect With Me?

Drop a direct message or comment on my:

28
$ 10.53
$ 9.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @MWSA
+ 19
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

Comments

My dear friend, I am very happy to meet such a powerful and hard-working girl and it is a great honor for me. It is great that your friends and those around you see in you the ability to be their SK chairman. In my opinion, be sure to try your luck, because this can be the beginning of a way to start your future success. Especially since everyone around you has said they will support you, and in this way you have the help of many people by your side.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You just mentioned everything :) You are such a good reader to remember it all. I agree, they are showing their support and I think I should consider that too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If people have trust on you, it only means they saw your potential and so I think there's nothing wrong if you run for that position. The youth need's a good leader, to guide them and inspires them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree. Maybe they saw something in me that made them think I am qualified and deserving to lead them. Thank you for the good words :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, if look at it from the bright, you can change how things is done ones you become the chairman,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww. That's it :) That is one of the things and reasons why they push me so hard to run for the position.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

my nephew is the SK Chairman of our Barangay, despite of all of his good deeds, they still have some issues abou him, But thank fully my nephew always said that " wala silang alam sa lahat, mas nakikita ng Dyos lahat ng magandang gawa nya " but at the end of the day, desisyon mo padin ma susunod 💚💚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sa politika, marami talagang masasabi ang mga tao at isa yun sa dapat kong paghandaan if ever I say yes into running. Buti po at ganun ang mindset ng nephew ninyo :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have nice qualifications, sis. The bottom line parin is it is your choice pa rin. Nasa sayo pa rin ang last say. I hope you will have the best decision. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga eh. Sa akin pa rin talaga kung gusto ko o hindi :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't doubt yourself sis, to think na andaming gustong magrun ka into that position. Nakikita nilang malaki potential mo kaya for sure magagampanan mo yarn. Pero nag aaral ka din diba? Hindi kaya mahirapan ka or mawalan ka ng time sa ibang gawain mo as a person and student.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, yun nga rin iniisip ko eh. Ang daming nagsasabi na tumakbo na ako, kasi sayang daw yung opportunity lalo ang dami na ring nag-uudyok sa akin. Pero isa talaga sa concerns ko yung pag-aaral ko talaga eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Magagamit mo rin yan ate kapag nagtrabaho ka na in real world hehe. Kung alam naman nila potensyal nila, bat ka ate magdodoubt haha. But of course, marami ka rin ate na mga raket like freelancing kaya feel ko yun reason mo bat ka nagdodoubt hehe. You need to weigh your decision muna hehe. Mahina naman ako sa leadership eh kaya it is a no for me

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oo nga be, eh. Magandang experience din if ever. At tama ka nga. Nakuha mo yung rason kung bakit medyo nagda-doubt ako. Masyadong hectic na schedule ko huhu. Pero need ko lang ng solid na decision-making talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oi..take that opportunity..aside sa may allowance 🙈 maeenhance din skills o..iss pa, matalino at matulungin mka..i saw how you helped aetas jan...pwd mo pa mapursue yan

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha yung allowance talaga ate ano. But anyway, oo nga naman isa rin yun sa opportunity eh. Plus, marami talaga kong matututunan dito. Thank you ate. Pag-iisipan ko muna talaga ng mabuti.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

SK Chair is not easy as it seems. I was SK Treasurer before, so I had more time with the SK and Officials. Sometimes the Barangay Officials are always contra with the SK, haha. I've been in a session where they always look at SK as just props. Sadly my SK Chairwoman I worked with died due to some complication last year.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I agree. Yung Kuya ko naman SK Kagawad before. And alam ko yung issue about sa barangay officials na kontra sa SK Projects ganun. Kaya lagi sinasabi sa akin na advantage ko yung pati mga barangay officials ako ang gustong tumakbo. Awww, edi she's so young when she died. Hay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you will be a good SK charman if ever Charmy Charmy. And ang galing mo kaya, sa mga pag paplan palang galing galing mp na ee. Kaso yun lang, mahahati ang oras mo sa maraming bagay tas dadagdag pa itey. Kaya ba ng time?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you ate. Ayun nga eh, isa sa mga kino-consider ko talaga yung oras. Kasi once na pumasok ako dyan, kailangan talaga full time eh. Eh ang dami nating raket diba, hay! Pag-iisipan ko muna ate hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Since so many people believe in you, maybe you should believe in yourself too and probably you'll do a great job. Just don't feel pressured by others to do something that you don't want to do.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aww. I really appreciate your words. I will use those words in my decision-making. I do appreciate the people who believe in me but I still need to consider more things before doing it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa tingin bagay ka sa pagiging sk kasi mahilig ka SA mga social works like helping out sa mga needy people, I think you have a heart on this. KAilangan ng bansa natin Yong may malasakit sa kapwa. Baka ikaw na nga cherry ang Para diyan.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aww. Thank you ate. Nakaka-motivate naman yan. Takbo na yata talaga ako hehe. Anyway, nasa stage pa naman ako ng decision-making, at may mga kino-consider pa ako. Sana palarin if ever na mapa-oo nila ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Possible naman siguro kasi madami Kang supporters. Privilege kasi Yan para makatulong ka Mas magkakaroo. Ka ng access at mapalawak ang advocacy mo, at makatulong din sa pag aaral MO.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ate. Sabi nga ng mga kaibigan ko, kung gusto ko raw na mas malawak yung coverage ng matutulungan ko, subukan ko raw tumakbo talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's actually a good opportunity for you to grow and mature in leadership. Marami kang matutunan dyan. Malay mo eye-opener pala yan na maging Barangay Chairman ka soon.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It actually is an opportunity to me. Sabi nga rin nila, subukan ko raw. I know that it's really a big responsibility, I mean, politics. Kaya kailangan kong pag-isipang mabuti kung gusto ko ba talagang tumakbo o hindi. Ayaw ko naman kasi yung tatakbo ako dahil lang napilit ako ng mga tao. Gusto ko yung pagtakbo ko, gusto ko talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung sakali man maging SK Chairman ka, please do your job. Yung SK namin dito patapos na term kaya nagpa basketball nalang, yun palang nagawa haha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same goes here. Yung SK namin ang dami nang criticism na natanggap. Asar-talo pa. Ayun, ending napilitan siyang magpalaro ng basketball. Grabe yung nasayang na budget dahil sa pagiging corrupt niya. And I will not do those mistakes. Kasi ako mismo naging kritiko niya, and sa akin lumalapit yung mga maraming reklamo sa kanya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know if I am qualified to run as a SK Chairman or Kagawad but I want to try it. Even though, sometimes it's scary because politics is dirty. Sigh.

But what if? We are the person(s) who are waiting for the chance of our youth in our town right? Let's give it a try mare! haha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Qualified ka nyan. Tama ka, nakakatakot nga ring pumasok sa politika, dahil marumi at maraming haka-haka kapag nakaupo ka na. But anyway, what if we can make a change diba? Go na ba tayo sa pagtakbo mare? Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Try mo din kasi marami din naman sya benefits, lalo at nag-aaral ka diba may scholarships yan, pero dapat matatag ang paninindigan mo at loob mo, kasi we can't please everybody diba.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Opo ate, may mga benefits din. Tama ka dyan, dapat ready ka rin talaga makarinig ng kritisismo at mga opinyon bago ka pumasok sa politika. We can't please everybody talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo dahil ndi pedeng maramdamin ka if nasa pulitika ka

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ka dyan ate. Dapat lakasan ng loob at open ang isip mo sa mga salitang ibabato sayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aba! Sasabak na rin yata sa politika, magandang simula yan pag yan talaga passion mo..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hindi nila ako napilit tumakbo last election ate. Pag-iisipan ko pa kung tatakbo ako ngayon hehe. Oo nga eh, magandang magstart muna sa ganito.

$ 0.00
1 year ago