Risk with no return

12 32
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

As investors, we know risks by heart. I remember that when starting out I see a lot of other veteran investors say to only invest what you can afford to lose.

Risks are usually easily ignored especially when the promised returns are too tempting. But risks sre not inly associated with financial investments but also in our other investments in life.

Today let me share about my recent experience about taking a risk with no return and what I learned from it.

The scenario

Maybe it is just me but I view quiz bees as something common and usually done. I do not think of it as a project really worth talking about in the span of more meetings than I care for. I know that because in high school, we did around 5 different activities during our club's month and we did not need to have multiple meetigs because all details are ironed out before ending a meeting and then we knew everyome will do their part competently.

But like I was reminded multiple times since starting college, not everyone functions nearly as efficiently as science high school students. I am not even bragging. At least back in high school, no matter how much I dislike a person I know they will do an above average quality of work.

Now though it is different. Planning of this quiz bee took multiple meetings and then some officers kept changing things up despite the agreed upon details on the meeting. Then they would have the audacity to say that their efforts will be wasted if we do not do what they want because they already set things up.

I get irritated a lot but usually, just some short rant will make me dismiss things easily. But even I have a tolerance for how much disrespect I am willing to take.

First it was brushing aside suggestions in favor of what they wanted without even bothering to listen.

After that it was a series of meeting they kept calling for repeating the same things over and over again and yet surprise surprise. They changed up the plans again despite the countless meetings of never bring up their problems.

Then it was buying a premium of ZOOM even though the whole plan was made with the assumption of using Google Meet. We let it go already but I was already irritated.

Additionally, they kept asking our Chairperson to hold a meeting but they will not show up. This is frustrating because 1) they never have the common sense to keep the Chairperson ipdated on what is happening despite constant communication with them by the Chairperson, 2) they are hoarding the files as if they are the only ones who are in charge of the program, and 3) they kept bypassing the power distribution and acting way out of their line by constantly doing things without informing the Chairperson first.

I am not the Chairperson, just to clarify. But this is the first time I ever saw someone clearly disrespecting the position of everyome in the organization. If they had wanted to be the one calling all the shots then they should have had run for Chairperson instead of the lower positions.

Maybe it is not as common sense to update the one in-charge as much as I thought.

The boiling point

A dry run was supposed to be conducted and once again (no longer a surprise) they wanted to change things up again. Instead of using the same link for all the quiz bee participants, they wanted us to jump from one link to another. Here is the sweet part though, they only have 1 account of ZOOM premium! And they act as if it will be the most organized thing to do to just have multiple links.

At this point I was so done with them. They keep agreeing to the plan when in a meeting then keep pushing for what they want.

So I though if that was the game they kept playing then might as well speak my thoughts.

The risk

The risk I took is to share my unfiltered thoughts without even trying to mask my irritation. I did it without much thought since I was asked for an opinion so I gave it.

I suggested that if I knew they would push using ZOOM as the platform for the quiz, then I would have suggested breakout rooms to save time and to make it more interesting and easier for the officers.

I suggested this at the first meeting but we did not have a ZOOM premium back then so my idea was dismissed. And I was okay with that since I understood that we have no budget and just need to make do with what we have.

But since they bought ZOOM, I kept wondering why we are still following the same plan despite the fact that we could maximize using the premium aspects of the platform.

So I brought it up at the supposed dry run that ended up being just another directionless meeting. This time, the officers actually voiced out their agreements without the other officer who had to leave for a bit because of an emergency.

When this plan was brought up, the process immediately smoothed out and we could have had the dry run succefully in the evening. The Chairperson asked everyone if they are okay with it including the officer who kept pushing for the longer time for their more spotlight-y program. Everyone said yes.

I would like to point out the difference in the original plan to what I suggested. The orginal plan includ one officer hogging all the time ti speak up for the whole duration of the program. Some officers are hosts, and part of the technical team. But majority of the officers, including the Chairperson herself, are just supposed to be displays for the whole day.

My suggestion to do breakout rooms will give an equal distribution of tasks to the officers so that no one will just be a decoration for the program and a name on papers.

I could see that the Chairperson liked this idea since everyone will have a part. So we ironed out the details and Chairperson decided to have the final dry run last evening.

No reward

But then, at around 3PM the annoyig officers call for a meeting again. Not even bothering to inform the Chairperson. At this point, I was angry because why do they keep doing that. They keep changing things up again and again only thinking of themselves.

The officer is still pushing for her idea despite the fact that the other one is already smoothed out and her idea was so wrinkly like a crumpled up paper. I just gave up and replied to their messages.

I sent a lot but the summary is that I told them that I just suggested it eith the idea of smoothing out the flow of the program and saving everyone's time. But they kept pushing for what they want to just keep doing that then. I said that me and my bestfriend's names are put as the organizers of the event yet our suggestions are ignored even though this should be our jurisdiction since we are in charge of the activities of the organization. In my frustration, I also asked them, "Is this really a project of the organization or just yours?" Then I brought up the fact that I have had enough of them making decisions without consulting the Chairperson. I told them if everyone could just do what they want in the organization then our positions should have all just been Chairpersons.

The Chairperson messaged me asking me if I was okay. We had a bit of conversation where I learned that she is actually irritated byt was just trying to keep the peace. She supported my suggestion on the group chat as well as the Vice-Chairperson too.

To keep the peace, the Chairperson decided to hold a poll for the final decision. The result is supposed to be a tie, but the Chairperson decided to abstain. The secretary also missed the chance to vote. But both of them were supposed to vote for the Breakout rooms. So we lost two votes, and the one continuous session won.

When Chairperson asked us if those who voted for Breakout rooms are okay with her decision to abstain to prevent a tie, we respected her decision.

The Outcome

It is as I expected. There were more deadtimes than the program itself. Most officers were left ekth one job to do- watch the quiz bee. They continued the pattern of ignoring what the Chairperson has to say.

But at least the event is done. Well, paper works await but that is for the Organization Secretary to worry about.

It is not up to my standard but maybe my standards are too high since I came from a place with competent people. No officer ever had to be a display because everyone has a part to play on the event itself.

We did an evaluation at the end of the event and to the surprise of no one, many comments mentioned the long time and that the event is obviously unpolished. Some are even pointing out that the answers of the officer (who wanted to be a one-woman show) are wrong but she refused to listen to the students.

Hopefully, our organization can have a better time together. The Chairperson actually had enough and already shared more insights that will helpfully do something to fix this organization.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

18
$ 9.31
$ 9.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 4
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Ow why not inform the Chairperson first, I mean whatever the plan they want to do they must ask the leader in the first place. Whatever the things that had been set they shouldn't change it just for their personal motives (I guess)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They wanted to be the Chairperson(s) so bad but did not want the reaponsibilities that come with it but they wanted the power.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In life nothing is easy, there are usually many complications, you just have to face them full of positive mentality. I also get very angry when there are abrupt changes, because I feel that they do not value the time or effort that has been invested, time that cannot be recovered. But I can clearly say that I don't like working in a group, unless I know how the group really works. In my previous job the group of teachers I did some activities with was really good, we all understood each other, but the other teachers didn't get along well and always wanted to argue and change the planning we already had, it was really annoying, I didn't like those teachers haha. And in college there are always people who don't want to do anything in a group and even though you help them and try to make them do their part, they prefer others to do their research or work.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

life is a risk because what we will do is a way to fight to wait for something that is hope there may be times when we have to lose the battle but waiting is a risk for self-esteem.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is mostly happened in the group. I remember my past experiences with this too until now I didn't forget that's why the communication is really important.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is why I hate working in groups, especially one with unreasonable people

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is something we have in common.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe the whole team is lacking communication with all the officer especially the chairperson causing them bypassing instead of working as a team.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We definitely need better communication. But honestly, the chairperson is not lacking in those aspect since she always ask us for updates. It just that those few officers refused to share their progress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see they have their own self interest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate sudden change of plans too and not having concrete plans. Oftentimes, those would lead to time and effort wastage.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is so true and it makes it confusing too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago