Been There, Done That

7 26
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

"Papunta ka palang, pabalik na ko" (You're just about to go where I've been)

Raise your hands if you have ever heard of this phrase. I bet all of the Filipino users here in read dot cash are very much familiar with this. Our parents usually says that when we do something, most of the time a bad doing. Haha! What are some instances that release this magical spell that will make you speechless to mutter excuses on our behaviour?

Growing up with a strict parents, I always end up not being able to join a get together if it does not involved school. Let me share some of my own experiences when I was young.

School project that requires an overnight. Who? Who among you uses this reason just to attend a night swimming with your friends? Does this work?

I have used it a lot of times but always failed. They don't believe that a project can't be done during the day or needs to be done within one day.

My mom and dad are against swimming when I was studying because they fear that I might drown and no one will notice. I don't know how to swim until now, fun fact. I guess they really know where I'm headed to if it's an overnight stay.

Will just meet up with friends. Our parents very much know what will happen if they allow us, drinking and partying. What can we do? We were young, wild and free. But we never fail class, we have a very good teamwork during exams.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Activity in school. This is the most effective reason for me. But I can only use this card to go to school early. My dad, from elementary to college, had always been dropping me off and picking me up at school. That's why an hour early is great way to catch up to your friend's sessions. But one hour is the maximum I can get, later than that they will be suspicious.

Feeling Sick. When we don't feel like going to school, we draw this card. My parents don't buy this reason because they knew better. That's why there was this time when I don't really want to go to school, i I can remember it correctly, there was a graded recitation that time and I had not study. Since I know my parents wouldn't believe me if I said that I was sick, what I did was place a garlic on my underarm. They said it will increase your body temperature, it did but you have to clean the smell first before talking to you parents or it won't work.

Thesis. Thank you for this mandatory subject, I get to experience night life during my college days. Overnight here and there while my parents thought we were doing school work, the truth is we were out having fun.

My parents wants nothing but the best for us siblings, I understand but drinking doesn't mean I am bad, right? I don't encourage you to drink. Haha! Make sure that you won't let your parents have an sleepless night worrying about you, while you're having fun. Have some conscience. A little update is all they need to know you are safe. Anyways, it was all in the past now. I can freely go where ever I want and buy whatever I need as long as it comes from my own money.

That's some of my excuses to have a fun life, however my parents are smart enough to counter it. Now that I am older, I understand what they meant when they said "Papunta ka palang, pabalik na ako". I applied this attitude towards my younger siblings who have a lot of reasons just to go out, especially during this pandemic. Funny how they use the same excuses I once used. I advice them to come up with a different one because that didn't work before, it has a zero probability of working now. Haha! At least nowadays my parents are not as strict as they were before. I am now the strict one who tells my parents not to allow my siblings to go out. Sorry not sorry for being the antagonist of their lives.

Closing Thoughts

I've been emailing back and forth to the HR of my part time job for my schedule. It was hectic and I should start today, however due to the incompetence of their personnel I was given no information on where should I start.



January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

8
$ 3.62
$ 3.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Eunoia
+ 3
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Hindi masyadong strict ang parents ko pero hindi ko yung nilulubos-lubos. Pag lumalabas ako, o sino sa aming magkakapatid, nagpapaalam kami talaga at tumatawag kapag nandon na. About the opening phrase naman, I often hear it to my grandparents and some people older than me and taking their advice is indeed of great importance lalo na sa generation ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. I remember using some of these excuses jus to skip school, especially the part about feeling sick 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti n lng di masyadong strick sila parents noon at isa pa since high school to college sa boarding house na ako tumira hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dati madalas ko din marinig yan at ngayon ako naman ang gumagawa sa mga anak ko😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I usually heaed the one sa mga nakakatanda. Ako kasi from elementary to high school yung route ko lang is eskwelahan then bahay. Most of the time study here, study there heheheeh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty 🤣. Nung high school ako..hirap mkalabas lalo na kpg wala pasok..so kung mag swimming mga kaibigan ko.. Sabihin ko nlng may project ,🤣🤣 Pro college carry lng. My boarding house na kc at malayo samin. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! Relate that phrase from my parents tsaka I just laughed the part na Yung aaabsent ka because may recitation sa school yeah relate you po. Takot pa naman ako sa oral recitation heheh. Our parents just put us in a good place they just strict because they love us so much. I'm happy to stop by here in your article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago