Sharing A Slice Of My Childhood: When I Was A Kid...

Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

I've tried the Never Have I Ever and Would You Rather challenge and there's this new prompt challenge in which Ate @bmjc98 started. This is called When I Was A Kid Challenge. I find this easy because it's just going to be all about sharing a slice of my childhood. I've read a couple of articles about this already and as I was reading it, I felt like they were part of my childhood. I'm hopping into this trend for you to get to know me more. You can also checkout ate @bmjc98 's article here. Without further ado, let me tell you about my childhood!


When I was a kid, I used to swim in the river.

I live near the river and my childhood friends would always invite me to join them. It is where I learned how to swim and where I almost drowned. I mean, drowning is part of learning how to swim and the first "swimming technique" that I learned was the doggy paddle technique since it is the easiest. The river back then was so clean that you can see the bottom of it and in general, it is full of life. My grandma would always tell me that it is where my Mom and my relatives learned to swim. My Dad would always bring a stick or a hanger because I always leave the house without telling them or asking permission if I can swim in the river. Well, look at me now. I am a good swimmer. lol. HAHAHAHAHA. (Michael Phelps is quaking!)

When I was a kid, I used to join my uncle and cousins to go to the mountains and rice fields.

We have to pass a river to go to the mountains and basically I live near both the river and the mountains. It is a fun experience; we drink buko juice, eat random fruits that we can get along the way, and enjoy the spectacular view from above. And it influenced me to be in love by nature's gift.

My relatives own vast agricultural lands and raise ducks. Every afternoon we would go to the middle of the rice fields and accompany them to their cage before it gets dark.

When I was a kid, I used to draw and write on the walls.

I think all of us tried even once in our lives to write/draw on the walls. My siblings and I had a competition back then. Whoever gets to write at the highest peak will win---I wrote on the ceiling. We even practiced drawing envelopes and stars. HAHAHAHA.

When I was a kid, my Dad wouldn't allow us to attend birthday parties.

This is beyond normal. Hahahaha. We always get invites and we always refused because of my Dad's petty rules. A kid should be attending parties to socialize but it's different in my case. My dad would always question us when we are planning to attend parties, his line would always be "Bakit kayo aattend eh may pagkain naman tayo dito sa bahay". But it's all good now. We even use his line to him when he is attending parties. Wahahaha reverse card activated. lol.

When I was a kid, I wanted to become like my Dad.

My Dad is a graduate of Marine Transportation but he decided not to push through with that career. He ended up being an Administrative Aid and worked in our LGU. He has an all-around job. Setting up the stage. Cleaning in the hallways, Putting up tarpaulins, and many more. My Mom was surprised when I said that I wanted to be like my Dad. She was even laughing and amazed by what I have said. Well, I like cleaning when I was a child. As in a lot. My Mom can still remember what I said until today. Hahahahaha.

When I was a kid, I tried smoking.

I am one of those curious kids who want to know what it feels like to smoke. My environment was the reason why I got curious in the first place. There is no one smoking in the family but my relatives do smoke.

I tried smoking the rolled sheet of paper and the actual cigarette stick. The rolled paper cigarette taste so awful and the cigarette stick was Marlboro Chocolates. Hahahaha. We were at the sari-sari store when we tried to smoke that because it was just in stock and no one prefers to buy it.

When I was a kid, I learned to be independent.

I'm not the usual kindergarten student who has a parent/ chaperone who waits outside the classroom. I eat alone. I buy my snacks in the canteen all by myself. Good thing is that the canteen staff knows me because they live near my house. But learning to be independent at such a young age is an achievement for me--it prepared me for the real world.

When I was a kid, I was always the second-best.

I'm not really my Mom's favorite and until now, I'm still not. I am second in my parents' children and I have middle child syndrome. I wasn't given the attention that I deserve because they were too focused on my other siblings. Well, all of those treatments honed me to becoming an independent person. I learned to trust and love myself more.

When I was a kid, all I ate was tinapa and rice with sugar.

My grandmother took care of me when I was just a little kid, I lived with her when my parents were still working in Manila. She introduced me to eating rice with sugar. It was good! She taught me how to live life simply by making use of the things that we have. Tinapa was a favorite and I'll make the coffee as the "sabaw". Ugh! Heaven!!! These were my favorite when I was still a little kid.

When I was a kid, I didn't know who my parents are.

As I've mentioned earlier and in my previous article about my Grandma, I didn't know who they are when I was little. They were busy finding jobs for them to be able to provide for us and I was left to my Grandma with my brother. We stayed in Cavite for a couple of years when they were here in Bicol. We got reunited when I was about to start schooling.


Author's Note:

All of us have memorable childhood memories that we are going to remember for the rest of our lives. It has a place in our hearts either it be good or bad. It made us who we are today.

Thank you lovely people for reading this article! Keep safe and healthy! And I also want to thank you guys for upvoting my article about purpose. I already sent my donation. God bless all of you! :">


You can send your donations here:

gogetfunding.com/welovemarga/

Checkout my previous articles:

Getting To Know Me Series: Never Have I Ever Challenge

Getting To Know Me Series: Answering Would You Rather Questions!

The Night We Crashed

The Writer and his Lover

Let's talk about Purpose

Lead Image

15
$ 10.22
$ 9.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @ZehraSky
+ 7
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Awww... I am envious at the swimming in the river and such. We didn't have any beach or river near us in the province so I think that's why I never learned to swim well. Haha. Ah the provincial life as a kid is quite fun than living in the city all the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako rice and kape or minsan milk and minsan din milo. Depende. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Analaa, kami din dati naliligo sa ilog. Kasama sina papa at mga kapatid ko. Nakakamiss lang, kaso ngsyon kasi di na ako mahilig sa tubig. Wahahaha feeling ko bang-aw na ako. Charing, pero kasi nakakatakot ng lumangoy ba. I also tried smoking before, kaso di na ako umulit. Kasalanan ni Mommy nagsisigarilyo sya ee. Ayun gaya gaya kasi ako . Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good for you ate na nakapag quit ka kaagad sa smoking habang maaga pa. Natatakot na din nga ako minsan lumangoy kasi baka may humatak bigla ng binti ko pailalim. HAhahahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Loka ka, one time lang ako nag try wahahaha nong bata ako di na nasundan wahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay very good hahahahaha. Ako kasi nag try ulit nung birthday ng friend ko kaso di talaga ako marunong and triny ko lang talaga. HAHAHAHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to eat rice with sugar and also milk which on rare occasions I still do when I feel the urge lol! Your dad's reasoning of not allowing you to attend parties is new to me. I think he has real reason why :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's a long story why he doesn't want us to attend parties before. :">

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ramdam ko yung bibili ng snacks mag isa sa canteen. Ang independent nating bata. I am a middle child too kaya ramdam kita. And yes , you're right , we learned to love ourselves more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya tuloy ngayon halos mag isa ako kapag may errands πŸ˜‚β€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laban lang haha. Kaya natin tu πŸ’ͺπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakayanin! β€οΈπŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The swimming in the river I can relate, the dog paddle technique, that's the first one I learned too. Eating rice with sugar, the best! Thanks for sharing this one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely childhood memories! ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tinapa at kape are the perfect combo, ugh🀘 Pero sanaol bata palang marunong ng sumisid 😌 ako gagi ngayon lang nakaligo ng sapa, para akong bata legit, yung sinend ko na photo ng river, yun yung first time kong makaligo. hahaha can't blame me tho, t'was my first time swimming in a river HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aminin, iba ang experience maligo sa river kaysa sa pool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup, I got a funny story about swimming in the river

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool, I know how to swim din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good for survival skills!! ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paano po di ako matututo tinatapon ako sa dagat ng mga ate ko at barkada nila nung mga 5 yo pa lang ako :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi din ako sumasama sa bukid kapag nagpapakain ng mga baka at kalabaw at kumuha ng mga kahoy, sa malalayong lakaran nasubukan ko nadin sumama, grabe ilang bundok din yung tinatawid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero diba kahit nakakapagod ang saya? Ang presko pati sa daanan tas medyo nakakatakot kasi dun sa mga nakikita natin sa movie. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Bakit kayo aattend eh may pagkain naman tayo dito sa bahay"

Ganyan din sinasabi samin ni papa kapag nagpapaalam kami nung bata pa. Pero nung narealize nilang tumatakas na lang kami kasi ayaw kami payagan, hinayaan na nila kami basta magpapaalam HAHAHA.

Natawa ako dun sa paggamit niyo niyan sa Dad niyo. Iniimagine ko ano kaya naging reaction niya nun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naiinis siya kasi ginamit na namin reverse card. Pinagtatawanan na lang namin siya. "Dati palagi mo kaming pinagbabawalan na wag umattend sa parties kasi may pagkain naman tayo. Tas ngayon aattend ka birthday party. Wala na ba tayong pagkain?" Tas yung mukha niyang halos di maipinta HAHAHAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all magaling sumisid πŸ₯ΊβœŠπŸ». Siguro a few years ago lang ako natutong lumangoy tapos kadalasan floating lang πŸ˜‚. Sa city kasi lumaki kaya medyo mahirap maghanap nang masisisiran

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Punta ako diyan para ako masisiran mo HAHAHAHAHAHA CHAROT. πŸ˜‚ Kailangan mong matuto lumangoy para sa PE 4 Swimming πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bet πŸ₯Ί CHAROT HAHAHAHA πŸ˜‚. Dapat ngayong year may swimming class keme kami sa pe pero online class πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same kaya nag video na lang ako na lumalangoy sa hangin πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ‘‹πŸ»Middle child! hello! :D Haha natawa ako sa nagsulat ka sa ceiling. samin nun may kasamang parusa eh. as in scrub off the drawings. so good luck sa drawing sa ceiling!

Parang ang saya dun sa river na nililiguan mo!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super saya!! Hahahahahaha. Mga naka brief pa kamo dati πŸ˜‚ pero ngayon andami na kasing nagtatapon ng basura kaya di na kami naliligo ☹️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

waaah ang sakit naman nun. nakita mong nadumihan yung river unti unti :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True ☹️ wala eh, epekto na ng panahon

$ 0.00
2 years ago