I cannot live without my Grandmother.

4 38
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Note: I am writing this article based on how I remember the events from my early childhood.

My early childhood.

My parents had my older brother at a very young age, they were at their early 20s. They had me at 21 years old, meaning that my brother and I are just one year apart and next to me is my younger brother and sister. Back then, they were still studying or fresh graduates. My mom was a graduate of Accountancy and my dad was a graduate of Marine Transportation.

Both of them needed to work to provide for us. They entered many jobs, my siblings and I were left to my grandmother and to some of our relatives.

Will you believe me if I tell you that I did not know any of my siblings when I was growing up? Basically, we did not grow together. I grew up with my older brother but he wasn't present in my memory. I didn't knew where my younger brother was that time and my sister was in the care of my Aunt, which was the first cousin of my mom.

At the course of my parents working hard and striving hard to provide for us, they were away from us. My grandmother raised me in my early childhood and she let me experienced all the things in life. She taught me how to live a simple life. I learned to eat rice with sugar and smoked fish (tinapa in tagalog) with rice.

Since I was with my Grandmother, I was always with her wherever she goes. We moved to Manila to lived with my aunt and stayed their for a couple of years. She took care of me and my cousin there because my aunt was also with her work. We moved back to Bicol because my Aunt requested to be deployed their. And the moving never stops. We lived at Legazpi City, Albay for several years and decided to go back in my hometown.

The day came where my parents moved back here in our hometown because of their work. They were fortunate enough to find a job in the government. Since they are already here in our hometown, they decided to take me back from my Grandmother. It was not easy. Since they were away from us and I was moving from different houses, I didn't know them that they were my parents.

Adjusting to my new environment was so hard. I got separation anxiety.

I left the house at 9 o'clock pm.

Photo from verywellhealth.com

There are days that I would cry because of my Grandmother. One night, I left the house crying and went to look for my Grandmother ---it was 9 o'clock in the evening! As arrived there, my Grandmother welcomed me and let me sleep. And suddenly my Mom arrives to pick me up. They wanted me to get used to living with them.

The escaping never stopped. Whenever I have the chance, I would leave. They decided to get me a Nanny that can look over me. She was ate Evelyn. She was nice and patient. But I didn't need her in my life. I was still looking for the presence of my Grandmother.

Finally, my parents decided that my Grandmother live with us. Now, she is still with us and looking after us. I cannot wait for the time that I would give back to all of her efforts in raising us and making us feel loved all the time. She was the person who filled the space in my heart when my parents were not around.

8
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
$ 0.01 from @Constellations.ruin
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Comments

Hello, I enjoyed reading your articles :)) but I am sad that the bot is not giving you tips. Try nyo po na gawing 4 minutes and minimum ng articles nyo. It will help :)))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your recommendation. I actually have an article that I will be publishing this evening. I think it is a 4 minute read. 😊🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is such a heartwarming article. I want to know more about your favorite memories with your grandma. Did you ever become close with your siblings or is it still an on going process?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment. Growing up when I was reunited with them, we got close. But not the super closeness between siblings. Sometimes we would talk about certain issues and trends. :")

$ 0.00
2 years ago