The Writer and his Lover

6 39
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, read.cash

Hello! This is my first time to write and publish a story, I am not a pro at this but I just wanted to try. Also, my read.cash account turned two months today and this is my treat for all of you. I hope you will like this! :")


Addie is a writer, overachiever, and a good son. However, despite these qualities, he lacks something. A space in his heart that cannot be filled by his friends and family. Addie was alone even when the times that he is with his friends. He was lonely.

The COVID-19 pandemic changed his life. Like any other person, he was not able to do the things that he used to. Because of that, there was a lot of energy that keeps him awake. Addie was in the middle of writing an article when writer’s block hit him. He would always go for a walk whenever he experience this. But this time, he cannot.  It was nighttime when he thought of using Omegle. It is a platform where you can chat with random strangers all over the world but, there is an option to put tags on it—your preference. ATENEO, DLSU, UST, and UP are the tags that he indicated.

Upon entering, he was surprised to see a man that is jerking off and he immediately press the stop chat button. He was shocked. It was his first time. He tried again, and this time there was this boy who was in such a dark room that his face couldn't be seen. It was Marcus, a guitarist.

https://pin.it/wAhUCYf

Addie: Uhm, hi.

* Marcus didn’t respond.

Addie: Hello, can you hear me?

 *Marcus was in pure silence and the only sound that Addie can hear was the sound that was the electric fan was making.

Addie: You know what? You are just wasting my time.

*Addie ends the chat.

After attempts of finding someone to talk to, he gave up. Addie got back to writing and still, he was mentally blocked. He does not know how the plot twist of the story is going to be. He was already frustrated with himself and decided to try Omegle one last time. This time, it was different. He opted to change the tags to ALONE, LONELY, and A LENDING EAR. It was the darkroom again who showed up.

Addie: You again? For fucks sake!

Marcus: What did you say?

Addie: Oh wow! Now you’re talking.

Marcus: What are you even here for?

Addie: Do you want to really know why? I just wanted someone who can lend their ears to me and listen to what I am about to say.

Marcus answers in a deep voice.

Marcus: Okay, then. Tell me your story.

Addie started telling how he was frustrated and what he was going through. He told him that he is experiencing a mental block and aside from that he was thinking of how he is going to come out to his parents.  Addie is gay.

Marcus: Why don’t you just tell them?

Addie: It’s not that easy. I don’t want to disappoint them.

He kept on talking and talking until he realized that he was just the one that is so loud.

Addie: Wait, why am I the only person that is talking?

Marcus: Because you never gave me the chance? You kept on blobbing.

Addie tones down.

Addie: I’m sorry. So, what are you doing here?

Marcus: I also wanted to find someone who can listen to me.

Addie: Oh okay. Tell me.  

Marcus started to tell about his feelings. He told him how he felt about his existence, that he was the RUNT, BLACK SHEEP, and the UNDERACHIVER in the family. They continue talking that they didn’t noticed what the time was. The sun was already rising. Marcus ask Addies’ account on snapchat.

Marcus: Hey I’m feeling a bit sleepy now. Do you mind if I can get your Snapchat account?

Addie: What for?

Marcus: So that we can still keep in contact with each other and continue talking.

 Days turn into months of talking… Then suddenly, Addie stopped answering Marcus’s calls for a week.

Marcus was already starting to worry about Addies’s absence. He messaged him.

Marcus: Hey, why don’t you answer my calls? Is there something that has happened to you? I’m a bit worried.

Addie finally responded to his message.

Addie: I’m gay and I am starting to like you. There’s this thought in my mind that if one day you suddenly disappear, then I will just be left hanging and thinking of what could have gone wrong. We should end this now so we cannot hurt ourselves in the future.

Marcus: Please don’t leave me like this. You know that you’re the only person that I talk to. I don’t care about you being gay. I’m fine with it.

Addie: You don’t get it. I am starting to fall inlove with you. I don’t want to hurt myself by loving you.

Marcus was out of words. He didn’t know what to respond to that. Addies’s absence made him realized that he is starting to like him.

Marcus: What if I also like you?

Addie does not believe in Internet Love and Long Distance Relationships. There’s this thought in him that he will get cheated on and that the relationship will not work.

Addie: I don’t believe on Internet Love and Long Distance Relationship.

Marcus: Don’t put yourself in a situation you’re not yet in. What if it works? We will make it work.

 They tried to work it out…

They started to date each other and they would always message each other almost every minute of the day. They were getting to know each other more. Addie found out that Marcus was a musician. He plays the guitar and he was one of the performers that got affected of this pandemic.

One day when they were video chatting, Addie saw a guitar at the back of Marcus. Learning to play the guitar was one of Addie’s goals, it was in his bucket list.

Addie: Was that a guitar at the back?

Marcus: Yeah. I used to play the guitar in my band but due to this pandemic, we weren’t able to do gigs and my bandmates and I were forced to stay home.

: Remember the night we met on Omegle? I was depressed that time. Playing the guitar was my way of escaping reality.

Without second thought, Addie asked him if he can teach him how to play the guitar.

Addie: Can you teach me to play the guitar? I’ve always had this guitar that my parents gave me and I’ve never had the chance to learn how to play it. It’s always in the attic and I don’t want to put it to waste.

Marcus: Okay then, I will teach you. But in one condition, I will get the first dibs in your articles. I want to be the first one who will read it.

They agreed with each other and get along. Addie learned how to play the guitar and Marcus’ depression somehow got controlled because of him teaching Addie to play the guitar.

Six Months Later.

Marcus finally have the guts to ask the question.

Marcus: We’ve been talking for months now and I know for a fact that I have already know you and I want to know you more. Addie, can you be my boyfriend?

Addie answers without having second thought..

Addie: Yes!  

They started to enjoy each other's company and even do “crazy things”. This time it was different. There were good morning and good night messages. It was sweeter this time around.

Addie started to sing in the shower as if he was having a concert and used the shower head as his microphone. Marcus’ plays the guitar while smiling as if his thinking of someone.

They started to set plans for the both of them. Addie wanted to see Marcus when he is already fully vaccinated and fit to travel. Every night he would wait for a flash sale for a flight to Manila. They were planning where to stay and where to go. Addie lives in Bicol and Marcus is from Quezon City.

Finally! Addie already booked a flight for December but he kept it a secret to Marcus. He wanted to surprise him. They keep talking as usual and updating each other what happened about their day. They even send each other some photos.

Addie when he went hiking.

Until one day, Addie started again not replying to Marcus’ calls and messages. This time, he was totally out of reach. Marcus did not receive any response from him for two-week time. And finally, Marcus decided to messaged him again.

Marcus: What now? Are you just going to ignore me again? Fuck Addie! You’re driving me crazy. You can just message me if you don’t love me anymore.

: You even said that you want to meet me once this pandemic is over.

: Fine! If you don’t love me anymore, then, I’ll stop loving you.

: Besides, we are just internet lovers. We just love each other in front of the screens!

There has been a rise of Covid cases where Addie lives. He was one of the individuals that got infected with the virus. That two-week time, Addie was brought in the ICU because he has severe symptoms. He was also not able to communicate with Marcus.

 

Addie passed away. He wasn’t able to win over his battle with COVID-19. While Marcus lived his life hating Addie for his absence. Life must go on for him but like any of broken-hearted individual, it’s not going to be easy for him.

And their love story ended that way. The end.


Author's Note.

COVID-19 took many lives and all we can do now is to keep safe and healthy. I encourage you to get vaccinated because it is not just for your self but also for the people around you. Getting vaccinated is a way of helping to stop the spread of the virus.

Always take care of yourself, think of Addie and Marcus's story. They were lovers but no one told Marcus about what happened to Addie. Ask yourself this, who's going to be the one to tell your internet friends if there's something bad happened to you? They will be left hanging and wondering about your absence.

Hey! If you finished reading my story, thank you! I was actually questioning myself if I should publish this but yeah. Here it is now. lol.


Check out my previous articles:

Lead Image

5
$ 4.44
$ 4.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, read.cash

Comments

Sonaaaa 😨, why you have end it like that bata, waeee, waeeee 😭😭. They found each other in times that they needed someone. Pero bakit kailangang malungkot ang wakas, poreber na magagalit si Marcus kay Addie, pano sya tatanggapin non sa langit oag ganyang mga strong grudge sa kanya si Marcus 😭. I hate youuuu mapanakit you 😭. At bakit ba ang hilig ng tao sa suprise, bat di nalang pinaalam. Now Marcus for sure was back to being his old self for sure. Yan ang ang mangyayari sa mga maraming pakulo, hmppp.

Pero mag ingat tayo sa Covida, tama yan naman.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ganiyan ata talaga ang life. We met people along the way and I think Addie's purpose is already accomplished. Kaya dapat talaga matutunan nating maging complete para sa mga sarili natin. We should not let other people fill the space in our hearts kasi kapag sila nawala, babalik ulit tayo sa dating state.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can image what Marcus would feel if he founds out about Addie's sudden disappearance 😔 True Story ba 'to? I wasn't expecting the plot.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Nope, this is a work of fiction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang saklap naman ng story nila 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago