The Night We Crashed

7 50
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Hey silly! How are you? I have been missing in action on this platform for a few days and I have a lot to catch up on. I have not been able to focus lately especially interacting here because of the loud music of our neighbor. (Ikaw ang star ng buhay ko. ugh! The song that is playing now)

This is not an article rather this is a storytime about the night that has been an eye-opening experience for me.


July 19, 2021

Let me start by telling you why I left the house. My elementary friend invited me for his 21st birthday. I couldn't refuse since he has already directly messaged me and we haven't really bonded since high school. The decision was mine to be made and I push to attending the party since I also needed to breathe fresh air to unwind because I have been staying in the house for almost a month.

My friends pick me up at the house at around 4:30 in the afternoon. We arrived there right on time before the rain started to pour down. I am familiar with the other guests and as usual, we sang in the karaoke, joked around, and catch up. I was so happy to see some of my friends that I haven't seen for months.

It was around 5 in the afternoon when we already had our food. We sang happy birthday to my friend and took some photos. After that, some of my friends are already drinking. I stayed with my elementary bestie for a couple of minutes before joining the rest of the group.

I joined them after so many attempts of convincing me to drink. I also want to drink that night but in moderation.

At around 8 o'clock some of our friends decided to leave---even our driver. We had no choice but to let the celebrant drive us home. We drank until 1:30 in the morning. We were drinking gin and beers. The alcohol started to kick in and I am the one who is taking the shot for the celebrant because we don't want him to get drunk.

The drinking session finally ended quarter to 2 o'clock and we are already preparing to leave. There were 5 of us that the celebrant needed to drive home and I will tell you that the distance of our houses is far away from each other except for Rina's house.

Along with us is the celebrant's friends, they come along so that Frank will have someone to talk to when driving home. We already dropped off some of my friends and it was I and Rina's turn. We arrived at Rina's place and it has not been a minute when the incident happened. We crashed into someone's gate. The side wheel hit the gate when Frank's cousin was trying to maneuver the tricycle. It was a loud bang that the owners were awakened by the noise. I was inside of the tricycle that time and all I can remember is lights were flashing and there was a lot of commotion. I stepped out of the vehicle to apologize to the owners and we left already.

What happened was Frank was the initial driver and when it was my turn to be dropped off, his cousin insisted that he will be the one who's going to drive. Little did we know that his cousin is way drunk more than him. An impulsive action that led to a life threatening situation for all of us.

No one got hurt. But we needed to compensate for the damages that the crash made. It has been a traumatizing experience for us. We overdone ourselves and underestimated the effect of the alcohol. I was even telling my friend that, "Minsan na nga lang lumabas ng bahay tas madidisgrasya pa". I was so worried that my Mom would find out since my brother already knew it the moment I woke up. He asked me what was the time of my arrival and he said that her classmate was telling him that we crashed into their gate. All-day long I was dealing with anxiety attacks and worried as fvck.

One night ruined my mental health that I was protecting for over months now. We almost got seriously injured because of our actions. And I wrote this for me to let out the anxiousness that the incident has caused me. Our reckless actions led to a night that made us realized that this is the price we should pay.

That night was a lesson for all of us. We will not overdo ourselves again with alcohol and go home as early as possible. Or to what my friend said, "Mas okay nang makitulog na lang kaysa puwersahin niyo pang makauwi."


Author's note.

Thank you for reading my not so interesting story. I wish you good health and safety. Please lang take care of yourselves, ang hirap mamatay nang wala sa oras. Kawawa yung mga maiiwan.

Anyway, my friend paid for the damages that cause him 1k, nag bigay din ako ng onti. The damages were so minimal that you can't even tell na nabangga yung gate. Nag joke na lang ako sa friend ko na baka ipambabayad lang yun sa shopee orders. HAHAHAHAHAHA. I think this is the literal Never Have I Ever because Never have I Ever thought that, that night would be a disaster.

Kidding aside, I have a lot of catching up to do with your articles. I'll make it up to you as soon as the neighbor's loud music stops.

Fin.

Read my previous articles:

Pandemic Effects: The Rise of Online Barters

Getting To Know Me Series: Never Have I Ever Challenge

Getting To Know Me Series: Answering Would You Rather Questions!

Target Locked

To someone: Choosing Yourself Matters!

Lead image

8
$ 6.06
$ 5.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.02 from @Sequoia
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Comments

Buti nlang okay kayo. Kaya dapat talaga next time mag ingat na tas wag mamaneho pag lasing or nakainum. Hays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kasi naman.. Ang babata nyo pa umiinom na 😅 Ako tlga natuto uminom mga 25 na ata ako nun 🤣 At sa tuwing umiinom ako, napapaisip ako..bat ang iba nagpapakaasing kung pwd na kontrolin lang. .tapus magwawala pa iba.. Lo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We were drinking in moderation naman ate. Nakakainis lang kasi nag pumilit pa yung pinsan ng celebrant mag drive kahit hindi naman siya inoobliga. 😩 Hindi rin pati namin sila na monitor since sa ibang group sila nun. 😩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing that no one got hurt. Lesson learned na ba?

By the way, ano sinabi 'nung owner ng gate? 'Di naman ba nagalit or what?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have no idea kung anong sinabi nila. Lasing na ako that time tapos ang gulo na ng paligid. The only thing that I can remember was that I hopped out of the tricycle para mag sorry. It was a very traumatizing experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti nalang walang nangyaring masama sa inyo. Hindi rin ako umiinom ng alak😭 bukod kasi sa lasa na di ko type parang siya char 😂feel ko madali akong malasing. Baka kung ano anong magawa kong kahihiyan sa buhay. Lesson learned na nga rin na you should all drink nang kaya niyo lang, yung nakokontrol niyo pa ang sarili kasi kung hindi na mas better kung magsstay nalang at makikitulog. Takaw aksidente pa naman yan. Ingat na lang ulit sa susunod!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know but I blame the cousin of the celebrant for what happened. We tried to be really safe. As I've mentioned sa story, I was taking the shot for the celebrant para hindi na siya malasing. It was just that nag magaling lang talaga yung pinsan na lasing na din naman pala. Lesson learned na talaga for all of us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago