A bloody meeting with the Queen

59 86
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

7th February 2022 7/7

Hello Hello you awesome beautiful troop of readers.

A new week has started and yesterday was the sixth of February. It is a very special day, as it was on February 6th 1952 that Queen Elizabeth II acceded to the throne.

On February 6th she was Princess Elizabeth and on a royal tour in Kenya. Her father had been due to go, but due to his poor health he had to cancel and Princess Elizabeth and Prince Phillip went in their place. So it was in Kenya, Africa when her father King George VI died, and it meant that she immediately became the Queen.

70 years! That is how long she has been Queen, so this year is her Platinum Jubilee Year. Growing up she never thought she would be queen.

This is a mural in Belfast that I took a couple of years ago. In Belfast you either love the Queen, the monarchy and Great Britain or you detest them, depends which side you were born on. Me, well No Surrender, I am on the side of the Queen!

Everything was to change in December 1936. Her uncle – King Edward VIII - abdicated which meant her father was now King, and Princess Elizabeth (then aged ten ) was next in line to the throne.

Princess Elizabeth took her role seriously from an early age and Her Majesty’s life of duty and service began long before she took to the Throne.

So seeing her anniversary, it took me back some years, to when it was our schools 150th anniversary. Sir Walter Scott was one of the founders. If you ever get to Edinburgh do go up his monument there are quite a few steps to go up as you can tell by the picture below!

Back to the school anniversary. I was ten and we were to have a special guest, yes non-other than Her Majesty the Queen. the week before she was due to visit, we were all made to bow as if we were being introduced to the Queen.

Now boys, you do not speak to the Queen unless she speaks to you. You may answer her with You Majesty, but you must only say it once.

If you have to speak again you say ma'am, but you say it like mam as in jam.

That is very important. Boys do you understand!

Yes we did and for me it was very easy. My grandfather believed that children should be seen and not heard, and that little boys should not speak unless spoken to.

So I was sure that this would be piece of cake for me.

I practised the head bow, the handshake, saying Your Majesting and mam, I was ready to greet the Queen.

Bring her on!

On the morning of the visit, I was in my form class, which was class 6B(N). B of Mr Benson, and we would be doing crafts when the Queen would be visiting our class!

I was quite excited as I would be one of the three boys in our class that would be presented to the Queen.

Have you ever used balsa wood? We were making aeroplanes out of balsa wood.

Now then for your information, ten year old boys and craft knives do not go together, well not for this little rascal anyway🤣

I was slicing a little shaving off the balsa wood, and was being really good. Always cut away from you, they said. Okay, I was cutting away from me, the only problem was, is that I mistook my thumb for the balsa wood and sliced off part of it.

Auckland MuseumCC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

That picture is similar to what we were trying to make.

So lo and behold I cut my thumb, and I was not too happy. I didn't want to tell anyone, I did not say a word, and thought I would just wrap my thumb in my handkerchief. By this time we were told the queen was in the next classroom and so we would be next. Luckily it was on my left hand and I am right handed. My thumb wrapped in handkerchief was stuck in my left trouser pocket.

You can do this Edward I thought, just put your hand behind your back.

It all went well, the Queen came in and spoke to the first boy.

Then she came over to my table, my teacher introduced me to the Queen, and I shook her hand, and answered her question. Yes Your Majesty I am making a plane.

All I remember was her saying, and do you paint it before you finish it, as she pointed to yes, bloody blood spots on the wood! I can remember my teacher giving me a horrible glare.

She then said she was looking forward to hearing me sing as I was in the choir that would be performing for her at The Usher Hall later that night.

Yes me too mam I beamed at her, and then quick as you light she was out of the room and it was over. Mr Benson came back afterwards and demanded to know what had happened, so I pulled out my now red handkerchief and showed him my thumb.

This little rascal was given six of the best by Mr Benson, before being sent to the boarding house to see matron, complete with a sore arse.

Later that night we did go and sing at the Usher Hall for her.

Some years later, I was invited to one of the Queen's garden parties at Holyrood Palace, but I was out of the country and unable to attend.

Whenever I see or hear the Queen I always look down at my left thumb which still has a faint white scar where part of it got sliced off!

Thank you for reading and enjoy your week.

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2022 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

36
$ 10.86
$ 9.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 25
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Surely it was all worth, what happened to your thumb, for you were able to talk with her and sing for her too!

That monument looks like a portal to another world. I'm thinking Lord of the Rings! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have you happen to see queen Elizabeth for once? I hope she'll achieve the 100 years of her age. Royalty always have health check ups daily.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes I met and that is what the story is about. She is a remarkable lady and I hope that she reaches and lives beyond 100 :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh crazy to think the amount of history the queen has seen. Just imagine when she came to the throne, Britain still had a large commonwealth...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes the world has changed dramatically in the last 70 years!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, that was such an amazing experience po sir Ed! Meeting with the Queen I meant, not the wounded thumb, sorry about that! I am blown away :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe well the thumb is the physical memory and the Queen the mental one, it was fun and yes blows me a way now when I think of it Glessa!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A scar that became a memory. That's still nice. Hehe. If I were the one to face the Queen, maybe my hands were sweating from being nervous.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

OMG!! what a lifetime honour for you to have met the queen in person. Only that the way you will be remebering the day you met her is a pretty unpleasant one, anyway it's an experience and you will always be glad you had it. Great, but I am thinking about what the teacher would have done to you If she had found out about the bloody finger.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh so that's the reason :) I thought you joggled some knives, lol! It's sweet that you met her in person, twice :) And darn your teacher, why do they love making your arse sore, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe yep you got the reason now :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had dinner with the Queen, right sis? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Long live the Queen 👑

Such an honor Ed to have met Queen Elizabeth, wow, I'm jealous! Didn't kike that teacher though, you cut your hand and she smacked you? What a woman!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Long live the Queen 👑

Yes Rebeca! Yes an amazing experience, haha the teachers could be evil haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well done woman! She has lasted so long on the throne! Parliament changed, but she always remained faithful to her state. Yesterday I saw this queen on the news, I want to wish her many more years of life, and of course good health!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

She is a remarkable lady, I am sure she has not liked many of her governments, but she would not criticize them. It will be a shame when she passes away, she is one of a kind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah! Have you meet her? as in? I always heard Queen Elizabeth but never got the chance to meet her. I mean who I am to be meet by her.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes I met her, an amazing experience. She is the Queen and I think the most famous person in the world :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait what really? You met the Queen? Just want to ask, does she really looks beautiful? :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My dear friend, you described a very beautiful memory, I enjoyed reading it. On the day of the Queen's visit, you were unlucky to injure your finger. You seem to be a sweet and cute boy. I love the queen because of the style of clothes she wears... 😉

$ 0.02
2 years ago

She is amazing and I admire her immensely. Sweet and cute haha thank you for that! It was a wonderful memory I can't deny that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Queen is admired in over many countries around the world. Haha I grew as an anglophile. One of my dream was meeting the Queen in person.

You're so lucky.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Quite simply, she is the best. So dignified, and been doing this for so long, and now Prince Phillip her rock has gone, still she carries on. An inspiration to everyone on the planet. I am lucky to have met her, and a moment I will cherish forever, yes I know you grew up anglophile as you mention it before and it is cool!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are too lucky to meet the queen. Even I from the Philippines respect her so much and wanna meet her in person. And you talk with her even for a short period of time. But as they said no matter how professional you are be careful holding the knife.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes it was an amazing experience as most people know who the Queen is! Yes I am always careful with knives now!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From now on, every time I see Queen Elizabeth, my first thought will be a thumb. 😀 Until this moment, my first thought has always been what life is like when it's so long, what it's like to be a queen, is she bored... It's too many thoughts, now it will be just a thumb. 😀 Great story, I enjoyed reading.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

jaja I am sorry, yes now you will see a thumb. Hehe that was funny Jelena:) I don't think life could be boring, no matter how old I am. Unless I was incapacitated of course, then that would be different.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The scar will be a memory sir. I couldn't imagine myself that seeing a queen in real life sir. I think my hands were shaking or maybe I will be speechless.😁 Full of nervousness. I only watch Queens at movies sir.😁 How's that feeling you see them in person.😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a memory that is for sure. IF I met her now, I know I would be nervous, I agree with you on that. Pero, oo seeing her and meeting and touching here, was just amazing :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really amazing sir. How I wish in the future too sir I'm given a chance to meet a queen in real life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my the real queen, I salute to you Teng! It's a great honour huh. Sorry for your thumb😉.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It really was a huge honour Jean and one that I shall not forget. Well the thumb is okay now :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were a little rascal and I have no doubt about it, but on that occasion, I think Ed did what he had to do, what else could he do, he didn't cut his thumb off on purpose. That Mr. Benson is not one of my favorite characters.

And as for The Queen, she always caused me some admiration for that destiny that she didn't choose and that she never thought it was hers, to begin with. And there she is still fulfilling that destiny 70 years later.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The Queen is remarkable, simply the best. She is an inspiration, her and her family scrutinised every second of the day. She really is awesome.

yes Mr Benson was an arse, and you are right, what Could I do!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A scar that is full of memories! So lucky of you kuya ed! I can imagine the room full of bodyguards hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A wonderful scar to have inday Jini and oo very lucky and one memory that I cherish!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I imagine how cute you are talking to the Queen, even though you cut your thumb I think that day is still the best day for you and the scars becomes a good memory 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Great experience meeting with the Queen 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That would be the best experience I would probably not forget. Your experience is worth to be shared. Such an honor to see the Queen. Just wow!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh wow, that scar and the meeting of the Queen has anniversary Kuya! I would be as excited as you are if given the chance to meet her.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess, that served as your remembrance with the Queen's visit back then DF hahaha anyways, I always wodner how it feels to see the Queen in person. I think, I'll faint because of too much gladness.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I had fun reading this Ed. And wow, what a great experience you had meeting the Queen, minus the cut in your thumb of course, hehe..

$ 0.04
2 years ago

you really have. a good memory and I envy you for that.. and yes great experience with the queen! and I did some math LOL

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have a mark that carries a huge & memorable story. You are lucky but also an angry one too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes was lucky and it is a good memory of her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha . What a funny story! I've only seen the Queen on TV and yes... My dreams.. 😂😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe it was unreal and one experience never forget! well you never know some dreams come true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are funny Ed 🤣.. Lucky you saw the queen 😱...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

saw her, shook her hand (of course she was wearing gloves) spoke to her and then sang to her, all the S's haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So there's a training just for meeting the Queen. You are lucky to meet her in person and gosh!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yes there is, you have to do all the correct things!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How is it feel to meet her in person? Some celebrities are speechless. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was amazing, but I think at ten, I didn't really appreciate who she was until I was older.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are lucky you have met the queen and able to share your story

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes I did and it was fun and now I keep looking at my thumb haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing Uncle Ed. At an early age you have exchange words with the queen. Ommyyyy. I can only die in envy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was fun and an experience I shall never forget wee teacher :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow... At such a age and your memories were to clear as to meeting the Queen. That's great.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yes a memory I shall never forget

$ 0.00
2 years ago