Once upon a time

74 121
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

10:30pm. That is what the clock on the wall is showing. I was staring at it for quite some time. You can say we were having a silent conversation.

I was like, "What do I write about this time?"

The clock says, "Yes, that's right."

Confused with the reply, I waited for it to realize its answer but it just stared back at me. I adjusted my facial expression hoping to show my confusion. I realized, the clock has a face but no eyes to realize my confusion (haha).

I sighed. And stared at it longer. There was silence between us save for his tick tock and the sound of my dad's massager buzzing like a big fly.

I took the courage to ask, the old clock again. "My question was, what do I write this time?"

The clock, surprisingly annoyed, said, "That is what I said. Write about time."

"Right about, what? .. what are you saying? What is right about time?"

Lols now I am thinking if I should really continue with this conversation or I might drive everyone mad.

Good evening everyone! If you were going to write about time, what will you be writing about?

I know time is precious.

I also know time waits for no one.

Time moves fast.

Time keeps moving forward.

I happened to see an old friend in the parking lot a while ago while I was looking for a slot to park. From afar, I already knew it was her. When I made a turn on the lane she was parked and when she was done checking her car is secured, I opened my window and screamed her name, "Rhiaaaaaan!!" (I made that name up.)

I was successful in startling her. I was so happy to see an old familiar face - hidden with kickass mask and all but old familiar face still. Might have took her a while to know it was me because of my mask but my car is a give away.

With restrictions and all, we can only do fist bump. But had it been normal days, I would have gotten out of my car and hugged her.

We had a few minutes of catching up. Gladly, no one was waiting behind me. She asked what I was doing there and I told her and we laughed at my silly agenda.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

It was one quick catch up. When we finally decided it was enough of a catch up time, I parked properly and she went on her way.

The last time we had a proper talk was before things got weird with the world. Yes, she was one of the people I got to talk to about tough decisions before the pandemic. We may no longer be under the same team since I transfered to another department, we still spent quite a real long time being good colleagues. I have been with the company for almost 11 years. I spent my first 8 with the department we will call finance (ahahha). Rhian came on my 5th year in that department and that was 3 long years of sportsfests and office craps.

Seeing her, I kinda hoped I would see my former cool boss as well. They were tight. Like they have their circle or some sort. I get to join them every once in a while and get a good leading or advise - office leaks with just coffee or wine and no pressure to get drunk. I think my former boss sees through me. She knows I don't drink. Though we did a few night cap when we were on assignment in India. The former boss left the company long time ago.

When I got home and randomly was searching through my photo gallery, the photos of my old former teammates during one of our sportsfest showed. Rhian was our team's core representative for the organizing committee. And the photos brought me back to the scene in the pictures.

I heard the mad cheering of our teammates who came from their shifts. Laptop backpacks still on but already grabbing the balloons and screaming cheers. The support was massive. The whole gym was chaotic as though we filled the whole area. We have our department friends on the same side we were playing co-ed volleyball on. And the other department (which is now my current department) was on the other side. It was a neck and neck game.

Our cheering squad on the sidelines composed of our friends and even the cool boss. It does add pressure but it also boosts morale knowing your boss is not there for work stuff. And that court mistakes were not considered a performance demerit. Though we get teased about it.

When we scored concluding the finals with us being champions the eruption of cheers, laughters and hoots was deafening!

I was able to talk to some from the other team and they commented that we have an awesome support from our sidelines. The encouragements were more evident than the inside teasing.

Ah! That was a long time ago. Seeing Rhian and the photos brought it back.

Maybe time did and does move fast and it keeps moving forward. And nope it does not wait for anyone. But I am mighty glad that it does not erase good memories. It stores it under that line ONCE UPON A TIME.

Hey, you! I know time has been tough on us lately but hey the God who got us through our tough times before will be the same God who will get us through our tough times now. And no, He does not back down. With Him, we can get through this.


© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

Live loved. Smile bright. Love hard.

32
$ 14.17
$ 12.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.60 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.30 from @ARTicLEE
+ 18
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

Just like they say "Time is Gold" spend your time wisely so that you won't regret wasting it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why cant my clock talk or is it that u can talk to clocks? Past memories are always wholesome and heartwarming especially when you forget and remember them again. I smile anytime i see my highschool pics so nostalgic❤❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also agree with your explanation dear. As we know that time and tide wait for none so we should do our work on time. Sometimes past memories give us joy and sometimes sorrow. Its all the matter of GOD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, the time moves so fast. The pandemic became a wall for us to enjoy life with our friends, family and others that are important to us. We want to hug them but we can't. But because God gave this to us that means that he believe that we can get through it. Time might get tough but it can also make us tough with the strength that is coming from the Lord.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂 Why did you stop the clock story? Maybe something will happen. Haha.

Anyway when I met my friend last May we also could not really hug or whatever because she has kids. Haha. Anyway we still had fun and we even went to the beach and ate out. Fun to meet friends you haven't seen for a long time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our new normal is really new, hard for us Kasi di pa Tayo nasanay but Wala na Tayong magagawa this is it,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not been following health protocols when it comes to friends 🤣.., I still tend to hug them specially if we did not meet for a long period of time 🤣.., We can't control time, but we can control how we manage our time (but not easy though 🤣)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get you! I just hug them in my mind instead. Time is the hardest to tame

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Time is Key"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time stood still talaga ang peg natin ngayon lalo at last quarter na naman ng taon. Most of us are hoping that everything will be back to normal once we hit January. Thankful our Lord Jesus is a God of Hope so let’s keep the faith. HE will deliver

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes He will! Keeping the hope.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know you can communicate with the clock. It's a talent. Lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hidden talent reveal hahahahah...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree with your point time doesn't stop for anyone . Time will move smoothly and it doesn't wait anyone. With the passage of time we forget our bad and good memories and it's a advantage of time in my view

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi physicist! Thank you for sharing ☺️.. that is one cool thought.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love what you wrote on your last paragraph. These days I feel like time has been moving so fast na para bang gusto mong habulin. Good thing na it's easier now to document what you did with your time dahil sa technology. A few taps on your phone and you feel like you're being transported back to the time when a picture/video was taken/recorded.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tama melsiebelsie. That last line is always my reminder to myself. He is still in control despite all that seems out of control.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time helps us to get used on things.

Anyway, good to see that you were able to catch up with an old friend ate Pichi. That was such a good day.

By the way, I was amazed about the 11 years in the company. Ang tagal na pala. Wow!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes it was a good timing din. Had it been normal situation din, that would have been a coffee shop talk and catch up pero dahil nag iingat pa tayo .. distance pa din muna. Yes. Haha 11 years. Loyal much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time doesn't wait for anyone. That hits home.

It is so amzing how one object could lead us to think a whole different and big scenario from the past.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi mura! Yeh fun things ... Surprised me even. How have you been?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the silent convo with the clock, you might be Belle from Beauty and the Beast hahah! Anyway, it's always fun to remember those times, lalo na sa mga reunions grabe ang magiging tawanan for sure. Na mimiss ko na tuloy mga reunions, sa ngayon hanggang group chat nlng..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Buti nga po the clock answered... bat kapag ako hindi sumasagot 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kay Pichi lang yata gumagana yan, may superpower sya. Sa akin din hindi pero try pa rin natin hahah! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka may kailangang spell po 😂🤣😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Natawa nga ako jan eh. Cogsworth got me to write hahaa. I am looking forward to seeing old friends face to face. Hopefully pwede na din hugs nun. Lols.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So this is brief history of talking time. Different angle of story and it's worthy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you know somebody that well, mask or no mask you'll recognize them right away. Time is really going quickly. I hope things will be better as it passes. It's now the end of August again. New month. New beginnings.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. Sa bagay kahit nga likod lang nila minsan pag kilala mo alam mong sila yun hahaha..

Happy new month sir bestie in one more day. Christmas feels na ulit

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Un likod naman ang di ako sure hehe pero depende sa laki nung tao siguro :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah. Time, yeah! I got an idea for my next article reading this article of yours. Thanks for sharing. It's a good thing that you can still hang out despite the lockdowns

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was a short hang out. I did not get out of the car and she was just standing there with a distance. We were talking through the window. Hehe. . .

Thank you Ayane-chan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you got some time to catch up with an ex-colleague, however brief. It's always a happy occasion being able to do so.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is refreshing. I have been wanting to see old pals and see how they've been. Mighty glad for that timing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The clock always tells me not to hurry. But I always disobeyed it 🤣 Nice piece there

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahha thanks sis! The clock tells me din it's sleeping time pero ayun i disobey din ahhaha apir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The weather....... always tricks us, we start the morning in good spirits, I start my activity and it's already time to sleep!!!! Where is my time, what did I do today, I have barely written three lines and what have I done in that time?.... That's how my activity is, when I'm more concentrated on something, the hours go by without me noticing. In my job I have to go 2 days a week from 8 to 12 am, but other colleagues go every 15 days, if they are doing inspections I see them in a month. No more sharing after work.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha it is true. Time does that..

Whoah. Are there many of you who has the same sked? 2 days a week? Is it because of our current covid scenario or is that your and your colleagues' normal schedule?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We used to work 8 hours a day, from 8 am to 12:00 noon and from 12:30 pm to 4:30 pm, this started with the increase in public transportation fares and our low income, we worked only in the mornings, then it was alternate days. When Covid arrived, we had 3 months without work, now this schedule, our salary is devalued more and more, for the next month they will remove 5 zeros to the currency. What is worth 5 million, will be worth 50, this is the third time that they eliminate zeros to the currency, we are no longer worth anything.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ohh sorry to hear that. Huhu. I hope when things normalize, the scenario will go back to normal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now there is a pandemic that makes it difficult to get out and gonto the mall or to crowded places. You really miss your friends bonding.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes. I did and still do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should always value time. Just like the old saying "Time is gold". Isa din sa na realize ko this pandemic, we should spend more time we those people who value and love us rather than sa mga tao na walang lang. Ginagamit ka lang kung may kinakailangan. Dali lang kasi nating mawala sa mundong ito. In just one blink of an eye.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True sis. Tama. Time is gold! Kalain mo nalimot ko yun.

With borrowed time, we must spend it wisely!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really feels good nowadays to see old friends... Because of the pandemic it feels like its already a century that passed that we are not seeing people... Lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Makes us grateful for the past that we were able to see people. At ngayun grateful pa din because friendships like this can happen! .. lotsa hugs sis Eylz!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a great joy when these days we meet with someone we know, and we haven't seen since the pandemic began. And the desire to hug! I haven't heard this song in a long time. Thank you!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you as well Coqui! It is a chill song with a reminder eh?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Time well spent is worth remembering ❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Indeed queen!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your conversations with the clock and it bringing you back amazing memories of the not-so-distant past. I think time encloses everything in it - laughter, pains, happiness, tears, exhilaration, LOVE, and life itself. I wish you more of that conversation with anything or anyone sis❤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much sis!! Seems you are right! I like that thought - time encloses everything in it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminds me of a cup final between my team and another team formed from my class. The ladies supported my team and it showed in the way we played. The cheers intimidated our opponents and boosted our morale. We were leading until 2 of our players got injured. They equalise and the match went into penalties. We lost ,but the day remains a sweet memory anytime i remember.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Those days of shared victories and almost victories! They pinch the heart no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is something special, this shows that even if you don't get to see people you knew later in the future, the time spent could make up for it

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That is true sir Macronald! It is one investment with intangible returns.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time waits for no one but we should always try as much as possible to make the best use of our time because once it is not properly spent it can never be regain.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree with you there! Proper investment of time!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Pichi for this. I am currently listening to the song. It helps me ease my anxiety. It usually attack during evening. You got me at the last part of your article. ❤️❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi Diane!! Thank you as well! Hope the anxiety fades out eventually ... As in sana wala na every night! Be full of hope sis! .. kapit tayo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makipagtitigan nga din ako sa clock nmin... Ay nasa labas pala hahja ang ingay nman ng tic nia pag pinasok ko sa room wahhaha.. Yes kaya ntin too💪

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha nakakabuang pa man din yun tick tock minsan pag yun na lang naririnig mo hahaha.. payt payt mommyjaytee!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adams family hahhaja... Dinig buong barangay hahhH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha oo tapos yun halong naiinis ka na tapos natatakot pa sa tunog kasi ganun tunog pag meron nang lalabas na ghost diba? Lols

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Takbuhan na hahhhaha 😱

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napabangon ahahahaah. Tapos takot tumingin sa likod ahahhaha.. sira ang antok

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku dpat marunong ka lingon kc d ba sbi paglumingon ka akin ka 🥰... Or dun tayo sa wag kang lilingon movie 😱😱😱😱hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

E paano pa kung yun my pedulum hahhaha 😱

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tapos may hourly at thirty minutes na chime .. yung chime na hindi mahinhin ah . Yung mala gong. Ganun hahahahah..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me I would say “No time time to check time, checking time is a waste of time” 😂

It’s good to have seen you reunited with her after a long time hehehehe. Pretty cool we all have those memories we would never forget in our lifetime And most time we remember them often and often

Gone are the days.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha gone they are. And off to making newer memories to put on top..

Haha no time to check time hahahah. Thats funny. And it would make you sound like you are on a hurry - faster than the time is going by. Hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am gonna listen to this song, soul sister and then ready for bed. Goodnight. See you in the morning. Xoxoxoxoxo

$ 0.06
2 years ago

You had tough day.. hugs sis! Goodnight! Xoxoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago