I'm not a Green Thumb: My Latest Experience to Plant a Vegetable

9 69
Avatar for Maestro02
3 years ago

I remember when I was in Junior High School we used to plant a lot because we had our garden even though we were in the art section. Our garden is often included in the garden contest because the pots we used are painted by us and the design of the garden is creative. But in my 4 years of planting experience, I haven’t found myself there. I didn’t see the potential to myself of being a good planter or should I say, I am not a ‘Green Thumb’.

What does 'Green Thumb' mean?

To be naturally skilled at gardening; to be able to help plants grow well. Origin. One theory is that this idiom came into being in the early 1900s and was thought to refer to the mud-stained fingers of gardeners.

The Help.

My teacher is asking for support because we are going to have a 'school garden' contest and we need plants and vegetables to be planted. My teacher said that we can bring any vegetable or fruit as long as it can support itself and can bear. I told about the contest to my grandmother so I could get help. She pointed her tomato plant and said I could take it if I want to. But the time I plan to plant it, I forgot the method of planting. I was embarrassed to ask my grandmother what to do so I just thought about what I used to do. I got mental blocked that time and looked for something I could use as a tiller because we didn’t have a ‘spoon’ that was actually used for planting and digging the soil.

My grandmother noticed that I seemed confused and worried about how to do what I was digging so she said that she would just dig the tomato for me but I must prepare the soil that we need.

I followed my grandmother's command. I picked up my inprovise plow and filled the black sack with soil as my grandmother's order. I put the sack beside her.

The Process.

My grandmother had already planted and I just watched her how to do it. As I watched her planting, I just keep in mind what she does and remember it for future purposes. Suddenly,I remember that I've done this before but because I was too oblivious, I forgot about this thing. I keep this on mind for the next time I plant, because I believe that I can use this in the near future.

The Lesson.

After he planted the plant, I watered it. I turned on our water hose and I used it to water my plant. It's also tiring even if I didn't do the process. Maybe in the plowing I did and you can see in my hand that it hurt because I used heavy things but I can say that this experience is worth it because I remember the process again of how to plant vegetables and I can plant properly again next time.

The next day I passed the plant we had prepared to my school. My teacher was happy because I participate the event. I can say that I helped somehow in this way.

What I have learned from this experience is that there are things we do not know or do not yet know. But let us remember that we will only blame ourselves if we don't do it or experience it, especially if it is for our own good. Others may think what you are doing is bad, but if you are not hurting other people and you are not hurting yourself, then just continue what you are doing especially if it is for the good of yourself and for others. How about you? Are you a Green Thumb?

Share your thought in the comment section below!

Thank you for reading my article! 🤗✨

My articles that worth reading:

The Story of my Depression.

Celebrate your Silent and Small Wins.

Benefits of Playing Games: Virtual Games and Physical Games

How to be an Artist?: Things to Consider if You Want to be an Artist.

How Can I Cope with Stress?

Perks of Giving and Receiving a Hug

The Pandemic Changed me

An Article for my Mom

My 'New Normal' Education

Valuable Portrait of Intimacy

Reasons why I use Tiktok

My First Major Competition in 18 years in the Industry of Arts

10
$ 4.90
$ 4.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @immaryandmerry
+ 3
Sponsors of Maestro02
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Maestro02
3 years ago

Comments

Mahilig ako magtanim pero nahihirapan ako makabuhay ng halaman. Wala siguro akong green thumb 😅. Nanonood naman ako sa youtube ng mga tips para mabuhay yung mga halaman pero wala pa rin hahaha. Naiinggit tuloy ako sa inyo na madaming tanim hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually,ako din. Hindi din ako green thumb. 😅 Hindi ko nga alam bumuhay ng halaman ih, kasi minsan may basbas pala dapat na gawin bago mabuhay ang isang halaman jusq HAHAHA. Same tayooo, andaming halaman dito, pero wala talaga akong ambag kung hindi ang magbungkal lang ng lupa. 😩😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wala din ako hilig sa tanim tanim dati hahah pero I remember one time, basta diba may mga nagooffer sa school mga seeds hahaha ayon nakabuhay naman ako ng pechay pero namatay din ata. tapos ayon, wala lang talaga akong hilig

then pandemic happened, nagpalandscape kasi sa bahay kaya ang dami plants haha. tapos syempre ako lang naiiwan sa bahay na mas matanda at puro pamangkin ko kasama ko kaya ayon everyday na gawain ko magdilig kaya parang nakahiligan ko na din. pag pwede na padamihin halaman naglilipat nako sa ibang paso hahahahaha ayon plantita na nga mga 40% siguro lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes ateee, usong uso sa atin yon jusq. Sunflower pa nga daw mabenta sa kanila ate eh. HAHAHA.

'Certified plantita brought to us by pandemic' po pala ate eh. HAHAHA dito din po jusq , mas madami pang variants ng mayana dito ate kesa sa mga sumusulpot na variants ng covid. HAHAHA😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oo din hahahaha diko na nga alam ano ano yon basta mayana daw yon iba iba kulay e hahahahha. mas mainam naman na variant ng mayana kesa variant ng covid no lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Naaalala ko ang nakaraan, ang aking kabataan nong panahong wala pang android ang ginagawa naming libangan ay mamitas ng talong mula sa tanim namin sa likod ng classroom. Nagbibilad kami sa araw para sa ekonomiya ay xhorrr. Ahaha

Naalala ko high school days namin dahil dito haha. Sa TLE namin may tanimang nagaganap saka pagbibilad sa araw oara mag bungkal ng lupa ahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes ate! HAHAHA napakanostalgic po talaga ng pagtatanim at hinding hindi mawawala yan sa buhay ng isang estudyante. Sayang wala lang po kasing face-to-face ngayon eh, pero kung meron po, taniman is real na naman. 😅💚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, ang sarap din balikan ng time na yan ee. Dahil walang choice need mo gawin kahit labag sa kalooban mo.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So true, ate. 😭 Yung feeling na sinabi ng mga teachers na; "Hindi ko naman pinipilit pero dyan kasi kukunin 50% ng grades nyo." HAHAHAHAHAHA Talagang mas gugustuhin mo nalang po maging isang baso talaga eh. 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago