My First Major Competition in 18 years in the Industry of Arts

24 89
Avatar for Maestro02
3 years ago

I believe that everyone has the talent since they started out and show up in the world we live in today. We may not have seen and known it when we were little because we were young and we knew nothing but to play and express our feelings, but I believe we are starting to look for the talent and abilities we have.

As I was rummaging through my belongings in my box earlier, I saw this certificate; I suddenly remembered everything I experienced in the competition I participated in last August 2020. I became the representative of our village and I won the third place against twenty-two other participants. I suddenly remembered how proud I was of myself and my parents back then.

About the Contest.

It was vacation during those times and I did not expect the oportunity to be given to me. I was taking a bath that day. A few moments later SK Officials came to our house (SK COUNCILOR, AND SK SK SECRETARY AND SK TREASURER). They came to our house to find my brother and me to offer to join the "LINGGO NG KABATAAN 2020"(WEEK OF YOUTH 2020), a SK program in my city.

Courtesy: SK Federation Talavera

SK Stands for "Sangguniang Kabataan"

(abbreviated as SK; lit. 'youth council') is a council meant to represent the youth in each barangay in the Philippines. It was put "on hold", but not quite abolished, prior to the 2013 barangay elections.

Courtesy: Sangguniang Kabataan - Wikipedia

At first, I could not accept their offer because I do not often participate in the "poster making contest". I only often teach and coach my juniors but I do not really participate because it is not my forte. My forte is acrylic painting because I studied about 4 years in arts wayback my junior high school and painting is the one I mastered. I was currently studying portrait painting that time when that time SK officials offer me something. At first I said I did not have coloring materials to use in the poster making they want me to join, so I asked if I could just use pure charcoal pencils because that was all I had at that time and I also felt that my piece would be unique because I will only use such a technique. They told me that I was able to use any medium even the medium I said earlier. They really want me to join because they said that I am really good artist. Especially my mother, she wants to join me to the contest because they had already seen my other works that I posted on my fb account.

My artwork that I posted before I joined the contest and it is called "The Mambabatok"

I accepted their offer, especially when I found out that the 1st- 3rd placer had a prize. I would not expect to win the first place because I think the competition might be tough. The whole city of Talavera (City-based competition) may join the competition and the age of those who can participate poster making contest is under 15-30 years old. I was nervous that time because I knew that there were many good artist especially in our city because we were told that many people took an architecture course that was also scholar in our city. But that "nervous" became just a bread for me that I ate and made an inspiration for myself. From the beginning I did not know the consequences of my participation in the contest because there are also many good artist in our city but with the help of my mother and my experience to coach at teach my juniors and also my experience to Coach and watch in the "REGIONAL FESTIVAL OF TALENTS" held in Bulacan, Philippines, this might be an easy one for me. But just like a said poster making is not my forte.

Courtesy: SK Federation Talavera

The Fight.

This was my "Story" on Facebook and the time when I started to create ideas for my poster.

I was given two weeks to prepare, think ideas, and video the process of my output for the contest because it cannot be held face-to-face. At that time, it is still strict due to the increasing number of cases of NCoV in our area.

NCoV- Novel Corona Virus

COVID-19 is a disease caused by a new strain of coronavirus. 'CO' stands for corona, 'VI' for virus, and 'D' for disease. Formerly, this disease was referred to as '2019 novel coronavirus' or '2019-nCoV.'

I finished the idea. I thought of putting the face of president of the Philippines, the flag and what is currently happening in the country that also fits to the theme that is given to us. I also finished the video of the making of my masterpiece. It took almost 4 hours and I also stood for four hours because my face had to see in the video while working (because it is on their rule). I also finally finished everything that needed for the contest.

This is the masterpiece I present to the contest.

August 20, 2020. All the masterpiece of all participants has been posted. I was surprised because almost 22 people fought and almost everyone who participated was good and kinda experienced to join the poster-making contest. I was so depressed at that time and was also under pressure as I stared at their works. But my mother approached me and talked about my fight, she told me not to give up and just go ahead.

August 25, 2021. The polls have ended and the winners will win by the choice of the people and likes we got during the 5-days of the open-liking category. Fortunately, I got 3.1k likes and was ranked third among twenty-two great artists.

I was so happy in tears that time and even when I always remember that experience because it was just a big memory of my life that I always treasure.

Back to the story, the next day was the awarding of the winners. My mother, my little brother, and the SK officials came with me to get my prize and certificate I won.

I have already won the prize containing 2000 Philippine Peso or the equivalent of 41.27 United States Dollar. There is so much joy in my heart and I want to shout as I holding my certificate and my cash prize during the awarding. This is a huge thing that has happened to me because I have learned that you do not have to be weak in all your battles because we must always remember that we are not alone and there is at least one person who will support you. Being second place in the fight is a huge success for me because even though I am not good at this art style, I have proven to myself that I can do it.

Awarding with Mayor Nerivi Martinez, Sk President Ericka Arenas-Mendoza and Vice Mayor Jay-R Santos.

Above all, I express my deepest gratitude to all of the people who believed and will still trust and of course to my mother who tirelessly supported me until the end of my fight; for every fight of mine. Again, this is your 2nd runner-up (Third placer) in LINGGO NG KABATAAN 2020 Poster Making Contest, Jerome Ian Cabeso and your Maestro02.

Thanks for Reading my Story!πŸ₯ΊπŸ’™

14
$ 7.63
$ 7.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @lucas
+ 3
Sponsors of Maestro02
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Maestro02
3 years ago

Comments

You're amazing.. Good job..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. πŸ€—πŸ–€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wala akong masabi kundi sana all! hahahah great artwork! hanggaling uwu. tuloy mo lang yang ginagawa mo. Saka nice article btw. I'm looking forward to more article of yours! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maraming salamat ateee. Lodi din po kita, napakaganda ng "Through the Lens" mo na article. Ebarg po πŸ₯ΊπŸ’™βœ¨

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your work is so amazing!! Please keep it up! We would love to see more from you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much, Lucas. Yes I will. πŸ₯ΊπŸ’™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana all mamaw sa drawing, ako naman marunong din magdrawing. Stickman nga lang hahaha. Idol ko tlaga ito sa drawing, padrawing kami ng mga mukha namin lodi. Libre na daw ni car ang lahat ng bayad.😁😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHAHAH sure po kapag hindi na busy. Kahit libre pa yarn. Btw, salamat lods. Idol din kita sa pagexpress mo ng feelings mo.🀧

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hhahaha hindi ko nga alam pano mag express eh basta sulat lang n sulat hanggang sa may mabuo na magandang idea. hahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice! Your creativity and skillful artistry is admirable! Keep on doing your craft, you'll definitely go places :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your kind words sir. And yes, I will pursue my passion until my last breath. Thank you for encouraging me to do more art. Keep safe,sir! πŸ’™πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep up the good work. Hope all may talent

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much po. I know you are good at something po, hindi ko man alam specifically but ngayon palang po iniidolo ko na kayo. πŸ€—πŸ’™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hala ka ang galing, may ganyan kabang talent @carisdaneym2? Sana all nalang ako.

Tuloy mo lang yan, malayo mararating mo bata 🀩. Good Luck and fighting πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wala ate, kumain lang alam ko hahahahaπŸ€£πŸ’šπŸ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wahahahaha same same πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay lang yun, basta masaya ang life sana hahaha🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha bat may sana kaya

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Eh kapag nabasa mo article ko malalaman mo hahaha May publish ka pala about coins.ph basahin ko later haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nabasa ko na, basahin mo reply ko 😜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maraming salamat po. πŸ€—πŸ₯ΊπŸ’™

Magaling po si @carisdaneym2 sa crafts at pagsulat ng articles HAHAHA idol ko po sya don.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Eheee, pa humble pa yang si Carismatic ee. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Again, congratulations. am so proud of you! keep fighting for your dreams! sana all bhie talented :>>> how to be you po?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thankk youuuuu pooooo. Idol pa din talaga kita tita HAHAHA. 🀧πŸ₯ΊπŸ’™

$ 0.00
3 years ago